DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings filed on 1/29/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 12-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kajikawa (US20120012758A1, patent of record in the IDS dated 7/30/2025).
With respect to Claim 1, Kajikawa discloses an apparatus comprising:
a half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) configured to alter a polarization ([0047]: element 4 rotates the electric field vector of the laser beam) of an input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]); and
multiple lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 7 and 9, lenses; [0046]) configured to reshape the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]) and generate an output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]), wherein at least one of the lenses comprises one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]);
wherein a divergence ([0020] and [0051]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via elements 4 and 7) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]) is based on the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) and the at least one of the lenses comprising the one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]); and
wherein the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) is configured to be rotated or repositioned ([0020]: element 4 is rotatable about the optical axis) in order to adjust the divergence ([0020]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via rotatable element 4) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]).
With respect to Claim 2, Kajikawa discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, and discloses further comprising:
an actuator ([0048]: an actuator may be employed) configured to rotate ([0020]: element 4 is rotatable about the optical axis) the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) so that the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) obtains a desired rotation and provides a desired adjustment to the polarization ([0047]: element 4 rotates the electric field vector of the laser beam) of the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]).
With respect to Claim 4, Kajikawa discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the multiple lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 7 and 9, lenses; [0046]) comprise a negative lens and a positive lens ([0051]: element 7 may be negative; [0046]: element 9 is a positive converging lens).
With respect to Claim 5, Kajikawa discloses the apparatus of Claim 4, and further discloses wherein the negative lens ([0051]: element 7 may be negative) comprises the one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]).
With respect to Claim 7, Kajikawa discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, and further discloses wherein the one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]) comprise at least one of: quartz ([0018]: the birefringent material is preferably optical crystalline quartz), titanium dioxide (TiO2), yttrium orthovanadate (YVO4), calcite (CaCO3), lithium niobate (LiNBO3), magnesium fluoride (MgF2), or silicon dioxide (SIO2).
With respect to Claim 8, Kajikawa discloses a system comprising:
an optical source (Fig. 1—element 1, light source; [0046]) configured to generate an input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]);
a half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) configured to alter a polarization ([0047]: element 4 rotates the electric field vector of the laser beam) of the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]);
multiple lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 7 and 9, lenses; [0046]) configured to reshape the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]) and generate an output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]), wherein at least one of the lenses comprises one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]), and wherein a divergence of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]) is based on the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) and the at least one of the lenses comprising the one or more birefringent materials ([0020] and [0051]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via elements 4 and 7); and
an actuator ([0048]: an actuator may be employed) configured to rotate ([0020]: element 4 is rotatable about the optical axis) or reposition the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) in order to adjust the divergence ([0020]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via rotatable element 4) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]).
With respect to Claim 9, Kajikawa discloses the system of Claim 8, and discloses further comprising:
a controller configured to control the actuator ([0048]: an actuator controlled by a controller may be employed) based on a desired divergence of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]).
With respect to Claim 10, Kajikawa discloses the system of Claim 8, and further discloses wherein the actuator ([0048]: an actuator may be employed) is configured to rotate ([0020]: element 4 is rotatable about the optical axis) the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) so that the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) obtains a desired rotation and provides a desired adjustment to the polarization ([0047]: element 4 rotates the electric field vector of the laser beam) of the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]).
With respect to Claim 12, Kajikawa discloses the system of Claim 8, and further discloses wherein the multiple lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 7 and 9, lenses; [0046]) comprise a negative lens and a positive lens ([0051]: element 7 may be negative; [0046]: element 9 is a positive converging lens).
With respect to Claim 13, Kajikawa discloses the system of Claim 12, and further discloses wherein the negative lens ([0051]: element 7 may be negative) comprises the one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]).
With respect to Claim 15, Kajikawa discloses the system of Claim 8, and further discloses wherein the one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]) comprise at least one of: quartz ([0018]: the birefringent material is preferably optical crystalline quartz), titanium dioxide (TiO2), yttrium orthovanadate (YVO4), calcite (CaCO3), lithium niobate (LiNBO3), magnesium fluoride (MgF2), or silicon dioxide (SIO2).
With respect to Claim 16, Kajikawa discloses the system of Claim 8, and further discloses wherein the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]) comprises a high-energy laser (HEL) beam or a target illumination laser (TIL) beam ([0026]: the target is illuminated by the laser beam).
With respect to Claim 17, Kajikawa discloses a method comprising:
altering a polarization of an input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]) using a half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) ([0047]: element 4 rotates the electric field vector of the laser beam); and
reshaping the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]) using multiple lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 7 and 9, lenses; [0046]) to generate an output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]), wherein at least one of the lenses comprises one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]);
wherein a divergence ([0020] and [0051]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via elements 4 and 7) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]) is based on the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) and the at least one of the lenses comprising the one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]); and
wherein the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) is configured to be rotated or repositioned ([0020]: element 4 is rotatable about the optical axis) in order to adjust the divergence ([0020]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via rotatable element 4) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]).
With respect to Claim 18, Kajikawa discloses the method of Claim 17, and further discloses comprising:
rotating the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) to adjust the divergence ([0020]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via rotatable element 4) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]).
With respect to Claim 19, Kajikawa discloses the method of Claim 17, and further discloses comprising:
repositioning the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) to adjust the divergence ([0020]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via rotatable element 4) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajikawa (US20120012758A1, patent of record in the IDS dated 7/30/2025) in view of Tayebati (JP2019523137A).
With respect to Claim 3, Kajikawa discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, and discloses further comprising:
an actuator ([0048]: an actuator may be employed) configured to move the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]).
However, Kajikawa does not disclose an actuator configured to move the half waveplate into and out of a path of the input optical beam.
Kajikawa and Tayebati are related as both pertaining to the field of optical systems. Tayebati does disclose an actuator (Fig. 5—element 535, translation stage; [0068]) configured to move an optical element into and out of a path of the input optical beam (Fig. 5—element 525 may move optical elements up and down out of the optical path). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Kajikawa with the translation stage of Tayebati in order to create a device which may move optical elements along two or three axis (Tayebati, [0068]).
With respect to Claim 11, Kajikawa discloses the system of Claim 8, and further discloses wherein the actuator ([0048]: an actuator may be employed) is configured to move the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]).
However, Kajikawa does not disclose an actuator configured to move the half waveplate into and out of a path of the input optical beam.
Kajikawa and Tayebati are related as both pertaining to the field of optical systems. Tayebati does disclose an actuator (Fig. 5—element 535, translation stage; [0068]) configured to move an optical element into and out of a path of the input optical beam (Fig. 5—element 525 may move optical elements up and down out of the optical path). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Kajikawa with the translation stage of Tayebati in order to create a device which may move optical elements along two or three axis (Tayebati, [0068]).
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajikawa (US20120012758A1) in view of Campbell (US20070159701A1).
With respect to Claim 6, Kajikawa discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, and discloses further comprising:
a quarter waveplate (Fig. 1—element 8, quarter-wave plate; [0046]) configured to convert a circular polarization of the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]) into a linear polarization ([0056]: element 8 converts linear polarization of the laser beam P transmitted through the birefringent lens 7 into circular polarization) and the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) alters the polarization of the input optical beam ([0047]: element 4 rotates the electric field vector of the laser beam).
However, Kajikawa does not disclose a quarter waveplate before the half waveplate.
Kajikawa and Campbell are related as pertaining to the field of optical systems. Campbell does disclose a quarter waveplate (Fig. 1A—element W2, quarter wave plate; [0042]) before the half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]) alters the polarization of the input optical beam (Fig. 1A—element 170, incoming light; [0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the quarter waveplate before the half waveplate in order to create a device which may serve as a backup in case the half waveplate does not rotate correctly (Campbell, [0042]).
With respect to Claim 14, Kajikawa discloses system of Claim 8, and discloses further comprising:
a quarter waveplate (Fig. 1—element 8, quarter-wave plate; [0046]) configured to convert a circular polarization of the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]) into a linear polarization ([0056]: element 8 converts linear polarization of the laser beam P transmitted through the birefringent lens 7 into circular polarization) and the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) alters the polarization of the input optical beam ([0047]: element 4 rotates the electric field vector of the laser beam).
However, Kajikawa does not disclose a quarter waveplate before the half waveplate.
Kajikawa and Campbell are related as pertaining to the field of optical systems. Campbell does disclose a quarter waveplate (Fig. 1A—element W2, quarter wave plate; [0042]) before the half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]) alters the polarization of the input optical beam (Fig. 1A—element 170, incoming light; [0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the quarter waveplate before the half waveplate in order to create a device which may serve as a backup in case the half waveplate does not rotate correctly (Campbell, [0042]).
With respect to Claim 20, Kajikawa discloses the method of Claim 17, and further discloses comprising:
converting a circular polarization of the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]) into a linear polarization ([0056]: element 8 converts linear polarization of the laser beam P transmitted through the birefringent lens 7 into circular polarization) and the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) alters the polarization of the input optical beam ([0047]: element 4 rotates the electric field vector of the laser beam).
However, Kajikawa does not disclose a quarter waveplate before the half waveplate.
Kajikawa and Campbell are related as pertaining to the field of optical systems. Campbell does disclose a quarter waveplate (Fig. 1A—element W2, quarter wave plate; [0042]) before the half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]) alters the polarization of the input optical beam (Fig. 1A—element 170, incoming light; [0041]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the quarter waveplate before the half waveplate in order to create a device which may serve as a backup in case the half waveplate does not rotate correctly (Campbell, [0042]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bor (US 20180360657 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 2 and [0032]-[0046].
Curatu (US 20120271286 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 4 and [0051]-[0054].
Omura (US 20070296941 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1 and [0045]-[0069].
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872