DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings filed on 1/29/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 5/20/2026 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1, 2, 8-10, and 17-19 are amended, Claims 6, 14, and 20 are canceled, Claims 21-23 have been added, and Claims 1-5, 7-13 ,15-19, and 21-23 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 12-13, 15-19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajikawa (US20120012758A1, of record) in view of Campbell (US20070159701A1, of record).
With respect to Claim 1, Kajikawa discloses an apparatus comprising:
a quarter waveplate (Fig. 1—element 8, quarter-wave plate; [0046]);
a half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]);
multiple lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 7 and 9, lenses; [0046]) configured to reshape a first divergence ([0020] and [0051]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via elements 4 and 7) of the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]) and generate an output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]) having a second divergence ([0020] and [0051]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via elements 4 and 7), wherein at least one of the lenses comprises one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]);
wherein the second divergence ([0020] and [0051]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via elements 4 and 7) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]) is based on the polarization caused by the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) and the at least one of the multiple lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 7 and 9, lenses; [0046]) comprising the one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]); and
wherein the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) is configured to be rotated or repositioned ([0020]: element 4 is rotatable about the optical axis) in order to change the position of the half waveplate and adjust the second the divergence ([0020]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via rotatable element 4) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]).
However, Kajikawa does not disclose a quarter waveplate configured to convert a circular polarization of an input optical beam into a linear polarization;
a half waveplate optically located after the quarter waveplate and configured to alter the linear polarization of the input optical beam based on a position of the half waveplate;
wherein the second divergence of the output optical beam is based on the altered linear polarization caused by the half waveplate.
Kajikawa and Campbell are related as pertaining to the field of optical systems. Campbell does disclose a quarter waveplate (Fig. 1A—element Q2, quarter wave plate; [0042]) configured to convert a circular polarization of an input optical beam into a linear polarization ([0039]: Q2 converts circularly polarized light into linearly polarized light);
a half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]) optically located after the quarter waveplate (Fig. 1A—element Q2, quarter wave plate; [0042]) and configured to alter the linear polarization of the input optical beam (Fig. 1A—element 170, incoming light; [0041]) based on a position ([0042]: Q2 re-linearizes light rays 175 and 180 and can itself be physically rotated from 0 to 90 degrees, thereby selecting the polarization state of emerging light rays 175 and 180) of the half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]);
wherein the second divergence ([0043]: The polarization rotator can also spatially multiplex the output polarization state) of the output optical beam is based on the altered linear polarization caused by the half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the quarter waveplate before the half waveplate in order to create a device which may serve as a backup in case the half waveplate does not rotate correctly (Campbell, [0042]) and to combine the apparatus of Kajikawa with the linearly polarizing half waveplate of Campbell in order to provide 98.8% linear polarization rotation from -30 degrees Celsius to +50 degrees Celsius across the entire visible spectrum and beyond (Campbell, [0048]).
With respect to Claim 2, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, and Kajikawa discloses further comprising:
an actuator ([0048]: an actuator may be employed) configured to rotate ([0020]: element 4 is rotatable about the optical axis) the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) so that the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) obtains a desired rotation and provides a desired adjustment to the polarization ([0047]: element 4 rotates the electric field vector of the laser beam) of the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]).
However, Kajikawa does not disclose that the half waveplate emits linearly polarized light. Kajikawa and Campbell are related as pertaining to the field of optical systems. Campbell does disclose that the half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]) emits linearly polarized light ([0039]: Q2 converts circularly polarized light into linearly polarized light). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Kajikawa with the linearly polarizing half waveplate of Campbell in order to provide 98.8% linear polarization rotation from -30 degrees Celsius to +50 degrees Celsius across the entire visible spectrum and beyond (Campbell, [0048]).
With respect to Claim 4, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, and Kajikawa further discloses wherein the multiple lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 7 and 9, lenses; [0046]) comprise a negative lens and a positive lens ([0051]: element 7 may be negative; [0046]: element 9 is a positive converging lens).
With respect to Claim 5, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the apparatus of Claim 4, and Kajikawa further discloses wherein the negative lens ([0051]: element 7 may be negative) comprises the one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]).
With respect to Claim 7, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, and Kajikawa further discloses wherein the one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]) comprise at least one of: quartz ([0018]: the birefringent material is preferably optical crystalline quartz), titanium dioxide (TiO2), yttrium orthovanadate (YVO4), calcite (CaCO3), lithium niobate (LiNBO3), magnesium fluoride (MgF2), or silicon dioxide (SIO2).
With respect to Claim 8, Kajikawa discloses a system comprising:
an optical source (Fig. 1—element 1, light source; [0046]) configured to generate an input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]);
a quarter waveplate (Fig. 1—element 8, quarter-wave plate; [0046]);
a half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]);
multiple lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 7 and 9, lenses; [0046]) configured to reshape a first divergence ([0020] and [0051]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via elements 4 and 7) of the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]) and generate an output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]) having a second divergence ([0020] and [0051]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via elements 4 and 7), wherein at least one of the lenses comprises one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]), and wherein the second divergence of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]) is based on the polarization caused by the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) and the at least one of the multiple lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 7 and 9, lenses; [0046]) comprising the one or more birefringent materials ([0020] and [0051]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via elements 4 and 7); and
an actuator ([0048]: an actuator may be employed) configured to rotate ([0020]: element 4 is rotatable about the optical axis) or reposition the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) in order to change the position of the half waveplate and adjust the second the divergence ([0020]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via rotatable element 4) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]).
However, Kajikawa does not disclose a quarter waveplate configured to convert a circular polarization of an input optical beam into a linear polarization;
a half waveplate optically located after the quarter waveplate and configured to alter the linear polarization of the input optical beam based on a position of the half waveplate.
However, Kajikawa does not disclose a quarter waveplate configured to convert a circular polarization of an input optical beam into a linear polarization;
a half waveplate optically located after the quarter waveplate (Fig. 1A—element Q2, quarter wave plate; [0042]) and configured to alter the linear polarization of the input optical beam (Fig. 1A—element 170, incoming light; [0041]) based on a position ([0042]: Q2 re-linearizes light rays 175 and 180 and can itself be physically rotated from 0 to 90 degrees, thereby selecting the polarization state of emerging light rays 175 and 180) of the half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]);
wherein the second divergence ([0043]: The polarization rotator can also spatially multiplex the output polarization state) of the output optical beam is based on the altered linear polarization caused by the half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]).
Kajikawa and Campbell are related as pertaining to the field of optical systems. Campbell does disclose a quarter waveplate (Fig. 1A—element Q2, quarter wave plate; [0042]) configured to convert a circular polarization of an input optical beam into a linear polarization ([0039]: Q2 converts circularly polarized light into linearly polarized light);
a half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]) optically located after the quarter waveplate (Fig. 1A—element Q2, quarter wave plate; [0042]) and configured to alter the linear polarization of the input optical beam (Fig. 1A—element 170, incoming light; [0041]) based on a position ([0042]: Q2 re-linearizes light rays 175 and 180 and can itself be physically rotated from 0 to 90 degrees, thereby selecting the polarization state of emerging light rays 175 and 180) of the half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]);
wherein the second divergence ([0043]: The polarization rotator can also spatially multiplex the output polarization state) of the output optical beam is based on the altered linear polarization caused by the half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the quarter waveplate before the half waveplate in order to create a device which may serve as a backup in case the half waveplate does not rotate correctly (Campbell, [0042]) and to combine the apparatus of Kajikawa with the linearly polarizing half waveplate of Campbell in order to provide 98.8% linear polarization rotation from -30 degrees Celsius to +50 degrees Celsius across the entire visible spectrum and beyond (Campbell, [0048]).
With respect to Claim 9, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the system of Claim 8, and Kajikawa discloses further comprising:
a controller configured to control the actuator ([0048]: an actuator controlled by a controller may be employed) based on a desired second divergence (0020]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via rotatable element 4) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]).
With respect to Claim 10, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the system of Claim 8, and Kajikawa further discloses wherein the actuator ([0048]: an actuator may be employed) is configured to rotate ([0020]: element 4 is rotatable about the optical axis) the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) so that the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) obtains a desired rotation and provides a desired adjustment to the polarization ([0047]: element 4 rotates the electric field vector of the laser beam) of the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]).
However, Kajikawa does not disclose that the half waveplate emits linearly polarized light. Kajikawa and Campbell are related as pertaining to the field of optical systems. Campbell does disclose that the half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]) emits linearly polarized light ([0039]: Q2 converts circularly polarized light into linearly polarized light). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Kajikawa with the linearly polarizing half waveplate of Campbell in order to provide 98.8% linear polarization rotation from -30 degrees Celsius to +50 degrees Celsius across the entire visible spectrum and beyond (Campbell, [0048]).
With respect to Claim 12, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the system of Claim 8, and Kajikawa further discloses wherein the multiple lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 7 and 9, lenses; [0046]) comprise a negative lens and a positive lens ([0051]: element 7 may be negative; [0046]: element 9 is a positive converging lens).
With respect to Claim 13, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the system of Claim 12, and Kajikawa further discloses wherein the negative lens ([0051]: element 7 may be negative) comprises the one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]).
With respect to Claim 15, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the system of Claim 8, and Kajikawa further discloses wherein the one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]) comprise at least one of: quartz ([0018]: the birefringent material is preferably optical crystalline quartz), titanium dioxide (TiO2), yttrium orthovanadate (YVO4), calcite (CaCO3), lithium niobate (LiNBO3), magnesium fluoride (MgF2), or silicon dioxide (SIO2).
With respect to Claim 16, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the system of Claim 8, and Kajikawa further discloses wherein the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]) comprises a high-energy laser (HEL) beam or a target illumination laser (TIL) beam ([0026]: the target is illuminated by the laser beam).
With respect to Claim 17, Kajikawa discloses a method comprising:
a quarter waveplate (Fig. 1—element 8, quarter-wave plate; [0046]);
a half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]); and
reshaping a first divergence ([0020] and [0051]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via elements 4 and 7) of the input optical beam (Fig. 1-- element P, laser beam; [0046]) using multiple lenses (Fig. 1-- elements 7 and 9, lenses; [0046]) to generate an output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]) having a second divergence ([0020] and [0051]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via elements 4 and 7), wherein at least one of the lenses comprises one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]);
wherein the second divergence ([0020] and [0051]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via elements 4 and 7) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]) is based on the polarization caused by the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) and the at least one of the multiple lenses comprising the one or more birefringent materials (Fig. 1—element 7, birefringent lens; [0046]); and
wherein the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) is configured to be rotated or repositioned ([0020]: element 4 is rotatable about the optical axis) in order to change the position of the half waveplate and adjust the second the divergence ([0020]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via rotatable element 4) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]).
However, Kajikawa does not disclose converting a circular polarization of an input optical beam into a linear polarization using a quarter waveplate; altering the linear polarization of the input optical beam based on a position of a half waveplate;
wherein the second divergence of the output optical beam is based on the altered linear polarization caused by the half waveplate.
Kajikawa and Campbell are related as pertaining to the field of optical systems. Campbell does disclose converting a circular polarization of an input optical beam into a linear polarization using a quarter waveplate (Fig. 1A—element Q2, quarter wave plate; [0042]); altering the linear polarization of the input optical beam ([0039]: Q2 converts circularly polarized light into linearly polarized light) based on a position of a half waveplate ([0043]: The polarization rotator can also spatially multiplex the output polarization state);
wherein the second divergence ([0043]: The polarization rotator can also spatially multiplex the output polarization state) of the output optical beam is based on the altered linear polarization caused by the half waveplate (Fig. 1A—element 120, polarization rotator; [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the quarter waveplate before the half waveplate in order to create a device which may serve as a backup in case the half waveplate does not rotate correctly (Campbell, [0042]) and to combine the apparatus of Kajikawa with the linearly polarizing half waveplate of Campbell in order to provide 98.8% linear polarization rotation from -30 degrees Celsius to +50 degrees Celsius across the entire visible spectrum and beyond (Campbell, [0048]).
With respect to Claim 18, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the method of Claim 17, and Kajikawa further discloses comprising:
rotating the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) to adjust the second divergence ([0020]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via rotatable element 4) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]).
With respect to Claim 19, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the method of Claim 17, and Kajikawa further discloses comprising:
repositioning the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]) to adjust the second divergence ([0020]: intensity ratios of a plurality of beam waists can be altered via rotatable element 4) of the output optical beam (Fig. 1-- elements 12 and 13, output light; [0052]).
With respect to Claim 21, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, and Kajikawa further discloses wherein the quarter waveplate (Fig. 1—element 8, quarter-wave plate; [0046]) comprises a planar structure (Fig. 1—element 8 is planar).
However, Kajikawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the quarter waveplate is formed using at least one birefringent material.
Kajikawa and Campbell are related as pertaining to the field of optical systems. Campbell discloses a quarter waveplate that is formed using at least one birefringent material ([0047]: Typically, a broadband wave plate has three or more layers of birefringent material oriented at appropriate angles).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the quarter waveplate of Kajikawa with the birefringent material of Campbell in order to create an apparatus which may perform exceptionally well across a very broad spectral range of 400 nm-900 nm and beyond and across a very broad thermal range of -29 degrees Celsius to +49 degrees Celsius and beyond (Campbell, [0047]).
With respect to Claim 22, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the system of Claim 8, and Kajikawa further discloses wherein the quarter waveplate (Fig. 1—element 8, quarter-wave plate; [0046]) comprises a planar structure (Fig. 1—element 8 is planar).
However, Kajikawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the quarter waveplate is formed using at least one birefringent material.
Kajikawa and Campbell are related as pertaining to the field of optical systems. Campbell discloses a quarter waveplate that is formed using at least one birefringent material ([0047]: Typically, a broadband wave plate has three or more layers of birefringent material oriented at appropriate angles).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the quarter waveplate of Kajikawa with the birefringent material of Campbell in order to create an apparatus which may perform exceptionally well across a very broad spectral range of 400 nm-900 nm and beyond and across a very broad thermal range of -29 degrees Celsius to +49 degrees Celsius and beyond (Campbell, [0047]).
With respect to Claim 23, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the method of Claim 17, and Kajikawa further discloses wherein the quarter waveplate (Fig. 1—element 8, quarter-wave plate; [0046]) comprises a planar structure (Fig. 1—element 8 is planar)
However, Kajikawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the quarter waveplate is formed using at least one birefringent material.
Kajikawa and Campbell are related as pertaining to the field of optical systems. Campbell discloses a quarter waveplate that is formed using at least one birefringent material ([0047]: Typically, a broadband wave plate has three or more layers of birefringent material oriented at appropriate angles).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the quarter waveplate of Kajikawa with the birefringent material of Campbell in order to create an apparatus which may perform exceptionally well across a very broad spectral range of 400 nm-900 nm and beyond and across a very broad thermal range of -29 degrees Celsius to +49 degrees Celsius and beyond (Campbell, [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajikawa (US20120012758A1, of record) in view of Campbell (US20070159701A1, of record) further in view of Tayebati (JP2019523137A, of record).
With respect to Claim 3, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the apparatus of Claim 1, and Kajikawa discloses further comprising:
an actuator ([0048]: an actuator may be employed) configured to move the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]).
However, Kajikawa does not disclose an actuator configured to move the half waveplate into and out of a path of the input optical beam.
Kajikawa and Tayebati are related as both pertaining to the field of optical systems. Tayebati does disclose an actuator (Fig. 5—element 535, translation stage; [0068]) configured to move an optical element into and out of a path of the input optical beam (Fig. 5—element 525 may move optical elements up and down out of the optical path). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Kajikawa with the translation stage of Tayebati in order to create a device which may move optical elements along two or three axis (Tayebati, [0068]).
With respect to Claim 11, Kajikawa and Campbell discloses the system of Claim 8, and Kajikawa further discloses wherein the actuator ([0048]: an actuator may be employed) is configured to move the half waveplate (Fig. 1-- element 4, half-wave plate; [0046]).
However, Kajikawa does not disclose an actuator configured to move the half waveplate into and out of a path of the input optical beam.
Kajikawa and Tayebati are related as both pertaining to the field of optical systems. Tayebati does disclose an actuator (Fig. 5—element 535, translation stage; [0068]) configured to move an optical element into and out of a path of the input optical beam (Fig. 5—element 525 may move optical elements up and down out of the optical path). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Kajikawa with the translation stage of Tayebati in order to create a device which may move optical elements along two or three axis (Tayebati, [0068]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that forced movement of the quarter waveplate 8 of Kajikawa would cause the system of Kajikawa to deviate from its disclosed operation. Kajikawa discloses in [0072]: “the present invention should not be construed as being limited to these Examples”. Further, Figs. 1 and 3 of Kajikawa disclose element 8 residing in different locations, meaning that the location of element 8 is not integral to the function of the irradiation optical system of Kajikawa.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s argument that it is not disclosed or suggested by Kajikawa or Campbell to convert a circular polarization of an input optical beam into a linear polarization that may be processed by a half waveplate.
Campbell does disclose in paragraph [0039]: Q2 converts circularly polarized light into linearly polarized light, thus the combination of Q2 of Campbell with the apparatus of Kajikawa is capable of converting a circular polarization of an input optical beam into a linear polarization that may be processed by a half waveplate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872