Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit” in claims 19-20.
Paragraph [0008] discloses according to another illustrative embodiment, a heating pad includes a sleeve formed with a top layer and a bottom layer. The sleeve has an interior. The bottom layer is against a user when in a deployed position. The heating pad further includes a weighted segment layer disposed within the interior of the sleeve. The weighted segment layer includes a plurality of pockets each having a plurality of weights therein. The heating pad also includes a conductive layer disposed within the interior of the sleeve closer to the user than the weighted segment layer when in the deployed position and includes a battery and control unit electrically coupled to the conductive layer for selectively providing power to the conductive layer. The sleeve, weighted segment layer, and conductive layer are flexible enough to articulate about portions of the user's body. At least one temperature sensor is coupled to the conductive layer and electrically coupled to the control unit. Other methods and heating pads are presented below.
Paragraph [0059] discloses referencing the right side of FIG. 6 along with FIGURES 6-8 and starting at the top for the orientation shown of FIG. 6, one may see components that are to one side (right side for orientation shown) of the final pleat 128. The right (for orientation shown) portion of FIG. 6 is a end portion that may include the battery cover 152, battery housing 300, electrical housing 356, battery 304, printed circuity board, processor 332, and memory 336. The processor 332 and non-transitory member 336 may be referred to as a control unit. FIGURE 7 shows a partially exploded view with certain components shown out front that would be in an interior location 298 when fully assembled. The battery cover 152, which may be a rubber molded battery cover, has a first side 292 and a second side 296. The second side 296 forms a concave portion that goes over a battery housing, e.g., first battery housing 300, which holds a first rechargeable battery 304.
Paragraph [0100] discloses in one illustrative embodiment, the heating pad 100 includes a plurality of temperature sensors, and the control unit (a processor and non-transitory memory) is programmed to execute the following steps:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the electronics housing" at line 18 in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a printed circuit board" at line 2 renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear for whether this printed circuit board is the same as the one recited in the preceding claim 1 at line 21. If it is so, then “a” or “an” should be replaced with "the" or "said".
Claims 13-15 recite the limitation "at least one battery" at line 1 renders the claims indefinite. It is unclear for whether this at least one battery is the same as the one recited in the preceding claim 1 at line 22. If it is so, then "the" or "said" should be used.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the processor" at line 2 in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitations "weighted segment layer” and “conductive layer" at line 12 renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear for whether these limitations are the same as the one recited at lines 4 and 6. If it is so, then "the" or "said" should be used.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "a power flux…" at line 2 renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear for whether this a power flux is the same as the one recited in the preceding claim 19 at line 8. If it is so, then “a” or “an” should be replaced with "the" or "said".
The dependent claims are rejected for their inherited deficiencies on rejected independent claims 1 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20220160540 of figures 29-37) in view of Wang et al. (US 20220160540 of figures 14-21).
Regarding claim 1, Wang’s figures 29-37 discloses a heating pad 800 (fig. 36, i.e. called a distributed weight heating pad) for application on a portion of a user's body (804, see figure 29, i.e. a user’s knee 808), the heating pad comprising:
a top layer (824, i.e. called a first cover) having a first side and a second side (not labeled), wherein top means furthest from the user’s body when in an applied potion (see figure 29);
a weighted-segment layer (868) having a plurality of pockets (812) and having a first side and a second side (not labeled), wherein the first side of the weighted-segment layer (868) is below (see figure 36) the second side of the top layer (824);
a heating element (128, 132, 204, 206, 208, 210) comprising a conductive layer (864) having a first side and second side (not labeled), wherein the first side of the conductive layer is below the second side of the weighted-segment layer (see figure 36), and wherein the conductive layer (864) creates heat when a current moves across the conductive layer (¶ 0168, 0171, 0178-0180);
at least one thermistor (264) associated with the conductive layer (864) (¶ 0090);
a bottom layer (828, i.e. called a second cover) having a first side and a second side (not labeled), and wherein the first side of the bottom layer (828, i.e. called a second cover) is below (see figure 36) the second side of the conductive layer (864); and
Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses an end portion (see figure 19 for example) coupled to the top layer (408, i.e. called a first side) or bottom layer (412, i.e. called a second side), wherein the end portion comprises:
battery housing 424, 428, 432 (fig. 14, i.e. called compartments) coupled at least to the top layer (408, i.e. called a first side) or bottom layer (412, i.e. called a second side) or a battery cover (i.e. a top layer of the batteries 426 compartments),
the electronics housing (528) coupled at least to the top layer (408, i.e. called a first side) or bottom layer (412, i.e. called a second side) or the battery cover,
the battery cover (i.e. a top layer of the batteries 426 compartments) coupled at least to the top layer (408, i.e. called a first side) or bottom layer (412, i.e. called a second side) or the battery housing,
a printed circuit board 430 (fig. 20) associated with the electronics housing (420), and
at least one battery (426) electrically coupled to the printed circuit board (430) and to the heating element (128) (¶ 0009, 0111).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wang’s figures 29-37 and Wang’s figures 14-21 before him or her, to include such batteries arrangements of Wang’s figures 14-21 because the batteries may have flexible interfaces so that they allow the weighted heating pad to bend. The weighted heating pad is sectioned into pockets filled with ball bearings or other weights which conform to the limb surface of a user for better contact and application of heat. The sectioning of the weighted pockets can be hexagonal or strips, or a rectangular grid pattern. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it allows for insertion of batteries through the first cover and into the battery pockets, thus allowing insertion and removal of batteries for replacement purposes and disposal (¶ 0172).
With respect to claim 2, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses wherein the heating pad 800 (fig. 36, i.e. called a distributed weight heating pad) further comprises a plurality of seams (845) formed at least by coupling a portion of the top layer (824, i.e. called a first cover) and a portion of the weighted-segment layer (868) (¶ 0175, 0184).
With respect to claim 4, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 14-21 further discloses wherein a portion of the battery cover (i.e. a top layer of the batteries 426 compartments) is thinner (i.e. spaces or gaps between compartments) than other portions of the battery cover to facilitate articulation of the battery cover (¶ 0009, 0111).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wang’s figures 29-37 and Wang’s figures 14-21 before him or her, to include such batteries arrangements of Wang’s figures 14-21 because the batteries may have flexible interfaces so that they allow the weighted heating pad to bend. The weighted heating pad is sectioned into pockets filled with ball bearings or other weights which conform to the limb surface of a user for better contact and application of heat. The sectioning of the weighted pockets can be hexagonal or strips, or a rectangular grid pattern. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it allows for insertion of batteries through the first cover and into the battery pockets, thus allowing insertion and removal of batteries for replacement purposes and disposal (¶ 0172).
With respect to claim 5, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 14-21 further discloses wherein the battery cover (i.e. a top layer of the batteries 426 compartments 424, 428, 432) is formed with a battery cavity (i.e. the battery compartment(s) cavity) and a ledge sized (see figures 20-21) and configured to mate with a slot formed on the at least one battery (426) (¶ 0111).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wang’s figures 29-37 and Wang’s figures 14-21 before him or her, to include such batteries arrangements of Wang’s figures 14-21 because the batteries may have flexible interfaces so that they allow the weighted heating pad to bend. The weighted heating pad is sectioned into pockets filled with ball bearings or other weights which conform to the limb surface of a user for better contact and application of heat. The sectioning of the weighted pockets can be hexagonal or strips, or a rectangular grid pattern. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it allows for insertion of batteries through the first cover and into the battery pockets, thus allowing insertion and removal of batteries for replacement purposes and disposal (¶ 0172).
With respect to claim 6, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses a coupled peripheral edge (see figure 23) formed by coupling the top layer (824, i.e. called a first cover) and bottom layer (828, i.e. called a second cover) at peripheral ends whereby a sleeve (552, i.e. called a bag or a pouch) is formed that contains at least the weighted-segment layer (868) and the heating element (128, 132, 204, 206, 208, 210) (¶ 0119, 0125).
With respect to claim 7, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses a first compressible foam layer (i.e. a layer just below the first cover 824) having a first side and a second side (not labeled), wherein the first side of the first compressible foam layer (865, i.e. called an intermediate barrier) is below (see figure 34) the second side of the top layer (824), and wherein the second side of the first compressible foam layer (865, i.e. called an intermediate barrier) is above the first side of the weighted-segment layer (868) (¶ 0178, 0183-0184).
With respect to claim 8, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses an insulating layer (865, i.e. called an intermediate barrier “which insulates the batteries and weights from the heating element 864”) having a first side and a second side (not labeled, see figure 36), wherein the first side of the insulating layer (865) is below the second side of the weighted-segment layer (868), and wherein the second side of the insulating layer (865) is above the heating element (¶ 128, 132, 204, 206, 208, 210) (0171, 0178-0180).
With respect to claim 9, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses a bonding film (i.e. a coating material(s)) disposed between the second side of the insulating layer (865, i.e. called an intermediate barrier) and the bottom layer (828, i.e. called a second cover) (¶ 0177).
With respect to claim 10, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 14-21 further discloses wherein the battery cover (i.e. a top layer of the batteries 426 compartments 424, 428, 432) comprises a molded rubber and covers at the least one battery (426) and a printed circuit board (430) (¶ 0118).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wang’s figures 29-37 and Wang’s figures 14-21 before him or her, to include such batteries arrangements of Wang’s figures 14-21 because the batteries may have flexible interfaces so that they allow the weighted heating pad to bend. The weighted heating pad is sectioned into pockets filled with ball bearings or other weights which conform to the limb surface of a user for better contact and application of heat. The sectioning of the weighted pockets can be hexagonal or strips, or a rectangular grid pattern. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it allows for insertion of batteries through the first cover and into the battery pockets, thus allowing insertion and removal of batteries for replacement purposes and disposal (¶ 0172).
With respect to claim 11, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses wherein the weighted-segment layer (868) comprises a plurality of pockets (812) filled with a plurality of weights (820, e.g., ball bearings, metal scraps, glass balls, metal pellets, weighted pellets, lead shot, steel ball bearings, high density plastic bearings, or other moveable weight elements) under 0.5 grams/each (¶ 0164-0165, 0187). Wang’s figures 29-37 does not discloses specific weight of the shown materials. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable weight ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 12, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses a hidden zipper formed on the coupled peripheral edge (¶ 0179).
With respect to claim 13, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses wherein the printed circuit board (430), at least one battery (426), and the heating element (128, 132, 204, 206, 208, 210) are configured to ramp heat emitted by the heating element to be within 80% of full heat within 10-20 seconds of activating the heating pad 800 (fig. 36, i.e. called a distributed weight heating pad) (¶ 0007, 0138, 0195).
With respect to claim 14, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses wherein the printed circuit board (430), at least one battery (426), and the heating element (128, 132, 204, 206, 208, 210) are configured to ramp heat emitted by the heating element to be within 80% of full heat within 60-90 seconds of activating the heating pad (¶ 0007, 0138, 0195).
With respect to claim 15, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses wherein the printed circuit board (430), at least one battery (426), and the heating element (128, 132, 204, 206, 208, 210) are configured to provide conductive and radiant heat in varying proportions during a startup phase (¶ 0087).
With respect to claim 16, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses wherein the plurality of pockets (812) formed on the weighted segmented layer (868) is consistent with a ratio of one pocket per 5 to 10 square inches (¶ 0166-0167,0186). Wang’s figures 29-37 does not disclose specific size of the pockets. Since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 18, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses wherein a plurality of temperature sensors (202) is coupled to the heating element (128, 132, 204, 206, 208, 210) and electrically coupled to the processor 268 (fig. 9), and wherein the processor (268) and a non-transitory memory (272) are programmed to execute the following steps (¶ 0008, 0096): check a temperature measurement from each of the plurality of temperature sensors (202); and lower power provided to the heating element (128, 132, 204, 206, 208, 210) if one of the plurality of temperature sensors (202) has a temperature beyond a threshold (¶ 0104, 0106-0107).
Claim(s) 3, 17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20220160540 of figures 29-37) in view of Wang et al. (US 20220160540 of figures 14-21) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Augustine et al. (US 20230233365).
Regarding claim 3, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above in claim 1, except for wherein the heating element is configured to have a power flux between 0.5 and 1.5 watts per square inch.
However, Augustine et al. teaches wherein the heating element (310) is configured to have a power flux between 0.5 and 1.5 watts per square inch (¶ 0096, 0110, 0148).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of an electric heating pad. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 and Augustine before him or her, to include such power flux of Augustine because it provides for a uniform and stable conductive interface between a bus bar and a conductive fabric heating element material can be used in other applications. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides uniform heat flux from the blanket or bad (¶ 0116).
With respect to claim 17, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above in claims 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, and 16 (similar limitations) except for wherein the heating element is configured to have a power flux between 0.5 and 1.5 watts per square inch.
However, Augustine et al. teaches wherein the heating element (310) is configured to have a power flux between 0.5 and 1.5 watts per square inch (¶ 0096, 0110, 0148).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 and Augustine before him or her, to include such power flux of Augustine because it provides for a uniform and stable conductive interface between a bus bar and a conductive fabric heating element material can be used in other applications. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides uniform heat flux from the blanket or bad (¶ 0116).
With respect to claim 19, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above in claim 1 (similar features) including of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses a sleeve (552, i.e. called a bag or a pouch) formed with a top layer (824, i.e. called a first cover) and a bottom layer (828, i.e. called a second cover) and having an interior (i.e. the interior of the bag or the pouch), wherein the bottom layer (828, i.e. called a second cover) is against a user (804) when in a deployed position (see figure 29); a battery (196, 212, 216, 426) and control unit (164, 418) electrically coupled to the conductive layer (864) for selectively providing power to the conductive layer (864); wherein the sleeve (552, i.e. called a bag or a pouch), weighted segment layer (868), and conductive layer (864) are flexible enough to articulate about portions of the user’s body (¶ 0172, 0177, 0185); and at least one temperature sensor or thermocouples (202) coupled to the conductive layer (864) and electrically coupled to the control unit (164, 418) (¶ 0071-0072); except for wherein the conductive layer is configured to have a power flux between 0.5 and 1.5 watts per square inch.
However, Augustine et al. teaches wherein the conductive layer (310) is configured to have a power flux between 0.5 and 1.5 watts per square inch (¶ 0096, 0110, 0148).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 and Augustine before him or her, to include such power flux of Augustine because it provides for a uniform and stable conductive interface between a bus bar and a conductive fabric heating element material can be used in other applications. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides uniform heat flux from the blanket or bad (¶ 0116).
With respect to claim 20, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 and Augustine discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Wang’s figures 29-37 further discloses wherein the at least one temperature sensor comprises a plurality of temperature sensors (202), and wherein the control unit (164, 418) comprises a processor (268) and non-transitory memory (272) and wherein the control unit (164, 418) is programmed to execute the following steps: monitor temperature reading from the plurality of temperature sensors (202); and reduce power to the conductive layer (864) if one of the plurality of temperature sensors (202) has a temperature reading that is more than 5% hotter than a mean temperature of the plurality of temperature sensors (202) or a temperature reading of any other of the plurality of temperature sensors (202) (¶ 0104, 0106-0107).
With respect to claim 21, Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 and Augustine discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Augustine further discloses wherein the conductive layer (310) is a carbon-impregnated conductive sheet configured to have a power flux between 0.5 and 1.5 watts per square inch (¶ 0096-0099, 0110, 0148).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Wang’s figures 29-37 in view of Wang’s figures 14-21 and Augustine before him or her, to include such power flux of Augustine because it provides for a uniform and stable conductive interface between a bus bar and a conductive fabric heating element material can be used in other applications. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides uniform heat flux from the blanket or bad (¶ 0116).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pop et al. (US 20200404749).
Conclusion
/KET D DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761