DETAILED ACTION
1. The instant application No. 18425994 has claims 1-30 pending.
2 The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 11, 13-16, 19, 22, 24-27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (Pub. No. US 2023/0156702 A1; published May 18, 2023).
Regarding claims 1 and 26, Kim disclose a network entity for wireless communications, comprising: a processing system configured to: transmit (SDT) initialization information in a first message of a random-access procedure, (20230156702-See ¶0242, the terminal may transmit an MSG-A (or, RA MSG-A) to the base station by using the uplink radio resource obtained from the control information received in step S702 and/or the DL SDT configuration information received in step S701 (S703).) wherein the SDT initialization information indicates an identification of the network entity for association with an SDT procedure; (See ¶0242, The MSG-A may include an RA preamble and a terminal identifier (e.g., UE ID, DL SDT scheduling identifier). Here, the UE ID transmitted using the RA MSG-A may be a terminal identifier for SDT operation) and transmit SDT data after completion of the random-access procedure and as part of the SDT procedure, wherein transmission of the SDT data is over a configured grant resource set. (2025/0274970 a1-See ¶0006, In the RA-SDT, the UE can transmit an initial transmission including data in a message 3 (MSG3) of a 4-step random access procedure or in payload of a message A (MSGA) of a 2-step random access procedure. The network can then schedule subsequent uplink and/or downlink transmissions using dynamic uplink grants and downlink assignments, respectively, after the completion of the random access procedure; See ¶0206, In some implementations, after receiving 726 the connection resume message, the upper layer(s) 220 send 728 subsequent UL data packet(s) to the PDCP 210. For each of the subsequent UL data packet(s), the PDCP 210 generates a UL PDCP PDU, including the subsequent UL data packet, and sends 730 the UL PDCP PDU to the RLC 206B; The MAC 204B performs 718 SDT data communication to transmit the subsequent UL MAC PDU(s) to the RAN 105)
Regarding claims 2 and 27, Kim discloses the processing system is configured to: receive an indication of a random-access resource set for the random-access procedure, wherein the SDT initialization information is transmitted in the random-access resource set. (See ¶0157, the uplink RA resource configuration information may include RA occasion (RO) configuration parameters, RA preamble and mask configuration information, and/or information on association between 2-step RA preambles and PUSCH radio resources of MSG-A payload for 2-step RA procedure)
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the random-access resource set is received in a radio resource control (RRC) release message, a downlink control information (DCI) message, a system information message, or a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE). (See ¶0139, transmit, to the terminal, the configured DL SDT configuration information message in form of system information; See ¶0144, Uplink RA resource configuration information configured for DL SDT operation)
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the random-access resource set comprises a contention-free random-access resource set or a contention-based random-access resource set. (20230156702-See ¶0157, uplink RA resource configuration information configured for the DL SDT operation may mean configuration information of uplink RA radio resource(s) for a contention-based RA (i.e., CBRA) procedure and/or a non-contention-based RA (or contention-free random access (i.e., CFRA)) procedure.)
Regarding claim 7, the processing system is configured to: indicate a request for the SDT procedure in the first message, wherein the request for the SDT procedure activates the configured grant resource set. (See ¶0263, The CS state information or configured grant (CG) (or SPS) state information may be information indicating activation or deactivation of a radio resource allocated in the CS scheme)
Regarding claim 11, Kim disclose the SDT initialization information is transmitted while the network entity is in a radio resource control (RRC) active state or in an RRC inactive state. (20230156702-See ¶0093, the terminal operating in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state may attempt to access by using an uplink channel (e.g., a random access channel or a physical layer uplink control channel))
Regarding claim 13, transmission of the SDT initialization information initiates the SDT procedure. (20230156702-See ¶0242, the terminal may transmit an MSG-A (or, RA MSG-A) to the base station by using the uplink radio resource obtained from the control information received in step S702 and/or the DL SDT configuration information received in step S701 (S703).)
Regarding claim 14, the network entity comprises a user equipment (UE). (20230156702-See ¶0242, the terminal may transmit an MSG-A (or, RA MSG-A) to the base station by using the uplink radio resource obtained from the control information received in step S702 and/or the DL SDT configuration information received in step S701 (S703).)
Regarding claims 15 and 30, A network entity, comprising: a processing system configured to: transmit small data transmission (SDT) initialization information in a first message of a random-access procedure via a first bandwidth part (BWP), wherein the SDT initialization information indicates an identification of the network entity for association with an SDT procedure; (20230156702-See ¶0117, The terminal may perform an initial access procedure (e.g., access procedure) with the base station in the initial BWP; See ¶0197, the terminal may transmit the RA MSG3 (i.e., message 3) including its own information (i.e., terminal (or UE) information) to the base station (S605). The terminal information may include one or more of an identifier of the terminal) receive a trigger for BWP switching during the SDT procedure, wherein the trigger for BWP switching initiates a switch from the first BWP to a second BWP for the SDT procedure; (See ¶0118, The base station may transmit information indicating the BWP switching to the terminal using one or more of an RRC message, a MAC message (e.g., MAC control element (CE)), and a PHY message (e.g., DCI). The terminal may receive the information indicating the BWP switching from the base station, and may switch the operating BWP of the terminal to a BWP indicated by the received information.) and transmit SDT data in the second BWP as part of the SDT procedure in accordance with the trigger for BWP switching, wherein transmission of the SDT data is over a configured grant resource set. (See ¶0117, Each of the terminal and the base station may transmit and receive packets in the active BWP among the configured BWPs)
Regarding claim 16, the processing system is configured to: receive an indication of a contention-free random-access resource set and a contention-based random-access resource set for the random-access procedure, (20230156702-See ¶0157, the uplink RA resource configuration information configured for the DL SDT operation may mean configuration information of uplink RA radio resource(s) for a contention-based RA (i.e., CBRA) procedure and/or a non-contention-based RA (or contention-free random access (i.e., CFRA)) procedure.) wherein the SDT initialization information is transmitted in the contention-free random-access resource set or the contention-based random-access resource set. (See ¶0157, the uplink RA resource configuration information configured for the DL SDT operation may mean configuration information of uplink RA radio resource(s) for a contention-based RA (i.e., CBRA) procedure and/or a non-contention-based RA (or contention-free random access (i.e., CFRA)) procedure.)
Regarding claim 19, the processing system is configured to: receive an indication of a contention-based random-access resource set for the random-access procedure, wherein the contention-based random-access resource set comprises a two-step random-access procedure or a four-step random-access procedure. (See ¶0167, The RA procedure for DL SDT may be performed as a radio access (or RA) procedure of a terminal consisting of four steps (4-step) or a radio access (or RA) procedure of a terminal consisting of two steps (2-step)
Regarding claim 22, the trigger for BWP switching is received in a radio resource control (RRC) message, a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE), or a downlink control information (DCI) message. (See ¶0118, The base station may transmit information indicating the BWP switching to the terminal using one or more of an RRC message, a MAC message (e.g., MAC control element (CE)), and a PHY message (e.g., DCI). The terminal may receive the information indicating the BWP switching from the base station, and may switch the operating BWP of the terminal to a BWP indicated by the received information.)
Regarding claim 24, transmission of the SDT initialization information initiates the SDT procedure. (20230156702-See ¶0242, the terminal may transmit an MSG-A (or, RA MSG-A) to the base station by using the uplink radio resource obtained from the control information received in step S702 and/or the DL SDT configuration information received in step S701 (S703).)
Regarding claim 25, the network entity comprises a user equipment (UE). (20230156702-See ¶0242, the terminal may transmit an MSG-A (or, RA MSG-A) to the base station by using the uplink radio resource obtained from the control information received in step S702 and/or the DL SDT configuration information received in step S701 (S703).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Agiwal et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0022247 A1; hereinafter Agiwal).
Regarding claims 3 and 28, Kim fails to disclose the random-access resource set includes dedicated SDT resources for the SDT procedure, and the identification of the network entity is indicated in the SDT initialization information based on the random-access resource set that includes the dedicated SDT resources for the SDT procedure.
Agiwal discloses the random-access resource set includes dedicated SDT resources for the SDT procedure, and the identification of the network entity is indicated in the SDT initialization information based on the random-access resource set that includes the dedicated SDT resources for the SDT procedure. (20220022247-See ¶0050, . The Msg3 may also include the UE identity (i.e., cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI); See ¶0052, during first step of random access (i.e., during random access resource selection for Msg1 transmission), the UE determines whether to transmit dedicated preamble or non-dedicated preamble. Dedicated preambles are typically provided for a subset of SSBs/CSI-RSs.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify terminal performing RACH procedure to include the type of resource need to perform the transmission step of the RACH procedure. The motivation to combine is RACH allows the network to allocate resources efficiently, optimizing the use of network capacity.
Regarding claims 4 and 29, Kim fails to disclose the processing system is configured to: indicate a request for the SDT procedure in the first message based on the random-access resource set that includes a non-dedicated SDT resources for the SDT procedure.
Agiwal discloses indicate a request for the SDT procedure in the first message based on the random-access resource set that includes a non-dedicated SDT resources for the SDT procedure. (20220022247 -See ¶0052, If there is no SSB/CSI-RS having a DL reference signal received power (RSRP) above a threshold among the SSBs/CSI-RSs for which contention free random access resources (i.e. dedicated preambles/ROs) are provided by the gNB, the UE selects a non-dedicated preamble.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify terminal performing RACH procedure to include the type of resource need to perform the transmission step of the RACH procedure. The motivation to combine is RACH allows the network to allocate resources efficiently, optimizing the use of network capacity.
Claim(s) 8 ,12 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Wu (Pub. No. US 2025/0274970 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kim fails to disclose the processing system is configured to: transmit a status report or an assistance information message in the first message during the random-access procedure.
Wu discloses the processing system is configured to: transmit a status report or an assistance information message in the first message during the random-access procedure. (20250274970-See ¶0200, the MAC 204B includes at least one MAC control element (e.g., a buffer status report (BSR)) in the initial UL MAC PDU)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify rach procedures for transmitting data to include to transmit a message with buffer status report in the RACH. The motivation to combine is reducing latency in data communication (See ¶0010).
Regarding claim 12, Kim fails to disclose the configured grant resource set comprises Type-1 configured grant resources or Type-2 configured grant resources.
Wu discloses the configured grant resource set comprises Type-1 configured grant resources or Type-2 configured grant resources. (20250274970-See ¶0006, SDT procedure can be initiated by the UE with either a transmission over a random access channel (RACH), i.e., called random access SDT (RA-SDT) or over Type 1 configured grant (CG) resources, i.e., called CG-SDT.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify rach procedures for transmitting data to include to transmit a message with buffer status report in the RACH. The motivation to combine is reducing latency in data communication (See ¶0010).
Regarding claim 23, Kim fails to disclose the configured grant resource set comprises Type-1 configured grant resources or Type-2 configured grant resources.
Wu discloses the configured grant resource set comprises Type-1 configured grant resources or Type-2 configured grant resources. (20250274970-See ¶0006, SDT procedure can be initiated by the UE with either a transmission over a random access channel (RACH), i.e., called random access SDT (RA-SDT) or over Type 1 configured grant (CG) resources, i.e., called CG-SDT.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify rach procedures for transmitting data to include to transmit a message with buffer status report in the RACH. The motivation to combine is reducing latency in data communication (See ¶0010).
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Wu, and further in view of Khoshkholgh Dashtaki et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0099762 A1; hereinafter Khosh).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Wu fails to disclose the processing system is configured to: transmit an additional status report or an additional assistance information message using the configured grant resource set and during the SDT procedure.
Khosh discloses transmit an additional status report or an additional assistance information message using the configured grant resource set and during the SDT procedure. (2023/0099762-See ¶0268, The MsgA payload may comprise BSR MAC CE, power headroom report (PHR) MAC CE, RRC messages, and/or connection request.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify bsr is part of the request to the enodeb to include there is more than one request in the signal. The motivation to combine is efficiently utilize resource allocation by transmitted all request in one signal instead of a plurality of signal request.
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Wu fails to disclose the additional status report or the additional assistance information message comprise one or more of a buffer status report, a power headroom report, measurements associated with mobility procedures, a channel state information report, beam management information, a traffic profile, a power saving requirement, or any combination thereof.
Khosh discloses the additional status report or the additional assistance information message comprise one or more of a buffer status report, a power headroom report, measurements associated with mobility procedures, a channel state information report, beam management information, a traffic profile, a power saving requirement, or any combination thereof. (2023/0099762-See ¶0268, The MsgA payload may comprise BSR MAC CE, power headroom report (PHR) MAC CE, RRC messages, and/or connection request.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify bsr is part of the request to the enodeb to include there is more than one request in the signal. The motivation to combine is efficiently utilize resource allocation by transmitted all request in one signal instead of a plurality of signal request.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (Pub. No. US 2022/0312502 A1)-See ¶0012, The performing of the transmission of the non-SDT packet may comprise notifying the base station of the occurrence of the non-SDT packet by using an uplink resource obtained through the initiated or triggered SDT operation, wherein the uplink resource obtained through the initiated or triggered SDT operation is an uplink resource obtained by a random access (RA) procedure with the base station or a configured grant (CG) resource.
Tsai et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0304100 A1)-See ¶0049, SDT: The SDT may be a UL data transmission in an RRC_INACTIVE state. The packet size (or data volume) of the UL data may be lower than a threshold. The UL data of SDT may be transmitted during an SDT procedure. The UL data of the SDT may be transmitted via Msg 3 (e.g., based on a 4-step RA), via MsgA (e.g., based on a 2-step RA), and/or via a CG resource (e.g., a CG Type 1). The UL data of the SDT may be transmitted based on a dynamic scheduling and/or a semi-persistent scheduling when the UE is in the RRC_INACTIVE state.
/Tejis Daya/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472