DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 received on 1/29/2024 have been examined, of which claims 1, 14 and 18 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dong (US 2023/0269012)
Regarding claim 1, Dong teaches a first electronic device (right earbud (broadcast sink) in fig 5 is considered as first electronic device; communication device 600, fig 12; para 240: the communication device 600 may implement corresponding processes implemented by the control device, the first broadcast sink or the second broadcast sink) comprising:
memory storing instructions (memory 620, fig 12, para 238);
a communication circuit (transceiver 630, fig 12); and
a processor (processor 610, fig 12), wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the first electronic device (para 238; fig 5) to:
identify failing to synchronize to a broadcast isochronous stream (BIS) from a third electronic device during first periodic advertisement intervals of the third electronic device (s12-s13, fig 5; para 155-156: in S12, the user triggers switching to the monaural playback mode, causing the right earbud to enter an idle state, in S13, the right earbud sends notification information to notify the broadcast assistant that the right earbud has stopped synchronizing to the periodic advertising; in fig 5, the broadcast source is considered third electronic device) indicated based on first information for synchronizing to the BIS (s11, fig 5; para 150-152: the broadcast assistant scans the broadcast source, and receives the Periodic Advertising (PA) sent by the broadcast source to the broadcast assistant, it instructs the left earbud to synchronize to the PA and synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the left channel, and instructs the right earbud to synchronize to the PA and synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the right channel);
request, through the communication circuit, second information for synchronizing to the BIS (para 160: in S17, the right earbud sends notification information to the broadcast assistant, so as to request the broadcast assistant to send broadcast synchronization information), based on the identifying the failing to synchronize to the BIS (in fig 5, the trigger for switching right earbud to enter idle state indicates that the right earbud is not synchronize, which requires the trigger at S16 to switch to binaural node and right earbud to active state and request sync info in S17); and
synchronize to the BIS during second periodic advertisement intervals of the third electronic device (para 162: in S19, the right earbud starts to synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the right channel, to enter a music playback state (playing Media Streaming)) indicated based on the second information received through the communication circuit from a second electronic device (para 161: in S18, the broadcast assistant sends the broadcast synchronization information (SyncInfo) to the right earbud; in fig 5, the broadcast assistant is considered as second electronic device) that is paired with the first electronic device and is synchronized to the BIS (para 150-152: a broadcast sink such as Earbud Left/Right establishes a synchronization relationship (that is, Broadcast Audio Stream synchronization) with the broadcast source, with assistance of the broadcast assistant, the broadcast assistant scans the broadcast source, and receives the Periodic Advertising (PA) sent by the broadcast source to the broadcast assistant).
Regarding claim 18, Dong teaches a first electronic device (right earbud (broadcast sink) in fig 5 is considered as first electronic device; communication device 600, fig 12; para 240: the communication device 600 may implement corresponding processes implemented by the control device, the first broadcast sink or the second broadcast sink) comprising:
memory storing instructions (memory 620, fig 12, para 238);
a communication circuit (transceiver 630, fig 12); and
a processor (processor 610, fig 12), wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the first electronic device (para 238; fig 5) to:
identify failing to synchronize a broadcast isochronous stream (BIS) from a third electronic device during first periodic advertisement intervals of the third electronic device (s12-s13, fig 5; para 155-156: in S12, the user triggers switching to the monaural playback mode, causing the right earbud to enter an idle state, in S13, the right earbud sends notification information to notify the broadcast assistant that the right earbud has stopped synchronizing to the periodic advertising; in fig 5, the broadcast source is considered third electronic device) indicated by first information for synchronizing to the BIS (s11, fig 5; para 150-152: the broadcast assistant scans the broadcast source, and receives the Periodic Advertising (PA) sent by the broadcast source to the broadcast assistant, it instructs the left earbud to synchronize to the PA and synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the left channel, and instructs the right earbud to synchronize to the PA and synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the right channel);
request, based on the identifying the failing to synchronize to the BIS (in fig 5, the trigger for switching right earbud to enter idle state indicates that the right earbud is not synchronize, which requires the trigger at S16 to switch to binaural node and right earbud to active state and request sync info in S17), second information for synchronizing to the BIS to a second electronic device (para 160: in S17, the right earbud sends notification information to the broadcast assistant, so as to request the broadcast assistant to send broadcast synchronization information) that transmitted the first information and is connected to the first electronic device through the communication circuit (S11, fig 5; para 150-152: the broadcast assistant scans the broadcast source, and receives the Periodic Advertising (PA) sent by the broadcast source to the broadcast assistant, it instructs the left earbud to synchronize to the PA and synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the left channel, and instructs the right earbud to synchronize to the PA and synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the right channel); and
synchronize to the BIS during second periodic advertisement intervals of the third electronic device (para 162: in S19, the right earbud starts to synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the right channel, to enter a music playback state (playing Media Streaming)) indicated based on the second information received through the communication circuit in accordance with the request (para 160-161: in S17, the right earbud sends sync request, in S18, the broadcast assistant sends the broadcast synchronization information (SyncInfo) to the right earbud).
Regarding claim 5, Dong further teaches to request the second information through the communication circuit (transceiver 630, fig 12) to the second electronic device (para 160: in S17, the right earbud sends notification information to the broadcast assistant, so as to request the broadcast assistant to send broadcast synchronization information).
Regarding claim 7, Dong further teaches wherein the second information is at least partially different from the first information (in fig 5, the first information is considered at step s11, broadcast assistant instructs the right earbud to synchronize to the PA and synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the right channel, which is part of the broadcast audio stream establishment and member discovery process; the second information is considered at step s18, the broadcast assistant sends the broadcast synchronization information (SyncInfo) to the right earbud; thus both the information are partially different).
Regarding claim 19, Dong further teaches wherein the second information is received from a fourth electronic device paired with the first electronic device (para 161: in S18, the broadcast assistant sends the broadcast synchronization information (SyncInfo) to the right earbud; S11, fig 5; para 150-152: the broadcast assistant instructs the right earbud to synchronize to the PA and synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the right channel; it is noted that the claim does not limit if the fourth device is similar or different from second electronic device, thus broadcast assistant is considered as fourth device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (US 2023/0269012)
Regarding claim 14, Dong teaches a first electronic device (right earbud (broadcast sink) in fig 5 is considered as first electronic device; communication device 600, fig 12; para 240: the communication device 600 may implement corresponding processes implemented by the control device, the first broadcast sink or the second broadcast sink) comprising:
memory storing instructions (memory 620, fig 12, para 238);
a communication circuit (transceiver 630, fig 12); and
a processor (processor 610, fig 12), wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the first electronic device (para 238; fig 5) to:
receive, through the communication circuit from a second electronic device (the broadcast assistant in fig 5 is considered as second electronic device) connected to the first electronic device (right earbud, fig 5), first information for synchronizing a broadcast isochronous stream (BIS) from a third electronic device (S11, fig 5; para 150-152: the broadcast assistant scans the broadcast source, and receives the Periodic Advertising (PA) sent by the broadcast source to the broadcast assistant, it instructs the left earbud to synchronize to the PA and synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the left channel, and instructs the right earbud to synchronize to the PA and synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the right channel; the broadcast source in fig 5 is considered third electronic device);
identify failing to synchronize to the BIS during first periodic advertisement intervals of the third electronic device indicated based on the first information (s12-s13, fig 5; para 155-156: in S12, the user triggers switching to the monaural playback mode, causing the right earbud to enter an idle state, in S13, the right earbud sends notification information to notify the broadcast assistant that the right earbud has stopped synchronizing to the periodic advertising);
receive a second advertising packet advertised on a secondary advertising channel (s19, para 162, BIS corresponding to right channel) from the third electronic device, based on the first advertising packet (para 161: in S18, the broadcast assistant sends the broadcast synchronization information (SyncInfo) to the right earbud);
obtain second information for synchronizing to the BIS, based on the second advertising packet (para 161: in S18, the broadcast assistant sends the broadcast synchronization information (SyncInfo) to the right earbud); and
synchronize to the BIS during second periodic advertisement intervals of the third electronic device (para 162: in S19, the right earbud starts to synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the right channel, to enter a music playback state (playing Media Streaming)) indicated based on the second information (para 161: in S18, the broadcast assistant sends the broadcast synchronization information (SyncInfo) to the right earbud).
Dong teaches the audio control method, including right earbud determining to switch from binaural (right/left channel) synchronizing to monaural mode where right earbud stops synchronizing to periodic advertisements. The reference does not teach Right earbud (first electronic device) to receive a first advertising packet advertised on a primary advertising channel from the third electronic device, based on the identifying failing to synchronize to the BIS. However, the reference teaches that the left earbud in the same coordinated set receives the indication from the broadcast assistant based on notification from right earbud to switch to mono channel from binaural (right/left) channel.
Thus, Dong further teaches to receive a first advertising packet advertised on a primary advertising channel from the third electronic device, based on the identifying failing to synchronize to the BIS (para 158: in S15, the broadcast assistant modifies the broadcast source, instructs the found target earbud to stop synchronizing to the BIS corresponding to the left channel, and to start synchronizing to the BIS corresponding to the mono channel, to enter the monaural playback mode, the target earbud, such as the left earbud, updates media streaming. In this mode, the broadcast audio stream synchronization is performed between the broadcast source and the left earbud). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine synchronization control of broadcast isochronous stream in mono-right and left channels as taught by Dong with receiving advertisement packet based on failing to synchronize as taught by Dong for the benefit of optimizing the audio playback effect and improving the user experience as taught by Dong in Para 106.
Regarding claim 16, Dong further teaches to: start to receive the first advertising packet (periodic advertising after S11, fig 5; para 152: the broadcast assistant scans the broadcast source, and receives the Periodic Advertising (PA) sent by the broadcast source to the broadcast assistant, and instructs the right earbud to synchronize to the PA and synchronize to the BIS corresponding to the right channel), before information regarding a user input indicating to attempt synchronizing to the BIS again (steps s12 and s16 in fig 5 include user input or trigger to switch to monaural (stop synchronizing) and binaural modes (request synchronization)) is received from the second electronic device through the communication circuit (para 161: in S18, the broadcast assistant sends the broadcast synchronization information (SyncInfo) to the right earbud).
Claims 8-9, 11-12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (US 2023/0269012) in view of Batra et al. (US 20170244576)
Regarding claim 8, Dong teaches the limitations of parent claim. Dong fails to teach hopping sequence indication. Batra is directed to synchronization to Bluetooth LE isochronous channels.
Batra further teaches wherein the second information further indicates a hopping sequence of the second periodic advertisement intervals (para 7: the update slots can be used to synchronize to a Bluetooth isochronous channel (e.g., an ICL channel), thereby dispensing with the requirement that the receiver device continually listen to the periodic advertising stream after the isochronous channel has been acquired (or re-acquired), an ICL stream may include an update sub-event that provides a mechanism to allow the broadcaster to update all receiving devices with control information (e.g., a new automatic frequency hopping (AFH) channel map), wherein the broadcaster may schedule the update sub-event within the ICL stream when the information needs to be sent to the receiving devices; para 53: the isochronous physical channels 412 may be characterized according to a pseudo-random hopping sequence among a set of physical (PHY) data channels (with any packet retransmission(s) done on a different PHY channel), a channel map parameter that indicates the set of PHY channels, a channel selection algorithm used to select the PHY channels, and one or more timing parameters to indicate the first isochronous data packet sent in either a Link Layer connection command or an advertising packet). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine synchronization control of broadcast isochronous stream in channels as taught by Dong with control information for isochronous channel as taught by Batra for the benefit of to reducing the effects from interference as taught by Batra in Para 44.
Regarding claim 9, Dong fails to teach, but Batra further teaches wherein the second information further indicates an access address for synchronizing to the BIS (para 54: the isochronous logical transport 422 may be connection-oriented, in which case the isochronous physical link 414 may be a point-to-point link between one source device and one sink device, the isochronous physical link 414 used to carry the connection-oriented isochronous logical transport 422 may be identified according to a randomly generated access address used in a Link Layer packet and handle associated with an isochronous connection-oriented (ICO) channel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine synchronization control of broadcast isochronous stream in channels as taught by Dong with control information for isochronous channel as taught by Batra for the benefit of to reducing the effects from interference as taught by Batra in Para 44.
Regarding claim 11, Dong fails to teach, but Batra further teaches wherein the first electronic device is paired with the second electronic device through a Bluetooth basic rate (BR) or a Bluetooth enhanced data rate (EDR) (para 53: isochronous data support may be enabled in Bluetooth LE via isochronous physical channels 412 used to transfer isochronous data from a source device to one or more sink devices according to a connection-oriented or connectionless method; para 38: Bluetooth wireless technology systems generally come in two forms, which include Basic Rate (BR) and Low Energy (LE), wherein the former further includes optional Enhanced Data Rate (EDR)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine synchronization control of broadcast isochronous stream in channels as taught by Dong with control information for isochronous channel as taught by Batra for the benefit of to reducing the effects from interference as taught by Batra in Para 44.
Regarding claim 12 and 17, Dong fails to teach, but Batra further teaches to: synchronize to the BIS by receiving through the communication circuit, advertising packets that are advertised during the second periodic advertisement intervals from the third electronic device (para 63: fig 6A, a source device broadcasting isochronous data over an isochronous channel 640 may therefore transmit one or more advertising packets 612 via the primary advertising channels 610, the auxiliary synchronization packets 632 transmitted via the periodic advertising stream 630 may likewise include the synchronization information associated with the isochronous channel 640), and wherein the advertising packets include information regarding a broadcast isochronous group (BIG) including multiple instances for the BIS (para 64: the synchronization information broadcasted on the secondary advertising channels 620 and/or the periodic advertising stream 630 may comprise various parameters that enable the isochronous channel 640 to be selected and acquired at the sink device(s), as depicted at 624 and 634, the synchronization information may include a channel map that indicates used and unused data channels). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine synchronization control of broadcast isochronous stream in channels as taught by Dong with control information for isochronous channel as taught by Batra for the benefit of to reducing the effects from interference as taught by Batra in Para 44.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6, 10, 13, 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Bonde et al. (US 20220200716): Bonde teaches the relayed retransmission of the broadcast isochronous stream data, determination of failed receive packet from source node, requesting the retransmission and receiving the retransmission based on request from another device which received the packet.
- Lee et al. (US 20210400096): Lee teaches receiving audio data by using Bluetooth technology and synchronization for BIS.
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 4/14/2026