DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 5/18/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9, 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 as amended appears to be new matter. The only disclosure of having oxygen-containing functional groups of silica nanoparticles is in [0029.] There is no further disclose that these functionalizations provide any discriminate adsorption or desorption, that is any selective adsorption of a specific greenhouse gas.
These claims recite functionalizing the activated carbon for “a specific aqueous greenhouse gas” and separately collecting the specific greenhouse gas. Claim 9 recites each of the adsorption apparatuses [in series] outputs a specific … gas. There is no support for these claim elements in the disclosure. Claim 21 is even more specific. The only disclosure the examiner could find is “In some examples, functionalizing can include binding proteins or perhaps releasing in response to varying electrical charges,” which provides no significant detail for both functionalizing as well as for “perhaps releasing in response to varying electrical charges.” Also, varying electrical charges is unclear and speculative. Does it mean, positive, negative or neutral charge, or varying the electrical current to achieve different desorption temperature? Therefore, there is no evidence in the disclosure to show that applicant has possession of the claimed invention.
There must be a teaching of what type of functionalization in each apparatus would make the adsorption/desorption specific as claimed for that apparatus.
Arguments traversing these rejections: argument citing [0030] [sic] (should be [0029]) is not persuasive – it just quotes a generic statement, but fails to show any details. Regarding [0020], there is no disclosure teaching what functional group(s) would perform this type of discriminate separation.
Double Patenting
Claims are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 18/432975. Details in the table below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Application
Claim nos.
Ref. 18/432975
Claim nos.
Remarks
1-6
1-6
Ref. claims are narrower – anticipation. Gas or aqueous feed are processes, not patentable in apparatus claims.
7
7
Container vs. reservoir no patentable difference
8
8
First and second in ref. is specific to plurality.
9-10
9-10
Only recites function
The terminal disclaimer applicant filed on 9/16/26 was disapproved. Reason for the disapproval is provided on the notice of disapproval filed 9/25/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over WO 2012/020755 in view of Verougstraeat et al., “Electrical swing adsorption on 3D-printed activated carbon monoliths for CO2 capture from biogas,” Separation and Purification Technology 299 (2022) 121660.
At the outset, the term “electrothermal” is giving no patentable weight because applicant provides no further disclosure as to the structure and function of this term as applied to the swing adsorption.
Claims are directed to an apparatus. Therefore, the configuration with respect to receiving feed water or outputting purified water and greenhouse gases are purely functional language, which the apparatus in WO is capable of.
A claim term is functional when it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)
Teaching of WO is annotated in fig. 1 above. For detailed explanation, see the rejection 2 below.
WO teaches desorption of adsorbed gases by a pre-heated desorption purge gas in [0029], but fails to teach directly heating the apparatus by electrical heating. However, using electrical heating of adsorption columns for regeneration is not new and is known in the art. Further, Verougstraeat teaches desorption of adsorbed gases from carbon monoliths using electrical heating before purging with purge gas. Verougstraeat also teaches studies on capacity retention after repeat cycles using electric heating in table 2 as a function of applied voltage. This shows that the direct electrical heating at relatively higher voltage affords higher capacity retention in repeat cycles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Verougstraeat in the teaching of WO for such improvements.
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over WO 2012/020755 and Verougstraeat as applied in rejection 1, and further in view of Hosseini et al, “Technological Applications of Honeycomb Monoliths in Environmental Processes: A Review,” Brunel University Research Archive, https://bura.brunel.ac.uk › bitstream › FullText.pdf.
Fig. 1 of WO is copied herein with some annotations showing the relevant parts claimed. The apparatus in WO has two activated carbon adsorption columns having honeycomb structure (“monolith”) and fiber carbon adsorbent (see [0059],) the requisite inlet and outlet ports with interchangeable valves so that while one of them is in adsorption cycle, the other can be in desorption cycle as claimed. See [0054]. Details – [0046]-[0061].
WO mentions honeycomb structure and carbon fiber for the carbon adsorption column. WO does not teach functionalized carbon monolith. However, functionalized carbon nanofiber honeycomb structures are known and commercially available (sources like from Mast Carbon International, UK) and is not a patentable invention. Hosseini teaches such technologies as known for years, and functionalizing can be specific for gases, and includes oxygen containing group (table 3). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have such functionalized carbon monoliths (claim 6) for removing specific greenhouse gases, such as for carbon capture, in the teaching of WO. Also combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious (See MPEP 2143.)
“Coal based” in claim 5 is not patentable unless otherwise shown: it only signifies the source of carbon.
Claim 7-10, series arrangement and collection containers: providing plurality of devise in series is not patentable because it is obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide plural devices in series to increase the adsorption capacity as required. It is also obvious to provide plural devises in series with different functionality for the purpose of separately collecting different species of desorbed components if so desired – known in the art as shown by Hosseini. Providing storage tanks for the collected greenhouse gases is also obvious, sine the other possibility would be releasing then to the atmosphere, which beats the desired purpose.
MPEP 2143, Rationales for combining: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 11, chromatographic column: a chromatographic column is simply a column of adsorbent, in this case not different from the activated carbon monolith. Applicant has not disclosed any different type of chromatographic column for this purpose. Since the disclosed monolith column is capable of discriminately adsorbing the greenhouse gases, the examiner finds claim 11, (under the broadest reasonable interpretation,) as added parallel or series column, such as in claim 8. Alternately, having a chromatographic analytical column to routinely analyze the feed wastewater, well-known in the art, would have been obvious to monitor the water for operational purposes. See the rationales for combining stated supra.
Response to Arguments
Arguments directed at the 112 rejections are addressed therein.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected on merits have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISHNAN S MENON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777