DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,815,633. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by those of U.S. Patent No. 10,815,633. For example, the horizontal rings and vertical tensioning cables are similarly recited.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,017,910. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by those of U.S. Patent No. 10,017,910. For example, the horizontal rings and vertical tensioning cables are similarly recited.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 8,714,877. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by those of U.S. Patent No. 8,714,877. For example, the horizontal rings and vertical tensioning cables are similarly recited.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 8,322,949. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed by those of U.S. Patent No. 8,322,949. For example, the horizontal rings and vertical tensioning cables are similarly recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 21-26 and 40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Larson et al (US 5,131,201) in view of Morrison et al (US 2004/0134144).
As to claim 21, Larson et al discloses a system for creating a structure comprising: a plurality of segments 2 used to fabricate a horizontal ring, wherein the plurality of segments 2 and one or more of the horizontal rings are stacked vertically within an area of excavated earth.
Larson et al does not disclose the vertical post-tensioning member being a cable. Morrison et al discloses (pg. 3, para [0043]) that tendons may be used as tensioning members. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a cable as a post-tensioning member as disclosed by Morrison et al, since doing so would facilitate reinforcement of a structure by providing post-tensioning tendons such as cables.
As to claim 22-24 and 40, Larson discloses the use of material such as grout to occupy space between stacked rings to prevent moisture from entering the structure (see col. 4, lines 55-58). Furthermore, the grout may be applied at any pressure including high pressure.
As to claim 25, Larson discloses wherein the plurality of segments 2 includes two or more segments 2.
As to claim 26, Larson discloses wherein each of the two or more segments 2 includes a body comprising a top horizontal face, a bottom horizontal face, a left face, and a right face.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see amendment, filed 12/11/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FREDERICK L LAGMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678