DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending, with claims 9-20 being withdrawn.
This action is in response to the amendment filed 1/26/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument (pages 7-8/10) relative to the Smith reference not providing a “duct for fluid communication with an interior of a housing”, is not persuasive, since the limitations in the claim recite intended use features that are not positively recited in the claims. The claimed limitations: “for a continuously variable transmission (CVT) clutch assembly having a housing including a cover” and, “for attachment to and fluid communication with an interior of the housing of the clutch assembly” are all considered as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. (MPEP 2111.02)
Applicant’s argument (pages 8-9/10) relative to the Skillman reference not providing a “duct” is not persuasive. A review of the originally filed specification for the instant application, does not provide a special meaning for the term “duct”.
A Google search for the term “duct” provides the following definition, “a tube or passageway in a building or machine for air, liquid, cables, etc”, and, “a pipe, tube, or channel that conveys a substance” (see attached non-patent literature document).
Applicant’s device, see Figure 5 (see below), shows two ducts at 104 and 204, these ducts are sections of the tubing, of the invention, that provide a passageway for the fluid within them.
In a similar manner the structural features (items 21-24) found in Skillman together create a duct having a passageway for the fluid within them. The term duct is therefore being interpreted in the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI).
Applicant’s argument (page 9/10) relative to the obviousness rejection in changing the size of the opening is not persuasive, since the only requirement is for the height dimension to be larger than the float element. This change of size for a height change would not require a hole size to be larger than the diameter of the ball float but only higher than the diameter of the ball, such a change would not permit the ball to come out of the elongated slot (in a similar manner to the opening in Smith). However, if such a change did create a situation where the ball came out of the cage, because of the inner wall of the housing surrounding the cage, the ball float would only partially come out of the cage and abut the inner diameter of the housing, and once the level of the fluid would lower, the ball would be able to drop to the seat as shown in the figure, and therefore such a change in size would not “render Skillman’s valve completely inoperable”.
Since applicant’s amendments are not persuasive, this action has been made Non-Final.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/29/2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species I in the reply filed on 7/29/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a plurality of ducts and cages, and a vehicle are not mutually exclusive. This is not found persuasive because there is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species and the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the prior rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Smith, Sr. (US 2611384).
Regarding claim 1, Smith Sr. disclose a duct valve (see Fig. 2,6) “for a continuously variable transmission (CVT) clutch assembly having a housing including a cover” (intended use), the duct valve comprising:
a first duct (32) having a first end (at 49) and a distal end (at 47), the first end being “for attachment to and fluid communication with an interior of the housing of the clutch assembly” (intended use);
a first valve cage (at 55) coupled to the distal end of the first duct, the first valve cage comprising a first surface (the surface of the vertical interior of 55) on lateral sides thereof and having at least one first side opening (the long vertical slots in 55 as shown in Fig. 2,6) extending through said first surface: and
a first floatable element (53) contained within the first valve cage, the floatable element being sized to have a small clearance (the gap between the edge of the float 53 and the inner surface of the vertical wall of 55, see Fig. 6) between the floatable element and the sides of the first valve cage, the first side opening having an opening width (best seen in Figure 2, the width of the slot being larger than the clearance) larger than the small clearance between the floatable element and the lateral sides of the first valve cage.
The claimed limitations: “for a continuously variable transmission (CVT) clutch assembly having a housing including a cover” and, “for attachment to and fluid communication with an interior of the housing of the clutch assembly” are all considered as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 2, Smith Sr. disclose the first valve cage further comprises a plurality of lateral side openings (multiple openings/slots shown in Fig.2), such lateral side openings having height dimensions larger than said first floatable element (as seen above in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Smith Sr. disclose wherein the first valve cage includes a plurality of side openings, said side openings being vertical slots in a peripheral surface (the inner bore surface of 55 that intersect with the slots surrounding the float 53) of the first valve cage (as shown in Fig. 2 multiple slots/ openings at the start of the lead line for numeral 55 surrounding float 53).
Regarding claim 5, Smith Sr. disclose the plurality of side openings have a height dimension greater than that of the first floatable element (as shown in Fig.2).
Regarding claim 6, Smith Sr. disclose the first floatable element is configured to have a first buoyancy so as to displace towards a first top surface (at 54) of the first valve cage according to a liquid level when the first valve cage is at least partially submerged in a liquid medium (the limitations regarding “is configured to have …” are met by the features in Smith Sr. as they are capable of meeting the functional limitations in the claim, the float element 53 in Smith Sr. rises under the influence of a buoyancy to a liquid, see Fig. 6, col.5, lns. 3-8).
Regarding claim 7, Smith Sr. disclose the first floatable element is configured to cover a first air opening (within 54) when the first valve cage is completely in a liquid medium, thereby preventing entering of liquid within a clutch assembly from the first duct (the limitations regarding “is configured to cover …” are met by the features in Smith Sr. as they are capable of meeting the functional limitations in the claim, the float element 53 in Smith Sr. rises under the water level. The floatable element 53 is round and therefore mates with the valve seat 54, and therefore is “configured to cover the first opening”).
Regarding claim 8, Smith Sr. disclose a top surface (the surface of the valve seat 54 mates with the float element 53 and therefore is contoured to complement the shape of the float element) of the first valve cage is contoured to complement a shape of the first floatable element.
Claim(s) 1,3,4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Skillman (US 5178184).
Regarding claim 1, Skillman disclose a duct valve (11, see Fig. 2,3) “for a continuously variable transmission (CVT) clutch assembly having a housing including a cover” (intended use), the duct valve comprising:
a first duct (21-24) having a first end (at 21) and a distal end (at 24), the first end being “for attachment to and fluid communication with an interior of the housing of the clutch assembly” (intended use);
a first valve cage (at 33,34,35) coupled to the distal end of the first duct, the first valve cage comprising a first surface (the inner vertical surface of 35) on lateral sides thereof and having at least one first side opening (the 38c as shown in Fig. 2,3) extending through said first surface: and
a first floatable element (50) contained within the first valve cage, the floatable element being sized to have a small clearance (the gap between the edge of the float 50 and the inner surface of the vertical wall of 35, see Fig. 2,3) between the floatable element and the sides of the first valve cage, the first side opening having an opening width (best seen in Figure 2, the width of the opening being larger than the clearance) larger than the small clearance between the floatable element and the lateral sides of the first valve cage.
The claimed limitations: “for a continuously variable transmission (CVT) clutch assembly having a housing including a cover” and, “for attachment to and fluid communication with an interior of the housing of the clutch assembly” are all considered as intended use limitations. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 3, Skillman disclose the first valve cage further comprises a first bottom surface (the surface of 34 along the bottom at 51) having a first bottom opening (the opening within 51), the first bottom opening substantially covering the first bottom surface thereof, the first bottom surface extending inwardly from the lateral sides of the first valve cage such that the opening has a width smaller than a width of the first floatable element (as shown in Fig.2 above).
Regarding claim 4, Skillman disclose wherein the first valve cage includes a plurality of side openings (38a,b,c), said side openings being vertical slots in a peripheral surface (the inner surface of 35 surrounding 50) of the first valve cage (as shown in Fig. 2 multiple slots where the openings are considered as slots in the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Regarding claim 6, Skillman disclose the first floatable element is configured to have a first buoyancy so as to displace towards a first top surface (at 52) of the first valve cage according to a liquid level when the first valve cage is at least partially submerged in a liquid medium (the limitations regarding “is configured to have …” are met by the features in Skillman as they are capable of meeting the functional limitations in the claim, the float element 50 in Skillman rises under the influence of a buoyancy to a liquid, see Fig. 2, col.5, lns. 43-59).
Regarding claim 7, Skillman disclose the first floatable element is configured to cover a first air opening (within 52) when the first valve cage is completely in a liquid medium, thereby preventing entering of liquid within a clutch assembly from the first duct (the limitations regarding “is configured to cover …” are met by the features in Skillman as it is capable of meeting the functional limitations in the claim, the float element 50 in Skillman rises under the fluid level. The floatable element 50 is round and therefore mates with the valve seat 52, and therefore is “configured to cover the first opening”).
Regarding claim 8, Skillman disclose a top surface (the surface of the valve seat 52 mates with the float element 50 and therefore is contoured to complement the shape of the float element) of the first valve cage is contoured to complement a shape of the first floatable element (as shown in Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skillman ‘184.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Skillman discloses all of the features of the claimed invention including the first valve cage further comprises a plurality of lateral side openings (multiple openings 38 a-c, shown in Fig.2), although are silent that the lateral side openings having height dimensions larger than said first floatable element.
It would have been obvious to construct the opening to be a larger size, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to construct the opening in any size, since there is no criticality to the opening's size and invention would function as well with any opening size.
Should the rejection above not be found persuasive, the following rejection is given in an alternative manner.
Claim(s) 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skillman ‘184 in view of Smith, Sr. (US 2611384).
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Skillman discloses all of the features of the claimed invention including the first valve cage further comprises a plurality of lateral side openings (multiple openings 38 a-c, shown in Fig.2), although are silent that the lateral side openings having height dimensions larger than said first floatable element.
Smith Sr. teaches the use of the lateral side openings (at the start of the lead line for numeral 55 in Fig. 2) having height dimensions larger than said first floatable element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute an opening as taught by Smith, Sr. for the opening of Skillman, since it has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component (one float opening for another) or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753