DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Snyder et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0183351, hereinafter referred to as Snyder).
With respect to claim 1, Snyder discloses and illustrates a network-based gas sensor system (see at least paragraph [0251] that discloses that the system can encompass a number of different sensor types, including gas sensors) comprising one or more base units (see Figures 1 and 2, Controllers 138 A, B, C) and a plurality of gas sensors (LED 140A A, B, LED 141 A, B), wherein at least two of the plurality of gas sensors are connected directly to one another in a daisy chain (see at least paragraph [0044]) by respective RJ-type cables (see at least paragraph [0264]), each respective RJ-type cable extending between and directly connecting one gas sensor to an adjacent gas sensor in the daisy chain (see Figures 1 and 2, LED 140A connected directly to LED140B) and wherein the daisy chain is connected to a given base unit of the one or more base units through a single port of the given base unit (see Figures 1 and 2, AutoID150A connected to LED 140A connected via 190R to access port 160 then to PoE Switch 120 via a single port via 190N)
With respect to claim 2, the system of claim 1, wherein the sensors in the daisy chain configuration are capable of transmitting both data and power through the RJ type cables each respective RJ-type cable directly connecting adjacent gas sensors is configured to concurrently transmit both data and power between the adjacent gas sensors (see at least paragraph [0152]).
With respect to claim 4, the system of claim 1, wherein the base units are capable of sharing resources across the network, allowing for coordinated control and interaction with devices connected to different base units (see at least paragraph [0244]).
With respect to claim 5, the system of claim 4, wherein the shared resources include, but are not limited to, relays, contact devices, and IP-enabled devices (see at least paragraph [0089]).
With respect to claim 6, the system of claim 1, where the base units are capable of interfacing with an IP network to enable data sharing, remote management, and coordination of actions across the network.
With respect to claim 7, a method of monitoring for a gas anomaly using a network-based gas sensor system, the method comprising: directly connecting at least two gas sensors (LED 140A A, B, LED 141 A, B) to one another in a daisy chain (see at least paragraph [0044]) using respective RJ-type cables (see at least paragraph [0264]), each respective RJ-type cable extending between and directly connecting one gas sensor to an adjacent gas sensor in the daisy chain (see Figures 1 and 2, LED 140A connected directly to LED140B); connecting the daisy chain to a given base unit through a single port of the given base unit (see Figures 1 and 2, AutoID150A connected to LED 140A connected via 190R to access port 160 then to PoE Switch 120 via a single port via 190N); collecting, through the single port, gas-sensor data from each of the at least two gas sensors (see at least paragraph [0044]); analyzing, by the given base unit, one or more dedicated computer systems, or another logical unit, the gas-sensor data according to predefined criteria or learned patterns (see at least paragraph [0145]); and triggering a response when the analysis detects the gas anomaly (see at least Chart 2 that mentions trigger thresholds and trigger events).
With respect to claim 8, the method of claim 7, further comprising connecting an end of the daisy chain back to the given base unit to form a ring that provides an alternate communication path in response to failure of a gas sensor (see at least paragraph [0100]).
With respect to claim 9, the method of claim 7. wherein the daisy chain further includes at least one non-sensor signal-control or routing device (see Figures 1 and 2. Router Comm 110, is an example).
With respect to claim 10, the method of claim 7, further comprising dynamically reconfiguring the sensor network in response to the detected gas anomaly or an environmental change (see at least paragraph [0098]).
With respect to claim 11, the method of claim 7, further comprising automatically updating firmware or software of at least one of the gas sensors or the given base unit (see at least paragraph [0113]).
With respect to claim 12, the method of claim 7, further comprising performing a self-diagnostic operation at one or more of the gas sensors or the given base unit see at least Chart 2, specifically the section about MDM at the end of Chart 2).
With respect to claim 13, the method of claim 12, further comprising generating a predictive maintenance alert based on gas-sensor performance data and historical trends (see at least paragraph [0077].
With respect to claim 14, the system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of gas sensors is configured to detect hydrogen (H2), a volatile organic compound (VOC), or both (see at least paragraph [0251] where a gas sensor and an infrared sensor are both disclosed).
With respect to claim 15, the system of claim 1, wherein the daisy chain further comprises at least one non-gas sensor selected from a thermal sensor, an environmental sensor, a power sensor, or a mechanical sensor (see at least paragraph [0251] where a strain gauge is disclosed).
With respect to claim 16, the system of claim 1, wherein the daisy chain further comprises at least one non sensor signal-control or routing device (see Figures 1 and 2. Router Comm 110, is an example).
With respect to claim 17, the system of claim 1, wherein an end of the daisy chain is connected back to the given base unit to form a ring configured to maintain continuity of communication in response to failure of a gas sensor (see at least paragraph [0100]).
With respect to claim 18, the system of claim 1, wherein the respective RJ-type cables comprise RJ45, RJ12, or RJ11 cables (see at least paragraph [0264]).
With respect to claim 19, the system of claim 1, wherein the given base unit is physically separate from the plurality of gas sensors and is configured to make gas-sensor data received through the single port available to an Internet Protocol network
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cella et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0196230; hereinafter referred to as Cella).
With respect to claim 3, Snyder fails to disclose the system of claim 1, further including a data analysis unit capable of processing data from the sensors gas-sensor data received from the plurality of gas sensors by way of the single port using decision-making frameworks that include rule-based systems, predictive learning, machine learning, artificial intelligence, or combinations thereof to detect a gas anomaly. However, Cella discloses a system whereby a data collection circuit uses machine-learning data analysis circuit is used to monitor a system that can utilize a variety of sensors 9see at least paragraph [1082] of Cella. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the machine learning of Cella with the system of Snyder in order to provide a more accurate means to monitor data collected as it become more adaptive and accurate over time to various conditions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference and/or combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In order to provide as compact prosecution as possible, the Examiner notes that the Applicant raised an issue that the prior art discloses an LED and that an LED is not a gas sensor. The Examiner notes that the reference discloses LED fixtures, not actual LEDs and while the fixtures can be used for LEDs, the references discloses that the fixtures can be used with other devices as well, such as gas sensors. Therefore, the use of such a device with gas sensors is disclosed and thus the argument about a lack of gas sensors is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RODNEY T. FRANK
Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855
September 22, 2026