DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged that application claims priority to foreign application with application number JP2023-024093 dated 2/20/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS(s) dated 1/29/2024 has been considered and placed in the application file.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “unit that” in claim(s) 1-9 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-10, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Xu et al (US 20200402272 A1, hereafter referred to as Xu) in view of Kusens et al (US 20160183864 A1, hereafter referred to as Kusens).
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, Xu teaches A medical imaging apparatus that captures a medical image of a subject placed on a patient table, the medical imaging apparatus comprising:
a camera image acquisition unit that acquires a camera image including the patient table (Xu in ¶6 discloses “receiving an RGB image and a depth image of an object positioned on a scan table”);
a person extraction unit that extracts a person from the camera image (Xu in Fig. 2A and ¶50 discloses scanning a person).
Xu does not explicitly teach all of a subject specification unit that specifies the subject from among a plurality of the persons extracted by the person extraction unit, based on a distance between each of the plurality of persons and a reference position set based on the patient table.
However, Kusens teaches a subject specification unit that specifies the subject from among a plurality of the persons extracted by the person extraction unit (Kusens in ¶28-29 discloses distinguishing the person being monitored from others who may be within range of the monitoring sensors, such as visitors, caretakers, other service providers, passers-by, and the like),
based on a distance between each of the plurality of persons and a reference position set based on the patient table (Kusens in ¶28-29, 42 discloses the 3D sensors may assess how close the caregiver approaches. 3-D virtual patient zone equates to distance threshold under BRI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xu by incorporating a virtual 3D patient zone to distinguish imaging subjects based on proximity that is taught by Kusens, since both reference are analogous art in the field of camera-based patient detection; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since Xu’s automated scan range setting using camera-based key point detection with Kusens’s multi-person patient identification using a virtual zone as a distance/proximity threshold yields the predictable result of robust automated scan range determination even when multiple people are present in the camera image, thereby improving reliability.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 2
Regarding Claim 2, Xu in view of Kusens teaches The medical imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the subject specification unit sets a position of a center line of the camera image as the reference position (Kusens in ¶90 discloses setting a scan center).
Claim 5
Regarding Claim 5, Xu in view of Kusens teaches The medical imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the subject specification unit sets a position of a center point of the camera image as the reference position (Kusens in ¶90 discloses setting a scan center).
Claim 7
Regarding Claim 7, Xu in view of Kusens teaches The medical imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the subject specification unit extracts a region of the patient table from the camera image and sets a position of a center line or a center point of the extracted region as the reference position (Kusens in ¶90 discloses setting a scan center).
Claim 8
Regarding Claim 8, Xu in view of Kusens teaches The medical imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the subject specification unit selects a person having a shortest distance from among the plurality of persons (Kusens in ¶6 discloses setting a virtual patient zone to define a patient. Inherently, the patient is the shortest distance from this zone).
Claim 9
Regarding Claim 9, Xu in view of Kusens teaches The medical imaging apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the subject specification unit specifies, in a case where the person selected from among the plurality of persons satisfies a predetermined condition, the person as the subject (Kusens in ¶6 discloses setting a virtual patient zone to define a patient).
Claim 10
Regarding Claim 10, Xu in view of Kusens teaches The medical imaging apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the predetermined condition is that the person is within a region of the patient table (Kusens in ¶6 discloses setting a virtual patient zone to define a patient).
Claim 12
Regarding Claim 12, Xu in view of Kusens teaches The medical imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the person extraction unit extracts the person from a range in which the patient table is movable (Kusens in Abstract and ¶6 discloses setting a virtual patient zone to define a patient. Inherently, the patient is the shortest distance from this zone. Patient tables are known to be movable, furthermore, the virtual patient zone that can be centered around a patients bed is movable).
Claim 13
Regarding Claim 13, Xu teaches A control method of a medical imaging apparatus that captures a medical image of a subject placed on a patient table, the control method comprising:
a camera image acquisition step of acquiring a camera image including the patient table (Xu in ¶6 discloses “receiving an RGB image and a depth image of an object positioned on a scan table”);
a person extraction step of extracting a person from the camera image (Xu in Fig. 2A and ¶50 discloses scanning a person).
Xu does not explicitly teach all of a subject specification step of specifying the subject from among a plurality of the persons extracted by the person extraction unit, based on a distance between each of the plurality of persons and a reference position set based on the patient table.
However, Kusens teaches a subject specification step of specifying the subject from among a plurality of the persons extracted in the person extraction step (Kusens in ¶28-29 discloses distinguishing the person being monitored from others who may be within range of the monitoring sensors, such as visitors, caretakers, other service providers, passers-by, and the like),
based on a distance between each of the plurality of persons and a reference position set based on the patient table (Kusens in ¶28-29, 42 discloses the 3D sensors may assess how close the caregiver approaches. 3-D virtual patient zone equates to distance threshold under BRI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xu by incorporating a virtual 3D patient zone to distinguish imaging subjects based on proximity that is taught by Kusens, since both reference are analogous art in the field of camera-based patient detection; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since Xu’s automated scan range setting using camera-based key point detection with Kusens’s multi-person patient identification using a virtual zone as a distance/proximity threshold yields the predictable result of robust automated scan range determination even when multiple people are present in the camera image, thereby improving reliability.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/J.P.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2674
/Ross Varndell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674
Date: 1/9/2025