DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/29/2024 has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, 11-12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomkins et al. (US 2014/0320946 hereinafter Tomkins) in view of Seder et al. (US 2022/0343876 hereinafter Seder).
Referring to claim 1, Tomkins discloses a vehicle dimming module ([0023]; Program/utility 140, having a set (at least one) of program modules 142, may be stored in memory 128 by way of example, and not limitation, as well as an operating system, one or more application programs, other program modules, and program data. Each of the operating system, one or more application programs, other program modules, and program data or some combination thereof, may include an implementation of a networking environment. Program modules 142 generally carry out the functions and/or methodologies of the embodiments. For example, a program module may be software for dynamically managing vehicle glass dimming.), comprising:
a first camera element, adapted to capture an appearance image of a driver ([0033]; Other transparent or reflective elements of the vehicle besides the windshield, collectively referred to as glass or vehicle glass, may be similarly controlled including the side windows, the rear window, any sunroof, and even the mirrors. Although a camera in the rear view mirror is described as being utilized to determine the location of the driver's eyes in the vehicle, cameras may be utilized in other locations and other types of detection may be utilized.);
a first dimming element, adapted to produce a first pattern ([0030]; This enhances the driver's comfort and allows the driver to see the road ahead and to the right without undue glare. With the proper amount of dimming, the driver should be able to see objects in the direction and angle of the sun that the driver could not see without such dimming to significantly block the bright light and reduce the surrounding glare….and [0032]; The amount of dimming may vary for selected sections of the windshield while allowing a majority of the windshield to remain normally transparent. Thus, different varying amount of dimming, produce different patterns.); and
a control element, electrically connected to the first camera element and the first dimming element ([0027]; FIG. 2A is a side cutaway view of a vehicle 300 with a driver 305 driving in the direction of the sun 310. Sun 310 is a bright light viewable by the driver through windshield 315. Driver also utilizes a rear view mirror 320 to view traffic behind the vehicle. Rear view mirror 320 may include a set of cameras for viewing the location of the driver's eyes in the vehicle and the relative location of the sun or other bright lights to the vehicle. This may be performed by identifying the eyes directly or by identifying the face or head of the driver and estimating the location of the driver's eyes. Identifying the face or head instead of the eyes of a driver may be particularly effective if the driver is wearing sunglasses and the eyes are obscured…. and [0023]; Program modules 142 generally carry out the functions and/or methodologies of the embodiments. For example, a program module may be software for dynamically managing vehicle glass dimming), the control element provides an initial state signal and a change state signal based on the appearance image ([0030]; FIG. 2C is a rear view of windshield 315 with many portions or sections 330, each of which can be separately dimmable on demand. In this illustration, there is a matrix of about 6 rows and 19 columns of roughly square dimmable sections collectively referred to as a portion of the windshield. Each section may be dimmed electronically as described below. In this example, a portion of the windshield including nine sections 335 are dimmed to reduce glare from the sun in the driver's eyes with the center section dimmed more than the other dimmed sections within the windshield portion, while allowing a majority of the windshield to remain normally transparent. This enhances the driver's comfort and allows the driver to see the road ahead and to the right without undue glare. With the proper amount of dimming, the driver should be able to see objects in the direction and angle of the sun that the driver could not see without such dimming to significantly block the bright light and reduce the surrounding glare.), the control element determines a viewing area on the first dimming element based on the initial state signal and drives the first dimming element to generate the first pattern on the viewing area ([0030]; FIG. 2C is a rear view of windshield 315 with many portions or sections 330, each of which can be separately dimmable on demand. In this illustration, there is a matrix of about 6 rows and 19 columns of roughly square dimmable sections collectively referred to as a portion of the windshield. Each section may be dimmed electronically as described below. In this example, a portion of the windshield including nine sections 335 are dimmed to reduce glare from the sun in the driver's eyes with the center section dimmed more than the other dimmed sections within the windshield portion, while allowing a majority of the windshield to remain normally transparent. This enhances the driver's comfort and allows the driver to see the road ahead and to the right without undue glare. With the proper amount of dimming, the driver should be able to see objects in the direction and angle of the sun that the driver could not see without such dimming to significantly block the bright light and reduce the surrounding glare.), and the control element controls the first dimming element to adjust the “dimming” value ([0032]; The amount of dimming may vary for selected sections of the windshield while allowing a majority of the windshield to remain normally transparent. For example, the section between the sun and the driver's eyes may be darkened considerably to significantly block the bright light whereby adjoining sections may be only slightly darkened to reduce the surrounding glare. Although 6 rows and 19 columns of roughly square sections are shown, more or fewer sections may be utilized and alternative arrangements may provide for hexagonal sections, overlapping circular or elliptical sections, as well as other types of sectional arrangements.) and/or “provide” the first pattern according to the change state signal ([0030]; In this example, a portion of the windshield including nine sections 335 are dimmed to reduce glare from the sun in the driver's eyes with the center section dimmed more than the other dimmed sections within the windshield portion, while allowing a majority of the windshield to remain normally transparent. This enhances the driver's comfort and allows the driver to see the road ahead and to the right without undue glare.).
However, Tomkins is silent on the control element controls the first dimming element to adjust the grayscale value and/or transmittance of the first pattern according to the change state signal.
In an analogous art, Seder discloses the control element controls the first dimming element to adjust the grayscale value ([0044]; The luminance level of the NIP may be automatically adjusted based on an ambient luminance level as detected via the ambient light sensor 218 and manually adjusted via an input device 240. The ambient light sensor 218 may be embedded within the corresponding HUD and/or projection system 200. The input device 240 may include one or more buttons, dials, a touchscreen, one or more switches, a microphone, etc. for adjusting luminance and brightness of the near image displayed in the NIP. In one embodiment, the control module 216 assigns a unique luminance range to each of multiple AR applications and corresponding AR graphics sets being displayed in the FIP. The control module 216 implements grayscale dimming to control the luminance range of the AR graphics displayed in the FIP. The projection system 200 may also include a camera for detecting luminance levels of objects, such as lane line markings.) and/or transmittance of the first pattern according to the change state signal ([0041]; The output of the SLM 206 is received at the diffuser 208. Two optical paths are provided at the output of the diffuser 208. Two images (e.g., a far image and a near image) are received and projected from the diffuser 208 via the respective optical paths to the windshield 214. The diffuser 208 receives the images including a first (or far) image that is provided to a first optical path and a second (or near) image that is provided to a second optical path.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Seder to the system of Tomkins in order to prevent a driver and unauthorized user from directly and independently adjusting luminance levels of the far image plane.
Referring to claim 2, Tomkins as modified by Seder discloses wherein the first pattern is a grayscale pattern, and its transmittance is greater than or equal to 0% and less than or equal to 100% (Seder- [0054]; Each application is designated a particular luminance range. In one embodiment, all of the applications have different grayscale luminance ranges. For the same application, different luminance ranges may be provided for NIP and FIP. For example, in the example of FIG. 5, a luminance maximum L.sub.max for the NIP is 10,000 cd/m2 for GS255 and the corresponding luminance maximum L.sub.max for the FIP is 5,000 cd/m.sup.2 for GS255. The FCA application may be designated GS255 for the FIP. GS255 may be too bright for other applications. As a result, the grayscales for the other applications may be lower. The grayscales are selected to avoid distracting a driver by display of AR graphics in the FIP. GS150 and GS100 may be designated for the POI and NAV applications. Thus, not all 256 grayscale settings are available for all applications of far images displayed in the FIP.).
Referring to claim 3, Tomkins discloses wherein the initial state signal includes a height of eyes of the driver ([0028]; seat weight sensors in combination with an average range of heights or a height entered as part of a profile may be utilized to identify the location of a driver or passenger head and eyes).
Referring to claim 4, Tomkins discloses wherein the change state signal includes changes of an eyes state, changes of a sitting posture, and/or changes of a gesture state of the driver ([0028]; Alternative embodiments may utilize transducers for identifying the presence and location of a driver and passengers as well as the location of their heads. Other sensors may be utilized such as weight sensors located in the seats, an accelerometer to determine when the vehicle has changed direction of travel, a position sensor to determine whether a side window, sunroof or other movable transparent material is partially or fully open, etc. In addition, seat weight sensors in combination with an average range of heights or a height entered as part of a profile may be utilized to identify the location of a driver or passenger head and eyes. Cameras or other sensors may be located in various fixed locations such as the pillars or on the dashboard. Other sensors may be utilized as desired to better adjust transparency of selected portions of the vehicle transparent materials in response to bright lights for the comfort and safety of the driver and passengers.).
Referring to claim 5, Tomkins discloses further comprising:
a second camera element, electrically connected to the control element, the second camera element is adapted to capture the light source distribution of the external environment to obtain an ambient light signal ([0027]; FIG. 2A is a side cutaway view of a vehicle 300 with a driver 305 driving in the direction of the sun 310. Sun 310 is a bright light viewable by the driver through windshield 315. Driver also utilizes a rear view mirror 320 to view traffic behind the vehicle. Rear view mirror 320 may include a set of cameras for viewing the location of the driver's eyes in the vehicle and the relative location of the sun or other bright lights to the vehicle.), the control element determines a light source area on the first dimming element based on the ambient light signal and drives the first dimming element to generate a second pattern on the light source area ([0035]; Then in step 415 the brightness of the ambient light is determined relative to the bright light source. For example a medium bright light on a dark night may be a greater visual problem than a bright light during the middle of the day. This information can be utilized to determine the amount of dimming required. A separate sensor may be utilized for identifying the ambient light levels or the same sensors for detecting bright lights may also be utilized. At this point, in an alternative embodiment, a more precise decision could be made whether to dim the windshield than in step 400 given the detailed information collected.).
Referring to claim 6, Tomkins as modified by Seder discloses wherein the second pattern is a grayscale pattern, and its transmittance is greater than or equal to 0% and less than or equal to 100% (Seder- [0054]; Each application is designated a particular luminance range. In one embodiment, all of the applications have different grayscale luminance ranges. For the same application, different luminance ranges may be provided for NIP and FIP. For example, in the example of FIG. 5, a luminance maximum L.sub.max for the NIP is 10,000 cd/m2 for GS255 and the corresponding luminance maximum L.sub.max for the FIP is 5,000 cd/m.sup.2 for GS255. The FCA application may be designated GS255 for the FIP. GS255 may be too bright for other applications. As a result, the grayscales for the other applications may be lower. The grayscales are selected to avoid distracting a driver by display of AR graphics in the FIP. GS150 and GS100 may be designated for the POI and NAV applications. Thus, not all 256 grayscale settings are available for all applications of far images displayed in the FIP.).
Referring to claim 7, Tomkins as modified by Seder discloses wherein the grayscale value of the second pattern is smaller than the grayscale value of the first pattern (Seder- [0054]; Each application is designated a particular luminance range. In one embodiment, all of the applications have different grayscale luminance ranges. For the same application, different luminance ranges may be provided for NIP and FIP. For example, in the example of FIG. 5, a luminance maximum L.sub.max for the NIP is 10,000 cd/m2 for GS255 and the corresponding luminance maximum L.sub.max for the FIP is 5,000 cd/m.sup.2 for GS255. The FCA application may be designated GS255 for the FIP. GS255 may be too bright for other applications. As a result, the grayscales for the other applications may be lower. The grayscales are selected to avoid distracting a driver by display of AR graphics in the FIP. GS150 and GS100 may be designated for the POI and NAV applications. Thus, not all 256 grayscale settings are available for all applications of far images displayed in the FIP.).
Referring to claim 8, Tomkins as modified by Seder discloses wherein a transmittance of the second pattern is greater than a transmittance of the first pattern (Seder- [0054]; Each application is designated a particular luminance range. In one embodiment, all of the applications have different grayscale luminance ranges. For the same application, different luminance ranges may be provided for NIP and FIP. For example, in the example of FIG. 5, a luminance maximum L.sub.max for the NIP is 10,000 cd/m2 for GS255 and the corresponding luminance maximum L.sub.max for the FIP is 5,000 cd/m.sup.2 for GS255. The FCA application may be designated GS255 for the FIP. GS255 may be too bright for other applications. As a result, the grayscales for the other applications may be lower. The grayscales are selected to avoid distracting a driver by display of AR graphics in the FIP. GS150 and GS100 may be designated for the POI and NAV applications. Thus, not all 256 grayscale settings are available for all applications of far images displayed in the FIP.).
Referring to claim 10, Tomkins discloses wherein the second camera element is also adapted to capture the changes of the light source distribution of the external environment to obtain an ambient light change signal, and the control element controls the first dimming element to adjust a position of the light source area ([0035]; In a first step 400, the system determines whether there may be a bright light source that may cause issues for the vehicle driver. This may be performed by an outward facing set of cameras that can detect bright lights. Alternatively, a matrix of light sensors (similar to an insect's compound eyes) or other sensors may be utilized to determine whether bright lights may be an issue. If not, then processing returns to step 400 where it is repeated until a bright light source is detected. If yes, then processing continues to step 405 where the relative location of the bright light source is determined relative to the vehicle. For example, the bright light may be ahead and to the left of the vehicle (e.g. 26 degrees to the left of the front of the vehicle) and just above the horizon (14 degrees above the plane of the vehicle). This can be determined by the use of the camera or other sensors described above with reference to step 400. Subsequently in step 410 a more precise measure of the brightness of the light source is determined. This may be utilized to determine how much dimming is needed in selected portions of the windshield to block the light source from the driver's eyes and to reduce glare. Then in step 415 the brightness of the ambient light is determined relative to the bright light source. For example a medium bright light on a dark night may be a greater visual problem than a bright light during the middle of the day. This information can be utilized to determine the amount of dimming required. A separate sensor may be utilized for identifying the ambient light levels or the same sensors for detecting bright lights may also be utilized. At this point, in an alternative embodiment, a more precise decision could be made whether to dim the windshield than in step 400 given the detailed information collected.) and/or a transmittance of the second pattern according to the ambient light change signal ([0035]; Then in step 415 the brightness of the ambient light is determined relative to the bright light source. For example a medium bright light on a dark night may be a greater visual problem than a bright light during the middle of the day. This information can be utilized to determine the amount of dimming required. A separate sensor may be utilized for identifying the ambient light levels or the same sensors for detecting bright lights may also be utilized. At this point, in an alternative embodiment, a more precise decision could be made whether to dim the windshield than in step 400 given the detailed information collected.). Furthermore, Seder discloses a grayscale value ([0044]; The luminance level of the NIP may be automatically adjusted based on an ambient luminance level as detected via the ambient light sensor 218 and manually adjusted via an input device 240. The ambient light sensor 218 may be embedded within the corresponding HUD and/or projection system 200. The input device 240 may include one or more buttons, dials, a touchscreen, one or more switches, a microphone, etc. for adjusting luminance and brightness of the near image displayed in the NIP. In one embodiment, the control module 216 assigns a unique luminance range to each of multiple AR applications and corresponding AR graphics sets being displayed in the FIP. The control module 216 implements grayscale dimming to control the luminance range of the AR graphics displayed in the FIP. The projection system 200 may also include a camera for detecting luminance levels of objects, such as lane line markings.).
Referring to claim 11, Tomkins discloses a use method of a vehicle dimming module ([0023]; Program/utility 140, having a set (at least one) of program modules 142, may be stored in memory 128 by way of example, and not limitation, as well as an operating system, one or more application programs, other program modules, and program data. Each of the operating system, one or more application programs, other program modules, and program data or some combination thereof, may include an implementation of a networking environment. Program modules 142 generally carry out the functions and/or methodologies of the embodiments. For example, a program module may be software for dynamically managing vehicle glass dimming.), comprising:
capturing an appearance image of a driver ([0033]; Other transparent or reflective elements of the vehicle besides the windshield, collectively referred to as glass or vehicle glass, may be similarly controlled including the side windows, the rear window, any sunroof, and even the mirrors. Although a camera in the rear view mirror is described as being utilized to determine the location of the driver's eyes in the vehicle, cameras may be utilized in other locations and other types of detection may be utilized.);
providing an initial state signal according to the appearance image ([0030]; FIG. 2C is a rear view of windshield 315 with many portions or sections 330, each of which can be separately dimmable on demand. In this illustration, there is a matrix of about 6 rows and 19 columns of roughly square dimmable sections collectively referred to as a portion of the windshield. Each section may be dimmed electronically as described below. In this example, a portion of the windshield including nine sections 335 are dimmed to reduce glare from the sun in the driver's eyes with the center section dimmed more than the other dimmed sections within the windshield portion, while allowing a majority of the windshield to remain normally transparent. This enhances the driver's comfort and allows the driver to see the road ahead and to the right without undue glare. With the proper amount of dimming, the driver should be able to see objects in the direction and angle of the sun that the driver could not see without such dimming to significantly block the bright light and reduce the surrounding glare. Thus, the initial state is a state prior to the sections 335 being dimmed in order to reduce the glare from the sun.);
determining a viewing area on a first dimming element according to the initial state signal ([0030]; FIG. 2C is a rear view of windshield 315 with many portions or sections 330, each of which can be separately dimmable on demand. In this illustration, there is a matrix of about 6 rows and 19 columns of roughly square dimmable sections collectively referred to as a portion of the windshield. Each section may be dimmed electronically as described below. In this example, a portion of the windshield including nine sections 335 are dimmed to reduce glare from the sun in the driver's eyes with the center section dimmed more than the other dimmed sections within the windshield portion, while allowing a majority of the windshield to remain normally transparent. This enhances the driver's comfort and allows the driver to see the road ahead and to the right without undue glare. With the proper amount of dimming, the driver should be able to see objects in the direction and angle of the sun that the driver could not see without such dimming to significantly block the bright light and reduce the surrounding glare.);
driving the first dimming element to produce a first pattern in the viewing area ([0030]; FIG. 2C is a rear view of windshield 315 with many portions or sections 330, each of which can be separately dimmable on demand. In this illustration, there is a matrix of about 6 rows and 19 columns of roughly square dimmable sections collectively referred to as a portion of the windshield. Each section may be dimmed electronically as described below. In this example, a portion of the windshield including nine sections 335 are dimmed to reduce glare from the sun in the driver's eyes with the center section dimmed more than the other dimmed sections within the windshield portion, while allowing a majority of the windshield to remain normally transparent. This enhances the driver's comfort and allows the driver to see the road ahead and to the right without undue glare. With the proper amount of dimming, the driver should be able to see objects in the direction and angle of the sun that the driver could not see without such dimming to significantly block the bright light and reduce the surrounding glare.);
providing a change state signal according to the appearance image ([0030]; FIG. 2C is a rear view of windshield 315 with many portions or sections 330, each of which can be separately dimmable on demand. In this illustration, there is a matrix of about 6 rows and 19 columns of roughly square dimmable sections collectively referred to as a portion of the windshield. Each section may be dimmed electronically as described below. In this example, a portion of the windshield including nine sections 335 are dimmed to reduce glare from the sun in the driver's eyes with the center section dimmed more than the other dimmed sections within the windshield portion, while allowing a majority of the windshield to remain normally transparent. This enhances the driver's comfort and allows the driver to see the road ahead and to the right without undue glare. With the proper amount of dimming, the driver should be able to see objects in the direction and angle of the sun that the driver could not see without such dimming to significantly block the bright light and reduce the surrounding glare.); and
adjusting a “dimming” value ([0032]; The amount of dimming may vary for selected sections of the windshield while allowing a majority of the windshield to remain normally transparent. For example, the section between the sun and the driver's eyes may be darkened considerably to significantly block the bright light whereby adjoining sections may be only slightly darkened to reduce the surrounding glare. Although 6 rows and 19 columns of roughly square sections are shown, more or fewer sections may be utilized and alternative arrangements may provide for hexagonal sections, overlapping circular or elliptical sections, as well as other types of sectional arrangements.) and/or “provide” the first pattern according to the change state signal ([0030]; In this example, a portion of the
windshield including nine sections 335 are dimmed to reduce glare from the sun in the driver's eyes with the center section dimmed more than the other dimmed sections within the windshield portion, while allowing a majority of the windshield to remain normally transparent. This enhances the driver's comfort and allows the driver to see the road ahead and to the right without undue glare.).
However, Tomkins is silent on adjusting a grayscale value and/or a transmittance of the first pattern according to the change state signal.
In an analogous art, Seder discloses adjusting a grayscale value ([0044]; The luminance level of the NIP may be automatically adjusted based on an ambient luminance level as detected via the ambient light sensor 218 and manually adjusted via an input device 240. The ambient light sensor 218 may be embedded within the corresponding HUD and/or projection system 200. The input device 240 may include one or more buttons, dials, a touchscreen, one or more switches, a microphone, etc. for adjusting luminance and brightness of the near image displayed in the NIP. In one embodiment, the control module 216 assigns a unique luminance range to each of multiple AR applications and corresponding AR graphics sets being displayed in the FIP. The control module 216 implements grayscale dimming to control the luminance range of the AR graphics displayed in the FIP. The projection system 200 may also include a camera for detecting luminance levels of objects, such as lane line markings.) and/or a transmittance of the first pattern according to the change state signal ([0041]; The output of the SLM 206 is received at the diffuser 208. Two optical paths are provided at the output of the diffuser 208. Two images (e.g., a far image and a near image) are received and projected from the diffuser 208 via the respective optical paths to the windshield 214. The diffuser 208 receives the images including a first (or far) image that is provided to a first optical path and a second (or near) image that is provided to a second optical path.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Seder to the system of Tomkins in order to prevent a driver and unauthorized user from directly and independently adjusting luminance levels of the far image plane.
Referring to claim 12, Tomkins discloses wherein the step of determining the viewing area on the first dimming element according to the initial state signal further comprising:
determining a height of the viewing area on the first dimming element according to a height of eyes of the appearance image ([0028]; seat weight sensors in combination with an average range of heights or a height entered as part of a profile may be utilized to identify the location of a driver or passenger head and eyes).
Referring to claim 14, Tomkins discloses wherein the step of adjusting the grayscale value and/or the transmittance of the first pattern according to the change state signal further comprising: when the sitting posture of the driver moves forward, increase the grayscale value of the first pattern and/or decrease the transmittance of the first pattern ([0028]; Alternative embodiments may utilize transducers for identifying the presence and location of a driver and passengers as well as the location of their heads. Other sensors may be utilized such as weight sensors located in the seats, an accelerometer to determine when the vehicle has changed direction of travel, a position sensor to determine whether a side window, sunroof or other movable transparent material is partially or fully open, etc. In addition, seat weight sensors in combination with an average range of heights or a height entered as part of a profile may be utilized to identify the location of a driver or passenger head and eyes. Cameras or other sensors may be located in various fixed locations such as the pillars or on the dashboard. Other sensors may be utilized as desired to better adjust transparency of selected portions of the vehicle transparent materials in response to bright lights for the comfort and safety of the driver and passengers.).
Referring to claim 16, Tomkins discloses further comprising:
capturing a light source distribution of an external environment to obtain an ambient light signal ([0027]; FIG. 2A is a side cutaway view of a vehicle 300 with a driver 305 driving in the direction of the sun 310. Sun 310 is a bright light viewable by the driver through windshield 315. Driver also utilizes a rear view mirror 320 to view traffic behind the vehicle. Rear view mirror 320 may include a set of cameras for viewing the location of the driver's eyes in the vehicle and the relative location of the sun or other bright lights to the vehicle.);
determining a light source area on the first dimming element according to the ambient light signal ([0035]; Then in step 415 the brightness of the ambient light is determined relative to the bright light source. For example a medium bright light on a dark night may be a greater visual problem than a bright light during the middle of the day. This information can be utilized to determine the amount of dimming required. A separate sensor may be utilized for identifying the ambient light levels or the same sensors for detecting bright lights may also be utilized. At this point, in an alternative embodiment, a more precise decision could be made whether to dim the windshield than in step 400 given the detailed information collected.); and
driving the first dimming element to produce a second pattern in the light source area ([0035]; Then in step 415 the brightness of the ambient light is determined relative to the bright light source. For example a medium bright light on a dark night may be a greater visual problem than a bright light during the middle of the day. This information can be utilized to determine the amount of dimming required. A separate sensor may be utilized for identifying the ambient light levels or the same sensors for detecting bright lights may also be utilized. At this point, in an alternative embodiment, a more precise decision could be made whether to dim the windshield than in step 400 given the detailed information collected.).
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 9, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the grayscale value and a transmittance of an overlapping area of the second pattern that overlaps the first pattern are the same as a grayscale value and a transmittance of the second pattern”.
Referring to claim 13, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the step of adjusting the grayscale value and/or the transmittance of the first pattern according to the change state signal further comprising: when the eyes of the driver become smaller, reduce the grayscale value of the first pattern and/or increase the transmittance of the first pattern; and when the eyes of the driver become larger, increase the grayscale value of the first pattern and/or decrease the transmittance of the first pattern”.
Referring to claim 15, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the step of adjusting the grayscale value and/or the transmittance of the first pattern according to the change state signal further comprising: when the hand of the driver is raised and blocking the view of the eyes, reduce the grayscale value of the first pattern and/or increase the transmittance of the first pattern”.
Conclusion
/SCOTT D AU/Examiner, Art Unit 2624