DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2017, 27, 1704391).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses:
A lithium metal secondary battery, comprising (Li metal batteries, referred to as LMBs, see Pg1704391/C(left).2nd ):
an electrode stack formed by stacking a positive electrode and a negative electrode having a negative electrode current collector with a separator interposed therebetween and an electrolyte solution (Li||LCO cells using separators with CuTF coating facing Li anode with an electrolyte solution, see Fig. 5 caption),
wherein lithium is deposited on the negative electrode current collector during charging and dissolved during discharging (“ultrathin Cu film on one side of the polyethylene support serves as an additional conducting agent to facilitate electrochemical stripping/deposition of Li metal,” (see Abstract) wherein the Li stripping/deposition is shown to occur on the negative current collector, see Fig. 3d),
wherein the separator includes a porous membrane and a porous conductive coat layer stacked on at least part of a surface of the porous membrane on the side of the negative electrode (a conductive copper thin film (referred to as CuTF) is coated on a porous polyethylene (referred to as PE) separator such that the pore structure of the PE is substantially maintained after conformal CuTF coating is applied, see Pg1704391/C(left) and Fig. 1b and 1c),
Lee describes preparing the PE/CuTF separator by coating a PE separator by DC magnetron sputtering, see Pg1704391/C(left)/Experiential section, 1st ¶. This preparation results in the pore structure of the PE (i.e., porous membrane) is substantially maintained after conformal CuTF coating (i.e., porous conductive coat layer) is applied, see Pg1704391/C(left) and Fig. 1b and 1c.
The instant specification recognizes the following:
Polyethylene as a suitable material for the porous membrane, see [0032]
DC sputtering as a suitable coating method for the porous conductive coat layer, see [0040]
Cu as a suitable material for the porous conductive coat layer, see [0039]
Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that the structure disclosed by Lee is substantially identical to that of the claims and therefore the following claimed properties are inherent:
wherein electrical conductivity of the porous conductive coat layer is within a range of 1.0×101 to 1.0×105 S/cm,
and wherein surface resistivity of the porous conductive coat layer is 200 Ω/cm2 or less.
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses:
wherein the porous conductive coat layer has a region that contacts the lithium deposited on the negative electrode current collector (“separator design by coating a CuTF onto one surface of the conventional PE separator facing to the anode in the LMB” see Fig. 3d).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses:
wherein electrical conductivity of the negative electrode current collector is higher than electrical conductivity of the porous conductive coat layer (“Li metal plating can be initiated first at the Cu current collector surface but quickly on the CuTF surface facing toward the Cu foil because the Cu current collector has higher electric conductivity than the CuTF film,” see Pg1704391/C(left)/1st ¶).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee describes preparing the PE/CuTF separator by coating a PE separator by DC magnetron sputtering, see Pg1704391/C(left)/Experiential section, 1st ¶. This preparation results in the pore structure of the PE (i.e., porous membrane) is substantially maintained after conformal CuTF coating (i.e., porous conductive coat layer) is applied, see Pg1704391/C(left) and Fig. 1b and 1c.
The instant specification recognizes the following:
Polyethylene as a suitable material for the porous membrane, see [0032]
DC sputtering as a suitable coating method for the porous conductive coat layer, see [0040]
Cu as a suitable material for the porous conductive coat layer, see [0039]
Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that the structure disclosed by Lee is substantially identical to that of the claims and therefore the following claimed property is inherent:
wherein peel strength of the porous conductive coat layer against the porous membrane is 0.5 N/m or more.
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee discloses:
wherein thickness of the porous conductive coat layer is within a range of 0.01 to 5 μm (CuTF thickness of the as-prepared Janus separator was ≈70 nm (i.e., 0.07 μm) which is within the claimed range, see Pg1704391/C(left)/Experiential section, 1st ¶).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses:
A separator for a lithium metal secondary battery (separator for lithium metal batteries, referred to as LMBs, see Pg2/C(left)/ last sentence of 2nd ¶),
the separator comprising a porous membrane and a porous conductive coat layer stacked on one surface of the porous membrane (a conductive copper thin film (referred to as CuTF) is coated on a porous polyethylene (referred to as PE) separator such that the pore structure of the PE is substantially maintained after conformal CuTF coating is applied, see Pg3/C(left) and Fig. 1b and 1c),
Lee describes preparing the PE/CuTF separator by coating a PE separator by DC magnetron sputtering, see Pg1704391/C(left)/Experiential section, 1st ¶. This preparation results in the pore structure of the PE (i.e., porous membrane) is substantially maintained after conformal CuTF coating (i.e., porous conductive coat layer) is applied, see Pg1704391/C(left) and Fig. 1b and 1c.
The instant specification recognizes the following:
Polyethylene as a suitable material for the porous membrane, see [0032]
DC sputtering as a suitable coating method for the porous conductive coat layer, see [0040]
Cu as a suitable material for the porous conductive coat layer, see [0039]
Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that the structure disclosed by Lee is substantially identical to that of the claims and therefore the following claimed properties are inherent:
wherein electrical conductivity of the porous conductive coat layer is within a range of 1.0×101 to 1.0×105 S/cm,
and wherein surface resistivity of the porous conductive coat layer is 200 Ω/cm2 or less.
Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (Adv. Funct. Mater. 2017, 27, 1704391), as applied to Claim1 above, and in further view of Oka et al. (US-20200144560-A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee is silent toward:
A secondary battery module comprising a plurality of the lithium metal secondary batteries according to claim 1,
To solve the same problem of designing nonaqueous electrolyte secondary batteries (see Abstract), Oka teaches stacking a plurality of nonaqueous electrolyte secondary batteries 10 to form a battery module 30 to electrically connect the batteries 10 via busbars, see [0030].
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to stacked the batteries of Lee into a battery module to electrically connect a plurality of batteries via busbars.
wherein the plurality of lithium metal secondary batteries are each restrained with a restraining force within a range of 0.1 to 2.0 MPa along a stacking direction of the electrode stack.
To solve the same problem of designing nonaqueous electrolyte secondary batteries (see Abstract), Oka teaches applying a pressure of the electrode groups of the plurality of nonaqueous electrolyte secondary batteries 10 to a pressure of 0.1 MPa to 10 MPa which overlaps the claimed range. Oka further teaches the application of pressure allows for the interelectrode distance to remain constant, see [0022].
Absent a showing of persuasive secondary considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have applied a pressure to the stack batteries of modified Lee to maintain interelectrode distance.
Conclusion
/K.E.C./
Kayla E. ClaryExaminer, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721