DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on 11/25/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-18 are still pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with regards to prior art rejections. The examiner withdraws objection to drawings and 112 rejections based on applicant’s amendments and arguments. Applicant argues that the Ogino reference fails to disclose or even suggest the above-emphasized feature of claim 1 - a dynamically-determined AEMD voltage boost margin based on vehicle operating parameters. The Ogino reference merely discloses an active motor damping (AMD) technique where a "controller is configured to set the boost command value to a constant AMD boost command value regardless of the target torque when the active motor damping control is executed" (emphasis added)
The examiner respectfully disagrees because Ogino clearly discloses setting boost command value according to speed and torque values. The meaning of “dynamically” has been interpreted as “active”, which Ogino clearly mentions. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-7,9-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by OGINO JP 2009196533 A.
Regarding claim 1, OGINO discloses
An active electric motor damping (AEMD) control system for an electrified powertrain of a vehicle (Figs 1-3), the AEMD control system comprising: a set of sensors (Items 10-12) configured to measure a set of operating parameters (Speed and torque) of the vehicle; and a control system configured to: receive the set of operating parameters of the vehicle; dynamically determine, based on the set of operating parameters of the vehicle, an AEMD torque boost voltage margin (Fig. 4 shows an increase in torque from 0 to +T1) for a direct current to direct current (DC-DC) boost converter (Item 4) of the electrified powertrain, wherein the AEMD torque boost voltage margin is an additional voltage for increasing a torque capability of an electric motor of the electrified powertrain; output, to the DC-DC boost converter, the AEMD torque boost voltage margin, wherein receipt of the AEMD torque boost voltage margin causes the DC-DC boost converter to boost a first voltage from a battery system (Item B) of the electrified powertrain to a higher second voltage; and control the electric motor using the higher second voltage to dampen vibrations at a driveline of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, OGINO discloses
, wherein the set of operating parameters of the vehicle includes (i) a current torque of the electric motor and (ii) a current speed of the vehicle. (See claim 1 rejection for detail)
Regarding claim 3, OGINO discloses
, wherein the control system is configured to dynamically determine the AEMD torque boost voltage margin using a calibrated two-dimensional look-up table (Table) based on the current torque of the electric motor and the current speed of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 4, OGINO discloses
, wherein the electric motor is a first electric motor (Fig. 2, item MG1) and the electrified powertrain further comprises a second electric motor (Item MG2).
Regarding claim 5, OGINO discloses
, wherein the set of operating parameters further includes a current speed of the first electric motor, a current torque of the second electric motor, a current speed of the second electric motor (See claim 1 rejection), and the first voltage of the battery system.
Regarding claim 6, OGINO discloses
, wherein the DC-DC boost converter is configured to boost the first voltage to the higher second voltage based on the set of operating parameters and the AEMD torque boost voltage margin.
Regarding claim 7, OGINO discloses
, wherein the control system is further configured to predict the AMED torque boost voltage margin based further on (i) a maximum torque of the electric motor at its current speed and a current boost voltage from the DC-DC converter, (ii) a current torque request for the electric motor, and (iii) a safety margin.
Regarding claim 9, OGINO discloses
, wherein the dynamic determination of the AEMD torque boost voltage margin increases an efficiency of the DC-DC boost converter and the electric motor in dampening the vibrations at the driveline of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 10, OGINO discloses
An active electric motor damping (AEMD) control method for an electrified powertrain of a vehicle, the AEMD control method comprising: receiving, by a control system and from a set of sensors, a set of operating parameters of the vehicle; dynamically determining, by the control system and based on the set of operating parameters of the vehicle, an AEMD torque boost voltage margin for a direct current to direct current (DC-DC) boost converter of the electrified powertrain, wherein the AEMD torque boost voltage margin is an additional voltage for increasing a torque capability of an electric motor of the electrified powertrain; outputting, by the control system and to the DC-DC boost converter, the AEMD torque boost voltage margin, wherein receipt of the AEMD torque boost voltage margin causes the DC-DC boost converter to boost a first voltage from a battery system of the electrified powertrain to a higher second voltage; and controlling, by the control system, the electric motor using the higher second voltage to dampen vibrations at a driveline of the vehicle (See claim 1 rejection for detail).
Regarding claim 11, OGINO discloses
, wherein the set of operating parameters of the vehicle includes (i) a current torque of the electric motor and (ii) a current speed of the vehicle (See claim 2 rejection for detail).
Regarding claim 12, OGINO discloses
, wherein the dynamically determining of the AEMD torque boost voltage margin is performed using a calibrated two-dimensional surface based on the current torque of the electric motor and the current speed of the vehicle. (See claim 3 rejection for detail)
Regarding claim 13, OGINO discloses
, wherein the electric motor is a first electric motor and the electrified powertrain further comprises a second electric motor. (See claim 4 rejection for detail)
Regarding claim 14, OGINO discloses
, wherein the set of operating parameters further includes a current speed of the first electric motor, a current torque of the second electric motor, a current speed of the second electric motor, and the first voltage of the battery system. (See claim 5 rejection for detail)
Regarding claim 15, OGINO discloses
, wherein the DC-DC boost converter is configured to boost the first voltage to the higher second voltage based on the set of operating parameters and the AEMD torque boost voltage margin. (See claim 6 rejection for detail)
Regarding claim 16, OGINO discloses
predicting, by the control system, the AMED torque boost voltage margin based further on (i) a maximum torque of the electric motor at its current speed and a current boost voltage from the DC-DC converter, (ii) a current torque request for the electric motor, and (iii) a safety margin. (See claim 7 rejection for detail)
Regarding claim 18, OGINO discloses
, wherein the dynamic determination of the AEMD torque boost voltage margin increases an efficiency of the DC-DC boost converter and the electric motor in dampening the vibrations at the driveline of the vehicle. (See claim 9 rejection for detail)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BICKEY DHAKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896