DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Final Rejection on 08/11/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 and 13-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 13-23 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casu et al. (US 20220239462 A1 previously cited) in view of ITO (JP 2015228171 A machine English translated previously provided).
Regarding Claim 1 and 17, Casu et al. discloses;
A sensor and associated method for detecting speed of a target (Fig. 1, 5, Para. [0026], [0073]-[0075]: “one or more integrated circuits (ICs) 104a-104n”; “a sensor IC 510…each of sensing elements 520a, 520b can sense a position and/or movement of target 514”), comprising:
one or more [[of]] magnetic field sensing elements (Fig. 1, 5, Para. [0027]-[0028]: “Sensor 104a includes one or more sensing elements…”) operable to generate one or more magnetic field signals indicative of a magnetic field associated with the target having a speed (Fig. 1, Para. [0027]: “Sensor 104a includes one or more sensing elements configured to sense a parameter associated with a target (as shown in FIG. 5)…The sensed parameter can be motion of the target, such as rotation and/or position of the target, such as an angular position, to name a few examples.” “Sensor 104a further includes a processor coupled to the sensing element and configured to generate a sensed signal indicative of the parameter associated with the target. In the case of a magnetic field sensor for example, the sensed signal can be the output signal of a magnetic field transducer such as a Hall effect or magnetoresistance element”);
detection circuitry (Fig. 5, 6, Para. [0077], [0098]: digital processor 530/630) configured to detect one or more parameters of the target using the magnetic field signals or representations thereof (Para. [0028]: “Sensor 104a further includes a processor [digital processor 530/630] coupled to the sensing element and configured to generate a sensed signal indicative of the parameter associated with the target. In the case of a magnetic field sensor for example, the sensed signal can be the output signal of a magnetic field transducer such as a Hall effect or magnetoresistance element”); and
output circuit (Fig. 5, “Output module 540”) configured to generate messages (Fig. 3, Para. [0029], [0046]: “An output module [output circuit] of the sensor 104a is coupled to receive the sensed signal and configured to transmit absolute data based on the sensed signal. Thus, the absolute data is indicative of the sensed parameter.” “Absolute data 310 takes the form of a SENT signal including individual SENT messages 310a-310c [messages]”) at a fixed time interval (Fig. 4, Para. [0031], [0047], [0052]: “absolute data in the form of SENT messages can be sent on the message line 106 every 128 microseconds [fixed time interval]” “The SENT messages 310a-310c can have a user specified tick time and message format”; “The number of data nibbles will be fixed for each application but can vary between applications”. Hence, a SENT messages is generated at fixed time interval, “
t
S
E
N
T
”), each message conveying information about the one or more parameters of the target (Para. [0052]: “The SENT message 400 can include a sequence of pulses transmitted by the sensor IC 104a and in the example angle sensor, the target angle can be converted into the pulses with data encoded as falling to falling edge periods.” Hence each SENT message 310a to 310c conveys at least a target angle information), wherein the sensor further comprises at least one of:
a programmable memory (Fig. 5, 6: Memory 534/634) to store the fixed time interval (Fig. 5, 6, Para. [0102], [0052], [0076]: “The number of data nibbles will be fixed for each application but can vary between applications…The user can program a particular desired frame rate” …“Memory 534 can be configured to store various values for use during sensor operation, some of which can be user-programmable.” “EEPROM 634 can store operating values and parameters, such as output signal format, gain and offset correction coefficients, and harmonic correction parameters as examples.” Hence, Memory 534/634 may store different fixed time interval, “
t
S
E
N
T
”/ “frame rate” “which can be user-programmable”); and
…receive a signal for adjusting the fixed time interval (Fig. 5, 6, Para. [0052], [0076], [0102]: the different/desired fixed time interval, “
t
S
E
N
T
”/ “frame rate” values stored in the memory 534/634 is adjustable/selectable by choosing a value depending on application by receiving a signal).
Casu et al. does not explicitly state that the signal for choosing/adjusting/selecting the different/desired fixed time interval, “
t
S
E
N
T
”/ “frame rate” values from the memory is performed via:
“a terminal.”
However, Casu et al. teaches (Fig. 5, 6, Para. [0032], [0076]) “a bidirectional format (e.g., a triggered SENT or Manchester format) may be used by the IC 104a to transmit data to the ECU 102 on the message line 106 after receiving a request from the ECU 102.” “Memory 534 can be configured to store various values for use during sensor operation, some of which can be user-programmable.” In other words, the memory 534/634 is configured to be accessible (reading and writing) for programming/storing/retrieving the different/desired fixed time interval, “
t
S
E
N
T
”/ “frame rate” values by providing a signal to choose/adjust/select/change a value among the “various values for use during sensor operation” by “receiving a request from the ECU 102” via the bidirectional communication terminal 550/650.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the memory 534/634 of the sensor IC in Casu et al.’s invention would inherently include an input/output/access/read/write terminal/pin/node associated with at the memory 534/634 of the sensor IC so as to (Casu et al., Para. [0076]) receive signal to “store[retrieve/program/read/write] various values for use during sensor operation, some of which can be user-programmable.”
Casu et al. does not teach that the SENT signal generated at fixed time interval is generated:
“independent of the target speed.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor (page 1: “a sensor system, a sensor, and a sensor signal output method”), ITO discloses (Fig. 3) a sensor output signal is generated:
“independent of the target speed ( page 6: “The first sensor 42 may be configured to output a sensor signal at regular intervals” regardless of (page 1, 3) “a rotation speed…related to a control target”).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the SENT signal in Casu et al.’s invention can be generated regardless of (page 1, 3) “a rotation speed…related to a control target” as taught by ITO, where doing so (ITO, page 2) “can reduce sensor output data latency…reduce or eliminate ambiguity in sensor output data age.”
Regarding Claim 2 and 18, Casu et al. in view of ITO discloses all as applied to claim 1 and 17 above, where Casu et al. further teaches;
wherein the one or more parameters of the target include angle of rotation of the target (Para. [0027]: “The sensed parameter can be motion of the target, such as rotation and/or position of the target, such as an angular position [angle of rotation]”).
Regarding Claim 3 and 19, Casu et al. in view of ITO discloses all as applied to claim 2 and 18 above, where Casu et al. further teaches;
wherein the angle of rotation of the target conveyed at a second time is a difference in angle of rotation of target between a first time to the second time (Fig. 3, Para. [0030]: “The absolute data is an angle measurement (e.g., 275°)”. As depicted in Fig. 3, the angle of rotation of the target each absolute data at a second time, t4, is a difference in angle of rotation of target between a first time, t0 to the second time, t4, i.e. difference in angle = angle at t4 – angle at t0) the first and second times separated by the fixed time interval (Fig. 3: the interval between t4 and t0 is equal to the duration of SENT message 310a, “
t
S
E
N
T
”).
Regarding Claim 4 and 20, Casu et al. in view of ITO discloses all as applied to claim 2 and 18 above, where Casu et al. further teaches;
wherein each message also conveys information associated with the sensor (Fig. 3, 4, Para. [0052]: “The SENT message 400 can include… a Status and Serial Communication portion 404… Status and Serial Communication portion 404 is used to inform the ECU 102 of the sensor status or features (such as part numbers or error code information) and has a duration of between 12 and 27 ticks to provide 4 bits”).
Regarding Claim 5 and 21, Casu et al. in view of ITO discloses all as applied to claim 4 and 20 above, where Casu et al. further teaches;
wherein the information associated with the sensor includes a temperature associated with the sensor (Fig. 3, 4, Para. [0026], [0099]: “ICs 104a-104n may be the same type of sensor (e.g., each a magnetic field sensor) or may be different types of sensors (e.g., one is a temperature sensor and the others are magnetic field sensors)”; “Temperature may also affect signal amplitudes and offsets. Thus, processor 630 can be coupled to receive temperature information from a temperature sensor (not shown) and can operate to automatically track and compensate signal amplitudes and offsets.”).
Regarding Claim 6 and 22, Casu et al. in view of ITO discloses all as applied to claim 4 and 20 above, where Casu et al. further teaches;
wherein the information associated with the sensor includes diagnostics associated with the sensor (Fig. 4C, Para. [0065]: “The additional absolute information 470…can communicate various data… diagnostic information”).
Regarding Claim 7 and 23, Casu et al. in view of ITO discloses all as applied to claim 1 and 17 above, where Casu et al. further teaches;
wherein each message conveys the information about the one or more parameters of the target using a Single-Edge Nibble Transmission (SENT) protocol (Fig. 3, 4A-4D, Para. [0032]: “The format of the absolute data can be various unidirectional and/or bidirectional formats, including but not limited to…Single-Edge Nibble Transmission (SENT)”).
Regarding Claim 13, Casu et al. in view of ITO discloses all as applied to claim 1 above, where Casu et al. further teaches;
wherein the terminal configured to provide the messages and to receive the signal for adjusting the fixed time interval However, Casu et al. teaches (Fig. 5, 6, Para. [0032], [0076]) “a bidirectional format (e.g., a triggered SENT or Manchester format) may be used by the IC 104a to transmit data to the ECU 102 on the message line 106 after receiving a request from the ECU 102.” “Memory 534 can be configured to store various values for use during sensor operation, some of which can be user-programmable.” In other words, the memory 534/634 is configured to be accessible (reading and writing) for programming/storing/retrieving the different/desired fixed time interval, “
t
S
E
N
T
”/ “frame rate” values by providing a signal to choose/adjust/select/change a value among the “various values for use during sensor operation” by “receiving a request from the ECU 102” via the terminal 550/650 for bidirectional communication. Therefore, the terminal 550/650 functions as an input/output/access/read/write terminal/pin/node for providing the SENT messages and to receive the signal for adjusting the fixed time interval from the ECU 102.
Regarding Claim 14, Casu et al. in view of ITO discloses all as applied to claim 1 above, where Casu et al. further teaches;
wherein the one or more [[of]] magnetic field sensing elements comprise one or more Hall elements (Para. [0028]: “Sensor 104a further includes a processor coupled to the sensing element and configured to generate a sensed signal indicative of the parameter associated with the target. In the case of a magnetic field sensor for example, the sensed signal can be the output signal of a magnetic field transducer such as a Hall effect or magnetoresistance element”).
Regarding Claim 15, Casu et al. in view of ITO discloses all as applied to claim 1 above, where Casu et al. further teaches;
wherein the one or more [[of]] magnetic field sensing elements comprise one or more magnetoresistance (MR) elements (Para. [0028]: “Sensor 104a further includes a processor coupled to the sensing element and configured to generate a sensed signal indicative of the parameter associated with the target. In the case of a magnetic field sensor for example, the sensed signal can be the output signal of a magnetic field transducer such as a Hall effect or magnetoresistance element”).
Regarding Claim 16, Casu et al. in view of ITO discloses all as applied to claim 1 above, where Casu et al. further teaches;
wherein the detection circuitry and the output circuit are provided as digital circuitry (Fig. 5, 6, Para. [0074]: Digital Processor 530/630 or detection circuitry and the output module/circuit 540/640 are provided as digital circuitry), wherein the sensor comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) to convert the magnetic field signals to digital magnetic field signals (Fig. 5, Para. [0074]: a sensor system 500 includes “an analog-to-digital converter (ADC)” that converts a magnetic field sensed signal to digital magnetic field signals), wherein the detection circuitry is configured to detect the one or more parameters of the target using the digital magnetic field signals (Fig. 5, Para. [0077]: “A digital processor 530 [detection circuitry]” detects one or more parameters, e.g. speed, angle, direction etc., based on the received digital magnetic field signals from the ADC).
Regarding Claim 27 and 29, Casu et al. discloses;
A sensor and a method for detecting speed of a target (Fig. 1, 5, Para. [0026], [0073]-[0075]: “one or more integrated circuits (ICs) 104a-104n”; “a sensor IC 510…each of sensing elements 520a, 520b can sense a position and/or movement of target 514”), comprising:
one or more [[of]] magnetic field sensing elements (Fig. 1, 5, Para. [0027]-[0028]: “Sensor 104a includes one or more sensing elements…”) operable to generate one or more magnetic field signals indicative of a magnetic field associated with the target having a speed (Fig. 1, Para. [0027]: “Sensor 104a includes one or more sensing elements configured to sense a parameter associated with a target (as shown in FIG. 5)…The sensed parameter can be motion of the target, such as rotation and/or position of the target, such as an angular position, to name a few examples.” “Sensor 104a further includes a processor coupled to the sensing element and configured to generate a sensed signal indicative of the parameter associated with the target. In the case of a magnetic field sensor for example, the sensed signal can be the output signal of a magnetic field transducer such as a Hall effect or magnetoresistance element”);
detection circuitry configured to detect one or more parameters of the target using the magnetic field signals or representations thereof (Para. [0028]: “Sensor 104a further includes a processor coupled to the sensing element and configured to generate a sensed signal indicative of the parameter associated with the target. In the case of a magnetic field sensor for example, the sensed signal can be the output signal of a magnetic field transducer such as a Hall effect or magnetoresistance element”); and
output circuit (Fig. 5, “Output module 540”) configured to generate messages (Fig. 3, Para. [0029], [0046]: “An output module [output circuit] of the sensor 104a is coupled to receive the sensed signal and configured to transmit absolute data based on the sensed signal. Thus, the absolute data is indicative of the sensed parameter.” “Absolute data 310 takes the form of a SENT signal including individual SENT messages 310a-310c [messages]”) at a fixed time interval (Fig. 4, Para. [0031], [0047], [0052]: “absolute data in the form of SENT messages can be sent on the message line 106 every 128 microseconds [fixed time interval]” “The SENT messages 310a-310c can have a user specified tick time and message format”; “The number of data nibbles will be fixed for each application but can vary between applications”. Hence, a SENT messages is generated at fixed time interval, “
t
S
E
N
T
”), each message conveying information about the one or more parameters of the target (Para. [0052]: “The SENT message 400 can include a sequence of pulses transmitted by the sensor IC 104a and in the example angle sensor, the target angle can be converted into the pulses with data encoded as falling to falling edge periods.” Hence each SENT message 310a to 310c conveys at least a target angle information), wherein the one or more parameters of the target include angle of rotation of the target (Para. [0027]: “The sensed parameter can be motion of the target, such as rotation and/or position of the target, such as an angular position [angle of rotation]”), wherein the angle of rotation of the target conveyed at a second time is a difference in angle of rotation of target between a first time to the second time (Fig. 3, Para. [0030]: “The absolute data is an angle measurement (e.g., 275°)”. As depicted in Fig. 3, the angle of rotation of the target each absolute data at a second time, t4, is a difference in angle of rotation of target between a first time, t0 to the second time, t4, i.e. difference in angle = angle at t4 – angle at t0) the first and second times separated by the fixed time interval (Fig. 3: the interval between t4 and t0 is equal to the duration of SENT message 310a, “
t
S
E
N
T
”).
Casu et al. does not teach that the SENT signal generated at fixed time interval is generated:
“independent of the target speed.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor (page 1: “a sensor system, a sensor, and a sensor signal output method”), ITO discloses (Fig. 3) a sensor output signal is generated:
“independent of the target speed ( page 6: “The first sensor 42 may be configured to output a sensor signal at regular intervals” regardless of (page 1, 3) “a rotation speed…related to a control target”).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the SENT signal in Casu et al.’s invention can be generated regardless of (page 1, 3) “a rotation speed…related to a control target” as taught by ITO, where doing so (ITO, page 2) “can reduce sensor output data latency…reduce or eliminate ambiguity in sensor output data age.”
Regarding Claim 28 and 30, Casu et al. discloses;
A sensor and associated method for detecting speed of a target (Fig. 1, 5, Para. [0026], [0073]-[0075]: “one or more integrated circuits (ICs) 104a-104n”; “a sensor IC 510…each of sensing elements 520a, 520b can sense a position and/or movement of target 514”), comprising:
one or more [[of]] magnetic field sensing elements (Fig. 1, 5, Para. [0027]-[0028]: “Sensor 104a includes one or more sensing elements…”) operable to generate one or more magnetic field signals indicative of a magnetic field associated with the target having a speed (Fig. 1, Para. [0027]: “Sensor 104a includes one or more sensing elements configured to sense a parameter associated with a target (as shown in FIG. 5)…The sensed parameter can be motion of the target, such as rotation and/or position of the target, such as an angular position, to name a few examples.” “Sensor 104a further includes a processor coupled to the sensing element and configured to generate a sensed signal indicative of the parameter associated with the target. In the case of a magnetic field sensor for example, the sensed signal can be the output signal of a magnetic field transducer such as a Hall effect or magnetoresistance element”);
detection circuitry (Fig. 5, 6, Para. [0077], [0098]: digital processor 530/630) configured to detect one or more parameters of the target using the magnetic field signals or representations thereof (Para. [0028]: “Sensor 104a further includes a processor [digital processor 530/630] coupled to the sensing element and configured to generate a sensed signal indicative of the parameter associated with the target. In the case of a magnetic field sensor for example, the sensed signal can be the output signal of a magnetic field transducer such as a Hall effect or magnetoresistance element”); and
output circuit (Fig. 5, “Output module 540”) configured to generate messages (Fig. 3, Para. [0029], [0046]: “An output module [output circuit] of the sensor 104a is coupled to receive the sensed signal and configured to transmit absolute data based on the sensed signal. Thus, the absolute data is indicative of the sensed parameter.” “Absolute data 310 takes the form of a SENT signal including individual SENT messages 310a-310c [messages]”) at a fixed time interval (Fig. 4, Para. [0031], [0047], [0052]: “absolute data in the form of SENT messages can be sent on the message line 106 every 128 microseconds [fixed time interval]” “The SENT messages 310a-310c can have a user specified tick time and message format”; “The number of data nibbles will be fixed for each application but can vary between applications”. Hence, a SENT messages is generated at fixed time interval, “
t
S
E
N
T
”), each message conveying information about the one or more parameters of the target (Para. [0052]: “The SENT message 400 can include a sequence of pulses transmitted by the sensor IC 104a and in the example angle sensor, the target angle can be converted into the pulses with data encoded as falling to falling edge periods.” Hence each SENT message 310a to 310c conveys at least a target angle information), wherein each message also conveys information associated with the sensor (Fig. 3, 4, Para. [0052]: “The SENT message 400 can include… a Status and Serial Communication portion 404… Status and Serial Communication portion 404 is used to inform the ECU 102 of the sensor status or features (such as part numbers or error code information) and has a duration of between 12 and 27 ticks to provide 4 bits”), wherein the information associated with the sensor includes a temperature associated with the sensor (Fig. 3, 4, Para. [0026], [0099]: “ICs 104a-104n may be the same type of sensor (e.g., each a magnetic field sensor) or may be different types of sensors (e.g., one is a temperature sensor and the others are magnetic field sensors)”; “Temperature may also affect signal amplitudes and offsets. Thus, processor 630 can be coupled to receive temperature information from a temperature sensor (not shown) and can operate to automatically track and compensate signal amplitudes and offsets”).
Casu et al. does not teach that the SENT signal generated at fixed time interval is generated:
“independent of the target speed.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor (page 1: “a sensor system, a sensor, and a sensor signal output method”), ITO discloses (Fig. 3) a sensor output signal is generated:
“independent of the target speed ( page 6: “The first sensor 42 may be configured to output a sensor signal at regular intervals” regardless of (page 1, 3) “a rotation speed…related to a control target”).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the SENT signal in Casu et al.’s invention can be generated regardless of (page 1, 3) “a rotation speed…related to a control target” as taught by ITO, where doing so (ITO, page 2) “can reduce sensor output data latency…reduce or eliminate ambiguity in sensor output data age.”
Claims 8-10 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casu et al. (US 20220239462 A1 previously cited) in view of ITO (JP 2015228171 A machine English translated previously provided) further in view of Hainz et al. (US 20180174441 A1 previously cited).
Regarding Claim 8 and 24, Casu et al. in view of ITO discloses all as applied to claim 1 and 17 above, however they do not teach wherein the each SENT message conveys the information about the one or more parameters of the target using:
“words comprising a speed pulse followed by a sequence of data pulses.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor (Abstract: “A signal encoder for encoding a wheel speed sensor signal”), Hainz et al. discloses (Fig. 1A, 1B) outputting “an encoded WSS signal 104” conveying speed parameter of a target/wheel using:
words comprising a speed pulse followed by a sequence of data pulses (Fig. 1B, Para. [0026]-[0028]: “an encoded WSS signal 104” includes words comprising “speed pulse 105-1, 105-2, 105-3” each followed by “sequences of data pulses 110-1, 110-2, 110-3 carrying the additional information (e.g., rotational direction, error, and/or air gap reserve information)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the SENT messages conveying information about the one or more parameters of the target in Casu et al. in view of ITO’s invention can be done using words comprising speed pulse followed by sequence of data pulses as taught by Hainz et al., where doing so (Hainz et al., Para. [0003]) “can provide a reliable communication of the sensor data at higher data rates.”
Regarding Claim 9 and 25, Casu et al. in view of ITO further in view of Hainz et al. discloses all as applied to claim 8 and 24 above, where Hainz et al. further teaches;
wherein the data pulses are Manchester encoded (Fig. 1C, 1D, Para. [0029]: “The data bits (e.g., the data pulses) are coded binary by a Manchester code”).
Regarding Claim 10 and 26, Casu et al. in view of ITO further in view of Hainz et al. discloses all as applied to claim 8 and 24 above, where Hainz et al. further teaches;
wherein the speed pulses have a first current (Fig. 1B-1D, Para. [0029]: “A speed pulse 105-1 of the of an encoded WSS signal 104-C can be a 28 mA pulse”) and the data pulses have a second current different from the first current (Fig. 1B-1D, Para. [0029]: “A speed pulse 105-1 of the of an encoded WSS signal 104-C can be a 28 mA pulse…The data bits (e.g., the data pulses) are coded binary by a Manchester code with the current levels of 7 mA and 14 mA”) .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chaware et al. (US 20180011140 A1) discloses (Abstract, Fig. 1, 2, 4, 5) “A magnetic field sensor comprises at least one magnetic field sensing element configured to generate a measured magnetic field signal responsive to an external magnetic field; a diagnostic circuit configured to generate a diagnostic signal, wherein the diagnostic signal is not dependent on a measured magnetic field; a signal path comprising an amplifier and an analog-to-digital converter for processing the measured magnetic field signal to generate a sensor output signal indicative of the external magnetic field during a measured time period and for processing the diagnostic signal during a diagnostic time period; and a switch coupled to receive the measured magnetic field signal and the diagnostic signal and direct the measured magnetic field signal to the signal path during the measured time period and direct the diagnostic signal to the signal path during the diagnostic time period.”
/AMNEET SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2633 /SAM K AHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2633