DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicants’ preliminary amendment filed April 2, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 includes the limitation “wherein when the first audio clip is located before the second audio clip in the target medley audio, the first transition audio information is determined”. However according to claim 1, from which claim 5 depends, transition audio information is determined before a target melody audio is generated. It is unclear how transition audio information is to both be generated before and after the target medley audio is generated, e.g. generating additional transition audio information instead of the generated transitional audio information, modifying the generated transitional audio information, etc. For examining purposes, this limitation is interpreted as stating “wherein the first audio clip is to be located before the second audio clip in the target medley audio, the first transition audio information is determined”.
This claim further includes the limitation “the first transition audio information is determined based on a feature vector representing the first transition audio information, and the feature vector of the first transition audio information is determined”. However it is unclear how something can be determined based on itself since the feature vector represents the first transition audio information. For examining purposes, this limitation is interpreted as stating “the first transition audio information is determined based on a feature vector, and the feature vector is determined”.
Claim 8 is directed to the “method according to claim 1, wherein” and includes the limitation “redetermining a melody composition order”. However determining a melody composition order was introduced in claim 7. It is unclear whether the claim necessarily requires a melody composition order to be previously determined in order to redetermine a melody composition order. For examining purposes, this claim is interpreted as being directed to the “method according to claim 7, wherein”.
Claim 15 includes the limitation “wherein the audio data processing apparatus is further configured to, when the first audio clip is located before the second audio clip in the target medley audio, determine the first transition audio information based on a feature vector representing the first transition audio information”. However according to claim 11, from which claim 15 depends, transition audio information is determined before a target melody audio is generated. It is unclear how transition audio information is to both be generated before and after the target medley audio is generated, e.g. generating additional transition audio information instead of the generated transitional audio information, modifying the generated transitional audio information, etc. For examining purposes, this limitation is interpreted as stating “wherein the first audio clip is to be located before the second audio clip in the target medley audio, the audio data processing apparatus is further configured to determine the first transition audio information based on a feature vector representing the first transition audio information”.
This claim further includes the limitation “determine the first transition audio information based on a feature vector representing the first transition audio information, and determine the feature vector of the first transition audio information based on”. However it is unclear how something can be determined based on itself since the feature vector represents the first transition audio information. For examining purposes, this limitation is interpreted as stating “determine the first transition audio information based on a feature vector, and determine the feature vector based on”.
Claim 18 is directed to the “audio data processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein” and includes the limitation “redetermine a melody composition order”. However determining a melody composition order was introduced in claim 17. It is unclear whether the claim necessarily requires a melody composition order to be previously determined in order to redetermine a melody composition order. For examining purposes, this claim is interpreted as being directed to the “audio data processing apparatus according to claim 17, wherein”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significant more. Claims 1, 11, 19 and 20 recite obtaining audio clips, determining pieces of transition audio information, sorting the audio clips and generating a target medley audio. The claimed limitations are directed to a process, which under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, e.g. one or more processors, a transmission interface and a memory described in claim 11. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The only additional elements described in the claims are one or more processors, a transmission interface and a memory described in claim 11, which are described at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere components and instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and known processing algorithm to perform the process. The additional element(s) are not described so as to require any unique components or steps in order to achieve the claimed invention. Accordingly, the additional element(s) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the one or more processors which receives or sends data through the transmission interface and execute program instructions, the transmission interface and memory described in claim 11, are considered generic computer components without requiring any additional specific elements to apply the exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The dependent claims 2-10 and 12-18 only further define the abstract idea without significant more, e.g. determining fist and second transition audio information based on first and second information of the first and second audio clip, respectively, as in claims 2, 4, 5, 12, 14 and 15, defining characteristics of the first or second audio clip, as in claims 3 and 13, and determining the medley composition order as in claims 7 and 17 are not described to require any additional unique components or steps. Accordingly, the claim(s) are directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-11, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shteyn et al. (US 6,933,432 B2).
Claims 1, 11, 19 and 20: Shteyn et al. discloses an audio data processing method, an audio data processing apparatus comprising: one or more processors and a transmission interface for inputting user-selected criteria (column 6 lines 62-64), wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive or send data through the transmission interface, and the one or more processors are configured to execute program instructions stored in a memory, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises program instructions, and when the program instructions are run on a computer or a processor, the computer or the processor is enabled to perform method steps, and a computer program product embodied on anon-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein when the computer program product is run on an audio data processing apparatus, the audio data processing apparatus is enabled to perform the method steps comprising: obtaining m audio clips (2 segments), wherein m is an integer greater than or equal to 2 and determining m - 1 piece(s) of transition audio information (1 transition piece 148) based on the m audio clips, wherein the m - 1 piece(s) of transition audio information are used to splice the m audio clips (column 4 lines 16-19). First transition audio information in the m - 1 piece(s) of transition audio information is used to splice a first audio clip (song) and a second audio clip (next song) that are sorted consecutively in the m audio clips (column 4 lines 24-27), and sorting of the m audio clips is a medley composition order (ordered playlist) of the m audio clips (column 6 lines 14-17). Target medley audio is then generated and played back based on the m audio clips and the m - 1 piece(s) of transition audio information (column 2 lines 22-25).
Claim 9: Shteyn et al. discloses an audio data processing method as stated above, where the target medley audio is rendered via rendering device (160) described as a portable player (column 3 lines 3-10). The target medley audio then would be rendered in response to an operation of a user, as is recognized in the art.
Claim 10: Shteyn et al. discloses an audio data processing method as stated above, where the target medley audio is outputted via rendering device (160) described as a portable player (column 3 lines 3-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shteyn et al. (US 6,933,432 B2) in view of Balassanian et al. (US 11,914,919 B2).
Claims 2 and 12: Shteyn et al. discloses an audio data processing method and apparatus as stated above, wherein the determining of the m - 1 piece(s) of transition audio information based on the m audio clips comprises: determining the first transition audio information based on first information of the first audio clip and second information of the second audio clip (column 4 lines 24-27). The first and second information comprises first and second audio feature information (beat patterns) of the first and second audio clip, respectively (column 4 lines 28-34). This reference fails to disclose the first transition audio information to comprise musical instrument digital interface (MIDI) information of first transition audio corresponding to the first transition audio information, the first information to comprise first MIDI information, and the second information to comprise second MIDI information.
However Balassanian et al. teaches an audio data processing method and apparatus, where MIDI representations of audio clips (audio files) are used to generate target melody audio (new music content) (column 4 lines 47-56). First information of a first audio clip comprises first MIDI information, second information of a second audio clip comprises second MIDI information (column 14 lines 56-59).
Given the teachings of Balassanian et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio data processing method and apparatus disclosed in Shteyn et al. with providing the first information of the first audio clip to comprise first MIDI information, and the second information of the second audio clip to comprise second MIDI information, such that the first transition audio information comprises MIDI information of first transition audio corresponding to the first transition audio information. Doing so would provide a “common format of symbolic music representation … [which] contains precise timing, pitch, and performance control information” as taught in Balassanian et al. (column 14 lines 18-20) where “representations of pitch and rhythm [can be] determined” therefrom (column 4 lines 51-54).
Claims 3 and 13: Shteyn et al. modified by Balassanian et al. discloses an audio data processing method and apparatus as stated above, where at least one of the first or second audio feature information is disclosed in Shteyn et al. to comprise at least rhythm information (beat patterns) of the respective audio clip (column 4 lines 28-34).
Claims 4 and 14: Shteyn et al. modified by Balassanian et al. discloses an audio data processing method and apparatus wherein the determining of the first transition audio information based on the first information of the first audio clip and the second information of the second audio clip comprises: determining the first transition audio information based on the first information of the first audio clip. and the second information of the second audio clip, as stated above. The determining of the first transition audio information is further shown in Balassanian et al. to be based on a preset neural network model (column 4 lines 56-59).
Claims 5 and 15: Shteyn et al. modified by Balassanian et al. discloses an audio data processing method and apparatus as stated above, where the first audio clip is disclosed in Shteyn et al. to be located before the second audio clip in the target medley audio, and the first information is at a tail end of a time sequence of the first audio clip and second information is at a start end of a time sequence of the second audio clip (column 4 lines 24-27). This reference fails to disclose the first transition audio information to be determined based on a feature vector, the feature vector to be determined based on a first vector and a second vector, wherein the first vector is a feature vector generated at a tail end of a time sequence of the first audio clip based on the first information and the second vector is a feature vector generated at a start end of a time sequence of the second audio clip based on the second information.
However Balassanian et al. teaches an audio data processing method and apparatus, where first transition audio information (audio file C) is determined based on a feature vector, the feature vector is determined based on a first vector and a second vector, wherein the first vector is a feature vector generated at a tail end of a time sequence of a first audio clip (file A) and the second vector is a feature vector generated at a start end of a time sequence of a second audio clip (file B) (column 43 lines 31-43).
Given the teachings of Balassanian et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio data processing method and apparatus disclosed in Shteyn et al. with providing the first transition audio information to be determined based on a feature vector, the feature vector to be determined based on a first vector and a second vector, wherein the first vector is a feature vector generated at a tail end of a time sequence of the first audio clip, and therefore based on the first information, and the second vector is a feature vector generated at a start end of a time sequence of the second audio clip, and therefore based on the second information. Doing so would allow provide a unique transition by utilizing a variable “playback time for each original file based on its similarly to the [first transition audio information]” as taught in Balassanian et al. (column 43 lines 43-45).
Claims 6 and 16: Shteyn et al. discloses an audio data processing method and apparatus as stated above, wherein obtaining m audio clips comprises determining k pieces of target audio (2 songs) and extracting the m audio clips from the k pieces of target audio (column 4 lines 16-19, 24-27), wherein 2 = k = m, and therefore 2 ≤ k ≤ m. This reference fails to disclose the k pieces of target audio to be determined in response to an operation of a user.
However Balassanian et al. teaches an audio data processing method and apparatus, where k pieces of target audio are determined in response to an operation of a user to create a pool from which new music is generated (column 31 lines 40-43).
Given the teachings of Balassanian et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio data processing method and apparatus disclosed in Shteyn et al. with providing the k pieces of target audio to be determined in response to an operation of a user. Doing so would not require the user to “organize selections sequentially” as taught in Balassanian et al. (column 31 lines 43-46).
Claims 7, 8, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shteyn et al. (US 6,933,432 B2) in view of Richardson et al. (US 10,269,387 B2).
Claims 7 and 17: Shteyn et al. discloses an audio data processing method and apparatus as stated above, but fails to disclose the medley composition order of the m audio clips to be determined before the determining of the m - 1 piece(s) of transition audio information based on the m audio clips.
However Richardson et al. teaches an audio data processing method and apparatus, where audio clips (segments) are selected from candidate audio clips to be combined according to a priority value and section, e.g. starting segment, ending segment, where respective sections have a predetermined order (column 6 lines 31-50).
Given the teachings of Richardson et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the audio data processing method and apparatus disclosed in Shteyn et al. with providing audio clips to be selected from candidate audio clips according to a section, where respective sections have a predetermined order. The medley composition order of the m audio clips then would be determined before the determining of the m - 1 piece(s) of transition audio information based on the m audio clips. Doing so would allow audio clips to be obtain which correspond to a designated warm up and cool down period when said method and apparatus is used during an exercise routine.
Claims 8 and 18: Shteyn et al. modified by Richardson et al. discloses an audio data processing method and apparatus as stated above, where a user is shown in Richardson et al. to be able to selectively modify a duration after being presented with the target medley audio (column 5 lines 36-38), and audio clips (body segments) are inserted based on a remaining duration of the target medley audio and a length of an audio clip (column 28 line 65 through column 29 line 7). Therefore a medley composition order of the m audio clips is redetermined in response to a second operation of the a user; the m - 1 piece(s) of transition audio information are redetermined based on the redetermined medley composition order and the m audio clips; and the target medley audio is regenerated based on the redetermined m - 1 piece(s) of transition audio information and the m audio clips.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5,747,716, US 2003/0037664 A1 pertaining to generating m – 1 transition audio information based on m audio clips.
/Christopher Uhlir/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 October 17, 2026