DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment received on December 26th, 2025.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 29 be found allowable, claim 34 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Claim 34 recites “…the plurality of torsional transducers forming a torsional transducer assembly…”. The torsional transducer assembly is already recited in claim 29. The examiner recommends amended the claim to recite …wherein the plurality of torsional transducers form the torsional transducer assembly….
Applicant is advised that should claim 30 be found allowable, claim 35 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Claim 35 recites “…the standing wave defining an alternating pattern of nodes and anti-nodes…”. The standing wave defining an alternating pattern of nodes and anti-nodes is already recited in claim 30. The examiner recommends removing the limitation from claim 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23-26, 29, 31-34, 37, and 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voedgele (U.S. Patent 11,000,707) in view of Young (U.S. Publication 2011/0278988).
Regarding claims 21 and 23-26:
Voedgele discloses a device (for example see Figure 1) comprising:
(claim 21) a surgical attachment (46 and 50) including
(claim 21) a first end (54) detachably connected to a transducer
(claim 21) a second end (152) defining a working plane (the plane defined by the movement of the second end relative to tissue) for engagement with biological tissue
(claim 21) wherein the transducer is configured to create a standing wave (for example see Figures 3 and 5)
(claims 22 and 27) wherein the standing wave defining an alternating pattern of nodes and anti-nodes
(claim 27) an adapter (46) having a junction positioned to correspond with one of the nodes of the standing wave (element 46 includes different portions that correspond, i.e. are aligned/positioned relative to a node; for example see Figure 3)
(claim 27) an ultrasonic tip (for example 152) having the work plane positioned to correspond to one of the anti-nodes of the standing wave (for example see Figure 3)
(claim 21) a transducer (14) including
(claim 23) a plurality of transducers each having
(claim 23) an end surface with a surface roughness configured for acoustic contact with an end surface of another transducer (the piezoelectric rings/elements of the transducers are all designed to be used together with an ultrasonic instrument and are therefore configured to have surfaces with a roughness to engage each other in an acoustic manner in order to function within an ultrasonic instrument)
(claim 24) wherein the transducers are configured to operate as a full-wavelength resonator
(claim 25) wherein each transducer includes a piezoelectric ring (for example see Figure 34)
(claim 26) wherein the plurality of transducers form a transducer assembly including a first stack of transducers (for example 332 and 333 on the left side of node N as shown in Figure 12) and a second stack of torsional transducers (for example elements 332 and 333 of the right side of node N as shown in Figure 12) opposed to each other about an interface (the interface between elements 333 and 333 at node N)
(claim 26) wherein the interface correlates, i.e. is aligned/position relative to, with the position of one of the anti-nodes (the elements are aligned/positioned relative to both the anti-node at element 220 and/or the anti-node at element 222)
Voedgele discloses the invention as claimed except for transducer creating only torsional motion of the second end of the surgical attachment at the working plane. Young teaches a device comprising a transducer assembly (50; for example see Figures 4B-4C) including a first stack of transducers (elements 10 on one side of element 56) and a second stack of transducers (elements 10 on the other side of element 56) and a surgical attachment (for example elements 34, 35, etc.), wherein the transducer assembly creates only torsional motion in a working plane at a second end of the surgical attachment (for example see the abstract and paragraphs 67 and 78) in order to provide the highest transfer of energy to the second end of a surgical attachment, i.e. tool (see paragraph 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Voedgele wherein the transducer assembly creates only torsional motion at a working plate at the second end of the surgical attachment in view of Young in order to provide the highest transfer of energy to the second end of a surgical attachment.
Regarding claims 29 and 31-34:
Voedgele discloses a device (for example see Figure 1) comprising:
(claim 29) a surgical attachment (46 and 50) connected to a transducer
(claim 29) wherein the surgical attachment defines a working plane (the plane defined by the movement of the second end relative to tissue) for engagement with biological tissue
(claim 30) a junction positioned to correspond with one of the nodes of the standing wave (element 46 includes different portions that correspond, i.e. are aligned/positioned relative to a node; for example see Figure 3)
(claim 35) an adapter (46) having a junction positioned to correspond with one of the nodes of the standing wave (element 46 includes different portions that correspond, i.e. are aligned/positioned relative to a node; for example see Figure 3)
(claim 35) an ultrasonic tip (for example 152) having the work plane positioned to correspond to one of the anti-nodes of the standing wave (for example see Figure 3)
(claim 29) a transducer assembly (14) along a central axis of the device
(claim 30) wherein the transducer is configured to create a standing wave along the central axis
(claims 30 and 35) wherein the standing wave defines an alternating pattern of nodes and anti-nodes (for example see Figures 3 and 5)
(claim 31) wherein the transducer includes a plurality of transducers each having
(claim 31) an end surface with a surface roughness configured for acoustic contact with an end surface of another transducer (the piezoelectric rings/elements of the transducers are all designed to be used together with an ultrasonic instrument and are therefore configured to have surfaces with a roughness to engage each other in an acoustic manner in order to function within an ultrasonic instrument)
(claim 32) wherein the plurality of transducers are configured to operate as a full-wavelength resonator
(claim 33) wherein each transducer is a piezoelectric ring (for example see Figure 34)
(claim 34) wherein the plurality of transducers further includes a first stack of transducers (for example 332 and 333 on the left side of node N as shown in Figure 12) and a second stack of torsional transducers (for example elements 332 and 333 of the right side of node N as shown in Figure 12) opposed to each other about an interface (the interface between elements 333 and 333 at node N)
(claim 34) wherein the interface correlates, i.e. is aligned/position relative to, with the position of one of the anti-nodes (the elements are aligned/positioned relative to both the anti-node at element 220 and/or the anti-node at element 222)
Voedgele discloses the invention as claimed except for transducer creating only torsional motion of the second end of the surgical attachment at the working plane. Young teaches a device comprising a transducer assembly (50; for example see Figures 4B-4C) including a first stack of transducers (elements 10 on one side of element 56) and a second stack of transducers (elements 10 on the other side of element 56) and a surgical attachment (for example elements 34, 35, etc.), wherein the transducer assembly creates only torsional motion in a working plane at a second end of the surgical attachment (for example see the abstract and paragraphs 67 and 78) in order to provide the highest transfer of energy to the second end of a surgical attachment, i.e. tool (see paragraph 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Voedgele wherein the transducer assembly creates only torsional motion at a working plate at the second end of the surgical attachment in view of Young in order to provide the highest transfer of energy to the second end of a surgical attachment.
Regarding claims 37, 40, 42, and 43:
Voedgele discloses a device (for example see Figure 1) comprising:
(claim 37) a surgical attachment (46 and 50) including
(claim 37) a first end detachably connected to a torsional transducer
(claim 37) a second end having an ultrasonic tip (52) for engagement with biological tissue
(claim 44) the ultrasonic tip (for example 152) having the work plane positioned to correspond to one of the anti-nodes of the standing wave (for example see Figure 3)
(claim 39) a junction positioned to correspond with one of the nodes of the standing wave (element 46 includes different portions that correspond, i.e. are aligned/positioned relative to a node; for example see Figure 3)
(claim 44) an adapter (46) having a junction positioned to correspond with one of the nodes of the standing wave (element 46 includes different portions that correspond, i.e. are aligned/positioned relative to a node; for example see Figure 3)
(claim 37) a transducer (14)
(claim 37) wherein the transducer is configured to create a standing wave (for example see Figures 3 and 5)
(claims 39 and 44) wherein the standing wave defines an alternating pattern of nodes and anti-nodes
(claim 40) wherein the transducer includes a plurality of transducers
(claim 40) wherein each of the transducers includes an end surface with a surface roughness configured for acoustic contact with an end surface of another transducer (the piezoelectric rings/elements of the transducers are all designed to be used together with an ultrasonic instrument and are therefore configured to have surfaces with a roughness to engage each other in an acoustic manner in order to function within an ultrasonic instrument)
(claim 41) wherein the plurality of transducers are configured to operate as a full-wavelength resonator
(claim 42) wherein each of the transducers is a piezoelectric ring (for example see Figure 34)
(claim 43) wherein the plurality of transducers from a transducer assembly having a first stack of transducers (for example 332 and 333 on the left side of node N as shown in Figure 12) and a second stack of torsional transducers (for example elements 332 and 333 of the right side of node N as shown in Figure 12) opposed to each other about an interface (the interface between elements 333 and 333 at node N)
(claim 43) wherein the interface correlates, i.e. is aligned/position relative to, with the position of one of the anti-nodes (the elements are aligned/positioned relative to both the anti-node at element 220 and/or the anti-node at element 222)
Voedgele discloses the invention as claimed except for transducer creating only torsional motion of the second end of the surgical attachment at the working plane. Young teaches a device comprising a transducer assembly (50; for example see Figures 4B-4C) including a first stack of transducers (elements 10 on one side of element 56) and a second stack of transducers (elements 10 on the other side of element 56) and a surgical attachment (for example elements 34, 35, etc.), wherein the transducer assembly creates only torsional motion in a working plane at a second end of the surgical attachment (for example see the abstract and paragraphs 67 and 78) in order to provide the highest transfer of energy to the second end of a surgical attachment, i.e. tool (see paragraph 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Voedgele wherein the transducer assembly creates only torsional motion at a working plate at the second end of the surgical attachment in view of Young in order to provide the highest transfer of energy to the second end of a surgical attachment.
Claims 22, 30, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voedgele (U.S. Patent 11,000,707) in view of Young (U.S. Publication 2011/0278988) further in view of Yoshimine (U.S. Publication 2019/0239916).
The device of Voedgele as modified by Young discloses the invention as claimed except for the surgical attachment having a junction to increase amplitude of the standing wave at the working plane. Yoshimine teaches a device (for example Figure 1) comprising a transducer assembly (30, 31, etc.) and a surgical attachment (10), wherein the surgical attachment includes a junction (25) at a position that correlates to a node in order to increase the amplitude of the standing wave at the working plane (for example see Figure 2A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Voedgele as modified by Young wherein the surgical attachment further includes a junction in view of Yoshimine in order to increase the amplitude of the standing wave at the working plane.
Claims 27, 28, 35, 36, 38, 44, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voedgele (U.S. Patent 11,000,707) in view of Young (U.S. Publication 2011/0278988) further in view of Darian (U.S. Patent 10,398,463).
The device of Voedgele as modified by Young discloses the device as discussed above wherein the device further comprises an adapter (46; see Voedgele Figure 1) having a junction positioned to correspond with one of the nodes of the standing wave and a surgical attachment, i.e. an ultrasonic cutting tool, including a tip (52; see Voedgele Figure 1) configured to correspond with the standing wave and defining the working plane positioned to correspond to one of the anti-nodes of the standing wave (for example see Figure 3 of Voedgele). The device of Voedgele as modified by Young fails to disclose the adapter being angled and the tip of the surgical attachment including teeth.
Regarding the adapter being angled, Darian teaches a device comprising a transducer (21) and a surgical attachment (12, 20, etc.) including an adapter (for example 14 and 16), wherein the adapter is angled in order to facilitate access to a surgical site It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Voedgele as modified by Young wherein the adapter is angled in view of Darian in order to facilitate access to a surgical site.
Regarding the surgical attachment including a tip with teeth, the device of Voedgele as modified by Young discloses a device as discussed above comprising a transducer and a surgical attaching having a distal tip configured to correspond with a resonant frequency as a function of peak to peak amplitudes, i.e. uses ultrasonic motion, in order to cut biological tissue. Darian teaches a device comprising a transducer (21) and a surgical attachment having a distal tip, wherein the distal tip includes a plurality of teeth configured to correspond with a resonant frequency as a function of peak to peak amplitudes, i.e. uses ultrasonic motion, in order to cut biological tissue. Because both the device of Voedgele as modified by Young and the device of Darian disclose a surgical attachment including a tip for cutting biological tissue using ultrasonic motion, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to substitute one distal tip of a surgical attachment for the other distal tip in order to cut biological tissue.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 26th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s arguments are directed to the new limitations added in the amendment, which are discussed above in the new grounds of rejection provided by the examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references the examiner felt were relevant to the application.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS W WOODALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775