DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
1- 16 claims limitations are interpreted under 112(f).
The following claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Claims 1, 5 and 14: the limitation “weighing unit” configured to allow the cup to be placed thereon and to measure a weight of an object placed thereon is being interpreted as A scale with a cupholder that is connected to the control unit, and equivalents thereof [figs. 1; para. 0017]
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 8 and 11: the limitation “mixing unit” configured to stir content contained therein into a mixture and to output the mixture to the cup is being interpreted as a container with a motor connect to a control unit with both a magnetic rod and a magnet, and equivalents thereof [figs. 2; para. 0018]
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8 and 11-16: the limitation “control unit” electrically connected to said weighing unit, said mixing unit, and said ingredient supply module is being interpreted as CPU and equivalents thereof [figs. 1; para. 0005]
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 12-13 and 15-16: the limitation “ingredient supply module” configured to supply an ingredient to said mixing unit is being interpreted as a number of gas and liquid storage tanks with output ports and pump to supply ingredients to the mixing unit and equivalents thereof [figs. 1-4; para. 0021]
Claims 6: the limitation “stabilizer” that is disposed at the other side of said connection pipe is being interpreted as valve and equivalents thereof
Claims 11: the limitation “cut-off component” that is disposed at the other side of said connection pipe is being interpreted as a pneumatic cylinder having a piston and equivalents thereof [ para. 0042]
Claims 11: the limitation “blocking component” that is disposed at the other side of said connection pipe is being interpreted as valve and equivalents thereof
Claims 14: the limitation “image capturing unit” electrically connected to said control unit is being interpreted as camera and equivalents thereof [para. 0033]
Claims 16: the limitation “output device” electrically connected to said control unit is being interpreted as Printer and equivalents thereof [para. 0037]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term stabilizer in claim 6 is a term that can have many different meanings and is never defined in the specs only appearing as "stabilizer 234”. The Examiner will interpret stabilizer as a valve and equivalents thereof.
The blocking component in claim 11 is a term that can have many different meanings and is never defined in the specs only appearing as “blocking component 288a”. The Examiner will interpret blocking component as a valve and equivalents thereof.
Claims 6 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term stabilizer in claim 6 is a term that can have many different meanings and is never defined in the specs only appearing as "stabilizer 234”. The Examiner will interpret stabilizer as a valve and equivalents thereof.
The blocking component in claim 11 is a term that can have many different meanings and is never defined in the specs only appearing as “blocking component 288a”. The Examiner will interpret blocking component as a valve and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (US 20220177291 A1) in view of HARA (JP 2021159589 A)
Regarding claim 1, Chu discloses
A beverage preparation equipment for automatically preparing a beverage and filling a cup with the beverage, said beverage preparation equipment comprising: (“The smart energy-saving device for automatic blending drinks, adopted to inject beverages into at least one beverage cup” [0008])
a weighing unit (Fig. 2 163, [0042] beverage-cup-weight sensors 163) configured to allow the cup to be placed thereon and to measure a weight of an object placed thereon; (FIG 1B, [0045] describing function of beverage-cup-weight sensors 163)
a mixing unit configured to stir content contained therein into a mixture and to output the mixture to the cup;
an ingredient supply module (beverage barrels 110), configured to supply an ingredient to said mixing unit; and (FIG 1B/C “the beverages in the beverage barrel 110 goes to the collection mechanism 150 via the outlet 111, the manifold 120 and the beverage tube 121” [0031-0033])
a control unit (control module) electrically connected to said weighing unit, said mixing unit, and said ingredient supply module, said control unit being configured to (FIG 2 controller 160 “The control module functions to be a main control system of the smart energy-saving device” [0030,0042])
control said ingredient supply module to supply a predetermined volume of the ingredient to said mixing unit based on a preparation command that is related to preparation of a beverage, (Fig. 1B/C,2,3 “The controller 160 controls a beverage outflow amount” [0050, 0051])
control said mixing unit to stir the ingredient inputted thereto into the beverage and then output the beverage in said mixing unit to the cup,
determine a weight of the beverage in the cup based on the weight of the object measured by said weighing unit, and (Fig. 1B/C,2, [0051, 0052])
control said mixing unit to stop outputting the beverage in said mixing unit to the cup when determining that the weight of the beverage in the cup has reached a predetermined weight indicated by the preparation command. (Fig. 1B/C,2,3 “loading beverage into the beverage cup 20 being completed and the beverage-cup-weight datum being equal to the preset beverage weight” [0050-0053])
Chu does not explicitly teach a mixing unit configured to stir content contained therein into a mixture and to output the mixture to the cup; and control said mixing unit to stir the ingredient inputted thereto into the beverage and then output the beverage in said mixing unit to the cup.
However, Hara teaches a mixing unit (Fig. 3 mixing unit 35) configured to stir content contained therein into a mixture and to output the mixture to the cup; (mixing unit 35 that stirs and mixes the raw material powder and water. Fig. 3. mixing unit 35 [0017]) and control said mixing unit to stir the ingredient inputted thereto into the beverage and then output the beverage in said mixing unit to the cup (Fig. 6, control device 50, stirring motor 36a the control device 50 is an operation provided on the front panel 16. Switch 17, powder unloading motor 33b, stirring motor 36a [0028]).
Chu and Hara are analogous art because they are both related to devices for supplying beverage mixtures. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added the mixing unit of Hara to the beverage preparation device of Chu to ensure a better combination of ingredients to improve the appearance and taste of the resulting beverage with a complete combination of the ingredients with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Chu in view of Hara teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 1, Chu further teaches wherein said control unit is further configured to, when determining that the predetermined volume of the ingredient that was supplied to said mixing unit from said ingredient supply module has been completely outputted from said mixing unit and that the weight of the beverage in the cup has not reached the predetermined weight (Figs. 1B/C,2,3 “determining the beverage-cup-weight datum being equal to the preset beverage weight, if no, repeating step (A50) to step (A80), otherwise, deactivating the water valve switch 161, wherein the weight of the beverage in the beverage cup 20 approaching the preset beverage weight is in determination, if no, loading the beverage being not finished yet, and repeating step (A50) to step (A80), so as to continuously control the amount of beverage flowing out, otherwise, the water valve switch 161 is deactivated to stop that of flowing out beverage.” [0050-0052]), control said ingredient supply module to continuously supply the ingredient to said mixing unit, control said mixing unit to continuously stir the ingredient inputted thereto, and control said mixing unit to continuously output the beverage to the cup, until determining that the weight of the beverage in the cup has reached the predetermined weight. (Figs. 1B/C,2,3 “determining the beverage-cup-weight datum being equal to the preset beverage weight, if no, repeating step (A50) to step (A80), otherwise, deactivating the water valve switch 161, wherein the weight of the beverage in the beverage cup 20 approaching the preset beverage weight is in determination, if no, loading the beverage being not finished yet, and repeating step (A50) to step (A80), so as to continuously control the amount of beverage flowing out, otherwise, the water valve switch 161 is deactivated to stop that of flowing out beverage.” [0050-0052])
Chu does not explicitly teach when determining that the predetermined volume of the ingredient that was supplied to said mixing unit from said ingredient supply module has been completely outputted from said mixing unit and that the weight of the beverage in the cup has not reached the predetermined weight, control said ingredient supply module to continuously supply the ingredient to said mixing unit, control said mixing unit to continuously stir the ingredient inputted thereto, and control said mixing unit to continuously output the beverage to the cup. However, Hara teaches when determining that the predetermined volume of the ingredient that was supplied to said mixing unit from said ingredient supply module has been completely outputted from said mixing unit (mixing unit 35) and that the weight of the beverage in the cup has not reached the predetermined weight, control said ingredient supply module to continuously supply the ingredient (raw material powder) to said mixing unit, control said mixing unit to continuously stir the ingredient inputted thereto, and control said mixing unit to continuously output the beverage to the cup. (Fig. 3. mixing unit 35 “a mixing unit (mixing unit 35) that stirs and mixes the ingredients (raw material powder) and water.” [0017])
Chu and Hara are analogous art because they are both related to devices for supplying beverage mixtures. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added the mixing unit of Hara to the beverage preparation device of Chu to ensure a better combination of ingredients to improve the appearance and taste of the resulting beverage with a complete combination of the ingredients with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3 Chu in view of Hara teaches the beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 1. Chu does not explicitly disclose, but Hara teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 1, Hara further teaches wherein said mixing unit includes a container (mixing container 35) that is configured to contain the ingredient, a motor (stirring motor 36a) that is electrically connected to said control unit and that is controlled by said control unit to operate, and a mixer (stirring device 36) that is mechanically connected to said motor and that is configured to be driven by said motor to stir the ingredient in said container. (Fig. 3 mixing container 35, stirring device 36, stirring motor 36a “the mixing container 35 is provided with a stirring device 36, and the stirring device 36 is provided by a stirring motor 36a” [0019]
It would be obvious to combine Chu and Hara for the same reasons set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5 Chu in view of Hara teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 3, wherein said container includes an outlet for outputting the beverage, and said mixing unit further includes:
Chu further teaches a first pipe (manifold 120) unit that is connected to said container and that is adapted to output the beverage from said container to the cup, wherein said first pipe unit includes an input port (water inlets 152) that is connected to said outlet of said container, a connection pipe, (manifold 120) and a first output port and a second output port (nozzles 153) that are connected to each other by said connection pipe, that are in spatial communication with said input port, and that are adapted to output the beverage inputted from said container through said input port, said first output port being disposed above said weighing unit; ( Fig. 1B/C, 2, 4, manifold 120, water inlets 152, nozzles 153 “the six beverage barrels 110 are corresponding to the six manifolds 120” [0041] the manifolds 120 respectively through the beverage tubes 121. In other words, the water inlets 152 are corresponding to the beverage barrels 110 individually. Beverages flow through the ring structures 150′, and then to the beverage cup 20” [0039].)
a first switch (water valve switches 161) controlled by said control unit to allow the beverage to flow into said first pipe unit through said input port and to control flow of the beverage to one of said first output port and said second output port; and
a second switch (water valve switches 161) controlled by said control unit to allow the beverage to flow out from said first output port. (Fig. 1B/C, 2, 4 The water valve switch 161 and the flowmeter 162 are positioned on the beverage tube 121 of the manifold 120 and connected with each other in series. Both of them are electrically connected with the controller 160. The flowmeter 162 provides flow data, which is the amount of beverages flowing through the flowmeter 162. The water valve switch 161 is driven by the controller 160 to open or close. [0044])
Regarding claim 6 Chu in view of Hara teaches the beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 1. Chu teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 1, wherein the ingredient is liquid, and said ingredient supply module includes:
a liquid storage (beverage barrels 110) that is configured to store the ingredient, and that includes a liquid storage output port for outputting the ingredient stored in said liquid storage; and
Chu does not explicitly teach a liquid transport unit that is configured to transport the ingredient from said liquid storage to said mixing unit, and that includes
a first pipe,
a second pipe,
a liquid pump that is controlled by said control unit and that includes a liquid pump input port connected to said liquid storage output port through said first pipe, and a liquid pump output port,
a stabilizer that is configured to stabilize a flow rate of the ingredient flowing from said liquid pump to said mixing unit, and that has one end connected to said liquid pump output port through said second pipe, and
a second pipe unit that includes a third pipe that is connected to the other end of said stabilizer, a fourth pipe that is connected to said mixing unit, and a switch that has one end connected to said third pipe and the other end connected to said fourth pipe, and is controlled by said control unit to allow the ingredient to flow through said second pipe unit into said mixing unit,
wherein said control unit is further configured to control said liquid pump to pump the ingredient from said liquid storage to said mixing unit through said second pipe, said stabilizer, and said second pipe unit.
Hara teaches a liquid transport unit that is configured to transport the ingredient from said liquid storage to said mixing unit, and that includes
a first pipe, (Fig 5, water supply pipe 44)
a second pipe, (drain pipe 44c)
a liquid pump (hot water pump 44a) that is controlled by said control unit and that includes a liquid pump input port connected to said liquid storage output port through said first pipe, and a liquid pump output port, (Fig.5 hot water pump 44a, hot water pump 44a, drain pipe 44c)
a stabilizer (supply valves 44b (44b1 to 44b4)) that is configured to stabilize a flow rate of the ingredient flowing from said liquid pump to said mixing unit, and that has one end connected to said liquid pump output port through said second pipe, and
a second pipe unit that includes a third pipe (44b1 to 44b4) that is connected to the other end of said stabilizer, a fourth pipe (44b1 to 44b4) that is connected to said mixing unit, and a switch that has one end connected to said third pipe and the other end connected to said fourth pipe, and is controlled by said control unit to allow the ingredient to flow through said second pipe unit into said mixing unit, ( Fig.5 hot water pump 44a, hot water pump, 44a supply pipes 44c (44c1 to 44c4), supply valves 44b (44b1 to 44b4) “the hot water supply pipe 44 is interposed with the first to fourth raw material water supply valves 44b (44b1 to 44b4) for hot water, which are composed of three-way valves, and the first to fourth raw material water supply valves 44b for hot water are interposed. The first to fourth raw material water supply pipes 44c (44c1 to 44c4) for hot water are connected to (44b1 to 44b4). The outlet end of the first raw material water supply pipe 44c1 is connected to the raw material water supply port 15a of the beverage supply unit 30 on the left side, and the outlet end of the second raw material water supply pipe 44c2 is the central beverage supply unit in the left-right direction. It is connected to the raw material water supply port 15a of 30, and the outlet end of the third raw material water supply pipe 44c3 is connected to the raw material water supply port 15a of the beverage supply unit 30 on the right side, and is connected to the raw material water supply port 15a of the beverage supply unit 30 on the right side.” [0023])
wherein said control unit is further configured to control said liquid pump to pump the ingredient from said liquid storage to said mixing unit through said second pipe, said stabilizer, and said second pipe unit. ( “the control device 50 operates the hot water pump 44a” [0031]).
Regarding claim 7 Chu in view of Hara teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 6, Chu teaches further comprising a code reader (bar code readers 167) electrically connected to said control unit, said code reader being configured to obtain material information of the ingredient stored in said liquid storage by reading a barcode (bar code readers 167) that is disposed on said liquid storage and that contains the material information, and to send the material information to said control unit, (Fig.1B, 2 “The bar code reader 167 is adopted to recognize the bar code 22 for acquiring beverage data” 0048)
wherein said control unit is configured to store pre-stored information that corresponds to said ingredient supply module, to compare the material information thus obtained with the pre-stored information, and to generate and output an alert message (abnormality notification message) when the material information thus obtained does not conform with the pre-stored information. (“The device 100 further has a sound device such as trumpet or loudspeaker, in order transmit the abnormality notification message, the beverage replenishment notification and the ice supplement notification. That is to say, the situations of insufficient beverages or ice cubes, or system abnormal happen” [0056]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (US 20220177291 A1) in view of HARA (JP 2021159589 A) as respectively applied to claim 3 and further in view of Fonte (US 20210084930 A1)
Regarding claim 4 Chu in view of Hara teaches
the beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 3. Chu and Hara does not explicitly disclose, wherein said mixer includes a magnet that is disposed outside said container, that is mechanically connected to said motor, and that is configured to be driven by said motor to rotate, and a magnetic rod) that is disposed in said container and that is magnetically attracted by said magnet so as to co-rotate with said magnet for stirring the ingredient in said container.
Fonte teaches wherein said mixer includes a magnet (rotating magnet 902) that is disposed outside said container, that is mechanically connected to said motor, and that is configured to be driven by said motor to rotate, and a magnetic rod ( magnetic stir bar 891) that is disposed in said container and that is magnetically attracted by said magnet so as to co-rotate (operates a motor (not shown) to rotate the magnet 902 (or an assembly of electromagnets) about an axis. Controllers of stirring assemblies using an assembly of electromagnets are operable to cycle the set of stationary electromagnets to generate the magnetic field) with said magnet for stirring the ingredient in said container. (Fig.42-43 [0222-224])
Chu and Fonte are analogous art because they are both related to devices for supplying beverage mixtures. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to having added a magnet and a magnetic rod allowing the container to rotate from Fonte to the beverage preparation device of Chu allowing for better more power efficient mixing of the beverage with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (US 20220177291 A1) in view of HARA (JP 2021159589 A) as respectively applied to claims 1 and further in view of NOVAK (WO 2011094677 A2)
Regarding claim 8 Chu in view of Hara teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 1, wherein the ingredient is liquid, and said ingredient supply module includes:
a liquid storage (beverage barrel 110) that is configured to store the ingredient, and that includes a liquid storage output port (outlet 111) located at a lower end of said liquid storage for outputting the ingredient from said liquid storage to said mixing unit, and a liquid storage input port (water inlet 113) located at an upper end of said liquid storage; and (Fig.B1 beverage outlet 111, barrel 110, water inlet 113 [0032].
a liquid transport unit that includes
a first pipe, (follow-up pipes)
a gas storage configured to store gas, said gas storage including a gas storage output port and being connected to said liquid storage input port through said first pipe, and
a switch (water valve switch 161) electrically connected to said control unit, said switch being disposed between said liquid storage output port and said mixing unit and controlled by said control unit to allow the ingredient stored in said liquid storage to flow from said liquid storage into said mixing unit, (Fig 1B. water valve switch 161, The water valve switch 161 and the flowmeter 162 are positioned on the beverage tube 121 of the manifold 120 and connected with each other in series. Both of them are electrically connected with the controller 160. The flowmeter 162 provides flow data, which is the amount of beverages flowing through the flowmeter 162. The water valve switch 161 is driven by the controller 160 to open or close. [0044])
wherein said control unit is configured to control said ingredient supply module to supply the ingredient to said mixing unit by allowing said gas storage to supply gas to said liquid storage and controlling said switch to allow the ingredient to flow from said liquid storage into said mixing unit.
Chu does not explicitly teach a gas storage configured to store gas, said gas storage including a gas storage configured to store gas, said gas storage including a gas storage output port and being connected to said liquid storage input port through said first pipe, and wherein said control unit is configured to control said ingredient supply module to supply the ingredient to said mixing unit by allowing said gas storage to supply gas to said liquid storage and controlling said switch to allow the ingredient to flow from said liquid storage into said mixing unit.
NOVAK however teaches a gas storage (cartridge chamber 3) configured to store gas, said gas storage including a gas storage (cartridge chamber 3) configured to store gas, said gas storage including a gas storage output port ( piercing element 35) and being connected to said liquid storage input port ( piercing element 34) through said first pipe, ( conduit 31) and.(Fig. 2,3, 5 cartridge chamber 3, piercing element 35, piercing element 34 a container having an internal space that is sealed and contains a carbon dioxide source in the internal space. may include a lid that is pierceable by a beverage machine to form both the gas storage input port (piercing element 34) and gas storage output port. (piercing element 35) and wherein said control unit is configured to control said ingredient supply module to supply the ingredient to said mixing unit by allowing said gas storage to supply gas to said liquid storage and controlling said switch to allow the ingredient to flow from said liquid storage into said mixing unit. (Fig. 2,3, 5 Gas Supply 30, controller 5, cartridge chamber 3, piercing element 35, piercing element 34 “Gas supply 30 may be arranged to provide carbon dioxide gas from the cartridge chamber 3 to an area where the gas is used to carbonate the, page 6 lines 15-30 page 7 lines 1-15, page 15 lines 3-17)
Chu and NOVAK are analogous art because they are related to devices for supplying beverage mixtures. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added gas storage and the ability to mix the gas and liquid of NOVAK to the beverage preparation device of Chu to allow the creation of different types of beverages that require various gasses such as carbonated sodas with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9 Chu in view of Hara and NOVAK teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 8, Chu in view of Hara does not teach wherein said gas storage further includes a gas storage input port, and said liquid transport unit further includes:
a second pipe;
a gas pump connected to said gas storage input port through said second pipe and configured to pump gas to said gas storage; and
a pressure gauge electrically connected to said control unit, said pressure gauge being disposed on said liquid storage and configured to measure a pressure value of pressure of the gas in said liquid storage and provide the pressure value to said control unit;
wherein said control unit is further configured to control said gas pump to operate so as to pump gas into said gas storage, and to, based on the pressure value measured by said pressure gauge, maintain the pressure of the gas in said liquid storage at a predetermined pressure level.
NOVAK teaches wherein said gas storage further includes a gas storage input port, and said liquid transport unit further includes:
a second pipe; (conduit 31)
a gas pump (air pump 7) connected to said gas storage input port through said second pipe and configured to pump gas to said gas storage; and (Fig. 2 air pump 7, conduit 31, “The gas supply 30 may include other components, such as pressure regulators, safety valves, control valves, a compressor or gas pump (pump) page 15 lines 3-17)
a pressure gauge electrically connected to said control unit, said pressure gauge (pressure sensor) being disposed on said liquid storage and configured to measure a pressure value of pressure of the gas in said liquid storage and provide the pressure value to said control unit; (Fig 1. the sensor 51 “In another embodiment, the sensor 51 may include a pressure gauge (pressure sensor) used to detect a pressure value in the reservoir 11.” page 16 lines 32-33)
wherein said control unit is further configured to control said gas pump to operate so as to pump gas into said gas storage, and to, based on the pressure value measured by said pressure gauge, maintain the pressure of the gas in said liquid storage at a predetermined pressure level. (Fig. 1 controller 5, reservoir 11 “the control unit (controller 5) can control the gas pressure in the reservoir 11 and/or other areas of the system 1 by controlling an amount of liquid delivered. page 17 lines 6-7)
Chu and NOVAK are analogous art because they are related to devices for supplying beverage mixtures. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art adding the gas pump and Pressure sensors of NOVAK to the beverage preparation device of Chu will allow for better control and monitoring of pressure throughout the device creating allowing better quality control and less wear and tear on the device with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10 Chu in view of Hara and NOVAK teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 9,
Chu in view of Hara does not teach wherein said liquid transport unit further includes a gas filter that is disposed on said second pipe and that is configured to filter out impurities and microorganisms from the gas that is pumped into said gas storage by said gas pump.
NOVAK teaches wherein said liquid transport unit further includes a gas filter (filter 32) that is disposed on said second pipe and that is configured to filter out impurities and microorganisms from the gas that is pumped into said gas storage by said gas pump. (Fig. 2 Filter 32 “The gas supply 30 may be arranged in any suitable way, and in this illustrative embodiment includes a conduit 31 that is fluidly connected between the cartridge chamber 3 and the reservoir 11, and a gas filter (filter 32) that helps to remove materials that may contaminate the precursor liquid 2.” page 15 lines 4-7)
Chu and NOVAK are analogous art because they are related to devices for supplying beverage mixtures. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art adding gas filter of NOVAK to the beverage preparation device of Chu in order to remove the device unwanted materials and microorganism from the gas and liquids with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11 Chu in view of Hara and NOVAK teaches the beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 8. Chu does not explicitly disclose, but Hara teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 8. Hara further teaches, wherein:
said liquid transport unit further includes a holder, (water tank 42) said liquid storage output port is mounted on said holder, and said holder includes a connection pipe (water supply pipe 47) that is connected between said liquid storage output port and said mixing unit; (Fig. 5 water tank 42 water supply pipe 47)
said liquid storage further includes a lid (supply valve 47e), and said liquid storage input port is disposed on said lid; and
said switch includes a blocking component (supply valve 47e (47e1 to 47e4)) that is disposed at one side of said connection pipe, and a cut-off component (supply valve 47e (47e1 to 47e4)) that is disposed at the other side of said connection pipe and that is controlled by said control unit to move toward said blocking component so as to block the ingredient from flowing to said mixing unit through said connection pipe, and to move away from said blocking component so as to allow the ingredient to flow to said mixing unit through said connection pipe. (Fig. 5 water tank 42, water supply pipe 47, supply valve 47e (47e1 to 47e4), A water supply pipe 47 is connected to the raw material water cooling pipe 42b of the cooling water tank 42, and the raw material water composed of cold water cooled by the raw material water cooling pipe 42b is sent to the water supply pipe 47. The water pipe 47 is provided with first to third branch portions 47a to 47c for delivering cold water, and the first to third branch portions 47a to 47c and the tip portion 47d of the water pipe 47 are the fifth and fifth branches for cold water. The eighth raw material water supply valve 47e (47e1 to 47e4) is provided. The introduction ends of the 5th to 8th raw material water supply pipes 47f (47f1 to 47f4) for cold water are connected to the 5th to 8th raw material water supply valves 47e (47e1 to 47e4) for cold water, and are used for cold water [0026]).
Chu, NOVAK and Hara are analogous art because they are both related to devices for supplying beverage mixtures. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added the level sensor of Hara to the beverage preparation device of Chu to ensure better monitoring of the liquid levels allowing one to restock and refill with more accuracy with a reasonable expectation of success
Regarding claim 12 Chu in view of Hara and NOVAK teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 8. Chu further teaches, wherein:
said ingredient supply module further includes a level sensor that is electrically connected to said control unit, that is disposed on said liquid storage, and that is configured to detect a level value of a liquid level of the ingredient in said liquid storage and to send the level value to said control unit, and
said control unit is configured to generate and output an alert message when determining, based on the level value, that the liquid level of the ingredient in said liquid storage is out of a predetermined range. (The device 100 further has a sound device such as trumpet or loudspeaker, in order to transmit the abnormality notification message, the beverage replenishment notification [0056])
Chu does not explicitly teach said ingredient supply module further includes a level sensor (level sensor 41c) that is electrically connected to said control unit, that is disposed on said liquid storage, and that is configured to detect a level value of a liquid level (water level) of the ingredient in said liquid storage and to send the level value to said control unit, and However, Hara teaches said ingredient supply module further includes a level sensor (level sensor 41c) that is electrically connected to said control unit, that is disposed on said liquid storage, and that is configured to detect a level value of a liquid level (water level) of the ingredient in said liquid storage and to send the level value to said control unit, and (Fig.5 “the water level sensor 41c detects the water level in a predetermined range at the upper part in the hot water” [0021])
Chu, NOVAK and Hara are analogous art because they are both related to devices for supplying beverage mixtures. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added the level sensor of Hara to the beverage preparation device of Chu to ensure better monitoring of the liquid levels allowing one to restock and refill with more accuracy with a reasonable expectation of success
Regarding claim 13 Chu in view of Hara and NOVAK teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 8. Chu teaches, further comprising a code reader (bar code reader 167) electrically connected to said control unit, said code reader being configured to obtain material information of the ingredient stored in said liquid storage by reading a barcode (bar code 22) that is disposed on said liquid storage and that contains the material information, and to send the material information to said control unit, (Fig.2 “The controller 160 obtains the beverage information by scanning the bar code 22, and controls the plurality of water valve switches 161 and the servomotors 132 in accordance with the beverage information for flowing out the beverage and ice cubes. Simultaneously, the controller 160 will respond to multiple sensors. As a matter of fact, the data from the sensors may feed back to the controller 160, so as to let the water valve switch 161 more accurately control the outflow amount of the beverages until the beverage preparation is completed.” [0061])
wherein said control unit is configured to store pre-stored information that corresponds to said ingredient supply module, to compare the material information thus obtained with the pre-stored information, and to generate and output an alert message (message) when the material information thus obtained does not conform with the pre-stored information. (Fig. 2“The controller 160 also stores a plurality of preset beverage-barrel-weight data and a preset ice-barrel-weight datum, that is, the expected storage of the beverage barrel 110 and the ice-storing device 130. When the controller 160 receives the message of the beverage-barrel-weight datum being less than the preset beverage-barrel-weight datum, a message of beverage replenishment notification is generated to the operator; further, when the message of the ice-barrel-weight datum being less than the preset ice-barrel-weight datum is received, a message of ice replenishment notification is thus generated to the operator.” [0050-0056])
Claim 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (US 20220177291 A1) in view of HARA (JP 2021159589 A) as respectively applied to claims 1 and further in view of ELIAV (US 20170066252 A1)
Regarding claim 14 Chu in view of Hara teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 1, Chu teaches further comprising an image capturing unit electrically connected to said control unit, wherein:
said weighing unit includes a platform (beverage station 140) that is configured to allow the cup (beverage cup 2) to be disposed thereon, and a scale (beverage-cup-weight sensors 163) that is disposed inside said platform and that is configured to measure the weight of the object placed on said platform; (Fig 1B beverage station 140 beverage-cup-weight sensors 163 beverage cup 2, “The beverage-cup-weight sensors 163 is on the beverage station 140 in order to provide the weights of the beverage cup 2” [0045])
said image capturing unit is disposed on said platform and is configured to capture an image of the object placed on said platform, and to send the image to said control unit; and
said control unit is further configured to identify the object in the image, and to generate and output an alert message when determining, based on the image and the object thus identified, one of a first condition where the object is not a cup and a second condition where the object is not placed on said platform properly. (Fig.3 [0049, 0051] “Other sensors determine if the cup is placed on the platform and it’s position and play an Message if abnormalities are detected.” [0049, 0051])
Chu does not explicitly teach using The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 1, further comprising an image capturing unit electrically connected to said control unit, wherein: and said image capturing unit is disposed on said platform and is configured to capture an image of the object placed on said platform, and to send the image to said control unit; ELIAV however teaches an image capturing unit (Fig. 12B camera 520) electrically connected to said control unit, (device controller) wherein: and said image capturing unit is disposed on said platform and is configured to capture an image of the object placed on said platform, and to send the image to said control unit; and; (Fig. 12B camera 520, “current-drink property data may be sensed by a sensor (e.g. camera, weighing scale, chemical sensor, optical device other than a camera” [0029-31] “In another example another camera (now shown) may be stationed next to cartridge 430 looking ‘down’—since the color of coffee is different from that of ‘beer’ if the user attempts to choose the code for a drink (i.e. according to the drink order) that is supposed to be coffee but the ‘downlooking camera’ shows to be beer, then the alert will be provided.” [0079])
Chu and ELIAV are analogous art because they are related to devices for supplying beverage mixtures. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added the image capturing unit of ELIAV to the beverage preparation device of Chu to allow for better quality control such as distortion in color that the other sensor could miss with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15 Chu in view of Hara and ELIAV teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 1, Chu in view of Hara does not teach teaches further comprising a touchscreen that is electrically connected to said control unit,
wherein said control unit is further configured to control said touchscreen to display a user interface that displays at least one option related to the beverage on the user interface based on material information of the ingredient stored in said ingredient supply module, and to generate the preparation command based on one of the at least one option that is selected.
ELIAV teaches further comprising a touchscreen (display screen 260) that is electrically connected to said control unit, (Fig. 1A display screen 260)
wherein said control unit is further configured to control said touchscreen to display a user interface (user interface) that displays at least one option related to the beverage on the user interface based on material information of the ingredient stored in said ingredient supply module, and to generate the preparation command based on one of the at least one option that is selected. (the drink-codes may explicitly appear on a user interface and a user engagement of the drink-code may thus specify the image that the user wishes to print” [0020-0025,0038])
Chu and ELIAV are analogous art because they are related to devices for supplying beverage mixtures. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added the touch screen of ELIAV to the beverage preparation device of Chu to allow for a simpler user interface that for both the customer and barista reducing errors with a reasonable expectation of success
Regarding claim 16 Chu in view of Hara, and ELIAV teaches
The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 1, Chu teaches further comprising a touchscreen that is electrically connected to said control unit,
wherein said control unit is further configured to control said touchscreen to display a user interface that displays at least one option related to the beverage on the user interface based on material information of the ingredient stored in said ingredient supply module, to generate a barcode (Barcode 22) that contains the preparation command based on one of the at least one option that is selected, to present the barcode thus generated through an output device, (sales information printing device) and to obtain the preparation command from a code reader (barcode reader 167) that reads the barcode thus presented. (Fig. 1.B, 2 barcode reader 167 “acquiring the bar code 22 through the bar code reader 167, in order to gain the beverage data via the bar code 22” [0051])
Chu does not explicitly teach The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a touchscreen that is electrically connected to said control unit, wherein said control unit is further configured to control said touchscreen to display a user interface that displays at least one option related to the beverage on the user interface based on material information of the ingredient stored in said ingredient supply module, ELIAV however teaches The beverage preparation equipment as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a touchscreen (display screen 260) that is electrically connected to said control unit, wherein said control unit is further configured to control said touchscreen to display a user interface that displays at least one option related to the beverage on the user interface based on material information of the ingredient stored in said ingredient supply module (Fig. 1. A/B “user-terminal—a digital computer device operated by a user—typically having an input device (e.g. keyboard or touchscreen) a display screen and a communication module” ‘target drink,’ “the known properties (i.e. exactly or approximately) may be available in memory or storage” [0018, 0032]
Chu and ELIAV are analogous art because they are related to devices for supplying beverage mixtures. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added the touch screen of ELIAV to the beverage preparation device of Chu to allow for a simpler user interface that for both the customer and barista reducing errors with a reasonable expectation of success
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHONG (US 20130032036 A1) was considered as it had a gas pump, controller and various sensors.
Wallace (US 20190066534 A1) was considered as it had a mixing unit and weighing unit.
Conclusion
/DS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761