DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US20160192709A1) in view of Lei (EP3725170A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu directed to an electronic cigarette and electronic hookah (Abstract), discloses an electronic cigarette, comprising: a body (an outer housing which includes first housing 101 and second housing 102, [0038]- [0039]; Figs. 1-2); wherein the body comprises an e-liquid storage chamber (“target atomizer 401”, [0057]; [0064]- [0068]; [0074]) and a cigarette holder cover (“second housing 102” [0052]; Figs. 3-4); and a suction nozzle for matching with a smoke inlet of a hookah device is defined on a top of the cigarette holder cover ( smoke inlet 801 receives the electronic cigarette’s smoke vent, such that the hookah device is matched to and receives the electronic cigarette to impart electronic cigarette taste to the hookah’s smoke path ([0106]- [0109]; [0112]; Figs. 3-4 and 8). Liu’s smoke vent 304, positioned at the end of the second housing 102 away from the first housing 101 is the claimed “suction nozzle” that both delivers vapor to the user and matches with a hookah’s smoke inlet ([0024]; [0057]; [0107]).
Liu further discloses a suction nozzle for matching with a smoke inlet of a hookah device (“smoke vent of the electronic cigarette is in communication with the smoke inlet” [0024]; [0025]; [0107]). Liu’s smoke vent 304, positioned at the end of the second housing 102 away from the first housing 101 is the claimed “suction nozzle” that both delivers vapor to the user and matches with a hookah’s (water storage smoking device) smoke inlet ([0005]; [0057]; [0107]; Fig. 1-4, & 8).
Liu does not explicitly disclose a cigarette holder cover is disposed on a top of the e-liquid storage chamber and a suction nozzle defined on a top of the cigarette holder cover.
Lei directed to an atomization generating device (electronic cigarette) discloses and electronic cigarette comprising a body (“a cartridge 1 and a main body 3” (Abstract)); wherein the body comprises an e-liquid storage chamber (“a cartridge 1” [0004]; FIGs.1 & 14) and a cigarette holder cover (“an upper cover 14” [0058]; FIG. 3 & 13-14) disposed on a top of the e-liquid storage chamber (FIG. 3 & 14), and a suction nozzle (“a cartridge mouthpiece 17”[0058]) is defined on top of the cigarette holder cover (Figs. 1 & 3).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu by providing a cigarette holder cover on a top of an e-liquid storage chamber and a suction nozzle defined on a top of the cigarette holder cover assembly as taught by Lei, because both Liu and Lei are directed to electronic smoking devices, Lei teaches utilizing an upper cover on top of the e-liquid storage chamber and further arranging a suction nozzle on top of the upper cover, and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses an electronic cigarette comprising a body (“first housing 101 and second housing 102” [0038] – [0048]), wherein the body further comprises a main control base (“first housing 101” [0053]); a battery (“battery 301” [0047]), a main control panel (“a controller” [0047]), and an electronic cigarette microphone (“sensors 303” [0054]- [0056]) are disposed on the main control base [0055] is connected to the main control panel ([0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses an on/off switch (“a touch-controlling display module” [0054] – [0055]) is disposed on the main control base. Liu further discloses that the touch-controlling display module additionally functions as a power adjustment switch ([0027]; [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses an e-liquid storage chamber comprises an e-liquid inlet liquid (inlet 701” [0082]). Liu further discloses the second housing 102 which contains the e-liquid storage chamber is inserted into the water storage smoking device via vent 304 ([0057]; Fig. 4).
Liu ‘696 further discloses a detachable magnetic connection between an atomizer and an electrode assembly ([0059]- [0061]; Figs. 3-4).
Liu further discloses a first connecting hole is further defined on the bottom of the e-liquid storage chamber, “a liquid filling port 702 in communication with the liquid storage chamber” [0092]).
Liu discloses that a controller (i.e., main control base) is provided at the end of the first housing 101 facing the second housing 102 (which contains the e-liquid storage assembly).
Liu further discloses first electrode assembly 302 ([0061]) and a second electrode assembly 501 ([0067]) connected to the atomizer 401.
Liu doesn’t explicitly disclose an e-liquid inlet blocking plug for blocking the e-liquid inlet on a second side surface thereof, a specific insertion portion, a positive and a negative elastic contact and a second connecting hole matching with the first connecting hole is further defined on the bottom of the e-liquid storage chamber accommodating compartment.
Lei directed to an atomization generating device (electronic cigarette) discloses an e-liquid storage chamber an e-liquid storage chamber (“a cartridge 1” [0004]; FIGs.1 & 14), wherein the e-liquid storage chamber comprises an e-liquid inlet (“E-liquid inlet 151” [0044];[0054]) on a first side surface thereof [0044] and an e-liquid inlet blocking plug (“blocking member” [0050] –[0051]) for blocking the e-liquid inlet, the e-liquid storage chamber further comprises an inserting portion (“atomizing core 15” [0054]) at a lower end;
an e-liquid storage chamber accommodating compartment (“receiving chamber 31” [0063]) is defined on a top of the main control base; a positive elastic contact and a negative elastic contact (“conductive terminals” [0063]; [0066]; FIG. 19); and a first connecting hole (“a connection member 122” or “a first insertion connection hole 123”) is further defined on the bottom of the e-liquid storage chamber;
and a second connecting hole (“a second insertion connection hole 131” [0058]) matching with the first connecting hole is further defined on the bottom of the e-liquid storage chamber accommodating compartment.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu by providing an e-liquid inlet blocking plug and implementing an inserting portion, a first connecting hole, a second connecting hole matching with the first connecting hole further arranged on the bottom of the e-liquid storage chamber accommodating compartment as taught by Lei, because both Liu and Lei are directed to electronic smoking devices, Lei teaches an e-liquid inlet blocking plug for securing the e-liquid inlet; and an e-liquid storage chamber accommodating compartment with specific insertion portion and connecting holes for a stable assembly, and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US20160192709A1) in view of Lei (EP3725170A1), Wu (US20150122275A1), and Giller (US20150272214 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Liu directed to an electronic cigarette and electronic hookah device (Abstract), discloses a hookah device (electronic hookah [0024]; [0027]; [0105] - [0109]; Fig. 8), comprising: a main body (“a water storage smoking device 803” [0106]);
wherein an electronic cigarette 804 is defined on top the main body ([0005]; [0096]; [0107]; [0111] Figs. 1-4, & 8). Liu further discloses an electronic cigarette 804 is configured to be inserted into a and cooperate with the water storage device 803, which explains that the electronic cigarette 804 is accommodated on an upper end of the electronic hookah device via a smoking tube 806, such that the hookah device is in communication with the smoke vent of the electronic cigarette 804 through the smoke inlet 801 ([0005]; [0024]; [0027]; [0037]; Figs. 3-4, & 8). The upper end of the electronic hookah device that is connected with the smoke vent of the electronic cigarette is the electronic cigarette accommodating compartment.
Liu further discloses a smoke inlet 801 is defined on one end of the electronic cigarette accommodating compartment ([0106]- [0107]; [0109]; [0112]; Fig. 8). Liu further discloses an elastic sealing layer is provided in an inner circumferential wall of the smoke vent (i.e., suction nozzle) ([0015]), and further provided in a direction towards the water storage smoking device [0016].
Liu further discloses an electronic cigarette 804, comprising: a body (an outer housing which includes first housing 101 and second housing 102, [0038]- [0039]; Figs. 1-2); wherein the body comprises an e-liquid storage chamber (“target atomizer 401”, [0057]; [0074]) and a cigarette holder cover (“second housing 102” [0052]; Figs. 3-4); and a suction nozzle for matching with a smoke inlet of a hookah device is defined on a top of the cigarette holder cover ( smoke inlet 801 receives the electronic cigarette’s smoke vent, such that the hookah device is matched to and receives the electronic cigarette to impart electronic cigarette taste to the hookah’s smoke path ([0106]- [0109]; [0112]; Figs. 3-4 and 8). Liu’s smoke vent 304, positioned at the end of the second housing 102 away from the first housing 101 is the claimed “suction nozzle” that both delivers vapor to the user and matches with a hookah’s smoke inlet ([0024]; [0057]; [0107]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose (I) a cigarette holder cover is disposed on a top of the e-liquid storage chamber and a suction nozzle defined on a top of the cigarette holder cover; (II) an electronic cigarette accommodating compartment is defined on a side wall of the main body; (III) a conversion rubber plug comprises a suction nozzle accommodating groove matching with a suction nozzle of the electronic cigarette and a rubber plug communicating port respectively communicating with the suction nozzle accommodating groove and the smoke inlet.
Regarding (I), Lei directed to an atomization generating device (electronic cigarette) discloses and electronic cigarette comprising a body (“a cartridge 1 and a main body 3” (Abstract)); wherein the body comprises an e-liquid storage chamber (“a cartridge 1” [0004]; FIGs.1 & 14) and a cigarette holder cover (“an upper cover 14” [0058]; FIG. 3 & 13-14) disposed on a top of the e-liquid storage chamber (FIG. 3 & 14), and a suction nozzle (“a cartridge mouthpiece 17”[0058]) is defined on top of the cigarette holder cover (Figs. 1 & 3).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu by providing a cigarette holder cover on a top of an e-liquid storage chamber and a suction nozzle defined on a top of the cigarette holder cover assembly as taught by Lei, because both Liu and Lei are directed to electronic smoking devices, Lei teaches utilizing an upper cover on top of the e-liquid storage chamber and further arranging a suction nozzle on top of the upper cover, and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding (II), Wu directed to a hookah for electronic cigarette (Abstract) discloses a hookah device comprising a main body (“a suction nozzle 1, a bottle body 3, column structure 4 and a base 6” [0023]; [0025]); wherein an electronic cigarette accommodating compartment for accommodating an electronic cigarette is defined on a side wall of the main body (“an electronic cigarette receiving chamber 2 is provided in the bottle body 3 [0023]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu by providing a specific compartment for accommodating an electronic cigarette as taught by Wu, because both Liu and Wu are directed to electronic cigarette and hookah smoking devices, Wu teaches incorporating a compartment that is capable of holding an electronic cigarette, and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding (III), Giller directed to an adapter for connecting automatic electronic vaporizers to a traditional shisha/hookah (Abstract), discloses an adapter 100 comprises a top part 110, and a bottom part 120. Top part 110 further comprises a first hole 125 and a second hole 130 for receipt of automatic electronic vaporizers ([0023]; FIGs.1-3). An electronic vaporizer 210 fits at each of the cone shaped cavities of holes 125 and 130 of the adapter 100, user created vapor then passes through the holes of the adapter 100 down to the body pipe 225 ([0026]; FIG.4).
Giller further discloses the tip 215 of the body pipe 225 (i.e., device body) of a hookah is fitted with a soft-rubber ribbed padding (i.e., conversion rubber plug), usually called bowl grommet, the adapter 100 replaces the traditional bowl (see FIG. 4). This discloses the claim limitation, a rubber plug communicating port communicating with the smoke inlet. The cone shaped cavities of the first hole 125 and the second hole 130 firmly hold the electronic vaporizer/electronic cigarette allow air flow so that air entrance from the surrounding during inhalation is kept at minimum. This reads on the claimed limitation suction nozzle accommodating groove.
Giller further disclosed that a rubber plug communicating port respectively communicating with the suction nozzle accommodating groove and the smoke inlet, “the inside of the bottom part 120 of the adapter 100 has a cavity 140 which is made cone shaped. The first hole 125 and the second hole 130 meet at the upper portion of this cone shaped cavity 140 resulting in fluidic connection from top to bottom of the adapter 100” ([0024]; FIGs.1-3).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Liu’s electronic cigarette accommodating compartment by providing a conversion rubber plug comprising a suction nozzle accommodating groove matching with a suction nozzle of the electronic cigarette and a rubber plug communicating port respectively communicating with the suction nozzle accommodating groove and the smoke inlet as taught by Giller, because both Liu and Giller are directed to electronic smoking devices, Giller teaches using a conversion rubber plug at one end of the hookah smoke inlet to firmly grip and receive an adapter that accommodates an electronic cigarette and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses a main body of the hookah device of claim 5 as a water storage smoking device 803 [0106]- [0109]. Furthermore, Liu teaches a smoke inlet pipe (“smoking tube 806” [0112]; Fig. 8) is communicated with a smoke inlet ([0025]; [0112]).
Liu doesn’t explicitly disclose (I)the internal partition of this water storage smoking device such as a device body, a water storage container, a first end of smoke inlet pipe in a device body and a second end of a smoke inlet pipe in the water storage container. Additionally, Liu doesn’t explicitly disclose (II) an electronic cigarette accommodating compartment is defined on a side wall of the device body.
Regarding (I), however, it is well known in the art, and inherent to a device functioning as a water storage smoking device, that such a device comprises a lower container portion that physically holds the water, and an upper body portion through which smoke is conducted down into, and back out of, the water via an internal conduit. Liu already discloses this conventional architecture describing the water storage smoking device as a device “placed vertically in use” with “the smoke inlet…located at an upper end” [0024], consistent with a device body potion feeding down into a separate water-holding container below. Liu further discloses that the water storage smoking device 803 specifically contains water ([0108] – [0109]) which confirms that the water storage smoking device has a physical part that contains water. Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct Liu’s water storage smoking device using a functionally necessary combination of a water storage container and a device body incorporating a smoke inlet pipe assembly in order to achieve similar results.
Regarding (II), Wu discloses a hookah device comprising a main body, wherein the main body comprises a water storage container (“a bottle body 3” [0023]) and a device body (“a suction nozzle 1 and a bottle body 3” [0023]; FIG. 3-4); an electronic cigarette accommodating compartment is defined on a side wall of the device body, (FIGs. 3-4, & 7).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu by providing a specific compartment for accommodating an electronic cigarette as taught by Wu, because both Liu and Wu are directed to electronic cigarette incorporated into hookah smoking devices, Wu teaches integrating a compartment in the hookah device body in order to hold an electronic cigarette, and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Lei, Wu, and Giller as applied to claim 5 and 6 above, and further in view of Mehio (US8573229B2).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Liu discloses a sucking/suction tube 805 [0110]; Fig. 8, which is connected to the water storage device 803. Liu further discloses at least one smoke outlet nozzle (“smoke outlet 802” [0108]- [0110]) which is in communication with a smoke outlet sucking tube/suction tube 805 such that a filtered smoke is sucked by users using the suction tube 805 [0110]; Fig. 8.
Liu further discloses at least one or a plurality of smoke outlet nozzles are provided ([0113]).
Liu discloses the general concept of providing multiple smoke outlets to enable simultaneous multi-user smoking experience ([0113]) but is silent in disclosing the specific connection of a suction port to a corresponding smoke outlet nozzle assembly, and the at least one suction port or a plurality of suction ports defined on the side wall of the device body.
Mehio directed to a smoking apparatus (Abstract), discloses a plurality of suction port (a plurality of peripheral passages 112”, col. 2, line 60-65; Figs. 1-3), and at least one smoke outlet nozzles (“a one-way fitting 150”, col. 3, line 37-44; Figs. 1-3) and at least one smoke outlet nozzle is communicated with the at least one suction port, (Figs. 1-3).
Mehio further discloses a device body (col. 2, line 60-62), the at least one suction port is defined on the side wall of device body (col. 2, line 60-62; Figs. 1 & 3). Further disclosed by Mehio is that hookah pipes may have plurality of hoses, each with a separate fitting connecting them to the stem (col.1, line 33-35), expressing multiple suction ports and smoke outlet nozzles.
Mehio further discloses that each hose is connected to a stem at its own corresponding suction port via its own hose fitting “an approximate end 114 of a hose 116 is connected to the stem 102 at a peripheral passage 112 by a one-way fitting 150” (col. 2, line 63-65), disclosing the connection of the smoke outlet nozzles to their corresponding suction ports Figs. 1-3.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Liu by providing a connection assembly of at least one suction port to the corresponding smoke outlet nozzle, and arranging the suction port to be defined on a side wall of the device body as taught by Mehio, because Liu and Mehio are directed to smoking hookah devices, Mehio teaches a plurality of suction ports connected with their corresponding smoke outlet nozzles thereby permitting multiple smokers to use a hookah device, and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses a plurality of the smoke outlet nozzles [0113], but doesn’t disclose that the plurality of the smoke outlet nozzles each defines a valve port at one end thereof close to the device body and further defines a valve core cavity inside; a limiting portion is defined at one end, away from a corresponding valve port, of each valve core cavity, and a valve core bead for blocking each valve port is placed in a corresponding valve core cavity.
Mehio discloses a plurality of the smoke outlet nozzles, wherein the plurality of the smoke outlet nozzles each defines a valve port (“narrow end 136”, col. 3, line 30-33) at one end thereof close to the device body (“base 130”, col. 3, line 30-33; Fig. 3); and further defines a valve core cavity inside (“frustoconical surface 152”, col. 3, line 31-35; Fig. 2-3); a limiting portion (“a pin 156”, col. 3, line 37-44; Fig. 2) is defined at one end, away from a corresponding valve port, Fig. 3, of each valve core cavity, and a valve core bead (“a stopper 128”, col. 3, line 26-43; Fig. 3) for blocking each valve port is placed in a corresponding valve core cavity, Figs. 2-3. Mehio further discloses that the stopper prevents air from being drawn through unused fitting into a stem when a smoker inhales (col.1 line 35-37).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Liu’s plurality of smoke outlets by providing a corresponding valve-port/valve core cavity equipped with a limiting portion, and a valve core bead for blocking valve port as taught by Mehio, because Liu and Mehio are directed to smoking hookah devices, Mehio teaches incorporating a valve port, a valve core cavity, a limiting portion and a valve core bead into a smoking outlet nozzles in order to have a tight seal (Mehio, col. 4, line 7-25) between the connection of the suction port and corresponding smoke outlet nozzle which results in preventing air leakage, and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Lei, Wu, Giller, and Mehio as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Mehio (US20180007953 A1, hereinafter referred to Mehio ‘953), Giller (US20150272214 A1), Liu (US20220061391A1, hereinafter referred to Liu ‘391), Stryker (US4165753A) and Lin (US5993021A).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses a water storage device comprising a plurality of the smoke outlet nozzles [0113]. Furthermore, a sucking tube 805 (i.e., a suction pipe) is provided for being in communication with the smoke outlet 802 (i.e., smoke outlet nozzle), such that the filtered smoke is sucked in through the sucking tube 805 by users ([0110]; Fig. 8).
Liu further discloses a smoke inlet 801 is defined on one end of the electronic cigarette accommodating compartment ([0106]- [0107]; [0109]; [0112]; Fig. 8);
Liu further teaches a smoke inlet pipe (“smoking tube 806” [0112]; Fig. 8) mounted at a smoke inlet 801 of the water storage device 803 ([0025]; [0112]; Fig. 8). Liu further discloses that the smoke inlet pipe extends towards the water storage smoking device 803, and the smoke inlet pipe is inserted in to the electronic cigarette’s the smoke vent (i.e., smoke inlet), such that the smoking tube 806 is configured to be in communication with the smoke ([0112], Fig. 8).
Liu’s smoke inlet pipe structure is illustrated as a straight tubular pipe connecting the electronic cigarette smoke inlet with the water storage device.
Liu doesn’t explicitly disclose:
each second nozzle is screwed with one end, close to a corresponding valve core cavity, of a corresponding first nozzle, and each limiting portion is a limiting rib and is disposed in a corresponding second nozzle portion;
a water storage container comprising a container neck on a top thereof, a water inlet is defined on a top of the container neck, a sealing rubber sleeve is sleeved on the container neck, a bottom of the device body is sleeved on the container neck through the sealing rubber sleeve;
an electronic cigarette accommodating compartment defines a rubber plug accommodating cavity for accommodating the conversion rubber plug at one end thereof close to the smoke inlet
an L-shaped plastic adapter pipe, a metal adapter pipe, and a metal connecting pipe; a first end of the L-shaped plastic adapter pipe is disposed in the device body and is communicated with the smoke inlet; a first end of the metal adapter pipe is detachably connected to a second end of the L-shaped plastic adapter pipe away from the smoke inlet; a first end of the metal connecting pipe is screwed with a second end of the metal adapter pipe away from the L-shaped plastic adapter pipe,
a smoke distribution portion is disposed at the second end of the metal connecting pipe, and the smoke distribution portion defines at least two smoke distribution ports,
a lamp holder accommodating portion is recessed from a bottom of the water storage container; the hookah device further comprises a colored lamp holder embedded in the lamp holder accommodating portion.
Regarding (I), Mehio directed to a smoking apparatus (Abstract), discloses a plurality of the smoke outlet nozzles (“a one-way fitting 150”, col. 3, line 37-44; Figs. 1-3), wherein the plurality of the smoke outlet nozzles each comprises a first nozzle and a second nozzle (see Figs. 1-3);
each first nozzle is communicated with a corresponding one of the plurality of the suction ports, col. 3, line 25-30; Figs. 1-3), each valve port (“narrow end 136”, col. 3, line 30-33) and each valve core cavity (“frustoconical surface 152”, col. 3, line 31-35; Fig. 2-3) are respectively disposed at two ends of a corresponding first nozzle (col.3, line 30-50);
each second nozzle is screwed with one end, close to a corresponding valve core cavity, of a corresponding first nozzle, (“the fitting 150 is secured to the base 130 of the stem 102, preferably threaded, in alignment with one of the peripheral passages 112. An interior space with a frustoconical surface 152 is defined within the fitting body”, col. 3, 28-31; Fig. 2);
each limiting portion is a limiting rib and is disposed in a corresponding second nozzle portion (“a pin 156”, col. 3, line 37-44; Fig. 2);
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Liu by providing a threaded connection mechanism between a smoke outlet nozzle and its corresponding valve core cavity, and incorporating a limiting portion/rib with a corresponding as taught by Mehio, because Liu and Mehio are directed to smoking hookah devices, Mehio teaches a utilizing threaded connection in order to align a smoke outlet nozzle with its corresponding valve core cavity there by securing it to the device body, and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding (II), Mehio ‘953 directed to a hookah [0010], discloses a hookah device comprising a device body (“hookah stem 110” [0052]) and a water storage container (“bottle 102” sealing rubber [0052]). The water storage container includes a container neck on a top thereof (“neck 106” [0052]; [0054]), a water inlet is defined on a top of the container neck ([0052]; [0057]; FIG. 4).
Mehio ‘953 further discloses a sealing rubber sleeve (“compressible seal 184” [0052]) is sleeved on the container neck (see FIG. 2), a bottom of the device body is sleeved on the container neck through the sealing rubber sleeve (see FIG. 2) in order to form an airtight seal between the device body and the container neck [0052]. Mehio ‘953 further discloses that the device body attaches to the water storage container through any means known in the art including seal, threading etc. ([0054]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Liu by providing a sealing rubber sleeve to be sleeved on a container neck, a bottom of the hookah device body sleeved on the container neck through the sealing rubber sleeve as taught by Mehio ‘953, because both Liu and Mehio ‘953 are directed to hookah smoking devices, Mehio ‘953 teaches an attachment means between a hookah device body and a container neck in order to form an airtight seal, and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding (III), this a similar limitation as in claim 5. Liu is modified in view of Giller to have an electronic cigarette accommodating compartment that defines a rubber plug accommodating cavity for accommodating the conversion rubber plug at one end thereof close to the smoke inlet. Refer to claim 5 rejections above.
Regarding (IV), Liu ‘391 directed to electronic hookah (Abstract), discloses the hookah device comprises an L-shaped smoke inlet pipe (“L-shaped main part” [0004]). Liu ‘391 further discloses “when in use, smoke produced in the main part flows through the connection part and enters the smoke filter and is filtered by water” [0023]. Liu ‘391 further discloses L-shaped pipe comprising a connection part comprising a silicone sleeve and an adapter [0005]. The adapter comprises a first end and a second end [0005]; the first end is fixedly connected to the main part and the second end disposed within a silicone sleeve (i.e., plastic adapter pipe) is detachable from a first air tube (i.e., a connecting pipe) ([0005]; [0012]; FIG. 3-4). Furthermore, the connection part additionally comprises a gas tube fixed in the adapter for air conduction ([0006]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Liu’s smoke inlet pipe by providing a detachable L-shaped plastic adapter pipe and extending it with a connecting pipe as taught by Liu ‘391, because both Liu and Liu ‘391 are directed to hookah smoking devices, Liu ‘391 teaches an extended L-shaped pipe construction that connects smoke inlet with the water storage container, and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
While Liu ‘391 doesn’t specify the type of material used for the claimed limitations adapter pipe and connecting pipe as metal, it should be noted that using known type of materials for a pipe construction with threaded joints is well within the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, Liu ‘391 has disclosed its air conduit construction involving detachable parts and joined segments.
Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to construct a smoking tube/pipe using metal and adjusting it using a threaded metal adapter with a reasonable expectation that results in a stable pipe connection.
Regarding (V), Stryker directed to a smoker’s pipe (Abstract), discloses a smoke inlet conduit (i.e., metal connecting pipe), a smoke distribution portion (“smoke-releasing apertures” (col. 1, line 30-36)) defining at least two smoke distribution ports (“a plurality of spaced apart smoke-releasing apertures” (col. 1, line 30-36)) further discloses the smoke distribution ports is used for breaking the smoke into a plurality of bubble-forming streams (col. 1, line 30-36).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Liu’s smoke inlet pipe by providing smoke distribution portion with at least two smoke distribution ports as taught by Stryker, because both Liu and Stryker are directed to smoking devices, Stryker teaches a smoke distribution portion in order to break the smoke into a plurality of bubble-forming streams, and this involves applying a known technique to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding (VI), Lin directed to a decorative lamp in tubular aquarium (Abstract) discloses a water storage container (“water container 10” (col. 1, line 61-65) and a base 20 which is a hollow body for supporting the water storage container comprises a lamp holder 24 ((col. 2, line 4-6); FIGs. 2-3). The base with hollow body comprising a lamp holder 22 is a lamp holder accommodating portion which is recessed from a bottom of the water storage container as shown in FIGs. 2-3. The lamp holder has a bulb 26 for providing lighting in the water container (col. 2, line 5-7). Lin further discloses the color of the light changes with varied glass container colors (col. 2, line 15-20).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Liu by providing a colored lamp holder accommodating portion at the bottom of the water storage container as taught by Lin, because both Liu and Lin are directed to an apparatus utilizing water storage containers , Lin teaches incorporating a lamp holder at the bottom of a water storage container for providing lighting in the water container, and this involves applying a known technique to a similar apparatus to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
/HELEN GHEBRESELASSIE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755