DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks on pages 10-12, filed 1/29/2026, with respect to independent claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot, because the new ground of rejection incorporates a new interpretation of the claims that rely on the same combination of prior art, and is considered to teach the newly amended language specifically challenged. Examiner has clarified and/or expanded some pertinent parts of the amended claims, such as: the movable element, pushing portions and abutting portion. Note, newly presented amendment to independent claims 1 and 12 are not sufficient in overcoming Sung in its current form. Claims 2, 6-8 and 13, 15-18 depend either indirectly or directly from claims 1 and claim 12, respectively, and are therefore rejected for at least the same reason. Please see revised rejection of these claims below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sung 11,064,624.
Regarding claim 1, Sung discloses a fixing frame (Fig 1), comprising: a guiding element (110 and/or including 111, Fig 1), configured for placing an interface card (200, Fig 1) therein along a first direction (see directional arrow in Fig 2); a movable element (133, Fig 3), movably disposed in the guiding element (see Figs 2, 3), wherein the movable element comprises a pushing portion (133a, Fig 3) and an abutted portion (133b, Fig 3); and a handle (150, Fig 1), pivotably disposed on the guiding element (see Figs 4, 5), wherein the handle comprises an abutting portion (131, Fig 4), the abutting portion selectively abuts the abutted portion of the movable element (at pivot portion A, see Figs 3-5; also see col 3 lines 65-66), so that a pivoting movement of the handle (via 151, to closed position, as in Fig 5) forces the pushing portion of the movable element (at 133a, Figs 2, 3; also see col 5 lines 39-46) to push the interface card along a second direction opposite to the first direction (note, as 200 is inserted in arrow direction and makes contact with 133a, 133a exerts an opposing pushing force against 200, Figs 2, 3).
Regarding claim 2, Sung discloses the fixing frame according to claim 1, further comprising an elastic element (190, Fig 2), wherein the guiding element has a groove (111, Figs 1, 2) configured for inserting the interface card therein (see Fig 1), and the elastic element is disposed on the movable element for moving the movable element along a third direction perpendicular to the second direction (190 applies force toward 133a vertically which is perpendicular to the second direction, col 4 lines 28-32).
Regarding claim 6, Sung discloses the fixing frame according to claim 1, wherein the abutted portion has a first abutted surface (upper part of 113, Fig 4) and a second abutted surface (lower part of 113, Fig 4) that face each other (Fig 4); when the handle pivots (Fig 4), the abutting portion abuts the first abutted surface for moving the movable element away from the guiding element (see Fig
5) or abuts the second abutted surface for moving the movable element towards the guiding element (see Fig 5).
Regarding claim 7, Sung discloses the fixing frame according to claim 1, wherein the handle further comprises a restriction portion (155 and/or including 151a, Fig 4) that selectively abuts the guiding element for restricting a pivoting angle of the handle (in the closed position, Fig 5).
Regarding claim 8, Sung discloses the fixing frame according to claim 1, further comprising a first engagement portion (upper portion of 113, Fig 4) disposed on the guiding element (Fig 4), wherein the handle further comprises a second engagement portion (151b, Fig 5) connected to the abutting portion (Fig 5), and the second engagement portion is detachably engaged with the first engagement portion (see Fig 4 with respect to Fig 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claim(s) 12-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung.
Regarding claim 12, Sung discloses a connector (100, Fig 1 ); a fixing frame (110, Fig 1), located at a side of the connector (side where 110 locates, Fig 1), the fixing frame comprising: a guiding element (111, Fig 1); a movable element (133, Fig 3), movably disposed in the guiding element (see Figs 2, 3), wherein the movable element comprises a pushing portion (133a, Fig 3) and an abutted portion (133b, Fig 3); and a handle (150, Fig 1), pivotably disposed on the guiding element (see Figs 4, 5), wherein the handle comprises an abutting portion (131, Fig 4); and an interface card (200, Fig 1), placed into the guiding element along a first direction (see directional arrow in Fig 2) and connected to the connector (as in Figs 2-5); wherein the abutting portion selectively abuts the abutted portion of the movable element (at pivot portion A, see Figs 3-5; also see col 3 lines 65-66), so that a pivoting movement of the handle (via 151, to closed position, Fig 5) forces the pushing portion of the movable element (at 133a, Figs 2, 3; also see col 5 lines 39-46) to push the interface card along a second direction opposite to the first direction (note, as 200 is inserted in arrow direction making contact with 133a, 133a exerts an opposing pushing force against 200, Figs 2, 3).
Sung discloses the claimed invention except for expressly teaching that the
device is electronic including motherboard.
Dong, however, teaches a similar structure including a device that is electronic (in the form of an electromagnetic shell, col 2 lines 44-45), including motherboard (col 2 line 50).
It would been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sung to be
electronic, including motherboard, as taught by Dong, in order to form an
electromagnetic shielding component that integrates shielding and active cancellation attributes where the interface card or motherboard and connector
originates to give better EMI control than other, more distant components,
thereby improving integrity of signal conditioning.
Regarding claim 13, Sung in view of Dong disclose the electronic device according to claim 12, Sung teaches wherein the fixing frame further comprises an elastic element (190, Fig 2) that is disposed on the movable element for moving the pushing portion of the movable element into a notch of the interface card (notch below 133, Figs 2, 3) along a third direction perpendicular to the second direction (190 applies force toward 133a vertically which is perpendicular to the second direction, col 4 lines 28-32).
Regarding claim 15, Sung in view of Dong disclose the electronic device according to claim 12, Sung teaches wherein the abutted portion has a first abutted surface (upper part of 113, Fig 4) and a second abutted surface (lower part of 113, Fig 4) that face each other (Fig 4); when the handle pivots (Fig 4), the abutting portion abuts the first abutted surface for moving the movable element away from the connector (see Fig 5) or abuts the second abutted surface for moving the movable element towards the connector (see Fig 5).
Regarding claim 16, Sung in view of Dong disclose the electronic device according to claim 12, Sung teaches wherein the handle further comprises a restriction portion (155 and/or including 151a, Fig 4) that selectively abuts the guiding element for restricting a pivoting angle of the handle (in the closed position, Fig 5).
Regarding claim 17, Sung in view of Dong disclose the electronic device according to claim 12, Sung teaches wherein the fixing frame further comprises a first engagement portion (upper portion of 113, Fig 4) disposed on the guiding element (Fig 4), the handle further comprises a second engagement portion
(151b, Fig 5) connected to the abutting portion (Fig 5), and the second
engagement portion is detachably engaged with the first engagement portion
(see Fig 4 with respect to Fig 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9-11, 14 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The dependent claims listed below, in combination with the remaining elements of the independent claim(s) from which they directly/indirectly depend, are not taught, or adequately suggested in the prior art of record.
Claim 3. The fixing frame according to claim 2, wherein the movable element further comprises a pressed portion connected to the pushing portion and the abutted portion, the pressed portion has a height greater than a height of the abutted portion, and the handle further comprises a pressing portion; when the pressing portion presses the pressed portion, the pressing portion moves the
pushing portion along a fourth direction opposite to the third direction. * Claim 4 depends directly from claim 3 and are therefore allowable for at least the same reason.
Claim 5. The fixing frame according to claim 1, wherein the movable element further comprises a pressed portion, the pushing portion and the abutted portion are connected to adjacent sides of the pressed portion, the pushing portion is protruded from the pressed portion, the abutted portion is a recess structure for accommodating the abutting portion of the handle, the pressed portion has a height greater than a height of the abutted portion, the pressed portion has a gap for accommodating a part of the guiding element when the movable element is moved along a third direction perpendicular to the second direction.
Claim 9. The fixing frame according to claim 8, further comprising a blocking element and a returning element, wherein the blocking element is movably disposed on the handle, the returning element is disposed between the handle and the blocking element, the guiding element has a groove configured for inserting the interface card therein; when the second engagement portion is engaged with the first engagement portion, the blocking element is located in the groove of the guiding element for blocking the interface card. *Claim 10 depends directly from claim 9 and is therefore allowable for at least the same reason.
Claim 11. The fixing frame according to claim 1, further comprising an elastic element, a blocking element and a returning element, wherein the guiding element has a groove configured for inserting the interface card therein, the elastic element is disposed on the movable element for moving the movable element along a third direction perpendicular to the second direction, the blocking element is movably disposed on the handle, the blocking element is selectively located in the groove of the guiding element for blocking the interface card, the returning element is disposed between the handle and the blocking
element; the movable element further comprises a pressed portion connected to the pushing portion and the abutted portion, the pressed portion has a height greater than a height of the abutted portion, the pushing portion has a first inclined surface, the blocking element has a second inclined surface, and the handle further comprises a pressed portion for selectively pressing the pressed portion to move the pushing portion along a fourth direction opposite to the third direction.
Claim 14. The electronic device according to claim 13, Sung teaches wherein the movable element further comprises a pressed portion connected to the pushing portion and the abutted portion, the pressed portion has a height greater than a height of the abutted portion, and the handle further comprises a pressed portion; when the pressing portion of the handle presses the pressed portion, the pressing portion moves the pushing portion away from the notch of the interface card along a fourth direction opposite to the third direction.
Claim 18. The electronic device according to claim 17, wherein the fixing frame further comprises a blocking element and a returning element, the blocking element is movably disposed on the handle, and the returning element is disposed between the handle and the blocking element; when the second engagement portion is engaged with the first engagement portion, the blocking element is located in a notch of the interface card for blocking the interface card. * Claim 19 depends directly from claim 18 and is therefore allowable for at least the same reason.
Claim 20. The electronic device according to claim 12, wherein the fixing frame further comprises an elastic element, a blocking element and a returning element, the elastic element is disposed on the movable element for moving the movable element along a third direction perpendicular to the second direction, the blocking element is movably disposed on the handle, the blocking element is selectively located in a notch of the interface card for blocking the interface card, the returning element is disposed between the handle and the blocking element; the movable element further comprises a pressed portion connected to the pushing portion and the abutted portion, the pressed portion has a height greater than a height of the abutted portion, the pushing portion has a first inclined surface, the blocking element has a second inclined surface, and the handle further comprises a pressing portion for selectively pressing the pressed portion to move the pushing portion along a fourth direction opposite to the third direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHEN E MORRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841