DETAILED ACTION
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Response to Amendment
The response, filed January 20, 2026, has been entered and made of record. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
III. Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1,8, and 14 and Kolchin et al. have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Kolchin et al. for the newly-added limitations. The examiner agrees that Kolchin et al. fails to expressly disclose the use of a pattern generator to project structured light and whether the wafer is transparent.
However, the examiner disagrees with Applicant’s statement that the Korean reference, Kim et al., used to reject claims 7 and 20 fails to disclose the missing features of Kolchin et al. Kim discloses an optical defect inspection system that examines a display substrate with a plurality of layers that are necessarily transparent or at least semi-transparent due to the display’s light-emitting nature. As to a pattern generator, Kim et al. fails to disclose this feature.
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 1,3,7,8,10,14,16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolchin et al. (US 2018/0103247 A1) in view of Yoo et al. (US 2007/0146685 A1) and further in view of the Korean publication of Kim et al. (KR 10-2022-0067565 A)
Please refer to the attached translation of Kim et al. for the cited pages and lines
as they differ from the original Korean document.
As to claim 14, Kolchin et al. teaches a system (Fig. 1, optical inspection system “100”) comprising:
a light assembly (Fig. 1, illumination source “101”) configured to project light ([0047],
lines 10-12) onto a workpiece (Fig. 1, wafer “103”), wherein the workpiece is a multilayer structure ([0082], lines 1-8);
an imaging assembly (Fig. 1, collection optics “118” and detector “125”) configured to capture a
plurality of light images of the workpiece ([0052], lines 1-9), wherein each of the plurality of light images is captured with the imaging assembly being focused at a different height relative to the workpiece ([0058], lines 1-4); and
a processor (Fig. 1, processor “131”) in electronic communication with the structured light
assembly ([0047], lines 18-20) and the imaging assembly ([0054], lines 1-9), wherein the processor is configured to generate a cross-sectional image of the workpiece based on the plurality of light images received from the imaging assembly (Fig. 2/3; [0067]).
Claim 1 differs from Kolchin et al. in that it requires that (1) that the light assembly includes a pattern generator that structured light is directed through and (2) that each layer of the multilayer structure is transparent or semi-transparent such that the structured light pattern is transmissible through the workpiece.
(1) However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Yoo et al. discloses a system (Fig. 6) for inspecting a semiconductor wafer (Fig. 6, sample “610”; [0003]; [0005], lines 1-4) for the presence of stress damage or foreign particles ([0043], lines 1-5). The system includes a light source (Fig. 6, light source “620”) and a pattern generator (Fig. 6, pattern generator “609”) that produces a structured diffraction pattern from the light source on the wafer ([0058], lines 8-12). The diffraction pattern reflected from the sample is captured by a camera (Fig. 6, CCD camera “618”; [0061]), and an image of the sample is analyzed to determine whether stress damage or a foreign particle is present ([0061]). In light of the teaching of Yoo et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a pattern generator in front of Kolchin’s light source that produces a diffraction pattern that illuminates the wafer because, as Yoo et al. notes in para. [0037], analyzing a diffraction-patterned image of the wafer can lead to accurate and efficient non-destructive defect determination with applicability to both patterned and non-patterned semiconductor wafers.
(2) Further in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Kim et al. teaches a
method of inspecting a liquid crystal display panel for a defect (p. 3, line 30 – p. 4, line 2), the panel including a plurality of transparent layers (p. 9, lines 31-36). In light of the teaching of Kim et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design Kolchin’s system for display panel inspection because this would increase the system’s versatility and allow for application of the advantages of Kolchin et al., as modified by Yoo et al., to a commonly-manufactured semiconductor material.
As to claim 16, Kolchin et al., as modified by Yoo et al. and Kim et al., teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the workpiece is disposed on a stage (see Kolchin et al., Fig. 1, Z-translation stage “121”), and the processor is further configured to:
send instructions to move the stage to adjust a distance of the imaging assembly relative to the
workpiece (see Kolchin et al., [0055], lines 1-9); and
capture a structured light image of the workpiece using the imaging assembly at each distance to
obtain the plurality of structured light images at different focal depths (see Kolchin et al.,
[0058], lines 1-4).
As to claim 20, Kolchin et al., as modified by Yoo et al. and Kim et al., teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the workpiece is a flat panel display (see Kim et al., p. 3, line 30 – p. 4, line 2).
Claims 1,3,7,8, and 10 are method claims and computer-readable medium claims reciting features or steps substantially similar to or encompassed by the processor functions or features of claims 14,16 and 20. Therefore, they are rejected as detailed above.
B. Claims 2,9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolchin et al. (US 2018/0103247 A1) in view of Yoo et al. (US 2007/0146685 A1) in view of Kim et al. (KR 10-2022-0067565 A) and further in view of the nature (Light – Science & Applications) publication of Kwon et al.
As to claim 15, Kolchin et al., as modified by Yoo et al. and Kim et al., teaches the system of claim 14. The claim differs from Kolchin et al., as modified by Yoo et al. and Kim et al., in that it requires that the plurality of structured light images comprises at least 100 images captured at different focal depths. However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Kwon et al. discloses a method of detecting a defect in a semiconductor using a focal stack having one thousand (1,000) images (p. 12, col. 2, lines 5 and 6). In light of the teaching of Kwon et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to capture one thousand images during-z-direction scanning in Kolchin’s system because this would ensure ample cross-sectional resolution of the images from which defects are detected.
Claims 2 and 9 are a method claim and computer-readable medium claim reciting a feature substantially similar to the system feature of claim 15. Therefore, they are rejected as detailed above.
C. Claims 4,5,12,13,17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolchin et al. (US 2018/0103247 A1) in view of Yoo et al. (US 2007/0146685 A1) in view of Kim et al. (KR 10-2022-0067565 A) and further in view of Osada (US 2024/0257336 A1)
As to claim 17, Kolchin et al., as modified by Yoo et al. and Kim et al., teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to:
define a section plane through the workpiece, wherein the section plane intersects each of the
plurality of structured light images (see Kolchin et al., e.g., Fig. 2 or Fig. 3; [0067]).
The claim differs from Kolchin et al., as modified by Kim et al., in that it requires (1) that the processor is further configured to determine a focus score for each pixel of the plurality of structured light images intersected by the section plane, (2) that the focus score corresponds to a reflection of the structured light pattern reflected by the workpiece at a corresponding focal depth, and (3) that the processor is further configured to combine the focus score of each pixel in the section plane to generate the cross-sectional image of the workpiece.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Osada teaches a system of defect inspection for a semiconductor wafer (Fig. 1). The system captures a plurality of images of the wafer at different illumination levels and creates a difference image from an overall image and an average image of the plurality of images (1)-(3) ([0042]; [0045], lines 1-4; {The difference pixel value is read as the claimed focus score, and the difference image is the combination of the focus scores.}). The difference image pixel values are then compared with a threshold. Pixels greater than or equal to the threshold value are classified as a candidate defect and are assigned a white color, and pixels below the threshold value are not classified as a candidate defect and are assigned a black color value ([0045], lines 8-26).
In light of the teaching of Osada, the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to generate a difference image from the cross-sectional images at the different illumination angles captured by Kolchin et al. ([0063], lines 20-24) in the manner disclosed by Osada, to compare difference pixel values to a threshold, and assign different colors based on whether or not the pixel exceeds the threshold. Although the Osada does not capture images along a depth of the semiconductor wafer, the examiner nevertheless submits that Osada’s defect detection technique can be applied to Kolchin’s images with different illumination angles to effectively detect and conspicuously display areas that are likely to contain a defect.
As to claim 18, Kolchin et al., as modified by Yoo et al., Kim et al., and Osada, teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to:
compare the focus score of each pixel in the section plane to a preset threshold, wherein the
preset threshold is greater than or equal to zero (see Osada, [0045], lines 13-18);
fill each pixel of the section plane having a focus score greater than the preset threshold with a
first color (see Osada, [0045], lines 22-25); and
fill each pixel of the section plane having a focus score less than the preset threshold with a
second color that is different from the first color; wherein the cross-sectional image is defined by pixels of the first color and pixels of the second color (see Osada, [0045], lines 25 and 26).
Claims 4,5,12, and 13 are method claims and computer-readable medium claims reciting steps substantially similar to or encompassed by the processor functions of claims 17 and 18. Therefore, they are rejected as detailed above.
V. Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6,13, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. See the previous Office action for their reasons for indicating allowable subject matter.
VI. Additional Pertinent Prior Art
Zhao et al. (US # 9,194,811 B1) discusses the use of structured light in a optical inspection system to improve the detection of a defect in a sample semiconductor wafer.
VII. Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
2/9/2026