Claim Objections
Claims 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 18-20 should depend from claims 17-19, respectively. This dependency has been assumed for purposes of examination below. Appropriate correction is required.
35 USC 102 Rejections
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda et al 5624268.
Regarding claims 1, 17 and 18, Maeda et al (front page) discloses a connecting element for electrically connecting a first electrical device (lower 9) to a second electrical device (upper 9), the connecting element comprising: a carrier body 3 having a first (upper) contact side and an opposite second (lower) contact side; and a plurality of separate electrical contact elements, wherein each contact element of the plurality of contact elements includes a base body 6 formed from an elastomer and an electrically conductive sheath 7 arranged around the base body at least in sections, wherein the electrically conductive sheath provides a first contact region for electrically contacting the first electrical device and a second contact region for electrically contacting the second electrical device, the first contact region and the second contact region being electrically connected to one another, wherein each contact element of the plurality of contact elements is respectively coupled to the carrier body, such that the first contact region is electrically contactable from the first contact side of the carrier body and the second contact region is electrically contactable from the second contact side of the carrier body,
wherein each contact element of the plurality of contact elements is configured resiliently along a contacting direction (K) running from the first contact region to the second contact region, to compensate for a tolerance-related distance offset between the first and second electrical devices, and wherein the electrically conductive sheath is at least one of a metal foil, a metal sheet, a metallic coating, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 2, Maeda et al discloses the carrier body 3 is formed from an electrically insulating material.
Regarding claim 3, Maeda et al discloses the carrier body 3 is a rigid component.
Regarding claim 4, Maeda et al discloses the carrier body 3 is a flat component having a first frontal side and a second frontal side, the first frontal side forming the first contact side and the second frontal side forming the second contact side.
Regarding claim 5, Maeda et al discloses the carrier body 3 further comprises a mechanical encoding means (very broadly recited, to include the edges of 3) that allows connecting to the first and second electrical devices exclusively in a predefined orientation.
Regarding claim 6, Maeda et al discloses the carrier body 3 includes a plurality of recesses (unnumbered) extending from the first contact side to the second contact side through the carrier body, and wherein the plurality of electrical contact elements 6,7 is fastened to the carrier body in the plurality of recesses.
Regarding claim 7, Maeda et al discloses the plurality of electrical contact elements is fastened in the plurality of recesses via a force fit.
Regarding claim 8, Maeda et al discloses the plurality of electrical contact elements is fastened in the plurality of recesses via a form fit.
Regarding claim 11, Maeda et al discloses the plurality of electrical contact elements is respectively arranged elevated on at least one of the first and second contact sides of the carrier body 3.
Regarding claims 12 and 13-16, Maeda et al discloses at least one contact element 6,7 of the plurality of contact elements is configured as an inner-conductor contact element, and wherein the remaining contact elements of the plurality of contact elements are configured as outer-conductor contact elements, which are arranged for electro-magnetic shielding around the inner-conductor contact element.
35 USC 103 Rejections
Claim(s) 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda et al as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Johnson 2006/0128176.
Johnson (see Abstract) discloses an elastomeric connecting element with solder as a bonding material, and to provide Maeda et al with same thus would have been obvious, for secure engagement with the devices.
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches the carrier body has a plurality of elongate fastening elements which are received in a corresponding plurality of openings in the plurality of electrical contact elements in order to fasten the plurality of electrical contact elements on the carrier body; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the respective independent claim.
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834