DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US PG Pub. 2020/0137612 A1) hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses: A first device comprising: one or more processors configured to:
generate, during a service period of a target wake time (TWT) schedule, a first frame ([0022]-[0023], [0037]-[0038]: “After a TWT schedule is configured, the access point (AP) can transmit packets to and/or receive packets from the station (STA) during scheduled period(s)…request 301 can include a TWT element” - Describes frame generation during TWT operations)
requesting a second device in a wireless local area network (WLAN) to extend the service period; ([0075]-[0079]: “AP 110 may request/enforce STA 120 a to remain awake after end point 609 of service period 603 a…AP 110 uses the ‘More Data’ field in the MAC header in the last packet sent to STA 120 a during the service period…STA 120 a is configured to extend the service period” - Describes service period extension mechanism)
and wirelessly transmit, via a transceiver, the generated first frame to the second device, ([0029], [0031]: “transceiver 220 transmits and receives communications signals that support TWT functions…Transceiver 220 and/or communication interface 230 can include processors, controllers, radios” - Describes wireless transmission via transceiver)
wherein one of the first device or the second device is an access point. ([0025]-[0027]: “AP 110 and STAs 120 are configured to implement the TWT scheme…STA 120 a transmits a request to AP 110 to schedule the TWT” - Describes AP and station roles in TWT)
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses: The first device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: set a first subfield of the first frame to a traffic identifier (TID) ([0053]-[0054]: “the TWT request can include an indication of a specific traffic identifier (TID)…the TWT scheme can allow the AP 110 to extend service period(s) automatically” - Describes including TID in TWT frames) and a second subfield of the first frame to a specific serial number or a sequence number, ([0061]-[0063]: MAC header 705 includes sequence control among header fields; common in IEEE 802.11 MAC for ordering frames)
to request the second device to extend the service period until the second device receives all frames having serial numbers or sequence numbers that are less than or equal to the specific serial number or sequence number for a traffic stream with the TID. ([0078]-[0080]: STA extends service period based on “More Data” field until AP indicates no more data (value 0). Although not keyed to sequence number, it’s an “until complete” mechanism for a stream. Partial analogue (completion-based extension).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses: The first device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: set a subfield of the first frame to a minimum wake duration ([0041]-[0042]: “TWT parameter information 504 can include…nominal minimum TWT wake duration 514, TWT wake interval mantissa 515” - Describes wake duration parameters in TWT frames) to request the second device to extend the service period for the minimum wake duration beyond an end time of the service period. ([0078]-[0079]: “STA 120 a extends the service period until the ‘More Data’ field of a packet received during the extend service period is set to a second value…STA 120 a stays in awake mode…during the extended service period” - Describes extending service period beyond original end time)
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses: The first device according to claim 1, wherein
the first frame comprises a subfield indicating a buffer size of traffic corresponding to one or more traffic identifiers (TIDs) or one or more access categories (ACs) associated with the service period, ([0049]-[0050]: “the TWT request can include an indication of the application’s traffic pattern…including, but not limited to, application traffic generation interval, traffic rate” - Describes traffic/buffer information in TWT frames) and
the one or more processors are configured to set the subfield to a non-zero value to request the second device to extend the service period. ([0078-0080]: “determines that the ‘More Data’ field in the MAC header in the last packet is set to a first value (e.g., ‘1’)…STA 120 a extends the service period” - Describes using field values to trigger extension)
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses: The first device according to claim 1, wherein
the first frame comprises a subfield indicating power management of the first device, ([0060]-[0061], [0076]-[0079]: PM indication bit in MAC header used to denote active/power-save transitions; discussed as part of service period extension mechanics) and
the one or more processors are configured to set the subfield to indicate that the first device is in or switches to an active mode, to request the second device to extend the service period. ([0076]-[0077]: “STA 120 a may send a response 611 in which the power management (PM) indication bit is set to ‘0’ (to indicate that STA 120 a is now in awake mode)…before AP 110 can transmit the rest of the queued downlink packet(s)” - Describes PM bit usage for service period extension)
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses: The first device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive, via the transceiver from the second device, a second frame indicating that the service period has been extended; ([0060]-[0061], [0078]: Use of “More Data” field signals additional downlink traffic; STA keeps awake, effectively indicating extension) responsive to receiving the second frame, wirelessly transmit, via the transceiver to the second device, a data frame after an end time of the service period; ([0060]-[0061]: Extended SP permits continued TX/RX after nominal end; STA remains in active mode to send/receive after end time.) and
receive, via the transceiver from the second device, a third frame indicating that the service period has been terminated. ([0075]-[0079]: “AP 110 may use the ‘More Data’ field…to inform the STA 120 a that one or more packets are to be sent…STA 120 a extends the service period…until the ‘More Data’ field…is set to ‘0’” - Describes frame exchange sequence for service period extension)
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses: The first device according to claim 6, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: responsive to receiving the second frame, switch the first device to an active mode; ([0076]-[0079]: PM bit handling; STA goes to awake mode (PM=0) when additional data is pending/extension occurs) and responsive to receiving the third frame, switch the first device from the active mode to a power save mode. ([0076]-[0079]: “send a response 611 in which the power management (PM) indication bit is set to ‘0’ (to indicate that STA 120 a is now in awake mode)…STA 120 a can send another response 615 in which the power management (PM) indication bit is set to ‘1’ before STA 120 a can transition to the sleep mode” - Explicitly describes switching between active and power save modes based on frames)
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses: The first device according to claim 6, wherein
the second frame comprises a subfield of the first frame set to a value indicating that the service period has been extended, ([0060]-[0061], [0078]: “More Data” field used in MAC header; set to 1 indicates more traffic and practical extension) and the subfield comprises one of (1) a subfield indicating whether there is a subsequent trigger frame, (2) a subfield indicating whether the service period has ended, or (3) a subfield indicating whether the first device has more data to send to the second device. ([0060]-[0061], [0078]-[0080]: “More Data” field indicates AP has more downlink data; end condition when set to 0; trigger frame specifics not stated, but continuation and end are indicated in header fields)
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses: The first device according to claim 6, wherein
the second frame comprises a quality of service (QOS) control field that comprises a subfield set to a value indicating that the service period has been extended. ([0053]-[0054]: “STA 120 a can use TWT element 500 to signal traffic identifier (TID) and/or access category indication (ACID)” - Describes QoS-related signaling in TWT frames according to [0063])
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses: The first device according to claim 6, wherein
the third frame comprises a subfield of the first frame set to a value indicating that the service period has been terminated, ([0078]-[0080]: “More Data” set to 0 serves as termination indicator for extended SP; STA transitions to sleep) and
the subfield comprises one of (1) a subfield indicating whether there is a subsequent trigger frame, (2) a subfield indicating whether the service period has ended, or (3) a subfield indicating whether the first device has more data to send to the second device. ([0078-0080]: “STA 120 a stays in awake mode…until the ‘More Data’ field of a packet sent by AP 110 is set to the second value (e.g., ‘0’)…STA 120 a may determine that a ‘More Data’ field…is set to the second value…and STA 120 may transition to sleep mode” - Describes field indicating termination)
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses: A method comprising:
generating, by a first device during a service period of a target wake time (TWT) schedule, a first frame requesting a second device in a wireless local area network (WLAN) to extend the service period; ([0060]-[0061], [0078]-[0080]: Flow 620 shows extension mechanism; frames during SP carry indicators that extend the SP) and
wirelessly transmitting, by the first device via a transceiver, the generated first frame to the second device, ([0029]-[0033]: Transceiver 220 handles wireless transmission of frames) wherein one of the first device or the second device is an access point. ([0025]-[0027]: AP 110 with STAs 120)
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses: The method according to claim 11, further comprising:
setting a first subfield of the first frame to a traffic identifier (TID) and a second subfield of the first frame to a specific serial number or a sequence number, to request the second device to extend the service period until the second device receives all frames having serial numbers or sequence numbers that are less than or equal to the specific serial number or sequence number for a traffic stream with the TID. ([0063], TID field; [0061]: sequence control present in MAC header; [0078]-[0080]: extension until end indicator.)
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses: The method according to claim 11, further comprising:
setting a subfield of the first frame to a minimum wake duration to request the second device to extend the service period for the minimum wake duration beyond an end time of the service period. ([0041]-[0044]: Nominal minimum wake duration field exists in TWT element; [0060]-[0061]: extension beyond end time mechanism)
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses: The method according to claim 11, wherein
the first frame comprises a subfield indicating a buffer size of traffic corresponding to one or more traffic identifiers (TIDs) or one or more access categories (ACs) associated with the service period, and
the method comprises setting the subfield to a non-zero value to request the second device to extend the service period. ([0049]-[0055]: Signaling traffic pattern, TID/ACID in TWT element/IE; [0078]: non-zero “More Data” triggers extension, “non-zero indicates extend.”)
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses: The method according to claim 11, wherein
the first frame comprises a subfield indicating power management of the first device, and
the method comprises setting the subfield to indicate that the first device is in or switches to an active mode, to request the second device to extend the service period. (0076]-[0079]: PM bit indicates active/sleep; used in classic power-save transitions; flexible extension reduces PM toggling, but PM field described.)
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses: The method according to claim 11, further comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver from the second device, a second frame indicating that the service period has been extended; ([0060]-[0061], [0078]: More Data=1 indicates continued traffic; indicates extension) responsive to receiving the second frame, wirelessly transmitting, via the transceiver to the second device, a data frame after an end time of the service period; ([0060]-[0061]: Extended SP allows sending/receiving after the nominal endpoint) and receiving, via the transceiver from the second device, a third frame indicating that the service period has been terminated. ([0078]-[0080]: More Data=0 indicates termination; STA transitions to sleep).
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses: The method according to claim 16, further comprising:
responsive to receiving the second frame, switching the first device to an active mode; ([0076]-[0079]: PM bit and enforced awake operation; STA remains/switches to active during extension) and
responsive to receiving the third frame, switching the first device from the active mode to a power save mode. ([0079]-[0080]: Transition to sleep when termination indicator received)
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses: The method according to claim 16, wherein
the second frame comprises a subfield of the first frame set to a value indicating that the service period has been extended, ([0078]: More Data field indicates continuation; acts as extension indicator) and
the subfield comprises one of (1) a subfield indicating whether there is a subsequent trigger frame, (2) a subfield indicating whether the service period has ended, or (3) a subfield indicating whether the first device has more data to send to the second device. ([0078]-[0080]: “More Data” covers “has more data” and end when cleared)
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses: The method according to claim 16, wherein
the second frame comprises a quality of service (QOS) control field that comprises a subfield set to a value indicating that the service period has been extended. ([0063]: QoS control includes TID; extension signaled via “More Data” (frame control))
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses: The method according to claim 16, wherein
the third frame comprises a subfield of the first frame set to a value indicating that the service period has been terminated, ([0078]-[0080]: “More Data”=0 indicates termination/end of queued traffic; STA can go to sleep) and the subfield comprises one of (1) a subfield indicating whether there is a subsequent trigger frame, (2) a subfield indicating whether the service period has ended, or (3) a subfield indicating whether the first device has more data to send to the second device. ([0078]-[0080]: More Data field supports “has more data” and “ended” semantics (1 vs 0).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US11523306B1 - teaches generating frames that include requested TWT schedule parameters along with information regarding traffic characteristics of MAC layer data units during TWT service periods. This reference covers the use of TID-based traffic information, TSPEC elements, and traffic stream specifications—all essential to the service period extension mechanism described in the target patent.
US11445438B2 - demonstrates TWT service period management with detailed timing information and resource allocation. It teaches transmitting TWT schedule information to stations, managing service periods, and controlling when devices wake during TWT schedules. The patent anticipates the dynamic service period management and timing coordination aspects of the claims.
US20200229086A1 - teaches coordinating TWT schedules between access points and demonstrating how TWT schedules can be dynamically adjusted. The granted version (US11197242B2) specifically addresses identifying TWT schedules and generating TWT schedules based on interference detection. This reference covers the dynamic scheduling and service period management aspects mentioned in claims 1-20.
US10231182B2 - teaches the interaction between trigger frames and TWT intervals. It specifically addresses how STAs respond to trigger frames during TWT service periods and how the AP uses trigger frames to coordinate transmissions. This is particularly relevant to claims 6-10 which address receiving frames indicating service period extension and termination.
US9363752B2 - teaches generating frames comprising timing information for TWT and identifying which TWT flow the timing information applies to. The use of TWT Flow Identifier subfields and the generation of response frames are relevant to the frame structure aspects of claims 1-10. The patent demonstrates early TWT frame architecture that forms the foundation for service period extension mechanisms.
US20210058862A1 - teaches managing TWT service periods with detailed field structures including QoS control fields and subfield indicators. It covers transmitting schedule information and managing when devices remain awake during service periods, relevant to claims 8-10 regarding second and third frames indicating service period status.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
NICHOLAS JENSEN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472