DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: for Claim 15, “first-type guide part” was identified as the - - second-type guide part - - in the orig. spec. (orig. para. [0059]-[0061]) For instance, “[0059] The first guide cylinder 161 may transmit power to the second-type guide part 152. For example, the first guide cylinder 161 may transmit power to the second-type guide part 152 through a piston positioned inside the first guide cylinder 161.” However, in Claim 15, “a first-type guide part connected to the first guide cylinder and movable in the first direction.”
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 15 (line number on left), the extra space before the comma should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: vertical extension part, support part, first-type guide part (Claims 1-20), horizontal extension part (Claims 2-6,9-20), second-type guide part (Claims 3-6,12,18), third-type guide part (Claims 5-6,13,19), adsorption part (Claims 7-8,20), and suction part (Claim 14). The limitation part is construed to be a generic placeholder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsushita (US 2021/0291236).
Claim 9: a vertical extension part extending in a first direction and including a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other in a second direction crossing the first direction (2);
a support part on the first surface of the vertical extension part and extending in the first direction (4);
a horizontal extension part on the support part and extending in the second direction, and including a third surface and a fourth surface opposite to each other in a third direction crossing the first direction and the second direction (3);
a first guide cylinder on the third surface of the horizontal extension part and configured to transmit power (32b; on 3rd surface via at least 35); and
a first-type guide part connected to the first guide cylinder and movable in the first direction (32a),
wherein the first-type guide part includes a vertical surface parallel to the third surface (right/left of 32a in FIG. 2/PA circle detailed view) and an inclined surface forming an acute angle with an upper surface of the horizontal extension part (left side of 32a in FIG. 2/PA circle detailed view);
Claim 10: a horizontal plate on the upper surface of the horizontal extension part and extending in the second direction (35);
Claim 11: wherein the first-type guide part is movable to extend through the horizontal plate (35; FIG. 2/PA circle detailed view);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2021/0351052) (“Chu”) in view of Yang et al. (US 6135168) (“Yang”). Chu discloses:
Claim 1: a vertical extension part extending in a first direction and including a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other in a second direction crossing the first direction (FIG. 2, part at 40);
a support part on the first surface of the vertical extension part and extending in the first direction (FIG. 1, part at 10);
a horizontal plate on the support part and extending in the second direction (FIG. 28, 11 with plate above 11), and including a corner at which a first edge extending in the second direction (at one 50 in FIG. 28)
a first-type guide part (at least one 50) extending from an upper surface of the horizontal plate at the corner (at plate above 11);
Claim 2: a horizontal extension part between a lower surface of the horizontal plate and an upper surface of the support part, extending in the second direction, and including a third surface and a fourth surface opposite to each other in the third direction (plate below 11);
Claim 3: a first guide cylinder (FIG. 12, 28) on the third surface of the horizontal extension part (via 27/etc.) and configured to transmit power; and
a second-type guide part (26) connected to the first guide cylinder and movable in the first direction (para. [0046]);
Claim 4: wherein the second-type guide part is movable to extend through the horizontal plate (FIG. 12);
Claim 7: a bracket on the second surface of the vertical extension part and extending in the third direction (FIG. 5, 73/74/etc.);
an adsorption part (FIG. 3, 71; para. [0052]) connected to the bracket and configured to adsorb a wafer transfer device; and
a pin extending from the adsorption part in the first direction and configured to fix the wafer transfer device (shown at 71),
wherein the adsorption part and the pin are movable in the second direction to extend through the vertical extension part in the second direction (FIG. 3/5/6A);
Claim 8: a vertical cylinder on the second surface of the vertical extension part and extending in the first direction (43/etc.),
wherein as a piston included in the vertical cylinder (cylinder has a piston thereto) moves in the first direction, movement of the bracket in the second direction is adjusted (FIG. 3/5/6A).
Chu does not directly show:
Claim 1: the circumference of the horizontal plate as claimed.
Yang shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: the circumference of the horizontal plate as claimed (FIG. 1/2; 204/800 have a circumference of the horizontal plate at 204/800; it is noted that Chu contemplates many different embodiments of semiconductor transfer container);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of better ensuring that the semiconductor transfer container is more efficiently moved since the guide part on the horizontal plate matches the profile of the semiconductor transfer container with a curved corner profile (col. 2, lines 52-54; Yang contemplates semiconductor transfer containers of any type). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chu as taught by Yang and include Yang’s similar device having:
Claim 1: the circumference of the horizontal plate as claimed;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of better ensuring that the semiconductor transfer container is more efficiently moved since the guide part on the horizontal plate matches the profile of the semiconductor transfer container with a curved corner profile.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita in view of Chu. Matsushita discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Matsushita does not directly show:
Claim 14: a bracket on the second surface of the vertical extension part and extending in the third direction;
a suction part connected to the bracket and configured to suction a wafer transfer device;
a pin extending from the suction part in the first direction and configured to fix the wafer transfer device; and
a vertical cylinder on the second surface of the vertical extension part and extending in the first direction,
wherein the suction part and the pin are movable in the second direction to extend through the vertical extension part in the second direction, and
as a piston included in the vertical cylinder moves in the first direction, movement of the bracket in the second direction is adjusted.
Chu shows a similar device having:
Claim 14: a bracket on the second surface of the vertical extension part and extending in the third direction (FIG. 5, 73/74/etc.);
a suction part connected to the bracket and configured to suction a wafer transfer device (FIG. 3, 71; para. [0052]);
a pin extending from the suction part in the first direction and configured to fix the wafer transfer device (shown at 71); and
a vertical cylinder on the second surface of the vertical extension part and extending in the first direction,
wherein the suction part and the pin are movable in the second direction to extend through the vertical extension part in the second direction (FIG. 3/5), and
as a piston included in the vertical cylinder moves in the first direction (cylinder has a piston thereto), movement of the bracket in the second direction is adjusted (FIG. 3/5/6A);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a load port adapted for wafer cassettes of different sizes (para. [0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsushita as taught by Chu and include Chu’s similar device having:
Claim 14: a bracket on the second surface of the vertical extension part and extending in the third direction;
a suction part connected to the bracket and configured to suction a wafer transfer device;
a pin extending from the suction part in the first direction and configured to fix the wafer transfer device; and
a vertical cylinder on the second surface of the vertical extension part and extending in the first direction ,
wherein the suction part and the pin are movable in the second direction to extend through the vertical extension part in the second direction, and
as a piston included in the vertical cylinder moves in the first direction, movement of the bracket in the second direction is adjusted;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a load port adapted for wafer cassettes of different sizes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed except for the specification objection above.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 15 overcomes the prior art since it requires that the first-type guide part includes a vertical surface parallel to the third surface and a concave surface between the vertical surface and the third surface in combination with the other claim limitations. Claims 16-20 depend on Claim 15.
The prior art of record does not disclose this combination of limitations. For example, Matsushita discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above, however, Matsushita does not disclose that the first-type guide part includes a vertical surface parallel to the third surface and a concave surface between the vertical surface and the third surface in combination with the other claim limitations. Similarly, other prior references do not disclose all the limitations of the independent claim. Therefore, the claims are allowed except for the specification objection above.
Claims 5-6 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose a third-type guide part connected to the second guide cylinder and movable in the first direction in combination with the other claim limitations. Claim 6 depends on Claim 5.
The prior art does not disclose the horizontal plate includes the corner at which a first edge extending in the second direction along a circumference of the horizontal plate and a second edge extending in the third direction along the circumference of the horizontal plate intersect in combination with the other claim limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2018/0082867 discloses guides 156/158 in FIG. 4.
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652