DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “movable stroke” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a rack having a movable stroke”, “a position adjusting mechanism having a movable stroke”, and “wherein the position adjusting mechanism comprises a main hydraulic cylinder and an auxiliary hydraulic cylinder”. The underlined portions both recite the limitation of “a movable stroke”. Thus, it is unclear whether both limitations refer to the same feature or each of the rack and position adjusting mechanism has their respective movable stroke. In addition, the position adjusting mechanism comprises hydraulic cylinders. Is the movable stroke and the hydraulic cylinders the same feature? Based on [0043] of the Specification and FIG. 1, it appears that movable stroke of the rack and position adjusting mechanism refer to the hydraulic cylinders 3 and 6. To further prosecution, the Examiner will examine the claims as such.
Claims 2-10 are dependent claims of claim 1 and thus, inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by An et al. (CN 108532654 A; see machine translation; hereinafter An).
With regards to claim 1, An discloses a movable foundation static load test apparatus, comprising:
a rack (including 2, 3-3, 3-4, 4 and 5; FIG. 9) having a movable stroke (3 and 8; [0066, 0069]; FIG. 3-5) moving along a vertical direction and configured to place a balancing weight (10; [0066]; FIG. 1);
a crawler traveling mechanism (including 1) comprising a frame (1-3) fixedly connected with the rack (including 2, 3-3, 3-4, 4 and 5; [0066-0067]; FIG. 9), and configured to drive the rack to travel ([0067, 0069]); and
a position adjusting mechanism (3 and 8) having a movable stroke (3 and 8) moving along the vertical direction and configured to adjust a distance between the rack and a test object ([0069]),
wherein the position adjusting mechanism (3 and 8) comprises a main hydraulic cylinder (8) and an auxiliary hydraulic cylinder (3; FIG. 3-5), the main hydraulic cylinder (8) is fixedly connected with the rack (including 2, 3-3, 3-4, 4 and 5; [0066]; FIG. 2 and 9), and the auxiliary hydraulic cylinder (3) is disposed below the main hydraulic cylinder (FIG. 3).
With regards to claim 2, An discloses the movable foundation static load test apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a first mounting groove and a second mounting groove are formed at a front end and a rear end of the frame (1-3) respectively (FIG. 8);
the crawler traveling mechanism further comprises:
a crawler sleeving (1-5) outside the frame (FIG. 8);
a driving wheel (1-4) mounted in the first mounting groove and configured to drive the crawler to rotate ([0067]; FIG. 8);
a guide wheel (one of 1-2) mounted in the second mounting groove and configured to guide an advancing direction of the crawler ([0067]; FIG. 8); and
a driving apparatus (1-1) configured to drive the driving wheel to rotate ([0067]).
With regards to claim 3, An discloses the movable foundation static load test apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the crawler traveling mechanism further comprises a thrust wheel (another one of 1-2), and the thrust wheel is disposed between a lower surface of the frame (1-3) and the crawler and is configured to support a weight of the apparatus ([0067]); and/or
the crawler traveling mechanism further comprises thrust wheels (another one of 1-2), and a plurality of thrust wheels are available ([0067], FIG. 8).
With regards to claim 4, An discloses the movable foundation static load test apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the crawler traveling mechanism further comprises a supporting chain wheel, and the supporting chain wheel is disposed between an upper surface of the frame and the crawler and is configured to support the crawler; and/or
the crawler traveling mechanism further comprises supporting chain wheels, and a plurality of supporting chain wheels are available (1-5; [0067]; FIG. 7-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. (CN 108532654 A; see machine translation; hereinafter An) in view of Iwasaki et al. (US Publication 2017/0106923 A1; hereinafter Iwasaki).
With regards to claim 5, An teaches the movable foundation static load test apparatus according to claim 2. However, An is silent regarding wherein the crawler comprises a metal crawler or a rubber crawler.
Iwasaki teaches a crawler (abstract; FIG. 1-2) comprises a rubber crawler ([0045-0046]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilized the rubber crawler as taught by Iwasaki as the material for the track of An with reasonable expectation of moving the apparatus as originally intended.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. (CN 108532654 A; see machine translation; hereinafter An) in view of Mietschnig (US Publication 2018/0029852 A1).
With regards to claim 6, An teaches the movable foundation static load test apparatus according to claim 1. However, An is silent regarding the apparatus further comprising a base and a lifting apparatus, wherein the base is disposed below the rack, the lifting apparatus comprises a driving part and a movable part, the driving part is fixedly connected with the rack, and the movable part may move along the vertical direction, is hinged with the base, and is configured to upwards lift the rack and the crawler traveling mechanism.
Mietschnig teaches a movable foundation static load test apparatus comprising a base (10) and a lifting apparatus (7, 8), wherein the base is disposed below the rack (2; FIG. 8-10), the lifting apparatus comprises a driving part (7) and a movable part (8), the driving part is fixedly connected with the rack ([0057]; FIG. 10-13), and the movable part (8) may move along the vertical direction (FIG. 11; [0053]), is hinged with the base (FIG. 10-13), and is configured to upwards lift the rack and the crawler traveling mechanism.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the base and lifting apparatus as taught by Mietschnig to the apparatus as taught by An with reasonable expectation of reducing ground pressure due to the crawlers ([0017-0019]; Mietschnig). The combination of An and Mietschnig would teach the apparatus is configured to upwards lift the rack and the crawler traveling mechanism (FIG. 5; An).
With regards to claim 7, An, as combined with Mietschnig, teaches (citations to Mietschnig unless specified otherwise) the movable foundation static load test apparatus according to claim 6, wherein two bases (10; FIG. 8-10) are available, the two bases (10) are respectively disposed below a front end and a rear end of the rack (FIG. 8), and each base is provided with two ball head hinged supports (FIG. 11-12);
four lifting apparatuses (8; FIG. 8) are available, and movable parts of the four lifting apparatuses are respectively hinged with the four ball head hinged supports (FIG. 8-12).
With regards to claim 8, An, as combined with Mietschnig, teaches (citations to An unless specified otherwise) the movable foundation static load test apparatus according to claim 6, wherein a first
through hole is formed in the rack (including 2, 3-3, 3-4, 4 and 5), and the main hydraulic cylinder (8) penetrates through the first through hole and is fixedly connected with the rack (see FIG. 3-5); and/or
a second through hole is formed in the rack, and a driving part of the lifting apparatus
penetrates through the second through hole and is fixedly connected with the rack.
With regards to claim 9, An, as combined with Mietschnig, teaches (citations to An unless specified otherwise) the movable foundation static load test apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the rack (including 2, 3-3, 3-4, 4 and 5) comprises:
two cross beams (including 3-3 and 4), second through holes being formed at two ends of each cross beam (through holes formed at 3-3 for 3-1; FIG. 11);
two longitudinal beams (2) respectively disposed at front and rear ends of the two cross beams and configured to connect the two cross beams (FIG. 9); and
a rack main body (middle two 5; FIG. 11) disposed in a middle of the two cross beams and provided with a first through hole (at 8), and the frame being fixedly connected with the rack main body (FIG. 4);
wherein both the two longitudinal beams and the rack main body are welded with the two
cross beams (it is inherent that the beams are welded together for heavy duty equipment such as those of An).
With regards to claim 10, An, as combined with Mietschnig, teaches (citations to An unless specified otherwise) the movable foundation static load test apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the rack further comprises a plurality of strengthening beams (5 located on each end of 4; FIG. 11), and the plurality of strengthening beams are disposed in parallel with the longitudinal beams, and are welded with the two cross beams (it is inherent that the beams are welded together for heavy duty equipment such as those of An).
Conclusion
/QXN/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853