DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims 13-18 appear to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
A review of the specification shows the following appears to be corresponding structure described in the specification for 112(f):
Claim 13 has multiple limitations having “means for”, as follows
means for determining an initial carrier phase measurement for each of a plurality of initial satellite signals received by the apparatus;
(Applicant discloses this on paragraph [0006] and Fig. 2, processor 210 indicating a processor performing this step.)
means for determining a subsequent carrier phase measurement for each of at least one subsequent satellite signal received by the apparatus;
(Applicant discloses this on paragraph [0006] and Fig. 2, processor 210 indicating a processor performing this step)
means for storing a set of ambiguities corresponding to combinations of satellite and frequency band, with each ambiguity corresponding to one of the plurality of initial satellite signals or one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal, and corresponding to a distinct combination of satellite and frequency band;
(Applicant discloses this on paragraph [0006] and Fig. 2, processor 210 indicating a processor performing this step)
means for removing, from each subsequent carrier phase measurement that corresponds to one of the combinations of satellite and frequency band, a corresponding one of the set of ambiguities to produce a set of ambiguity-removed carrier phase measurements; and
(Applicant discloses this on paragraph [0006] and Fig. 2, processor 210 indicating a processor performing this step)
means for determining an estimate of position of the apparatus based on the set of ambiguity-removed carrier phase measurements.
(Applicant discloses this on paragraph [0006] and Fig. 2, processor 210 indicating a processor performing this step).
Similarly, the “means for” in claims 14-18 appear to be disclosed from the original specification [0006] and Fig. 2, processor 210).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this office action.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,6,7,12 ,13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhodzishsky et al. (US 20170254904 A1, hereinafter Zhodzishsky).
Regarding claim 1. Zhodzishsky teaches an apparatus
([0004] the rover)
comprising:
at least one receiver configured to transduce wireless signals into guided signals
([0004] The rover also contains a navigation receiver that receives GNSS satellite signals);
at least one memory
([0070] memory 306);
at least one processor, communicatively coupled to the at least one receiver and the at least one memory
(Fig. 3 showing CPU 304 coupled to memory 306),
configured to:
determine an initial carrier phase measurement for each of a plurality of initial satellite signals received by the at least one receiver
(Zhodzishsky [0007] The first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by a rover from a first plurality of GNSS satellites at a first measurement epoch and GNSS signals received by a base from the first plurality of GNSS satellites at the first measurement epoch);
determine a subsequent carrier phase measurement for each of at least one subsequent satellite signal received by the at least one receiver
(Zhodzishsky [0009] a second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is received, in which the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by the rover from a second plurality of GNSS satellites at a second measurement epoch and GNSS signals received by the base from the second plurality of GNSS satellites at the second measurement epoch.)
(Note: the subsequent measurement in the claim is interpreted as the measurement at the second measurement epoch in Zhodzishsky);
store a set of ambiguities
(Zhodzishsky [0070] The control and computing system 208 includes a computer 302, which includes a processor [referred to as the central processing unit (CPU)] 304, memory 306, and a data storage device 308. The data storage device 308 includes at least one persistent, non-transitory, tangible computer readable medium, such as non-volatile semiconductor memory,)
corresponding to combinations of satellite and frequency band,
(Zhodzishsky [0065] Each navigation satellite in a global navigation satellite system can transmit navigation signals on one or more frequency bands.)
with each ambiguity corresponding to one of the plurality of initial satellite signals or one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal, and corresponding to a distinct combination of satellite and frequency band;
(Zhodzishsky [0008] A first plurality of sub-corrections is computed, in which the first plurality of sub-corrections is based at least in part on the first fixed position of the rover, a position of the base, a position of each specific GNSS satellite in the first plurality of GNSS satellites, the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements, and the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements.
Zhodzishsky [0009] In an embodiment, a second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is received, in which the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by the rover from a second plurality of GNSS satellites at a second measurement epoch and GNSS signals received by the base from the second plurality of GNSS satellites at the second measurement epoch. A step is performed to verify whether the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is consistent for the second measurement epoch.)
remove, from each subsequent carrier phase measurement that corresponds to one of the combinations of satellite and frequency band, a corresponding one of the set of ambiguities to produce a set of ambiguity-removed carrier phase measurements;
(Zhodzishsky [0011] Upon verifying that the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is not consistent for the second measurement epoch, a plurality of first differences of corrected carrier phase measurements is computed by applying the first plurality of sub-corrections to the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements.
and determine an estimate of position of the apparatus based on the set of ambiguity-removed carrier phase measurements.
(Zhodzishsky [0011] A second plurality of sub-corrections is computed, in which the second plurality of sub-corrections is based at least in part on the second fixed position of the rover, a position of the base, a position of each specific GNSS satellite in the second plurality of GNSS satellites, the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements, and the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the plurality of first differences of corrected carrier phase measurements.)
(Note: carrier phase ambiguities are resolved and gives a new fixed position for the “the apparatus” i.e. Rover in Zhodzishsky . It also gives updated corrections using Rover’s fixed position, the base station position, satellite positions, the different carrier phase measurements, and outputs an “ambiguity-removed” (ambiguity-resolved signal in Zhodzishsky).
Regarding Claim 6. Zhodzishsky et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1
wherein the set of ambiguities comprises a float ambiguity list.
(Zhodzishsky [0158] in practice, the carrier phase ambiguities are first evaluated as floating-point numbers. The actual carrier phase ambiguities, however, are integer numbers. Herein, a fix process refers to a process for determining integer values of carrier phase ambiguities from floating-point values of carrier phase ambiguities.)
Regarding Claim 7. Zhodzishsky et al. teaches A method, for estimating position of an apparatus, comprising:
determining an initial carrier phase measurement for each of a plurality of initial satellite signals received by the apparatus;
(Zhodzishsky [0007] The first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by a rover from a first plurality of GNSS satellites at a first measurement epoch and GNSS signals received by a base from the first plurality of GNSS satellites at the first measurement epoch);
determining a subsequent carrier phase measurement for each of at least one subsequent satellite signal received by the apparatus
(Zhodzishsky [0009] a second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is received, in which the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by the rover from a second plurality of GNSS satellites at a second measurement epoch and GNSS signals received by the base from the second plurality of GNSS satellites at the second measurement epoch.)
(Note: the subsequent measurement in the claim is interpreted as the measurement at the second measurement epoch in Zhodzishsky);
storing a set of ambiguities
(Zhodzishsky [0070] The control and computing system 208 includes a computer 302, which includes a processor [referred to as the central processing unit (CPU)] 304, memory 306, and a data storage device 308. The data storage device 308 includes at least one persistent, non-transitory, tangible computer readable medium, such as non-volatile semiconductor memory,)
corresponding to combinations of satellite and frequency band,
(Zhodzishsky [0065] Each navigation satellite in a global navigation satellite system can transmit navigation signals on one or more frequency bands.)
with each ambiguity corresponding to one of the plurality of initial satellite signals or one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal, and corresponding to a distinct combination of satellite and frequency band;
(Zhodzishsky [0008] A first plurality of sub-corrections is computed, in which the first plurality of sub-corrections is based at least in part on the first fixed position of the rover, a position of the base, a position of each specific GNSS satellite in the first plurality of GNSS satellites, the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements, and the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements.)
(Zhodzishsky [0009] In an embodiment, a second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is received, in which the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by the rover from a second plurality of GNSS satellites at a second measurement epoch and GNSS signals received by the base from the second plurality of GNSS satellites at the second measurement epoch. A step is performed to verify whether the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is consistent for the second measurement epoch.)
removing, from each subsequent carrier phase measurement that corresponds to one of the combinations of satellite and frequency band, a corresponding one of the set of ambiguities to produce a set of ambiguity-removed carrier phase measurements;
(Zhodzishsky [0011] Upon verifying that the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is not consistent for the second measurement epoch, a plurality of first differences of corrected carrier phase measurements is computed by applying the first plurality of sub-corrections to the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements.
determing an estimate of position of the apparatus based on the set of ambiguity-removed carrier phase measurements.
(Zhodzishsky [0011] A second plurality of sub-corrections is computed, in which the second plurality of sub-corrections is based at least in part on the second fixed position of the rover, a position of the base, a position of each specific GNSS satellite in the second plurality of GNSS satellites, the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements, and the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the plurality of first differences of corrected carrier phase measurements.)
(Note: carrier phase ambiguities are resolved and gives a new fixed position for the “the apparatus” i.e. Rover in Zhodzishsky . It also gives updated corrections using Rover’s fixed position, the base station position, satellite positions, the different carrier phase measurements, and outputs an “ambiguity-removed” (ambiguity-resolved signal in Zhodzishsky).
Regarding Claim 12. Zhodzishsky et al. teaches the method of claim 7
wherein the set of ambiguities comprises a float ambiguity list.
(Zhodzishsky [0158] in practice, the carrier phase ambiguities are first evaluated as floating-point numbers. The actual carrier phase ambiguities, however, are integer numbers. Herein, a fix process refers to a process for determining integer values of carrier phase ambiguities from floating-point values of carrier phase ambiguities.)
Regarding Claim 13. Zhodzishsky et al. teaches an apparatus comprising:
means for determining an initial carrier phase measurement for each of a plurality of initial satellite signals received by the apparatus
(Zhodzishsky [0007] The first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by a rover from a first plurality of GNSS satellites at a first measurement epoch and GNSS signals received by a base from the first plurality of GNSS satellites at the first measurement epoch);
means for determining a subsequent carrier phase measurement for each of at least one subsequent satellite signal received by the apparatus.
(Zhodzishsky [0009] a second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is received, in which the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by the rover from a second plurality of GNSS satellites at a second measurement epoch and GNSS signals received by the base from the second plurality of GNSS satellites at the second measurement epoch.)
(Note: the subsequent measurement in the claim is interpreted as the measurement at the second measurement epoch in Zhodzishsky);
means for storing a set of ambiguities
(Zhodzishsky [0070] The control and computing system 208 includes a computer 302, which includes a processor [referred to as the central processing unit (CPU)] 304, memory 306, and a data storage device 308. The data storage device 308 includes at least one persistent, non-transitory, tangible computer readable medium, such as non-volatile semiconductor memory,)
corresponding to combinations of satellite and frequency band,
(Zhodzishsky [0065] Each navigation satellite in a global navigation satellite system can transmit navigation signals on one or more frequency bands.)
with each ambiguity corresponding to one of the plurality of initial satellite signals or one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal, and corresponding to a distinct combination of satellite and frequency band;
(Zhodzishsky [0008] A first plurality of sub-corrections is computed, in which the first plurality of sub-corrections is based at least in part on the first fixed position of the rover, a position of the base, a position of each specific GNSS satellite in the first plurality of GNSS satellites, the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements, and the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements.)
(Zhodzishsky [0009] In an embodiment, a second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is received, in which the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by the rover from a second plurality of GNSS satellites at a second measurement epoch and GNSS signals received by the base from the second plurality of GNSS satellites at the second measurement epoch. A step is performed to verify whether the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is consistent for the second measurement epoch.)
means for removing, from each subsequent carrier phase measurement that corresponds to one of the combinations of satellite and frequency band, a corresponding one of the set of ambiguities to produce a set of ambiguity-removed carrier phase measurements;
(Zhodzishsky [0011] Upon verifying that the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is not consistent for the second measurement epoch, a plurality of first differences of corrected carrier phase measurements is computed by applying the first plurality of sub-corrections to the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements.
means for determining an estimate of position of the apparatus based on the set of ambiguity-removed carrier phase measurements.
(Zhodzishsky [0011] A second plurality of sub-corrections is computed, in which the second plurality of sub-corrections is based at least in part on the second fixed position of the rover, a position of the base, a position of each specific GNSS satellite in the second plurality of GNSS satellites, the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements, and the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the plurality of first differences of corrected carrier phase measurements.)
(Note: carrier phase ambiguities are resolved and gives a new fixed position for the “the apparatus” i.e. Rover in Zhodzishsky . It also gives updated corrections using Rover’s fixed position, the base station position, satellite positions, the different carrier phase measurements, and outputs an “ambiguity-removed” (ambiguity-resolved signal in Zhodzishsky).
Regarding Claim 18. Zhodzishsky et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 13
wherein the set of ambiguities comprises a float ambiguity list.
(Zhodzishsky [0158] in practice, the carrier phase ambiguities are first evaluated as floating-point numbers. The actual carrier phase ambiguities, however, are integer numbers. Herein, a fix process refers to a process for determining integer values of carrier phase ambiguities from floating-point values of carrier phase ambiguities.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,4,8,10,14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhodzishsky et al. (US 20170254904 A1) in view of Bao et al. (WO 2022154861 A1, hereinafter Bao).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhodzishsky et al teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the estimate of position of the apparatus is a subsequent estimate of position of the apparatus,
(Zhodzishsky [0008] A first fixed position of the rover is computed, in which the first fixed position of the rover is based at least in part on the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements.)
But does not teach
and the at least one processor is configured to determine each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the plurality of initial satellite signals based on the initial carrier phase measurement corresponding to the one of the plurality of initial satellite signals and based on an initial estimate, of position of the apparatus, velocity of the apparatus, and time, that is based on the initial carrier phase measurement for each of the plurality of initial satellite signals.
In a similar endeavor, Bao et al teaches
and the at least one processor is configured to determine each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the plurality of initial satellite signals based on the initial carrier phase measurement corresponding to the one of the plurality of initial satellite signals and based on an initial estimate, of position of the apparatus
(Bao [0067] The position (motion) device (PMD) 219 may be configured to determine a position and possibly motion of the UE 200),
velocity of the apparatus
(Bao [0067] may be configured to use to determine motion (e.g., a velocity vector and/or an acceleration vector) of the UE 200.),
and time,
(Bao [0082] Referring to FIG. 8, an example message flow 800 for time of arrival (ToA) based position flow between a user equipment 805 and a plurality of base stations is shown.)
that is based on the initial carrier phase measurement for each of the plurality of initial satellite signals.
(Bao [0008] an example apparatus according to the disclosure includes a memory, at least one transceiver, at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, and configured to determine one or more reference nodes based on a coarse location (Note: “estimate the position of the apparatus”) of a target user equipment …….)
(Bao [0009] the at least one processor may be further configured to provide the one or more compensation values to the target user equipment. The at least one processor may be further configured to determine one or more positioning reference signal resources based on the coarse location of the target user equipment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the apparatus of estimate of the position of the apparatus Zhodzishsky et al by incorporating memory, transceiver, processor, positioning device etc. disclosed by Bao et al, providing necessary resources to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled to determine each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the plurality of intial satellite signals.
Regarding Claim 4. Zhodzishsky et al teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the estimate of position of the apparatus is a portion of a subsequent estimate, of position of the apparatus, of velocity of the apparatus, and time,
(Zhodzishsky [0009] In an embodiment, a second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is received, in which the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by the rover from a second plurality of GNSS satellites at a second measurement epoch and GNSS signals received by the base from the second plurality of GNSS satellites at the second measurement epoch. A step is performed to verify whether the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is consistent for the second measurement epoch.)
(Note: in an embodiment, a second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is received, in which the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by the rover from a second plurality of GNSS satellites at a second measurement epoch (i.e “subsequent carrier phase measurement”) GNSS signals received by the base from the second plurality of GNSS satellites (i.e subsequent satellite signal”) at the second measurement epoch. A step is performed to verify whether the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is consistent for the second measurement epoch.)
But does not teach
and the at least one processor is configured to determine each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal based on the subsequent carrier phase measurement corresponding to the one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal and based on the subsequent estimate, of position of the apparatus, of velocity of the apparatus, and time, that is based on the subsequent carrier phase measurement for each of the at least one subsequent satellite signal.
In a similar endeavor, Bao et al teaches
and the at least one processor is configured to determine each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities
(Bao [0008] discloses example apparatus according to the disclosure includes a memory, at least one transceiver, at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, and configured to determine one or more reference nodes based on a coarse location (i.e “estimate the position of the apparatus”) of a target user equipment …….)
corresponding to one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal based on the subsequent carrier phase measurement corresponding to the one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal and based on the subsequent estimate, of position of the apparatus, of velocity of the apparatus, and time, that is based on the subsequent carrier phase measurement for each of the at least one subsequent satellite signal.
(Bao [0009] discloses the at least one processor may be further configured to provide the one or more compensation values to the target user equipment. The at least one processor may be further configured to determine one or more positioning reference signal resources based on the coarse location of the target user equipment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the method of estimate of the position of the apparatus Zhodzishsky et al by incorporating memory, transceiver, processor, positioning device etc. disclosed by Bao et al, providing necessary resources to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled to determine each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the plurality of intial satellite signals.
Regarding Claim 8. Zhodzishsky et al teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the estimate of position of the apparatus is a portion of a subsequent estimate, of position of the apparatus, of velocity of the apparatus, and time,
(Zhodzishsky [0008] A first fixed position of the rover is computed, in which the first fixed position of the rover is based at least in part on the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements.)
But does not teach
and the at least one processor is configured to determine each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the plurality of initial satellite signals based on the initial carrier phase measurement corresponding to the one of the plurality of initial satellite signals and based on an initial estimate, of position of the apparatus, velocity of the apparatus, and time, that is based on the initial carrier phase measurement for each of the plurality of initial satellite signals.
In a similar endeavor, Bao et al teaches
and the at least one processor is configured to determine each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the plurality of initial satellite signals based on the initial carrier phase measurement corresponding to the one of the plurality of initial satellite signals and based on an initial estimate, of position of the apparatus
(Bao [0067] The position (motion) device (PMD) 219 may be configured to determine a position and possibly motion of the UE 200),
velocity of the apparatus
(Bao [0067] may be configured to use to determine motion (e.g., a velocity vector and/or an acceleration vector) of the UE 200.),
and time,
(Bao [0082] Referring to FIG. 8, an example message flow 800 for time of arrival (ToA) based position flow between a user equipment 805 and a plurality of base stations is shown.)
that is based on the initial carrier phase measurement for each of the plurality of initial satellite signals.
(Bao [0008] an example apparatus according to the disclosure includes a memory, at least one transceiver, at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, and configured to determine one or more reference nodes based on a coarse location (Note: “estimate the position of the apparatus”) of a target user equipment …….)
(Bao [0009] the at least one processor may be further configured to provide the one or more compensation values to the target user equipment. The at least one processor may be further configured to determine one or more positioning reference signal resources based on the coarse location of the target user equipment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the apparatus of estimate of the position of the apparatus Zhodzishsky et al by incorporating memory, transceiver, processor, positioning device etc. disclosed by Bao et al, providing necessary resources to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled to determine each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the plurality of intial satellite signals.
Regarding Claim 10. Zhodzishsky et al teaches The method of claim 7, wherein the estimate of position of the apparatus is a portion of a subsequent estimate, of position of the apparatus, of velocity of the apparatus, and time,
(Zhodzishsky [0009] In an embodiment, a second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is received, in which the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by the rover from a second plurality of GNSS satellites at a second measurement epoch and GNSS signals received by the base from the second plurality of GNSS satellites at the second measurement epoch. A step is performed to verify whether the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is consistent for the second measurement epoch.)
(Note: in an embodiment, a second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is received, in which the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by the rover from a second plurality of GNSS satellites at a second measurement epoch (i.e “subsequent carrier phase measurement”) GNSS signals received by the base from the second plurality of GNSS satellites (i.e subsequent satellite signal”) at the second measurement epoch. A step is performed to verify whether the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is consistent for the second measurement epoch.)
But does not teach
and the method further comprises determining each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal based on the subsequent carrier phase measurement corresponding to the one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal and based on the subsequent estimate, of position of the apparatus, of velocity of the apparatus, and time, that is based on the subsequent carrier phase measurement for each of the at least one subsequent satellite signal.
In a similar endeavor, Bao et al teaches
and the method further comprises determining each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities
(Bao [0008] discloses example apparatus according to the disclosure includes a memory, at least one transceiver, at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, and configured to determine one or more reference nodes based on a coarse location (i.e “estimate the position of the apparatus”) of a target user equipment …….)
corresponding to one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal based on the subsequent carrier phase measurement corresponding to the one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal and based on the subsequent estimate, of position of the apparatus, of velocity of the apparatus, and time, that is based on the subsequent carrier phase measurement for each of the at least one subsequent satellite signal.
(Bao [0009] discloses the at least one processor may be further configured to provide the one or more compensation values to the target user equipment. The at least one processor may be further configured to determine one or more positioning reference signal resources based on the coarse location of the target user equipment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the method of estimate of the position of the apparatus Zhodzishsky et al by incorporating memory, transceiver, processor, positioning device etc. disclosed by Bao et al, providing necessary resources to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled to determine each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the plurality of intial satellite signals.
Regarding Claim 14. Zhodzishsky et al teaches:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the estimate of position of the apparatus is a subsequent estimate of position of the apparatus,
(Zhodzishsky [0008] A first fixed position of the rover is computed, in which the first fixed position of the rover is based at least in part on the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements.)
But does not teach
means for determining each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the plurality of initial satellite signals based on the initial carrier phase measurement corresponding to the one of the plurality of initial satellite signals and based on an initial estimate, of position of the apparatus, velocity of the apparatus, and time, that is based on the initial carrier phase measurement for each of the plurality of initial satellite signals.
In a similar endeavor, Bao et al teaches
means for determining each ambiguity each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the plurality of initial satellite signals based on the initial carrier phase measurement corresponding to the one of the plurality of initial satellite signals and based on an initial estimate, of position of the apparatus
(Bao [0067] The position (motion) device (PMD) 219 may be configured to determine a position and possibly motion of the UE 200),
velocity of the apparatus
(Bao [0067] may be configured to use to determine motion (e.g., a velocity vector and/or an acceleration vector) of the UE 200.),
and time,
(Bao [0082] Referring to FIG. 8, an example message flow 800 for time of arrival (ToA) based position flow between a user equipment 805 and a plurality of base stations is shown.)
that is based on the initial carrier phase measurement for each of the plurality of initial satellite signals.
(Bao [0008] an example apparatus according to the disclosure includes a memory, at least one transceiver, at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, and configured to determine one or more reference nodes based on a coarse location (Note: “estimate the position of the apparatus”) of a target user equipment …….
Bao [0009] the at least one processor may be further configured to provide the one or more compensation values to the target user equipment. The at least one processor may be further configured to determine one or more positioning reference signal resources based on the coarse location of the target user equipment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the method of estimate of the position of the apparatus Zhodzishsky et al by incorporating memory, transceiver, processor, positioning device etc. disclosed by Bao et al, providing necessary resources to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled to determine each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the plurality of intial satellite signals.
Regarding Claim 16. Zhodzishsky et al teaches The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the estimate of position of the apparatus is a portion of a subsequent estimate, of position of the apparatus, of velocity of the apparatus, and time,
(Zhodzishsky [0009] In an embodiment, a second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is received, in which the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by the rover from a second plurality of GNSS satellites at a second measurement epoch and GNSS signals received by the base from the second plurality of GNSS satellites at the second measurement epoch. A step is performed to verify whether the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is consistent for the second measurement epoch.)
(Note: in an embodiment, a second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is received, in which the second plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is based at least in part on GNSS signals received by the rover from a second plurality of GNSS satellites at a second measurement epoch (i.e “subsequent carrier phase measurement”) GNSS signals received by the base from the second plurality of GNSS satellites (i.e subsequent satellite signal”) at the second measurement epoch. A step is performed to verify whether the plurality of first differences of carrier phase ambiguities of the first plurality of first differences of carrier phase measurements is consistent for the second measurement epoch.)
But does not teach
and the apparatus further comprises means for determining each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal based on the subsequent carrier phase measurement corresponding to the one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal and based on the subsequent estimate, of position of the apparatus, of velocity of the apparatus, and time, that is based on the subsequent carrier phase measurement for each of the at least one subsequent satellite signal.
In a similar endeavor, Bao et al teaches
and the at least one processor is configured to determine each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities
(Bao [0008] discloses example apparatus according to the disclosure includes a memory, at least one transceiver, at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, and configured to determine one or more reference nodes based on a coarse location (i.e “estimate the position of the apparatus”) of a target user equipment …….)
corresponding to one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal based on the subsequent carrier phase measurement corresponding to the one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal and based on the subsequent estimate, of position of the apparatus, of velocity of the apparatus, and time, that is based on the subsequent carrier phase measurement for each of the at least one subsequent satellite signal.
(Bao [0009] discloses the at least one processor may be further configured to provide the one or more compensation values to the target user equipment. The at least one processor may be further configured to determine one or more positioning reference signal resources based on the coarse location of the target user equipment.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the method of estimate of the position of the apparatus Zhodzishsky et al by incorporating memory, transceiver, processor, positioning device etc. disclosed by Bao et al, providing necessary resources to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have enabled to determine each ambiguity, of the set of ambiguities, corresponding to one of the plurality of intial satellite signals.
Claims 3,5,9,11,15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhodzishsky et al. (US 20170254904 A1) and of Bao et al. (Document ID: WO 2022154861 A1, hereinafter Bao in view of Yu et al. (WO 2023129543 A1, hereinafter Yu).
Regarding Claim 3. The combination of Zhodzishsky et al. and Bao et al teaches the apparatus of claim 2
wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine each ambiguity corresponding to one of the plurality of initial satellite signals
But does not teach
by subtracting a geometry range and a receiver clock truth from a corresponding initial carrier phase measurement, the geometry range and the receiver clock truth being based on the initial estimate, of position of the apparatus, velocity of the apparatus, and time.
In a similar endeavor, Yu et al teaches
by subtracting a geometry range and a receiver clock truth from a corresponding initial carrier phase measurement,
(Yu [0026] Mobile object 1110 determines a position of mobile object 1110, using the received satellite navigation signals, and optionally the received satellite orbit correction information and satellite clock correction information, for the plurality of satellites. In some embodiments, received satellite navigation signals are processed by navigation signal receiver 1120, including analog signal processing circuitry 1122 and a digital signal processor 1124)
(Note: Yu discloses one processor 1124 [0026] process received satellite navigation signals which is interpreted as ‘geometry range’)
(Note: clock correction information is interpretated as ‘receiver clock truth’)
the geometry range and the receiver clock truth being based on the initial estimate, of position of the apparatus, velocity of the apparatus, and time.
(Yu [0008] The navigation module for the mobile object further comprises a navigation application module configured to: in accordance with the estimate of the clock error and the estimate of the respective carrier tracking error for each of the plurality of channels, compute position and velocity estimates for the mobile object;
(Note: The navigation module includes one or more processors (1124), a satellite receiver (1152) to receive satellite navigation signals from a plurality of satellites, and a plurality of channel tracking loops (i.e “plurality of initial satellite signals”). Each channel tracking loop of the plurality of channel tracking loops corresponds to a respective channel of a plurality of channels and includes a first error correction stage and a second error correction stage. Each channel tracking loop processes a corresponding satellite navigation signal of the received satellite navigation signals and is configured to: generate an estimate of clock error of a clock of the mobile object (i.e. “the receiver clock truth”) using a first error correction stage of the respective channel ….)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zhodzishsky et al and Bao et al by incorporating mobile object which utilizes signal receiver 1120, circuitry 1122, processor 1124 can calculate ‘geometry range’ clock correction (‘receiver clock truth’) disclosed by Yu et al.
The combination of Zhodzishsky et al. and Bao et al do not teach ‘geometry range’ and ‘receiving clock truth’ and as such how to determine each ambiguity corresponding to one of the plurality of satellite signals. As such the motivation to incorporate the Yu et al to ‘position’, ‘velocity’ and ‘clock error’ is to accomplish the determination of each ambiguity.
Regarding Claim 5. The combination of Zhodzishsky et al. and Bao et al teaches the apparatus of claim 4 and 16, method of claim 10,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine each ambiguity corresponding to one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal
But does not teach
by subtracting a geometry range and a receiver clock truth from a corresponding subsequent carrier phase measurement, the geometry range and the receiver clock truth being based on the subsequent estimate, of position of the apparatus, of velocity of the apparatus, and time.
In a similar endeavor, Yu et al teaches
by subtracting a geometry range and a receiver clock truth from a corresponding initial carrier phase measurement,
(Yu [0026] Mobile object 1110 determines a position of mobile object 1110, using the received satellite navigation signals, and optionally the received satellite orbit correction information and satellite clock correction information, for the plurality of satellites. In some embodiments, received satellite navigation signals are processed by navigation signal receiver 1120, including analog signal processing circuitry 1122 and a digital signal processor 1124)
(Note: Yu discloses one processor 1124 [0026] process received satellite navigation signals which is interpreted as ‘geometry range’)
(Note: clock correction information is interpretated as ‘receiver clock truth’)
the geometry range and the receiver clock truth being based on the initial estimate, of position of the apparatus, velocity of the apparatus, and time.
Yu [0008] The navigation module for the mobile object further comprises a navigation application module configured to: in accordance with the estimate of the clock error and the estimate of the respective carrier tracking error for each of the plurality of channels, compute position and velocity estimates for the mobile object;
(Note: The navigation module includes one or more processors (1124), a satellite receiver (1152) to receive satellite navigation signals from a plurality of satellites, and a plurality of channel tracking loops (i.e. “plurality of initial satellite signals”). Each channel tracking loop of the plurality of channel tracking loops corresponds to a respective channel of a plurality of channels and includes a first error correction stage and a second error correction stage. Each channel tracking loop processes a corresponding satellite navigation signal of the received satellite navigation signals and is configured to: generate an estimate of clock error of a clock of the mobile object (i.e “the receiver clock truth”) using a first error correction stage of the respective channel ….
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zhodzishsky et al and Bao et al by incorporating mobile object which utilizes signal receiver 1120, circuitry 1122, processor 1124 can calculate ‘geometry range’ clock correction (‘receiver clock truth’) disclosed by Yu et al.
The combination of Zhodzishsky et al. and Bao et al do not teach ‘geometry range’ and ‘receiving clock truth’ and as such how to determine each ambiguity corresponding to one of the plurality of satellite signals. As such the motivation to incorporate the Yu et al to ‘position’, ‘velocity’ and ‘clock error’ is to accomplish the determination of each ambiguity.
Regarding Claim 9. The combination of Zhodzishsky et al. and Bao et al teaches the method of claim 8,
wherein determining each ambiguity corresponding to one of the plurality of initial satellite signals
But does not teach
subtracting a geometry range and a receiver clock truth from a corresponding initial carrier phase measurement, the geometry range and the receiver clock truth being based on the initial estimate, of position of the apparatus, velocity of the apparatus, and time.
In a similar endeavor, Yu et al teaches
by subtracting a geometry range and a receiver clock truth from a corresponding initial carrier phase measurement,
(Yu [0026] Mobile object 1110 determines a position of mobile object 1110, using the received satellite navigation signals, and optionally the received satellite orbit correction information and satellite clock correction information, for the plurality of satellites. In some embodiments, received satellite navigation signals are processed by navigation signal receiver 1120, including analog signal processing circuitry 1122 and a digital signal processor 1124)
(Note: Yu discloses one processor 1124 [0026] process received satellite navigation signals which is interpreted as ‘geometry range’)
(Note: clock correction information is interpretated as ‘receiver clock truth’)
the geometry range and the receiver clock truth being based on the initial estimate, of position of the apparatus, velocity of the apparatus, and time.
(Yu [0008] The navigation module for the mobile object further comprises a navigation application module configured to: in accordance with the estimate of the clock error and the estimate of the respective carrier tracking error for each of the plurality of channels, compute position and velocity estimates for the mobile object;
(Note: The navigation module includes one or more processors (1124), a satellite receiver (1152) to receive satellite navigation signals from a plurality of satellites, and a plurality of channel tracking loops (i.e “plurality of initial satellite signals”). Each channel tracking loop of the plurality of channel tracking loops corresponds to a respective channel of a plurality of channels and includes a first error correction stage and a second error correction stage. Each channel tracking loop processes a corresponding satellite navigation signal of the received satellite navigation signals and is configured to: generate an estimate of clock error of a clock of the mobile object (i.e. “the receiver clock truth”) using a first error correction stage of the respective channel ….)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zhodzishsky et al and Bao et al by incorporating mobile object which utilizes signal receiver 1120, circuitry 1122, processor 1124 can calculate ‘geometry range’ clock correction (‘receiver clock truth’) disclosed by Yu et al.
The combination of Zhodzishsky et al. and Bao et al do not teach ‘geometry range’ and ‘receiving clock truth’ and as such how to determine each ambiguity corresponding to one of the plurality of satellite signals. As such the motivation to incorporate the Yu et al to ‘position’, ‘velocity’ and ‘clock error’ is to accomplish the determination of each ambiguity.
Regarding Claim 11. The combination of Zhodzishsky et al. and Bao et al teaches the, method of claim 10,
wherein determining each ambiguity corresponding to one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal
But does not teach
subtracting a geometry range and a receiver clock truth from a corresponding subsequent carrier phase measurement, the geometry range and the receiver clock truth being based on the subsequent estimate, of position of the apparatus, of velocity of the apparatus, and time.
In a similar endeavor, Yu et al teaches
subtracting a geometry range and a receiver clock truth from a corresponding initial carrier phase measurement,
(Yu [0026] Mobile object 1110 determines a position of mobile object 1110, using the received satellite navigation signals, and optionally the received satellite orbit correction information and satellite clock correction information, for the plurality of satellites. In some embodiments, received satellite navigation signals are processed by navigation signal receiver 1120, including analog signal processing circuitry 1122 and a digital signal processor 1124)
(Note: Yu discloses one processor 1124 [0026] process received satellite navigation signals which is interpreted as ‘geometry range’)
(Note: clock correction information is interpretated as ‘receiver clock truth’)
the geometry range and the receiver clock truth being based on the initial estimate, of position of the apparatus, velocity of the apparatus, and time.
(Yu [0008] The navigation module for the mobile object further comprises a navigation application module configured to: in accordance with the estimate of the clock error and the estimate of the respective carrier tracking error for each of the plurality of channels, compute position and velocity estimates for the mobile object;)
(Note: The navigation module includes one or more processors (1124), a satellite receiver (1152) to receive satellite navigation signals from a plurality of satellites, and a plurality of channel tracking loops (i.e. “plurality of initial satellite signals”). Each channel tracking loop of the plurality of channel tracking loops corresponds to a respective channel of a plurality of channels and includes a first error correction stage and a second error correction stage. Each channel tracking loop processes a corresponding satellite navigation signal of the received satellite navigation signals and is configured to: generate an estimate of clock error of a clock of the mobile object (i.e “the receiver clock truth”) using a first error correction stage of the respective channel ….)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zhodzishsky et al and Bao et al by incorporating mobile object which utilizes signal receiver 1120, circuitry 1122, processor 1124 can calculate ‘geometry range’ clock correction (‘receiver clock truth’) disclosed by Yu et al.
The combination of Zhodzishsky et al. and Bao et al do not teach ‘geometry range’ and ‘receiving clock truth’ and as such how to determine each ambiguity corresponding to one of the plurality of satellite signals. As such the motivation to incorporate the Yu et al to ‘position’, ‘velocity’ and ‘clock error’ is to accomplish the determination of each ambiguity.
Regarding Claim 15. The combination of Zhodzishsky et al. and Bao et al teaches the apparatus of claim 14,
wherein the means for determining each ambiguity corresponding to one of the plurality of initial satellite signals
But does not teach
means for subtracting a geometry range and a receiver clock truth from a corresponding initial carrier phase measurement, the geometry range and the receiver clock truth being based on the initial estimate, of position of the apparatus, velocity of the apparatus, and time.
In a similar endeavor, Yu et al teaches
by subtracting a geometry range and a receiver clock truth from a corresponding initial carrier phase measurement,
(Yu [0026] Mobile object 1110 determines a position of mobile object 1110, using the received satellite navigation signals, and optionally the received satellite orbit correction information and satellite clock correction information, for the plurality of satellites. In some embodiments, received satellite navigation signals are processed by navigation signal receiver 1120, including analog signal processing circuitry 1122 and a digital signal processor 1124)
(Note: Yu discloses one processor 1124 [0026] process received satellite navigation signals which is interpreted as ‘geometry range’)
(Note: clock correction information is interpretated as ‘receiver clock truth’)
the geometry range and the receiver clock truth being based on the initial estimate, of position of the apparatus, velocity of the apparatus, and time.
(Yu [0008] The navigation module for the mobile object further comprises a navigation application module configured to: in accordance with the estimate of the clock error and the estimate of the respective carrier tracking error for each of the plurality of channels, compute position and velocity estimates for the mobile object;
(Note: The navigation module includes one or more processors (1124), a satellite receiver (1152) to receive satellite navigation signals from a plurality of satellites, and a plurality of channel tracking loops (i.e “plurality of initial satellite signals”). Each channel tracking loop of the plurality of channel tracking loops corresponds to a respective channel of a plurality of channels and includes a first error correction stage and a second error correction stage. Each channel tracking loop processes a corresponding satellite navigation signal of the received satellite navigation signals and is configured to: generate an estimate of clock error of a clock of the mobile object (i.e. “the receiver clock truth”) using a first error correction stage of the respective channel ….)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zhodzishsky et al and Bao et al by incorporating mobile object which utilizes signal receiver 1120, circuitry 1122, processor 1124 can calculate ‘geometry range’ clock correction (‘receiver clock truth’) disclosed by Yu et al.
The combination of Zhodzishsky et al. and Bao et al do not teach ‘geometry range’ and ‘receiving clock truth’ and as such how to determine each ambiguity corresponding to one of the plurality of satellite signals. As such the motivation to incorporate the Yu et al to ‘position’, ‘velocity’ and ‘clock error’ is to accomplish the determination of each ambiguity.
Regarding Claim 17. The combination of Zhodzishsky et al. and Bao et al teaches the apparatus of claim 16,
wherein the means of determining each ambiguity corresponding to one of the at least one subsequent satellite signal
But does not teach
means for subtracting a geometry range and a receiver clock truth from a corresponding subsequent carrier phase measurement, the geometry range and the receiver clock truth being based on the subsequent estimate, of position of the apparatus, of velocity of the apparatus, and time.
In a similar endeavor, Yu et al teaches
means for subtracting a geometry range and a receiver clock truth from a corresponding initial carrier phase measurement,
(Yu [0026] Mobile object 1110 determines a position of mobile object 1110, using the received satellite navigation signals, and optionally the received satellite orbit correction information and satellite clock correction information, for the plurality of satellites. In some embodiments, received satellite navigation signals are processed by navigation signal receiver 1120, including analog signal processing circuitry 1122 and a digital signal processor 1124)
(Note: Yu discloses one processor 1124 [0026] process received satellite navigation signals which is interpreted as ‘geometry range’)
(Note: clock correction information is interpretated as ‘receiver clock truth’)
the geometry range and the receiver clock truth being based on the initial estimate, of position of the apparatus, velocity of the apparatus, and time.
Yu [0008] The navigation module for the mobile object further comprises a navigation application module configured to: in accordance with the estimate of the clock error and the estimate of the respective carrier tracking error for each of the plurality of channels, compute position and velocity estimates for the mobile object;
(Note: The navigation module includes one or more processors (1124), a satellite receiver (1152) to receive satellite navigation signals from a plurality of satellites, and a plurality of channel tracking loops (i.e. “plurality of initial satellite signals”). Each channel tracking loop of the plurality of channel tracking loops corresponds to a respective channel of a plurality of channels and includes a first error correction stage and a second error correction stage. Each channel tracking loop processes a corresponding satellite navigation signal of the received satellite navigation signals and is configured to: generate an estimate of clock error of a clock of the mobile object (i.e “the receiver clock truth”) using a first error correction stage of the respective channel ….
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Zhodzishsky et al and Bao et al by incorporating mobile object which utilizes signal receiver 1120, circuitry 1122, processor 1124 can calculate ‘geometry range’ clock correction (‘receiver clock truth’) disclosed by Yu et al.
The combination of Zhodzishsky et al. and Bao et al do not teach ‘geometry range’ and ‘receiving clock truth’ and as such how to determine each ambiguity corresponding to one of the plurality of satellite signals. As such the motivation to incorporate the Yu et al to ‘position’, ‘velocity’ and ‘clock error’ is to accomplish the determination of each ambiguity.
Conclusion
/RANA H MAHMUD/ Acting Patent Examiner of Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644