DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greene, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0050619 in view of Havenor et al., U.S. Patent 12,000,521.
Regarding claim 1, Greene discloses a protective device for a pipe comprising: providing a device (10) comprising: a mesh portion (12) having an upper edge portion (16), a lower edge portion (14), a right edge (edge comprising 28), and a left edge (edge distal from 28); an upper strap (28) coupled to a portion of the lower edge portion and further extends away from the right edge; wrapping the mesh portion around the pipe such that the lower edge of the mesh portion is in contact with the floor (24) and covering the floor penetration (see Fig. 4); and upon wrapping, fasten the upper strap to secure the device around the pipe (paragraph 21), but does not disclose a lower strap, fastening of the lower strap. Havenor teaches both an upper strap and a lower strap for securing a device to a conduit (see Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a lower strap similar to the upper strap for a simplified assembly/disassembly process, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 4, Greene discloses a protective device for a pipe, comprising: a mesh portion (12) having an upper edge portion (16), a lower edge portion (14), a right edge (edge comprising 28), and a left edge (edge distal to 28); an upper strap (28) coupled to a portion of the upper edge portion and further extends away from the right edge; but does not disclose a lower strap coupled to a portion of the lower edge portion and further extends away from the right edge. Havenor teaches both an upper strap and a lower strap for securing a device to a conduit (see Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a lower strap similar to the upper strap for a simplified assembly/disassembly process, and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greene, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0050619 in view of Havenor et al., U.S. Patent 12,000,521 and Ellis, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0150353.
Regarding claims 2 and 5, the prior art as modified discloses a protective device for a pipe, but does not disclose wherein the device further comprises upper D rings and lower D rings, the upper D rings are for fastening the upper strap, and the lower D rings are for fastening the lower straps. Ellis teaches a covering device utilizing D-rings for fastening the device (paragraph 92). It would have been obvious to on e having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate D-rings at the upper and the lower straps as an effective securing means.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, the prior art as modified discloses a protective device for a pipe but does not disclose wherein the device further comprises hook and loop fasteners for securing the free ends of the upper strap and the lower strap. Havenor teaches the use of hook and loop fasteners (152a, 152b) for securing straps of a device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize hook and loops fasteners on the straps to further secure them to the device.
Conclusion
GISELE D. FORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/GISELE D FORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3633