DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: locking means in claim 1. That said “locking means” in claim 2 is interpreted as means plus function as claim 2 does not recite additional structure of the locking means.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 7,441,995 to Sobota.
Regarding claims 1 and 10 Sobota discloses a lift device for vehicles for wheelchair users (or a vehicle having a lift device), comprising; a roll-over flap (70), wherein the roll-over flap is mounted rotatably relative to a lifting platform (12), the lifting platform for loading with a load, a support arm (10) for raising and lowering the load to a desired position, wherein the support arm has a first sub-arm (14) and a second sub-arm (30) which are rotatably coupled to one another, and wherein the second sub-arm (30) of the support arm is rotatably connected to the lifting platform and the roll-over flap, wherein the lift device is configured to extend or retract the roll-over flap and to lock the roll-over flap in at least one position, wherein the extending or retracting and the locking are carried out according to the position of the lifting platform and the support arm (see figures 7-8) , the lift device further comprising: a telescopic rod that (40) is configured with a first inner rod (40b), a second outer rod (40a), and a spring (120), and a locking means (200) is provided, wherein the locking means is disposed on the telescopic rod (see figure 7) and is adapted to lock the roll-over flap, wherein the locking means is designed as a pawl, and the pawl (214) engages with the telescopic rod (see figure 7) in such a way during locking that the first inner rod of the telescopic rod is no longer movable relative to the second outer rod (lock passes through both inner and outer rod preventing relative motion between the 2), and the inner rod of the telescopic rod has a projection or piston (see 112 on 40b), wherein the pawl locks the projection or piston during locking (figure 7).
Regarding claim 3 Sobota discloses the lift device has a pull rod which is configured to actuate the locking means according to an orientation of the support arm (see 210 and figure 7).
Regarding claim 4 Sobota discloses a stop member with a slider (42), which is rotatably connected to the telescopic rod (at 62) and the pull rod (210 see figure 7b) and is rotatably connected via a bar (see figure 7) to the second sub-arm (30) of the support arm ,wherein the stop member with a slider rests against the first sub-arm of the support arm and, by changing an angle (a) between the first and second sub-arms of the support arm, transfers a force to the pull rod, thus actuating the locking means (see figure 8 and cam action of 230 along 42).
Regarding claim 5 Sobota discloses the slider (42) is attached rotatably or pivotably by a rotary joint (62) to the telescopic rod, such that the slider can be positioned in different rotational positions relative to the support arm (see figures 7-8).
Regarding claim 6 Sobota discloses a section of the slider on one side of the rotary joint is longer and/or heavier than the section at an opposite end of the slider (see figure 7b 62 is offset from center of 42).
Regarding claim 7 Sobota discloses a handle (see figure 7) to hold onto for the person or load to be lifted, and which is attached, with limited rotatability relative to the bar (see figure 7) and the second sub-arm (30) of the support arm, at an attachment point of the bar to the second sub-arm of the support arm.
Regarding claim 8 Sobota discloses a roll-over flap guide (80) which is rotatably connected to the telescopic rod and the roll-over flap (see figures 7-8).
Regarding claim 9 Sobota discloses the roll-over flap guide (80) has an elongate hole (see figures 7 and 8) and is connected to the telescopic rod via the elongate hole (see connection of 80 to 40a).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 11-17 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior fails to disclose the claimed locking means which is actuated by a torque induced by a weight balance of a component to which is connected when those limitations are considered in combination with the other limitations of claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited references show other locking arrangements for roll-over plates.
/MARK C HAGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652