DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed June 23, 2025 for the above identified patent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otake (JP 2006-110641) in view of Nishida (JP 10-6366).
Otake teaches a robot arm (91) that has, at both ends of a cylindrical arm body, mounting interface portions (94,95) for mounting the robot arm to another member. Otake does not teach the claimed method for making the robot arm.
The prior art to Nishida teaches a manufacturing method for making hollow bodies, the method comprising: molding a first part (4) that has a mounting interface portion (10) and a section of the arm body (pipe portion 2) in a longitudinal axis direction thereof, and of which at least a section of an outer surface is formed of a resin (see description at [0022] and elsewhere); molding a second part (5) that has a mounting interface portion (10’) and a section of the arm body (pipe portion 2) in a longitudinal axis direction thereof, and of which at least a section of an outer surface is formed of a resin (see description at [0022] and elsewhere); and joining the molded first part and the molded second part to each other in a positioned state, wherein the first part and the second part are fixed in a same forming mold (30,40) in a positioned state and then integrally joined so as to form a final shape of the robot arm (Fig. 8), wherein the first part and second part for formed by injection molding resin (see description at [0022] and elsewhere).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to make the arm of Otake with the forming methods disclosed by Nishida, motivation being to form a lightweight hollow member having a predetermined strength for a particular robotic device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 23, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the method of making the pipe portion 2 of Nishida would not form the claimed invention. Unlike the present invention, Nishida teaches the first and second pipe split elements 4,5 is formed along the entire length of the longitudinal axis direction of the pipe portion 2. Applicant argues the first and second pipe split elements 4,5, of the Nishida patent do not correspond to the first and second parts recited in claim 1.
It is acknowledged that the cylindrical arm body of Nishida is formed by two components 4,5, joined together along a joining line 6. However, the claims fail to clearly distinguish from the pipe member of Nishida, such as defining the “first part” as having a section of the arm body formed as a circular pipe, or the “second part” having a section of the arm body formed as a circular pipe. Accordingly, the claims fail to distinguish over the prior art.
In view of the amendment, Nishida teaches the first part having a section of the arm body 4 in a longitudinal axis, and a second part having a section of the arm body 5 in a longitudinal axis.
In view of the foregoing, the claims are properly rejected in view of the robot arm of Otake made with the method steps taught by Nishida.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 3, the prior art does not teach a robot arm formed by the methods of molding a first part, molding a second part, molding a third cylindrical part, disposing the third part between the molded first and second parts, then joining the parts to one another in a positional state, wherein the first, second and third parts are formed by injection molding or press molding. The final rejection (mailed 2/3/25) based on Pierrot et al. (CN 101977737) modified with Pazdirek et al. (USP 6,398,446) does not teach disposing the third part between the molded first and second parts prior to joining the parts to one another in a positional state, or forming the third part by injection molding or press molding. With respect to claim 5, the prior art does not teach disposing the third part between the molded first part and the molded second part prior to joining them together a positioned state; wherein the first part, the second part, and the third part are fixed in a same forming mold in a positioned state and are then integrally joined so as to form a final shape of the robot arm. Accordingly, the claims are allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618