DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted by Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fletcher (U.S. Pre Grant Pub. No. 2004/0064126 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fletcher teaches A method comprising:
positioning a first end of a cloth material at an initial position (see for example back side panels 134 in Fig. 1 and para. [0066]; as broadly recited, the back side panels 134 are in an initial position; additionally para. [0073 and 0077] teach various components of the diaper being made of fabric, which is a cloth), wherein the first end is a bendable material (as broadly recited, virtually any material is bendable to a certain degree; para. [0073 and 0077] teach various components of the diaper being made of fabric, which is bendable);
configuring a first connector on a top end of the first end of the cloth material (see fastening component 83 in Fig. 1), wherein the first connector is adjacent to an area positioned to receive one or more liquids (as seen in Fig. 2, fastening component 83 is adjacent the area where the absorbent chassis 32 is located; as broadly recited, the connector does not have to be directly adjacent the absorbent chassis area; additionally, para. [0069] teaches that absorbent chassis absorbs exudates, which includes urine) in set time intervals or random time intervals (as broadly recited, this limitation is met at least because a user, specifically a child, cannot control when they release their exudates, which may be at set time intervals or at random time intervals); and
positioning a second connector (see fastening component 85 in Fig. 1) adjacent to the area receiving the one or more liquids (as seen in Fig. 2, fastening component 85 is adjacent absorbent chassis 32; as broadly recited, the connector does not have to be directly adjacent the absorbent chassis; additionally, para. [0069] teaches that absorbent chassis absorbs exudates, which includes urine), wherein the second connector is configured to connect with the first connector (see at least para. [0089]) to secure the one or more liquids within the area (as broadly recited, when worn and when the fastenings components are mated together, liquid will be secured within the absorbent chassis).
Regarding claim 2, Fletcher teaches the method of claim 1. Additionally, Fletcher teaches further comprising: opening the first and second connectors at various time intervals (as broadly recited, this limitation is met at least because a user, specifically a child, cannot control when they release their exudates; therefore, the diaper would need to be changed at various time intervals, which comprises opening the first and second connectors).
Regarding claim 3, Fletcher teaches the method of claim 1. Additionally, Fletcher teaches further comprising: positioning an interior region to hold the one or more liquids in place within the area (see for example absorbent chassis 32 in Fig. 2 and para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 4, Fletcher teaches the method of claim 1. Additionally, Fletcher teaches further comprising: folding a second end of the cloth material to connect the second connector to the first connector (as broadly recited, this method step can be achieved by folding the diaper at a longitudinal centerpoint, such across an imaginary line between numeral 44 and numeral 58 in Fig. 3, such that fastening components 83 and 85 attach to one another; see also para. [0090]).
Regarding claim 5, Fletcher teaches the method of claim 1. Additionally, Fletcher teaches further comprising: configuring the first end of the cloth material to be in contact with a second end of the cloth material to secure the one or more liquids in the area (a second end of the cloth material can be within the bodyside liner 42 in Fig. 1 at the area directly adjacent fastening component 85; as broadly recited, when worn and when the fastenings components are mated together, liquid will be secured within the absorbent chassis).
Regarding claim 6, Fletcher teaches the method of claim 1. Additionally, Fletcher teaches further comprising: folding the first end of the cloth material over the first and second connectors to secure the one or more liquids in the area (as broadly recited, and as shown in Fig. 1, back side panels 134 fold over front side panels 34 such that the back side panels 134 are positioned over the first and second connectors 83, 85; additionally, fastening the front 34 and back 134 side panels secures the absorbent chassis which secures the liquids).
Regarding claim 7, Fletcher teaches the method of claim 1. Additionally, Fletcher teaches further comprising: removing the one or more liquids from the area at a set time interval (this can be accomplished by removing the diaper from a wearer at a set time interval).
Regarding claim 8, Fletcher teaches A method comprising:
configuring a first connector (see fastening component 83 in Fig. 1) at an initial position on a cloth like material (see for example back side panels 134 in Fig. 1 and para. [0066]; as broadly recited, the back side panels 134 are in an initial position; additionally para. [0073 and 0077] teach various components of the diaper being made of fabric, which is a cloth);
placing a receiving pouch to be adjacent to the first connector (as seen in Fig. 2, fastening component 83 is adjacent the absorbent chassis 32; as broadly recited, the connector does not have to be directly adjacent the absorbent chassis area), wherein the receiving pouch is configured to receive liquids (para. [0069] teaches that absorbent chassis absorbs exudates, which includes urine) in various time intervals (as broadly recited, this limitation is met at least because a user, specifically a child, cannot control when they release their exudates, which may be at set time intervals or at random time intervals), and store the liquids in place (see para. [0069]) in the various time intervals (such as when a child urinates; as broadly recited, urination happens at various time intervals) while being in contact with the first connector (as broadly recited, the contact does not have to be a direct contact; fastening component 83 and absorbent chassis 32 are considered to be in contact);
configuring a second connector (see fastening component 85) at a position opposite to the initial position of the first connector (see front side panels 34 in Fig. 2), wherein the second connector is positioned to secure the liquids in place within the receiving pouch (as broadly recited, when worn and when the fastenings components are mated together, liquid will be secured within the absorbent chassis).
Regarding claim 9, Fletcher teaches the method of claim 8. Additionally, Fletcher teaches further comprising: connecting the first connector with the second connector (see at least para. [0089]) to secure the liquids within the receiving pouch (as broadly recited, when worn and when the fastenings components are mated together, liquid will be secured within the absorbent chassis).
Regarding claim 10, Fletcher teaches the method of claim 8. Additionally, Fletcher teaches further comprising: folding a portion of the cloth to remove the liquids from the receiving pouch (as broadly recited, when removing the diaper from a wearer, back side panels 134 are folded away from front side panels 34 thereby enabling a caregiver to remove the diaper which leads to the removal of liquids from the absorbent chassis through, for example, evaporation).
Regarding claim 11, Fletcher teaches the method of claim 8. Additionally, Fletcher teaches further comprising: position a first and second portion of the cloth to be in contact to secure the liquids within the receiving pouch (as shown in at least Fig. 1, when front side panels 34 and back side panels 134 are mated together, liquid will be secured within the absorbent chassis).
Regarding claim 12, Fletcher teaches the method of claim 8. Additionally, Fletcher teaches further comprising: folding a first and second portion of the cloth to secure the liquids within the receiving pouch (as broadly recited, and as shown in Fig. 1, back side panels 134 fold over front side panels 34 such that the back side panels 134 are positioned over the first and second connectors 83, 85; additionally, fastening the front 34 and back 134 side panels secures the absorbent chassis which secures the liquids).
Regarding claim 13, Fletcher teaches the method of claim 8. Additionally, Fletcher teaches further comprising: positioning a first portion of the cloth over the second portion of the cloth to secure the liquids in the receiving pouch (as broadly recited, and as shown in Fig. 1, back side panels 134 fold over front side panels 34 such that the back side panels 134 are positioned over the first and second connectors 83, 85; additionally, fastening the front 34 and back 134 side panels secures the absorbent chassis which secures the liquids).
Regarding claim 14, Fletcher teaches the method of claim 8. Additionally, Fletcher teaches further comprising: folding a bottom portion of the cloth to place the first connector to be adjacent to the second connector (as broadly recited, this method step can be achieved by folding the diaper at a longitudinal centerpoint, such across an imaginary line between numeral 44 and numeral 58 in Fig. 3, such that fastening components 83 and 85 attach to one another; see also para. [0090]).
Regarding claim 15, Fletcher teaches A system (see diaper in Fig. 1) comprising:
a first end of a cloth material positioned at an initial position (see for example back side panels 134 in Fig. 1 and para. [0066]; as broadly recited, the back side panels 134 are in an initial position; additionally para. [0073 and 0077] teach various components of the diaper being made of fabric, which is a cloth), wherein the first end is a bendable material (as broadly recited, virtually any material is bendable to a certain degree; para. [0073 and 0077] teach various components of the diaper being made of fabric, which is bendable);
a first connector configured on a top end of the first end of the cloth material (see fastening component 83 in Fig. 1), wherein the first connector is adjacent to an area positioned to receive one or more liquids (as seen in Fig. 2, fastening component 83 is adjacent the area where the absorbent chassis 32 is located; as broadly recited, the connector does not have to be directly adjacent the absorbent chassis area; additionally, para. [0069] teaches that absorbent chassis absorbs exudates, which includes urine) in set time intervals or random time intervals (as broadly recited, this limitation is met at least because a user, specifically a child, cannot control when they release their exudates, which may be at set time intervals or at random time intervals); and
a second connector (see fastening component 85 in Fig. 1) positioned adjacent to the area receiving the one or more liquids (as seen in Fig. 2, fastening component 85 is adjacent absorbent chassis 32; as broadly recited, the connector does not have to be directly adjacent the absorbent chassis; additionally, para. [0069] teaches that absorbent chassis absorbs exudates, which includes urine), wherein the second connector is configured to connect with the first connector (see at least para. [0089]) to secure the one or more liquids within the area (as broadly recited, when worn and when the fastenings components are mated together, liquid will be secured within the absorbent chassis).
Regarding claim 16, Fletcher teaches the system of claim 15. Additionally, Fletcher teaches wherein the first connector is placed in contact with the second connector (see at least para. [0089]) to hold the one or more liquids within the area (as broadly recited, when worn and when the fastenings components are mated together, liquid will be secured within the absorbent chassis).
Regarding claim 17, Fletcher teaches the system of claim 15. Additionally, Fletcher teaches wherein a second end of the cloth material is folded toward the first end of the cloth material to connect the first connector and the second connector (as broadly recited, this is anticipated by folding the diaper at a longitudinal centerpoint, such across an imaginary line between numeral 44 and numeral 58 in Fig. 3, such that fastening components 83 and 85 attach to one another; see also para. [0090]).
Regarding claim 18, Fletcher teaches the system of claim 15. Additionally, Fletcher teaches wherein a bottom portion of the cloth material is folded in an upward direction to connect the first connector with the second connector (as broadly recited, this is anticipated by folding the diaper at a longitudinal centerpoint, such across an imaginary line between numeral 44 and numeral 58 in Fig. 3, such that fastening components 83 and 85 attach to one another; see also para. [0090]).
Regarding claim 19, Fletcher teaches the system of claim 15. Additionally, Fletcher teaches wherein one or more interior regions of the cloth provide support for the first and second connectors (as broadly recited, front 34 and back side panels 134 are interior regions of the cloth and provide support for the first and second connectors 83, 85, as shown in Fig. 2, for example; additionally, other interior regions can be provided, such as front and back waist regions 22 and 24, which also provide support for the first and second connectors) as additional liquid is added to the area between the first and second connectors (at least inherent since additional liquid would be added when the device is worn; therefore, the various interior regions would give support to the first and second connectors when a user is urinating).
Regarding claim 20, Fletcher teaches the system of claim 15. Additionally, Fletcher teaches wherein one or more interior regions between the first and second connector (as broadly recited, front 34 and back side panels 134 are interior regions of the cloth and provide support for the first and second connectors 83, 85, as shown in Fig. 2, for example; additionally, other interior regions can be provided, such as front and back waist regions 22 and 24, which also provide support for the first and second connectors) secure the one or more liquids for set or random time intervals (as broadly recited, this limitation is met at least because a user, specifically a child, cannot control when they release their exudates; therefore, the diaper would need to be changed at various time intervals, which results in the securement of liquids for a set or random time intervals; for example, if a caregiver were to replace the diaper based on whether a user has released exudates and/or based on how long the diaper has been worn).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LeMahieu (U.S. Patent No. 5,620,431 A) – Absorbent Article With Elasticized Leg Cuffs
Weber (U.S. Patent No. 6,352,528 B1) - Absorbent Articles Including Hidden Graphics
/JIHAD DAKKAK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/JESSICA ARBLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781