DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 14-15, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bhat (Pub No 20110320577)
Regarding claim 1 and 14 and 23,
Bhat teaches a method comprising:
at a router, receiving a wireless message from a first communication device connected to a first local area network supported by the router; (interpreted as communication system 200 includes the two local area networks (LANs) 112 and 114 connected to one another through gateway redundancy group 116, see para [0038])
based on an identity of the first communication device, selecting a first gateway network address amongst multiple gateway network addresses in which to forward first communications received from the first communication device to at least one destination outside of the first local area network; and (interpreted as When AVG 126a receives an ARP request from a host 118c, AVG 126a considers the location of host 118c on LAN 114 and selects a gateway 126a or 126c that is on the same side of the DCI as the host 118c, see para [0040]. Also see In a particular embodiment, when AVG 126a receives an ARP request from a host 118, AVG 126a may identify the layer-2 port from where the ARP request is received, see para [0032]. Also see host 118 on LAN 112 seeks to communicate with a host 122 on LAN 114, see para [0020]))
assigning the first gateway network address to the first communication device for delivery of the first communications from the first communication device to the at least one destination. (interpreted as AVG 126a instructs the ARPing host 118 to address outgoing communications to the vMAC address assigned to the selected gateway device 126, see para [0028])
Regarding claim 2 and 15,
Bhat teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein the first local area network supports conveyance of second communications amongst multiple communication devices connected to the first local area network, the second communications transmitted within the first local area network, the multiple communication devices including the first communication device and a second communication device. (interpreted as While hosts 118 and 122 may communicate with each other over a layer-2 network, gateway redundancy group 116 provides for layer-3 network communication. Stated differently, in particular embodiments, gateway redundancy group 116 operates as a layer-3 router to allow hosts 118 and 122 to communicate with devices using layer-3 links 128, see para [0022])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8, 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhat (Pub No 20110320577) further in view of Maattanen (Pub No 20180262465)
Regarding claim 3 and 16,
Bhat teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein the first gateway network address is assigned to support conveyance of the first communications between the router and a remote termination node, the first gateway network address supporting conveyance of the first communications (interpreted as instructs the ARPing host 118 to address outgoing communications to the vMAC address assigned to the selected gateway device 126. Host 118 then uses the vMAC address of the selected gateway device 126 to forward network traffic to gateway redundancy group 116 via a data-link layer transfer, see para [0028])
However Bhat does not teach over a secure tunnel between the router and the remote termination node.
Maattanen teaches over a secure tunnel between the router and the remote termination node. (interpreted as a wireless local area network (WLAN) in a manner transparent to the WLAN. The method comprises sending a message, to a wireless communication device served over the WWAN by the base station, to establish a secure tunnel through the WLAN between the security gateway and the wireless communication device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Bhat with the tunnel as taught by Maattanen with the motivation being to provide security in the transmission.
Regarding claim 4 and 17,
Bhat teaches the method as in claim 3, wherein the remote termination node is a wireless access gateway. (interpreted as gateway devices 126a and 126c maintain a vPC connection with switch 124 on the access side while maintaining a vPC connection with gateway devices 126b and 126d on the data center interconnect (hereinafter "DCI") side, see para [0023])
Regarding claim 5 and 18,
Bhat teaches the method as in claim 3 further comprising: transmitting the first communications from the router via the selected first gateway network address to the at least one destination. (interpreted as layer-3 traffic originating from hosts 118 on LAN 112 must traverse the DCI link to reach layer-3 links 128 and its ultimate layer-3 destinations. Similarly, if hosts 122 are provided a vMAC address that is active in either of gateway devices 126b and 126d, the layer-3 traffic from hosts 122 must traverse the DCI interfaces, see para [0030])
However Bhat does not teach over a secure tunnel.
Maattanen teaches over a secure tunnel. (interpreted as For another example, a hypervisor can tunnel a packet to a service node, which can encapsulate that packet and forward it using a secure VPN tunnel to a gateway in a remote customer premises, see para [0016])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Bhat with the tunnel as taught by Maattanen with the motivation being to provide security in the transmission.
Regarding claim 6 and 19,
Bhat teaches the method as in claim 1 however does not teach further comprising: receiving the first communications as encapsulated messages generated by the first communication device; and transmitting the first communications from the router through a secure tunnel associated with the first gateway network address for delivery to the at least one destination.
Maattanen teaches further comprising: receiving the first communications as encapsulated messages generated by the first communication device; and transmitting the first communications from the router through a secure tunnel associated with the first gateway network address for delivery to the at least one destination. (interpreted as a The ePDG 42 also performs de-capsulation and encapsulation of packets for IPSec, and if network based mobility (S2b) is used, for GTP or PMIPv6 tunnels, see para [0068])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Bhat with the tunnel as taught by Maattanen with the motivation being to provide security in the transmission.
Regarding claim 7 and 20,
Bhat teaches the method as in claim 1, however does not teach wherein the first local area network is a first wireless network; wherein the wireless message is received from the first communication device over the first local area network supported by the router, the first local area network providing wireless connectivity of the first communication device to a second communication device in the wireless network through the router, the method further comprising: transmitting the first communications as with the first gateway network address to the at least one destination. (interpreted as layer-3 traffic originating from hosts 118 on LAN 112 must traverse the DCI link to reach layer-3 links 128 and its ultimate layer-3 destinations. Similarly, if hosts 122 are provided a vMAC address that is active in either of gateway devices 126b and 126d, the layer-3 traffic from hosts 122 must traverse the DCI interfaces, see para [0030])
However Bhat does not teach encapsulated messages over a secure tunnel associated
Maattanen teaches encapsulated messages over a secure tunnel associated. (interpreted as a The ePDG 42 also performs de-capsulation and encapsulation of packets for IPSec, and if network based mobility (S2b) is used, for GTP or PMIPv6 tunnels, see para [0068])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Bhat with the tunnel as taught by Maattanen with the motivation being to provide security in the transmission.
Regarding claim 8 and 21,
Bhat teaches the method as in claim 1, teach wherein receiving the message includes receiving the message in a signal transmitted from the first communication device to the router. (interpreted as When AVG 126a receives an ARP request from a host 118c, AVG 126a considers the location of host 118c on LAN 114 and selects a gateway 126a or 126c that is on the same side of the DCI as the host 118c, see para [0040]. Also see In a particular embodiment, when AVG 126a receives an ARP request from a host 118, AVG 126a may identify the layer-2 port from where the ARP request is received, see para [0032]. Also see host 118 on LAN 112 seeks to communicate with a host 122 on LAN 114, see para [0020]))
However Bhat does not teach wireless network
Maattanen teaches wireless network (interpreted as wireless local area network (e.g., WiFi), see para [0007]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the LAN taught by Bhat with the wireless LAN as taught by Maattanen with the motivation being to provide communications using wireless which is well known in the art.
Claim(s) 9-13 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhat (Pub No 20110320577) further in view of Awan (Pub No 20140173700)
Regarding claim 9 and 22,
Bhat teaches the method as in claim 1, however does not teach wherein selecting the first gateway network address includes: retrieving a unique identifier value from the wireless message, the unique identifier value indicating the identity of the first communication device; and mapping the unique identifier value to the first gateway network address amongst the multiple gateway network addresses.
Awan teaches wherein selecting the first gateway network address includes: retrieving a unique identifier value from the wireless message, the unique identifier value indicating the identity of the first communication device; and mapping the unique identifier value to the first gateway network address amongst the multiple gateway network addresses. (interpreted as he workspace or wrapped application then communicates data to a gateway, or to a workspace server for forwarding to the gateway, to identify one or more of a device, the workspace, or wrapped application to the network (block 1904). The identification may include the device's MAC address, an IP address associated with the device, an assigned IP address from a VPN tunnel, port information, a unique identifier associated with a user of the device, a unique identifier for the workspace application, a unique identifier associated with a wrapped application, etc, see para [0208])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Bhat with the unique identifier as taught by Awan with the motivation uniquely identify devices in the network.
Regarding claim 10,
Bhat teaches the method as in claim 9 further comprising: receiving a second wireless message from a second communication device, the second communication device connected to the first local area network supported by the router; based on an identity of the second communication device, selecting a second gateway network address amongst the multiple gateway network addresses in which to forward second communications received from the second communication device from the router outside of the first local area network; and transmitting the second communications from the router to the selected second gateway network address for delivery of the second communications to a destination as specified by the second communications. (interpreted as AVG 126a may select gateway 126c to service host 118 even when a gateway, such as gateway 126b or 126d, may be on the same side of the DC interconnect as host 118 and equally able to service host 118, see para [0030]. Also see When AVG 126a receives an ARP request from a host 118c, AVG 126a considers the location of host 118c on LAN 114 and selects a gateway 126a or 126c that is on the same side of the DCI as the host 118c, see para [0040]. Also see In a particular embodiment, when AVG 126a receives an ARP request from a host 118, AVG 126a may identify the layer-2 port from where the ARP request is received, see para [0032]).
Regarding claim 11,
Bhat teaches the method as in claim 10, however does not teach wherein selecting the second gateway network address includes: retrieving a unique identifier value from the second wireless message, the unique identifier value retrieved from the second wireless message specifying an identity of the second communication device; and mapping the unique identifier value retrieved from the second wireless message to the second gateway network address.
Awan teaches wherein selecting the second gateway network address includes: retrieving a unique identifier value from the second wireless message, the unique identifier value retrieved from the second wireless message specifying an identity of the second communication device; and mapping the unique identifier value retrieved from the second wireless message to the second gateway network address. (interpreted as he workspace or wrapped application then communicates data to a gateway, or to a workspace server for forwarding to the gateway, to identify one or more of a device, the workspace, or wrapped application to the network (block 1904). The identification may include the device's MAC address, an IP address associated with the device, an assigned IP address from a VPN tunnel, port information, a unique identifier associated with a user of the device, a unique identifier for the workspace application, a unique identifier associated with a wrapped application, etc, see para [0208])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Bhat with the unique identifier as taught by Awan with the motivation uniquely identify devices in the network.
Regarding claim 12,
Bhat teaches the method as in claim 11, wherein the first communication device and the second communication device are in communication with each other over the first local area network, the first local area network being a first virtual network supported by the router. (interpreted as enabling location based address assignment for the distribution of traffic in a virtual gateway in accordance with one embodiment of the present invention. As depicted, communication system 100 includes two local area networks (LANs) 112, see para [0018].
However Bhat does not teach wireless network;
Awan teaches wireless network; (wireless network para [0004])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Bhat with the wireless network as taught by Awan with the motivation being to provide the functionality in a well-known environment such as wireless networks.
Regarding claim 13,
Bhat teaches the method as in claim 12, wherein receiving the message from the first communication device includes: wirelessly receiving the message from the first communication device over the first local area network; and wherein receiving the second message from the second communication device includes: wirelessly receiving the second message from the second communication device over the first local area network. (interpreted as The AVG 126a may respond to the host's ARP request by selecting a particular one of the gateway devices 126 to service the host and then notifying the host 118 of the vMAC address of the selected gateway device 126. AVG 126a instructs the ARPing host 118 to address outgoing communications to the vMAC address assigned to the selected gateway device 126. Host 118 then uses the vMAC address of the selected gateway device 126 to forward network traffic to gateway redundancy group 116 via a data-link layer transfer, see para [0028])
However Bhat does not teach wireless network;
Awan teaches wireless network; (wireless network para [0004])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Bhat with the wireless network as taught by Awan with the motivation being to provide the functionality in a well-known environment such as wireless networks.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461 /HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461