DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/01/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-14, 16-17, 19, 23-33 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhang (Pub No 20250240186) further in view of Chen (CN 107947994 B).
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach selecting the gateway.
The examiner relies on newly cited Chen (CN 107947994 B) to teach selecting the gateway. The examiner also relies on newly cited Zhang to teach the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 14, 21, 23-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Pub No 20250240186) further in view of Chen (CN 107947994 B)
Regarding claim 1 and 23,
Zhang teaches a method comprising:
at a router, receiving a first wireless message transmitted from a first communication device over a first wireless local area network to the router; over wireless from first communication device; (interpreted as the source client device 400 sends (at 412), to a source AP 402, packet A that has a unicast destination MAC address that matches the MAC address of the gateway 126 (“gateway MAC address”). The source AP 402 is the AP to which the source client device 400 is wirelessly connected, see para [0070])
forward first communications received over the first wireless local area network from the first communication device to a first destination device located outside of the first wireless local area network; and (interpreted as Any packet from the source client device 400 that is targeted to an external network (e.g., 124 in FIG. 1) or is an inter-VLAN packet (a packet that is sent from a device in a first VLAN to a device in a second VLAN) includes a unicast destination MAC address that is the gateway MAC address. This allows the packet to be forwarded to the gateway 126 for routing the packet to the external network or to another VLAN, see para [0071])
assigning the first gateway network address to the first communication device for delivery of the first communications from the first communication device through a first gateway assigned the first gateway network address to the first destination; and (interpreted as Any packet from the source client device 400 that is targeted to an external network (e.g., 124 in FIG. 1) or is an inter-VLAN packet (a packet that is sent from a device in a first VLAN to a device in a second VLAN) includes a unicast destination MAC address that is the gateway MAC address. This allows the packet to be forwarded to the gateway 126 for routing the packet to the external network or to another VLAN, see para [0071])
via the router, supporting conveyance of second communications over the first wireless local area network between the first communication device and a second communication device. (interpreted as FIG. 4, the source client device 400 may send (at 420), to the source AP 402, packet B that has a unicast destination MAC address that identifies a destination device that is not the gateway 126 (in other words, the unicast destination MAC address does not match the gateway MAC address). Packet B is an intra-VLAN packet that is sent from the source client device to the destination device within the same VLAN, see para [0075])
However, Zhang does not teach based on an identity of the first communication device, selecting a first gateway network address amongst multiple gateway network addresses.
Chen teaches based on an identity of the first communication device, selecting a first gateway network address amongst multiple gateway network addresses. (interpreted as selecting one gateway as the source network node in the gateway, sending the path detection packet to other gateways, for example, after each gateway obtains the MAC address of all network nodes in the multicast group, selecting the gateway with the minimum MAC address value as the source network node, see pg. 6 line 40-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the gateway as taught by Zhang with the gateway selection as taught by Chen with the motivation being to select the most optimal gateway for routing communications.
Regarding claim 14,
Zhang teaches a system comprising:
communication management hardware operative to:
receive a wireless message from a first communication device connected to a first wireless local area network supported by a router; (interpreted as he source client device 400 sends (at 412), to a source AP 402, packet A that has a unicast destination MAC address that matches the MAC address of the gateway 126 (“gateway MAC address”). The source AP 402 is the AP to which the source client device 400 is wirelessly connected, see para [0070])
forward first communications received over the first wireless local area network from the first communication device to a first destination device located outside of the first wireless local area network the first communication device being a first member of the first wireless local area network; and (interpreted as Any packet from the source client device 400 that is targeted to an external network (e.g., 124 in FIG. 1) or is an inter-VLAN packet (a packet that is sent from a device in a first VLAN to a device in a second VLAN) includes a unicast destination MAC address that is the gateway MAC address. This allows the packet to be forwarded to the gateway 126 for routing the packet to the external network or to another VLAN, see para [0071])
assign the first gateway network address to the first communication device for delivery of the first communications from the first communication device through a first gateway as indicated by the first gateway network address to the first destination device; (interpreted as Any packet from the source client device 400 that is targeted to an external network (e.g., 124 in FIG. 1) or is an inter-VLAN packet (a packet that is sent from a device in a first VLAN to a device in a second VLAN) includes a unicast destination MAC address that is the gateway MAC address. This allows the packet to be forwarded to the gateway 126 for routing the packet to the external network or to another VLAN, see para [0071])
assign a second network address of the multiple network addresses to a second communication device, the second communication device being a second member of the first wireless local area network; (interpreted as The forwarding engine (similar to 114 in FIG. 1) in the destination AP 404 extracts (at 430) the PAN ID from the GPI field of the VXLAN header of PAN encapsulated packet B. The forwarding engine in the destination AP 404 determines (at 432) whether the extracted PAN ID matches the PAN ID of the destination device 406. For example, the forwarding engine in the destination AP 404 can retrieve an entry of a VLAN table (similar to 120 in FIG. 1) in the destination AP 404. The retrieved entry corresponds to the identifier (e.g., MAC address) of the destination device 406, and the retrieved entry correlates the identifier of the destination device 406 to the PAN ID assigned to the destination device 406, see para [0078])
receive third communications transmitted from the second communication device over the first wireless local area network, the third communications destined for delivery to a second destination device; and (interpreted as In some examples, the community ID is a personal area network (PAN) ID, which identifies a PAN that the client device is part of. As shown in FIG. 1, the client devices 106-1 are part of PAN 1, and the client devices 106-2 are part of PAN 2. Although just two PANs are shown in FIG. 1, in further examples, there may be more than two PANs. The auto-segmentation of a VLAN according to some implementations of the present disclosure defines multiple PANs of client devices (or more generally, multiple communities of client devices) that are identified by respective PAN IDs (or more generally, community IDs), see para [0034])
support conveyance of the third communications received from the second communication device through a second gateway as indicated by the second gateway network address to the second destination device. (interpreted as The AP 104 may receive a packet from a client device (e.g., 106-1 or 106-2). If VXLAN encapsulation is to be applied, the AP 104 can encapsulate the packet with a VXLAN header, and a forwarding engine 114 in the AP 104 can forward the encapsulated packet to a destination device, which may be another client device or any other target electronic device, see para [0024])
However, Zhang does not teach based on an identity of the first communication device, selecting a first gateway network address amongst multiple gateway network addresses.
Chen teaches based on an identity of the first communication device, selecting a first gateway network address amongst multiple gateway network addresses. (interpreted as selecting one gateway as the source network node in the gateway, sending the path detection packet to other gateways, for example, after each gateway obtains the MAC address of all network nodes in the multicast group, selecting the gateway with the minimum MAC address value as the source network node, see pg. 6 line 40-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the gateway as taught by Zhang with the gateway selection as taught by Chen with the motivation being to select the most optimal gateway for routing communications.
Regarding claim 8 and 21,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 1, teach wherein receiving the wireless
message includes receiving the wireless message in a wireless signal transmitted from the first communication device to the router. (interpreted as Any packet from the source client device 400 that is targeted to an external network (e.g., 124 in FIG. 1) or is an inter-VLAN packet (a packet that is sent from a device in a first VLAN to a device in a second VLAN) includes a unicast destination MAC address that is the gateway MAC address. This allows the packet to be forwarded to the gateway 126 for routing the packet to the external network or to another VLAN, see para [0071])
Regarding claim 24 and 26,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein the router supports the
conveyance of the second communications over the first wireless area network between the first communication device and the second communication device based on both the first communication device and the second communication device joining the first wireless local area network. (interpreted as In some examples, a community identifier includes an identifier of a personal area network (PAN) (“PAN ID”) that defines a community of client devices that are able to interact with one another. The assignment of community identifiers such as PAN IDs to client devices can be automatically performed during authentication procedures for the client devices. For example, an authentication procedure may assign a shared secret to a client device, where the shared secret can be a Multi Pre-Shared Key (MPSK). In such examples, a community identifier (e.g., a PAN ID) may be determined based on a shared secret assigned to the client device, see para [0016])
Regarding claim 25,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 24, wherein the first wireless network
supports the conveyance of the second communications via layer 2 processing. (interpreted as A VLAN operates at layer 2 of the Open Systems Interconnect (OSI) model. Multiple VLANs can be established in a WLAN or across multiple WLANs. The multiple VLANs can have different functional and security configurations, for example.
Regarding claim 27,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 26 further comprising:
at the router, receiving the first communications over the first wireless local area network from the first communication device; and transmitting the first communications from the router through the first gateway assigned the first gateway network address to the first destination device. (interpreted as FIG. 4, the source client device 400 may send (at 420), to the source AP 402, packet B that has a unicast destination MAC address that identifies a destination device that is not the gateway 126 (in other words, the unicast destination MAC address does not match the gateway MAC address). Packet B is an intra-VLAN packet that is sent from the source client device to the destination device within the same VLAN, see para [0075])
Regarding claim 28,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 27, wherein assigning the first gateway
network address to the first communication device includes transmitting the first gateway network address from the router to the first communication device. (interpreted as For example, if the AP 104 determines that the received packet is to be sent to an external network 124 (e.g., the Internet) or another VLAN (different from the VLAN 108), then VXLAN encapsulation is not applied by the AP 104. In some examples, a packet sent to the external network 124 or sent as part of inter-VLAN communications (communications among different VLANs) has a destination network address (e.g., a destination MAC address) that is a network address of the gateway 126. If a packet contains a destination MAC address that matches the gateway MAC address of the gateway 126, see para [0043])
Regarding claim 29,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 1 further comprising:
at the router, receiving a second wireless message transmitted from the second communication device over the first wireless local area network to the router; (interpreted as The client devices 106-1 and 106-2 are able to communicate over a VLAN 108 (or another type of virtual network). Although FIG. 1 shows an example with four client devices 106-1 and 106-2, there may be many (e.g., hundreds, thousands, tens of thousands, etc.) client devices that are able to communicate over the VLAN 108, see para [0020])
forward third communications received over the first wireless local area network from the second communication device to a second destination device located outside of the first wireless local area network; and (interpreted as Any packet from the source client device 400 that is targeted to an external network (e.g., 124 in FIG. 1) or is an inter-VLAN packet (a packet that is sent from a device in a first VLAN to a device in a second VLAN) includes a unicast destination MAC address that is the gateway MAC address. This allows the packet to be forwarded to the gateway 126 for routing the packet to the external network or to another VLAN, see para [0071])
assigning the second gateway network address to the second communication device for delivery of the third communications from the second communication device through a second gateway assigned the second gateway network address to the second destination device; and transmitting the second gateway network address from the router to the second communication device. (interpreted as FIG. 4, the source client device 400 may send (at 420), to the source AP 402, packet B that has a unicast destination MAC address that identifies a destination device that is not the gateway 126 (in other words, the unicast destination MAC address does not match the gateway MAC address). Packet B is an intra-VLAN packet that is sent from the source client device to the destination device within the same VLAN, see para [0075])
However, Zhang does not teach based on an identity of the second communication device, selecting a second gateway network address amongst the multiple gateway network addresses.
Chen teaches based on an identity of the second communication device, selecting a second gateway network address amongst the multiple gateway network addresses. (interpreted as selecting one gateway as the source network node in the gateway, sending the path detection packet to other gateways, for example, after each gateway obtains the MAC address of all network nodes in the multicast group, selecting the gateway with the minimum MAC address value as the source network node, see pg. 6 line 40-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the gateway as taught by Zhang with the gateway selection as taught by Chen with the motivation being to select the most optimal gateway for routing communications.
Regarding claim 30,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 29 further comprising:
at the router, receiving the first communications over the first wireless local area network from the first communication device, the first communications including the first gateway network address; and in accordance with the first gateway network address received in the first communications, transmitting the first communications from the router through the first gateway assigned the first gateway network address to the first destination device; at the router, receiving the third communications over the first wireless local area network from the second communication device, the third communications including the second gateway network address; and in accordance with the second gateway network address received in the third communications, transmitting the third communications from the router through the second gateway assigned the second gateway network address to the second destination device. (interpreted as Note that in some cases, the AP 104 does not apply VXLAN encapsulation to a received packet. For example, if the AP 104 determines that the received packet is to be sent to an external network 124 (e.g., the Internet) or another VLAN (different from the VLAN 108), then VXLAN encapsulation is not applied by the AP 104. In some examples, a packet sent to the external network 124 or sent as part of inter-VLAN communications (communications among different VLANs) has a destination network address (e.g., a destination MAC address) that is a network address of the gateway 126. If a packet contains a destination MAC address that matches the gateway MAC address of the gateway 126, then the AP 104 does not apply VXLAN encapsulation to the packet. In other examples, VXLAN encapsulation is not applied to the following types of packets: (1) a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) packet (a DHCP packet is indicated by DHCP protocol information in the packet), (2) an Address Resolution Protocol (ARP) packet containing a destination IP address of the gateway 126 (an ARP packet is indicated by ARP protocol information in the packet), or (3) any other designated type of packet, see para [0043]. Wherein it would have been obvious to perform additional communications using additional network devices.
Regarding claim 31,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein assigning the first gateway network address to the first communication device includes transmitting the first gateway network address from the router to the first communication device, the method further comprising:
receiving the first communications from the first communication device, the first communications transmitted from the first communication device over the first wireless local area network to the router, the first communications including the first gateway network address; and in accordance with the first gateway network address in the first communications, transmitting the first communications from the router through the first gateway to the first destination device. (interpreted as Note that in some cases, the AP 104 does not apply VXLAN encapsulation to a received packet. For example, if the AP 104 determines that the received packet is to be sent to an external network 124 (e.g., the Internet) or another VLAN (different from the VLAN 108), then VXLAN encapsulation is not applied by the AP 104. In some examples, a packet sent to the external network 124 or sent as part of inter-VLAN communications (communications among different VLANs) has a destination network address (e.g., a destination MAC address) that is a network address of the gateway 126. If a packet contains a destination MAC address that matches the gateway MAC address of the gateway 126, then the AP 104 does not apply VXLAN encapsulation to the packet. In other examples, VXLAN encapsulation is not applied to the following types of packets: (1) a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) packet (a DHCP packet is indicated by DHCP protocol information in the packet), (2) an Address Resolution Protocol (ARP) packet containing a destination IP address of the gateway 126 (an ARP packet is indicated by ARP protocol information in the packet), or (3) any other designated type of packet, see para [0043])
Regarding claim 32,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 31 further comprising:
at the router, receiving a second wireless message, the second wireless message received from the second communication device, the second wireless message including an identity of the second communication device; based on the second wireless message received from the second communication device, the second gateway network address assigned to a second gateway; and transmitting the second gateway network address from the router to the second communication device. (interpreted as Note that in some cases, the AP 104 does not apply VXLAN encapsulation to a received packet. For example, if the AP 104 determines that the received packet is to be sent to an external network 124 (e.g., the Internet) or another VLAN (different from the VLAN 108), then VXLAN encapsulation is not applied by the AP 104. In some examples, a packet sent to the external network 124 or sent as part of inter-VLAN communications (communications among different VLANs) has a destination network address (e.g., a destination MAC address) that is a network address of the gateway 126. If a packet contains a destination MAC address that matches the gateway MAC address of the gateway 126, then the AP 104 does not apply VXLAN encapsulation to the packet. In other examples, VXLAN encapsulation is not applied to the following types of packets: (1) a Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) packet (a DHCP packet is indicated by DHCP protocol information in the packet), (2) an Address Resolution Protocol (ARP) packet containing a destination IP address of the gateway 126 (an ARP packet is indicated by ARP protocol information in the packet), or (3) any other designated type of packet, see para [0043])
However, Zhang does not teach mapping the identity of the second communication
device to a second gateway network address of the multiple gateway
network addresses.
Chen teaches mapping the identity of the second communication
device to a second gateway network address of the multiple gateway
network addresses. (interpreted as selecting one gateway as the source network node in the gateway, sending the path detection packet to other gateways, for example, after each gateway obtains the MAC address of all network nodes in the multicast group, selecting the gateway with the minimum MAC address value as the source network node, see pg. 6 line 40-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the gateway as taught by Zhang with the gateway selection as taught by Chen with the motivation being to select the most optimal gateway for routing communications.
Regarding claim 33,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 32 further comprising:
receiving third communications transmitted from the second communication device over the first wireless local area network, the third communications including the second gateway network address, the third communications destined for delivery to a second destination device
located outside of the first wireless local area network; and
in accordance with the second gateway network address in the third communications, transmitting the third communications from the router through the second gateway to the second destination device. (interpreted as The client devices 106-1 and 106-2 are able to communicate over a VLAN 108 (or another type of virtual network). Although FIG. 1 shows an example with four client devices 106-1 and 106-2, there may be many (e.g., hundreds, thousands, tens of thousands, etc.) client devices that are able to communicate over the VLAN 108, see para [0020])
However, Zhang does not teach second gateway.
Chen teaches second gateway. (interpreted as selecting one gateway as the source network node in the gateway, sending the path detection packet to other gateways, for example, after each gateway obtains the MAC address of all network nodes in the multicast group, selecting the gateway with the minimum MAC address value as the source network node, see pg. 6 line 40-50)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the gateway as taught by Zhang with the gateway selection as taught by Chen with the motivation being to select the most optimal gateway for routing communications.
Claim(s) 3-7, 16-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Pub No 20250240186) further in view of Chen (CN 107947994 B) and Maattanen (Pub No 20180262465)
Regarding claim 3 and 16,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein the first gateway network address is assigned to support conveyance of the first communications between the router and a remote termination node, the first gateway network address supporting conveyance of the first communications (interpreted as The AP 104 may receive a packet from a client device (e.g., 106-1 or 106-2). If VXLAN encapsulation is to be applied, the AP 104 can encapsulate the packet with a VXLAN header, and a forwarding engine 114 in the AP 104 can forward the encapsulated packet to a destination device, which may be another client device or any other target electronic device, see para [0024])
However, Zhang in view of Chen does not teach over a secure tunnel between the router and the remote termination node.
Maattanen teaches over a secure tunnel from the router through the first gateway to the remote termination node. (interpreted as a wireless local area network (WLAN) in a manner transparent to the WLAN. The method comprises sending a message, to a wireless communication device served over the WWAN by the base station, to establish a secure tunnel through the WLAN between the security gateway and the wireless communication device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Zhang in view of Chen with the tunnel as taught by Maattanen with the motivation being to provide security in the transmission.
Regarding claim 4 and 17,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 3, wherein the remote termination node is a wireless access gateway. (interpreted as Any packet from the source client device 400 that is targeted to an external network (e.g., 124 in FIG. 1) or is an inter-VLAN packet (a packet that is sent from a device in a first VLAN to a device in a second VLAN) includes a unicast destination MAC address that is the gateway MAC address. This allows the packet to be forwarded to the gateway 126 for routing the packet to the external network or to another VLAN, see para [0071])
Regarding claim 5,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 3 further comprising: via the first gateway network address assigned to the first communication device, transmitting the first communications from the router and the remote termination node to the first destination. (interpreted as Any packet from the source client device 400 that is targeted to an external network (e.g., 124 in FIG. 1) or is an inter-VLAN packet (a packet that is sent from a device in a first VLAN to a device in a second VLAN) includes a unicast destination MAC address that is the gateway MAC address. This allows the packet to be forwarded to the gateway 126 for routing the packet to the external network or to another VLAN, see para [0071])
However, Zhang in view of Chen does not teach over a secure tunnel.
Maattanen teaches over a secure tunnel. (interpreted as For another example, a hypervisor can tunnel a packet to a service node, which can encapsulate that packet and forward it using a secure VPN tunnel to a gateway in a remote customer premises, see para [0016])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Zhang in view of Chen with the tunnel as taught by Maattanen with the motivation being to provide security in the transmission.
Regarding claim 6 and 19,
Zhang in view of Chen teaches the method as in claim 1, however, does not teach further comprising: receiving the first communications as encapsulated messages generated by the first communication device; and subsequent to receiving the first communications, transmitting the first communications from the router through a secure tunnel established between the first gateway and remote termination node to the first destination.
Maattanen teaches further comprising: receiving the first communications as encapsulated messages generated by the first communication device; and subsequent to receiving the first communications, transmitting the first communications from the router through a secure tunnel established between the fist gateway and remote termination node to the first destination. (interpreted as a The ePDG 42 also performs de-capsulation and encapsulation of packets for IPSec, and if network based mobility (S2b) is used, for GTP or PMIPv6 tunnels, see para [0068])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Zhang in view of Chen with the tunnel as taught by Maattanen with the motivation being to provide security in the transmission.
Regarding claim 7,
Zhang in view of Chen teaches the method as in claim 1, wherein the first local area network is a first wireless network; wherein the wireless message is received from the first communication device over the first local area network supported by the router, the first local area network providing wireless connectivity of the first communication device to a second communication device in the wireless network through the router, the method further comprising: transmitting the first communications as encapsulated messages established between the first gateway and a remote termination node to the first destination. (interpreted as Any packet from the source client device 400 that is targeted to an external network (e.g., 124 in FIG. 1) or is an inter-VLAN packet (a packet that is sent from a device in a first VLAN to a device in a second VLAN) includes a unicast destination MAC address that is the gateway MAC address. This allows the packet to be forwarded to the gateway 126 for routing the packet to the external network or to another VLAN, see para [0071])
However, Zhang in view of Chen does not teach encapsulated messages over a secure tunnel associated
Maattanen teaches encapsulated messages over a secure tunnel associated. (interpreted as a The ePDG 42 also performs de-capsulation and encapsulation of packets for IPSec, and if network based mobility (S2b) is used, for GTP or PMIPv6 tunnels, see para [0068])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Zhang in view of Chen with the tunnel as taught by Maattanen with the motivation being to provide security in the transmission.
Claim(s) 9-13 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (Pub No 20250240186) further in view of Chen (CN 107947994 B) and Awan (Pub No 20140173700)
Regarding claim 9 and 22,
Zhang in view of Chen teaches the method as in claim 1, however does not teach wherein selecting the first gateway network address includes: retrieving a unique identifier value from the wireless message, the unique identifier value indicating the identity of the first communication device; and mapping the unique identifier value to the first gateway network address amongst the multiple gateway network addresses.
Awan teaches wherein selecting the first gateway network address includes: retrieving a unique identifier value from the wireless message, the unique identifier value indicating the identity of the first communication device; and mapping the unique identifier value to the first gateway network address amongst the multiple gateway network addresses. (interpreted as he workspace or wrapped application then communicates data to a gateway, or to a workspace server for forwarding to the gateway, to identify one or more of a device, the workspace, or wrapped application to the network (block 1904). The identification may include the device's MAC address, an IP address associated with the device, an assigned IP address from a VPN tunnel, port information, a unique identifier associated with a user of the device, a unique identifier for the workspace application, a unique identifier associated with a wrapped application, etc, see para [0208])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Zhang in view of Chen with the unique identifier as taught by Awan with the motivation uniquely identify devices in the network.
Regarding claim 10,
Zhang in view of Chen teaches the method as in claim 9 further comprising: receiving a second wireless message from a second communication device, the second communication device connected to the first local area network supported by the router; based on an identity of the second communication device, selecting a second gateway network address amongst the multiple gateway network addresses in which to forward second communications received from the second communication device from the router outside of the first local area network; and transmitting the second communications from the router to the selected second gateway network address for delivery of the second communications to a destination as specified by the second communications. (interpreted as Any packet from the source client device 400 that is targeted to an external network (e.g., 124 in FIG. 1) or is an inter-VLAN packet (a packet that is sent from a device in a first VLAN to a device in a second VLAN) includes a unicast destination MAC address that is the gateway MAC address. This allows the packet to be forwarded to the gateway 126 for routing the packet to the external network or to another VLAN, see para [0071])
Regarding claim 11,
Zhang in view of Chen teaches the method as in claim 10, however does not teach wherein selecting the second gateway network address includes: retrieving a unique identifier value from the second wireless message, the unique identifier value retrieved from the second wireless message specifying an identity of the second communication device; and mapping the unique identifier value retrieved from the second wireless message to the second gateway network address.
Zhang in view of Chen teaches wherein selecting the second gateway network address includes: retrieving a unique identifier value from the second wireless message, the unique identifier value retrieved from the second wireless message specifying an identity of the second communication device; and mapping the unique identifier value retrieved from the second wireless message to the second gateway network address. (interpreted as he workspace or wrapped application then communicates data to a gateway, or to a workspace server for forwarding to the gateway, to identify one or more of a device, the workspace, or wrapped application to the network (block 1904). The identification may include the device's MAC address, an IP address associated with the device, an assigned IP address from a VPN tunnel, port information, a unique identifier associated with a user of the device, a unique identifier for the workspace application, a unique identifier associated with a wrapped application, etc, see para [0208])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the system taught by Zhang in view of Chen with the unique identifier as taught by Awan with the motivation uniquely identify devices in the network.
Regarding claim 12,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 11, wherein both the first communication device and the second communication device join the first wireless local area network to communication with other entities that have joined the first wireless local area network; and
wherein the first communication device is in communication with the second compunction device over the first wireless local area network, the first local area network being a first virtual wireless network supported by the router (interpreted as The AP 104 may receive a packet from a client device (e.g., 106-1 or 106-2). If VXLAN encapsulation is to be applied, the AP 104 can encapsulate the packet with a VXLAN header, and a forwarding engine 114 in the AP 104 can forward the encapsulated packet to a destination device, which may be another client device or any other target electronic device. Note that in some cases (discussed further below), VXLAN encapsulation is not to be applied by the AP 104, in which case the forwarding engine 114 in the AP 104 would forward the packet without VXLAN encapsulation to a destination device, see para [0024])
Regarding claim 13,
Zhang teaches the method as in claim 12, wherein receiving the first message from the first communication device includes: wirelessly receiving the first wireless message from the first communication device over the first local area network; and wherein receiving the second message from the second communication device includes: wirelessly receiving the second message from the second communication device over the first wireless local area network. (interpreted as FIG. 4, the source client device 400 may send (at 420), to the source AP 402, packet B that has a unicast destination MAC address that identifies a destination device that is not the gateway 126 (in other words, the unicast destination MAC address does not match the gateway MAC address). Packet B is an intra-VLAN packet that is sent from the source client device to the destination device within the same VLAN, see para [0075])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461