DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on January 8, 2026 wherein; claim(s) 1, 7-10, 17-19 were amended. Examiner notes amendments are directed to overcome rejection of claim(s) under 35 USC § 103 as well as their objections. Therefore, claim(s) 1-20 are pending and will be examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-Al A 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17, recites --water may flow through both the through opening in the lip and the tote opening-- [lines 6-7] since permissive term --may-- is indefinite. For purposes of examination, --may-- is being interpreted as “do not / does not”.
Claim 19, recites --water may flow through both the through opening in the lip and the tote opening-- [lines 6-7] since permissive term --may-- is indefinite. For purposes of examination, --may-- is being interpreted as “do not / does not”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reinhart (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20170107015A1) hereinafter REINHART, in view of Bromley (U. S. Patent US3330434A) hereinafter BROMLEY.
Regarding claim 1, REIHNHART teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 below) a lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), comprising:
a main body 16 including a plurality of raised surface features 30 and a plurality of channels 32, the plurality of raised surface features 30 including a first raised surface feature R1-01 and a second raised surface feature R1-02, the plurality of channels 32 including a first channel R1-03, the first raised surface feature R1-01 separated from the second raised surface feature R1-02 by the first channel R1-03; and
a lip 14 circumscribing the main body 16, the lip 14 including a through opening R1-04, being of sufficient size to allow water to flow through the lip 14;
wherein the lid 10 is adapted and configured to fit around and couple to a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”).
REIHNHART fails to teach a downwardly extending boss, the boss circumscribing the through opening R1-04.
REIHNHART fails to teach boss of the lip 14 fits within a tote opening in a rim of the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”) to securely align and fit the lid 10 to the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”).
However, BROMLEY teaches (see FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 4 below) a shipping container 10 wherein a boss 61 extends downwardly from the through opening B4-01 for securement purposes.
BROMLEY further teaches boss 61 of the lip 24 fits within a shipping container 10 opening B4-02 in a rim 44 of the shipping container 10 to securely align and fit the lid 30 to the shipping container 10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified through opening R1-04 in the lid 10 of REIHNHART with through opening B4-01 as taught in the shipping container 10 of BROMLEY for securement purposes.
Regarding claim 2, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein the main body 16 includes a plurality of connecting bridges 34 including a first connecting bridge R1-05, the first connecting bridge R1-05 forming an end of the first channel R1-03, and the first connecting bridge R1-05 coupling the first raised surface feature R1-01 and the second raised surface feature R1-02.
Regarding claim 3, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 2 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein the first connecting bridge R1-05 joins and provides continuity between a top surface R1-10 of the first raised surface feature R1-01 and a top surface R1-12 of the second raised surface feature R1-02, and a top surface R1-12 of the first connecting bridge R1-05 is coplanar with the top surface R1-10 of the first raised surface feature R1-01 and the top surface R1-10 of the second raised surface feature R1-02.
Regarding claim 4, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 2 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein: the plurality of raised surface features 30 further includes a third raised surface feature R1-06 and a fourth raised surface feature R1-07;
the plurality of channels 32 further includes a second channel, a third channel, and a fourth channel;
the second raised surface feature R1-02 separated from the third raised surface feature R1-06 by the second channel;
the third raised surface feature R1-06 separated from the fourth raised surface feature R1-07 by the third channel;
the fourth raised surface feature R1-07 separated from the first raised surface feature R1-01 by the fourth channel; and
the first connecting bridge R1-05 joins and provides continuity between a top surface R1-10 of the third raised surface feature R1-06 and a top surface R1-12 of the fourth raised surface feature R1-07, and the top surface R1-10 of the first connecting bridge R1-05 is coplanar with the top surface R1-10 of the third raised surface feature R1-06 and the top surface R1-10 of the fourth raised surface feature R1-07.
Regarding claim 5, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein the plurality of raised surface features 30 includes square raised surface features 30.
Regarding claim 6, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART fails to teach (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein the first raised surface feature R1-01 is larger than the second raised surface feature R1-02.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified first raised surface feature R1-01 in the lid 10 of REIHNHART to be larger than the second raised surface feature R1-02 for design purposes since changes in shape are regarded as a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. In reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 7, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein:
the plurality of raised surface features 30 further comprises
a first plurality of secondary raised surface features 30,
a second plurality of secondary raised surface features 30,
a third plurality of secondary raised surface features 30, and
a fourth plurality of secondary raised surface features 30;
the plurality of channels 32 further comprises
a first plurality of channels 32,
a second plurality of channels 32,
a third plurality of channels 32, and
a fourth plurality of channels 32;
the first raised surface feature 30 comprises
a first side R1-13,
a second side R1-13,
a third side R1-13, and
a fourth side R1-13;
the first raised surface feature 30 comprising
a first plurality of connecting bridges 34 on the first side R1-13,
a second plurality of connecting bridges 34 on the second side R1-13,
a third plurality of connecting bridges 34 on the third side R1-13, and
a fourth plurality of connecting bridges 34 on the fourth side R1-13;
the first plurality of secondary raised surface features 30 being separated from the first raised surface feature 30 by the first plurality of channels 32,
the second plurality of secondary raised surface features 30 being separated from the first raised surface feature 30 by the second plurality of channels 32,
the third plurality of secondary raised surface features 30 being separated from the first raised surface feature 30 by the third plurality of channels 32, and
the fourth plurality of secondary raised surface features 30 being separated from the first raised surface feature 30 by the fourth plurality of channels 32;
wherein
the first plurality of connecting bridges 34 couples the first plurality of secondary raised surface features 30 to the first raised surface feature 30,
the second plurality of connecting bridges 34 couples the second plurality of secondary raised surface features 30 to the first raised surface feature 30,
the third plurality of connecting bridges 34 couples the third plurality of secondary raised surface features 30 to the first raised surface feature 30, and
the fourth plurality of connecting bridges 34 couples the fourth plurality of secondary raised surface features 30 to the first raised surface feature 30.
Regarding claim 9, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein the through opening R1-04 is a first side through opening R1-04, wherein the lip 14 includes a first side R3-01 of the lip 14 having the first side through opening R3-02, a second side through opening R3-04, and a first central through opening R3-03 between the first side through opening R3-02 and the second side through opening R3-04, a second side R3-05 of the lip 14 having a third side through opening R3-06, a fourth side through opening R3-07, and a second central through opening R3-05 between the third side through opening R3-06 and the fourth side through opening R3-07, and wherein the first side through opening R3-02 is disposed opposite the third side through opening R3-06, the second side through opening R3-04 is disposed opposite the fourth side through opening R3-07, and the first central through opening R3-03 is disposed opposite the second central through opening R3-05.
Regarding claim 10, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 9 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein the first side through opening R3-02 and the second side through opening R3-04 are spaced evenly relative to the first central through opening R3-03, and the third central side through opening R3-06 and the fourth side through opening R3-07 are spaced evenly relative to the second central through opening R3-05.
Regarding claim 11, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein the lid 10 further includes a riser 32 extending from the lip 14 to the main body 16 of the lid 10.
Regarding claim 12, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein a plurality of risers 32 extending from the lip 14 to the main body 16 of the lid 10 includes a wall riser R1-08 and a corner riser R1-09, the wall riser R1-08 being disposed on a side section of the lid 10 and the corner riser R1-09 being disposed on a corner section of the lid 10.
Regarding claim 13, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 11 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein a recess 54 is formed between a pair of adjacent risers 32 of the plurality of risers 32.
Regarding claim 14, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 12 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein the recess 54 is able to receive a securing strap.
Regarding claim 15, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 11 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein each riser 32 of the plurality of risers 32 is hollow (FIG. 2) and defines a cavity R2-01 with a support element 56 disposed in the cavity R2-01.
Regarding claim 16, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 14 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein each riser 32 of the plurality of risers 32 has a top surface R1-10 that extends above a top surface R1-11 of the lip 14 and a top surface R1-12 of the main body 16 of the lid 10.
Regarding claim 17, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) a lid 10 and a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”) comprising a rim, the lip 14 of the lid 10 being adapted and configured to fit around and couple to the rim of the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”) to securely align and fit the lid 10 to the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”).
REIHNHART fails to teach rim having a tote opening, the tote opening being a through opening.
REIHNHART fails to teach lip 14 of the lid 10 being adapted and configured to fit around and couple to the rim of the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”) in a manner in which the boss of the lip 14 fits within the tote opening.
REIHNHART fails to teach through opening R1-04 in the lip 14 being aligned with the tote opening in a manner such that when the lid 10 is fit around and coupled to the rim of the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), water may flow through both the through opening R1-04 in the lip 14 and the tote opening.
However, BROMLEY teaches (see FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 4 above) shipping container 10 wherein rim 44 having a shipping container 10 opening B4-02, the shipping container 10 opening B4-02 being a through opening B4-02 for securement purposes.
BROMLEY further teaches lip 24 of the lid 30 being adapted and configured to fit around and couple to the rim 44 of the shipping container 10 in a manner in which the boss 61 of the lip 24 fits within the shipping container 10 for securement purposes.
BROMLEY further teaches through opening B4-02 in the lip 24 being aligned with the shipping container 10 opening B4-02 in a manner such that when the lid 30 is fit around and coupled to the rim 44 of the shipping container 10, water may flow through both the through opening B4-02 in the lip 24 and the container 10 opening B4-02 for securement purposes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified through opening R1-04 in the lid 10 of REIHNHART and BROMLEY with through opening B4-02 as taught in the shipping container 10 of BROMLEY for securement purposes.
Regarding claim 18, REIHNHART teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 and a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), comprising:
a main body 16 including a plurality of raised surface features 30 and a plurality of channels 32,
the plurality of raised surface features 30 including a first raised surface feature R1-01, a second raised surface feature R1-02, a third raised surface feature R1-06, and a fourth raised surface feature R1-07,
the plurality of channels 32 including a first channel R1-03, a second channel, a third channel, and a fourth channel, the first raised surface feature R1-01 separated from the second raised surface feature R1-02 by the first channel R1-03, the second raised surface feature R1-02 separated from the third raised surface feature R1-06 by the second channel, the third raised surface feature R1-06 separated from the fourth raised surface feature R1-07 by the third channel, the fourth raised surface feature R1-07 separated from the first raised surface feature R1-01 by the fourth channel; and
a lip 14 circumscribing the main body 16;
wherein: the main body 16 includes a plurality of connecting bridges 34 including a first connecting bridge R1-05, the first connecting bridge R1-05 forming an end of the first channel R1-03, the second channel, the third channel, and the fourth channel; the first connecting bridge R1-05 couples the first raised surface feature R1-01, the second raised surface feature R1-02, the third raised surface feature R1-06, and the fourth raised surface feature R1-07;
the first connecting bridge R1-05 joins and provides continuity between a top surface R1-10 of the first raised surface feature R1-01, a top surface R1-10 of the second raised surface feature R1-02, a top surface R1-10 of the third raised surface feature R1-06, and a top surface R1-12 of the fourth raised surface feature R1-07;
a top surface R1-10 of the first connecting bridge R1-05 is coplanar with the top surface R1-10 of the first raised surface feature R1-01, the top surface R1-10 of the second raised surface feature R1-02, the top surface R1-10 of the third raised surface feature R1-06, and the top surface R1-10 of the fourth raised surface feature R1-07;
the plurality of raised surface features 30 includes square raised surface features 30; a plurality of risers 32 extends from the lip 14 to the main body 16 of the lid 10, the plurality of risers 32 including a wall riser R1-08 and a corner riser R1-09, the wall riser R1-08 disposed on a side section of the lid 10 and the corner riser R1-09 being disposed on a corner section of the lid 10; and
a recess 54 is formed between a pair of adjacent risers 32 of the plurality of risers 32; and
wherein the lid 10 being adapted and configured to fit around and couple to the rim of the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”).
REIHNHART further teaches the lip 14 including through opening R1-04, through opening R1-04 of sufficient size to allow water to flow through the lip 14.
REIHNHART fails to teach lip 14 including a downwardly extending boss, the boss circumscribing the through opening R1-04.
REIHNHART fails to teach rim having a tote opening, the lip 14 of the lid 10 being adapted and configured to fit around and couple to the rim of the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”) in a manner in which the boss of the lip 14 fits within the tote opening to securely align and fit the lid 10 to the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”).
However, BROMLEY teaches (see FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 4 above) shipping container 10 wherein a lip 24 including a downwardly extending boss 61 and through opening B4-02, the boss 61 circumscribing the through opening B4-02 for securement purposes.
BROMLEY further teaches shipping container 10 wherein rim 44 having a shipping container 10 opening B4-02, the lip 24 of the lid 30 being adapted and configured to fit around and couple to the rim 44 of the shipping container 10 in a manner in which the boss 61 of the lip 24 fits within the shipping container 10 through opening B4-02 to securely align and fit the lid 30 to the shipping container 10 for securement purposes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified lip 14 / through opening R1-04 of REIHNHART with lip 24 / through opening B4-02 of BROMLEY for securement purposes.
Regarding claim 19, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 18 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) a lid 10 and a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”) comprising a rim, the lip 14 of the lid 10 being adapted and configured to fit around and couple to the rim of the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”) to securely align and fit the lid 10 to the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”).
REIHNHART fails to teach rim having a tote opening, the tote opening being a through opening.
REIHNHART fails to teach lip 14 of the lid 10 being adapted and configured to fit around and couple to the rim of the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”) in a manner in which the boss of the lip 14 fits within the tote opening.
REIHNHART fails to teach through opening R1-04 in the lip 14 being aligned with the tote opening in a manner such that when the lid 10 is fit around and coupled to the rim of the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), water may flow through both the through opening R1-04 in the lip 14 and the tote opening.
However, BROMLEY teaches (see FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 4 above) shipping container 10 wherein rim 44 having a shipping container 10 opening B4-02, the shipping container 10 opening B4-02 being a through opening B4-02 for securement purposes.
BROMLEY further teaches lip 24 of the lid 30 being adapted and configured to fit around and couple to the rim 44 of the shipping container 10 in a manner in which the boss 61 of the lip 24 fits within the shipping container 10 for securement purposes.
BROMLEY further teaches through opening B4-02 in the lip 24 being aligned with the shipping container 10 opening B4-02 in a manner such that when the lid 30 is fit around and coupled to the rim 44 of the shipping container 10, water may flow through both the through opening B4-02 in the lip 24 and the container 10 opening B4-02 for securement purposes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified through opening R1-04 in the lid 10 of REIHNHART and BROMLEY with through opening B4-02 as taught in the shipping container 10 of BROMLEY for securement purposes.
Regarding claim 20, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART further teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) [albeit with different phraseology] a method of using the lid 10 and a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), comprising one of:
coupling the lid 10 to the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”); and
decoupling the lid 10 from the tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REIHNHART, in view of BROMLEY, in further view of Crossley (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20160009461A1) hereinafter CROSSLEY.
Regarding claim 8, REIHNHART and BROMLEY (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. REIHNHART fails to teach (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 8 above) lid 10 for a tote (page 1, line 1, ABSTRACT, “... lid for a container...”), wherein the lip 14 includes an icon depicting at least one use for the through opening R1-04.
However, CROSSLEY teaches (see Fig. 1, Fig. 6, Fig. 8, Fig. 12 below) lid 200 for a container 100, wherein the main body 210 includes an icon 241 depicting at least one use (Fig. 12) for the container 100 to ease.
CROSSLEY fails to teach lip 222 includes an icon 241.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified lip 14 in the lid 10 for a tote of REIHNHART and BROMLEY with icon 241 as taught in the lid 200 for a container 100 of CROSSLEY to ease use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding objection of claim 7 in the reply of January 8, 2026 (and in view of standing claim amendments) have been considered and found persuasive.
Furthermore, in view of aforementioned claim amendments, rejection of claim(s) 17, 19 under 35 USC § 112 stand.
Applicant's arguments regarding rejections under 35 USC § 103 of claims 1-20 in aforementioned reply have been considered but are found non persuasive.
Regarding argument REINHART in view of BROMLEY fails to teach a “downwardly extending boss an a through opening, the boss circumscribing the through opening” the Examiner relies on BROMLEY (i.e., FIG. 4) to teach “boss circumscribing opening” as obvious variant in the arts absent in REINHART.
With respect to the art rejections, in accordance with MPEP 2111.01, during examination, the claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. In re American Academy of Science Tech Center, 367 F.3d 1359, 70 USPQ2D 1827, 1834 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Reinhart et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20200102135A1): Teaches a “lid” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Green (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20200399026A1): Teaches a “container” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Reinhart et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20210047075A1): Teaches a “tote” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Reinhart (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20220119166A1): Teaches a “lid” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Reinhart (U. S. Design Patent USD765411S1): Teaches a “lid” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Reinhart et al. (U. S. Design Patent USD964038S1): Teaches a “lid” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Reinhart (U. S. Design Patent USD838982S1): Teaches a “lid” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Contact
/M.J.R.M./
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735