DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (US 2020/0148881, ‘881 hereafter) in view of Yao et al (CN 104086593, ‘593 hereafter, citations please see original document in Chinese).
Regarding claims 1-9, ‘881 discloses a resin composition comprising an epoxy resin which is one of the epoxy resin as listed in the present claim 3 ([0006]-[0009], [0028]-[0031], [0036], [0082], Table 1, Example E6); a maleimide-triazine resin formed from a bismaleimide compound and a cyanate ester compound having two or more cyanate group boned to aromatic rings satisfying present claims 4-7 ([0009], [0032], [0036], [0084], [0090]-[0091], Table 1, Example E6, these compounds mixed together forms into maleimide-triazine resin after crosslinked); a curing agent as in present claim 9 ([0049]); and a flame retardant including a di-DOPO ([0054]-[0056]) with weight ratio satisfying present claim 2 (1 to 200 parts flame retardant [0054], to 6-34 parts of maleimide-triazine resin [0036]). ‘881 does not specifically name a flame retardant having a structure as recited in the claims 1 and 8, however, in the same filed of endeavor, ‘593 discloses a di-DOPO compound having a structure as presently claimed ([0010]-[0030]), which can be used in an epoxy resin composition to provide good flame retardant effect and high thermal and chemical stability to epoxy resin [0009], [0069], [0103]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize di-DOPO compound as taught by ‘593, to modify the composition of ‘881 to render a resin composition having good flame retardation and high thermal stability.
Regarding claims 10-12, modified ‘881 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘881 also discloses the composition further comprising a curing accelerator, an elastomer, and a filler as presently claimed ([0057], [0058], [0062]).
Regarding claims 13-17, modified ‘881 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘881 also discloses that the composition can used to prepare a prepreg, metal clad laminate or a printed circuit board ([0065]-[0069]).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782