DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to Amendments made on 5/4/2026, in which: claims 48, 50-52 are previously presented and claims 1-47, 49 are cancelled.
Double Patenting
Claims 48, 50-52 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12, 34, 45 of U.S. Patent No. 11882810. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant invention is the same but is presented in broader form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 48, 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conger (US 2011/0061600) in view of KMH182 (Multi-Layer Bin, 2010).
Regarding claim 48, Conger discloses a method for manufacturing an animal cage comprising the step of: removing material from a perforation section (119) of the cage (101, 102) to form a plurality of apertures (119A), wherein the apertures (119A) are formed by removing material of the cage (101, 102), but does not expressly disclose wherein the material is removed from the inside to the outside of the cage by the material being drilled, milled or punched.
However, KMH182 discloses a similar method of manufacturing a container by removing the material from the inside to the outside by being drilled, milled or punched (Steps 2 and 3, see below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Conger, by removing material from the inside to the outside by being drilled, milled or punched, as taught by KMH182, for the purpose of providing apertures in the device for drainage and airflow.
Regarding claim 50, Conger discloses wherein the cage (101, 102) comprises a cage top (102), the cage top (102) including one or more walls (walls around the exterior of element 102 and around element 105) extending from a ceiling (surface of element 102, Fig. 3), the perforation section (107, Fig. 7A) is positioned in the ceiling (surface of element 102, Fig. 3) of the cage top (102).
Claims 48, 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 2016/0174519) in view of KMH182 (Multi-Layer Bin, 2010).
Regarding claim 48, Chang discloses a method for manufacturing an animal cage comprising the step of: removing material from a perforation section (400) of the cage (100) to form a plurality of apertures (410, and apertures of 600), wherein the apertures (410, and apertures of 600) are formed by removing material of the cage (100), but does not expressly disclose wherein the material is removed from the inside to the outside of the cage by the material being drilled, milled or punched.
However, KMH182 discloses a similar method of manufacturing a container by removing the material from the inside to the outside by being drilled, milled or punched (Steps 2 and 3, see above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Chang, by removing material from the inside to the outside by being drilled, milled or punched, as taught by KMH182, for the purpose of providing apertures in the device for drainage and airflow.
Regarding claim 51, Chang discloses wherein the cage (100) comprises a cage top (300), the cage top (300) including one or more walls (walls extending from the exterior portion of element 300 and walls of element 600) extending from a ceiling (surface of element 300), the perforation section (410, and apertures of 600) is positioned in the one or more walls (walls extending from the exterior portion of element 300 and walls of element 600) of the cage top (300).
Claims 48, 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada (US 10687509) in view of KMH182 (Multi-Layer Bin, 2010).
Regarding claim 48, Harada discloses a method for manufacturing an animal cage comprising the step of: removing material from a perforation section (150) of the cage (100) to form a plurality of apertures (112), wherein the apertures (112) are formed by removing material the cage (100), but does not expressly disclose wherein the material is removed from the inside to the outside of the cage by the material being drilled, milled or punched.
However, KMH182 discloses a similar method of manufacturing a container by removing the material from the inside to the outside by being drilled, milled or punched (Steps 2 and 3, see above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Harada, by removing material from the inside to the outside by being drilled, milled or punched, as taught by KMH182, for the purpose of providing apertures in the device for drainage and airflow.
Regarding claim 52, Harada discloses wherein the cage (100) comprises a cage base (bottom of element 100), the cage base (bottom of element 100) including one or more walls (110) extending from a floor (floor of element 100), the perforation section (150) is positioned in the one or more walls (110) of the cage base (bottom of element 100).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 48, 50-52 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/AARON M RODZIWICZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MONICA L PERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644