DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to Amendments made on 8/4/2025, in which: claims 48 are amended, claims 1-47, 49 are cancelled and claims 50-52 are new.
Specification
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
The amendment filed 8/4/2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: All subject matter disclosed on pages 15-19 of the specification (it appears an entire new claim set with claims 1-29 is being introduced).
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Double Patenting
Claims 48, 50-52 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12, 34, 45 of U.S. Patent No. 11882810. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant invention is the same but is presented in broader form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 48, 52 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harada (US 10687509).
Regarding claim 48, Harada discloses a method for manufacturing an animal cage comprising the step of: removing material from a perforation section (150) of the cage (100) to form a plurality of apertures (112), wherein the apertures (112) are formed by removing material from an inside surface (inside of element 100) of the cage (100) to an outside surface (outside of element 100) of the cage (100) and wherein the material is removed by the material being drilled, milled or punched (Column 9, lines 7-24, punched, drilled, melted or otherwise created).
Regarding claim 52, Harada discloses wherein the cage (100) comprises a cage base (bottom of element 100), the cage base (bottom of element 100) including one or more walls (110) extending from a floor (floor of element 100), the perforation section (150) is positioned in the one or more walls (110) of the cage base (bottom of element 100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 48, 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conger (US 2011/0061600) in view of Harada (US 10687509).
Regarding claim 48, Conger discloses a method for manufacturing an animal cage comprising the step of: removing material from a perforation section (119) of the cage (101, 102) to form a plurality of apertures (119A), wherein the apertures (119A) are formed by removing material from an inside surface (inside of elements 101, 102) of the cage (101, 102) to an outside surface (outside of elements 101, 102) of the cage (101, 102), but does not expressly disclose wherein the material is removed by the material being drilled, milled or punched.
However, Harada discloses a similar method of manufacturing an animal cage by removing the material by being drilled, milled or punched (Column 9, lines 7-24, punched, drilled, melted or otherwise created).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Conger, by removing material by being drilled, milled or punched, as taught by Harada, for the purpose of providing apertures in the device for ventilation or electrical feedthrough.
Regarding claim 50, Conger discloses wherein the cage (101, 102) comprises a cage top (102), the cage top (102) including one or more walls (walls around the exterior of element 102 and around element 105) extending from a ceiling (surface of element 102, Fig. 3), the perforation section (107, Fig. 7A) is positioned in the ceiling (surface of element 102, Fig. 3) of the cage top (102).
Claims 48, 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 2016/0174519) in view of Harada (US 10687509).
Regarding claim 48, Chang discloses a method for manufacturing an animal cage comprising the step of: removing material from a perforation section (400) of the cage (100) to form a plurality of apertures (410, and apertures of 600), wherein the apertures (410, and apertures of 600) are formed by removing material from an inside surface (inside of element 100) of the cage (100) to an outside surface (outside of elements 100) of the cage (100), but does not expressly disclose wherein the material is removed by the material being drilled, milled or punched.
However, Harada discloses a similar method of manufacturing an animal cage by removing the material by being drilled, milled or punched (Column 9, lines 7-24, punched, drilled, melted or otherwise created).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Chang, by removing material by being drilled, milled or punched, as taught by Harada, for the purpose of providing apertures in the device for ventilation or electrical feedthrough.
Regarding claim 51, Chang discloses wherein the cage (100) comprises a cage top (300), the cage top (300) including one or more walls (walls extending from the exterior portion of element 300 and walls of element 600) extending from a ceiling (surface of element 300), the perforation section (410, and apertures of 600) is positioned in the one or more walls (walls extending from the exterior portion of element 300 and walls of element 600) of the cage top (300).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicants argument that Harada teaches away from the limitation of removing material from an inside surface to an outside surface of the cage, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Prior art Harada specifically discloses removing material from the cage body to form apertures (Column 9, lines 7-24, the apertures are punched, drilled, melted or otherwise created). The applicant appears to argue the criticality of removing the material from an inside surface to an outside surface, however, there is no evidence or record that would support the allegation of criticality of said step of removing material. The manner in which the apertures are created is merely a design choice and does not constitute an inventive concept as the apertures can be punched, drilled, melted or otherwise created in any position inside or outside the cage, and as such the claims stand rejected over Harada as stated above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 48, 50-52 over Conger in view of Harada and Chang in view of Harada have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M RODZIWICZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MONICA L PERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644