Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on enhancement of network slicing; Phase 3 (Release 18)”, 3GPP STANDARD; 3GPP TR23.700-41, 3GPP, MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX, herein after 3rd Generation Partnership Project in view of Casati et al. (US 2023/0143638).
Regarding claim 1, above 3rd Generation Partnership Project teaches a method for performing public land mobile network (PLMN) selection in a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving, from a home PLMN (HPLMN), at least one enhanced slice aware steering of roaming (SoR) information list (See Section 6.7.1: This solution……explains how the UE may use information about slice availability per VPLMN and prioritization information, received from HPLMN to influence automatic PLMN selection……Section 6.7.2, §4: when the steering of Roaming information, including the S-NSAAI information is received, the UE determines, based on the list of VPLMNs available in the area and the S-NSSAIs supported in these VPLMNs, whether the UE may attempt to obtain service on a higher priority VPLMN as specified in the received Steering of Roaming information, wherein the S-NSSAI information corresponds to single-network slice selection assistance information);
identifying network slices supported by each PLMN among a plurality of PLMNs for at least one required service based on the enhanced slice aware SoR information list (Section 6.7.1 and 6.7.2 §4, wherein the UE determining, based on the list of VPLMNs available in the area and the S-NSSAIs supported in these VPLMNs, whether the UE may attempt to obtain service on a higher priority VPLMN as specified in the received Steering of Roaming information implies that it has identified the network slices supported by each PLMN); and
selecting a first PLMN for the at least one required service among the plurality of PLMNs based on the identified network slices and UE specific slice aware list stored in a database of the UE (Section 6.7.1 and 6.7.2 §4, wherein the UE determining, based on the list of VPLMNs available in the area and the S-NSSAIs supported in these VPLMNs, whether the UE may attempt to obtain service on a higher priority VPLMN as specified in the received Steering of Roaming Information also implies that it selects a first PLMN for at least one of the required services), but does not specifically teach wherein the UE specific slice aware list includes at least one of: a tracking area code, a global cell identification (ID), a PLMN ID, a closed subscriber group ID, or a service area ID.
However, in related art, Casati teaches wherein the UE specific slice aware list includes at least one of: a tracking area code, a global cell identification (ID), a PLMN ID (Paragraph [0086]…… As shown in block 611, the UE 102 is configured by the HPLMN 502 with the Preferred PLMN List 503 and the Network Slice Aware PLMN Exception List 501 each comprising one or more respective PLMN IDs as identified by a respective S-NSSAI), a closed subscriber group ID, or a service area ID. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Casati’s teaching about wherein the UE specific slice aware list includes at least one of: a tracking area code, a global cell identification (ID), a PLMN ID, a closed subscriber group ID, or a service area ID with 3rd Generation Partnership Project’s invention in order to establish a wireless network connection with the selected PLMN.
Regarding claim 9, above 3rd Generation Partnership Project teaches a user equipment (UE) configured to perform public land mobile network (PLMN) selection, the UE comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry configured, individually and/or collectively, to execute the stored instructions to: receive, from a home PLMN (HPLMN), at least one enhanced slice aware steering of roaming (SoR) information list (See Section 6.7.1: This solution……explains how the UE may use information about slice availability per VPLMN and prioritization information, received from HPLMN to influence automatic PLMN selection……Section 6.7.2, §4: when the steering of Roaming information, including the S-NSAAI information is received, the UE determines, based on the list of VPLMNs available in the area and the S-NSSAIs supported in these VPLMNs, whether the UE may attempt to obtain service on a higher priority VPLMN as specified in the received Steering of Roaming information, wherein the S-NSSAI information corresponds to single-network slice selection assistance information);
identify network slices supported by each PLMN among a plurality of PLMNs for at least one required service based on the enhanced slice aware SoR information list (Section 6.7.1 and 6.7.2 §4, wherein the UE determining, based on the list of VPLMNs available in the area and the S-NSSAIs supported in these VPLMNs, whether the UE may attempt to obtain service on a higher priority VPLMN as specified in the received Steering of Roaming information implies that it has identified the network slices supported by each PLMN); and
select a first PLMN for the at least one required service among the plurality of PLMNs based on the identified network slices and UE specific slice aware list stored in a database of the UE (Section 6.7.1 and 6.7.2 §4, wherein the UE determining, based on the list of VPLMNs available in the area and the S-NSSAIs supported in these VPLMNs, whether the UE may attempt to obtain service on a higher priority VPLMN as specified in the received Steering of Roaming Information also implies that it selects a first PLMN for at least one of the required services) but does not specifically teach wherein the UE specific slice aware list includes at least one of: a tracking area code, a global cell identification (ID), a PLMN ID, a closed subscriber group ID, or a service area ID.
However, in related art, Casati teaches wherein the UE specific slice aware list includes at least one of: a tracking area code, a global cell identification (ID), a PLMN ID (Paragraph [0086]…… As shown in block 611, the UE 102 is configured by the HPLMN 502 with the Preferred PLMN List 503 and the Network Slice Aware PLMN Exception List 501 each comprising one or more respective PLMN IDs as identified by a respective S-NSSAI), a closed subscriber group ID, or a service area ID. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Casati’s teaching about wherein the UE specific slice aware list includes at least one of: a tracking area code, a global cell identification (ID), a PLMN ID, a closed subscriber group ID, or a service area ID with 3rd Generation Partnership Project’s invention in order to establish a wireless network connection with the selected PLMN.
Regarding claim 17, above 3rd Generation Partnership Project teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to perform operations, the operations comprising: receiving, from a home PLMN (HPLMN), at least one enhanced slice aware steering of roaming (SoR) information list (See Section 6.7.1: This solution……explains how the UE may use information about slice availability per VPLMN and prioritization information, received from HPLMN to influence automatic PLMN selection……Section 6.7.2, §4: when the steering of Roaming information, including the S-NSAAI information is received, the UE determines, based on the list of VPLMNs available in the area and the S-NSSAIs supported in these VPLMNs, whether the UE may attempt to obtain service on a higher priority VPLMN as specified in the received Steering of Roaming information, wherein the S-NSSAI information corresponds to single-network slice selection assistance information);
identifying network slices supported by each PLMN among a plurality of PLMNs for at least one required service based on the enhanced slice aware SoR information list (Section 6.7.1 and 6.7.2 §4, wherein the UE determining, based on the list of VPLMNs available in the area and the S-NSSAIs supported in these VPLMNs, whether the UE may attempt to obtain service on a higher priority VPLMN as specified in the received Steering of Roaming information implies that it has identified the network slices supported by each PLMN); and
selecting a first PLMN for the at least one required service among the plurality of PLMNs based on the identified network slices and UE specific slice aware list stored in a database of the UE (Section 6.7.1 and 6.7.2 §4, wherein the UE determining, based on the list of VPLMNs available in the area and the S-NSSAIs supported in these VPLMNs, whether the UE may attempt to obtain service on a higher priority VPLMN as specified in the received Steering of Roaming Information also implies that it selects a first PLMN for at least one of the required services), but does not specifically teach wherein the UE specific slice aware list includes at least one of: a tracking area code, a global cell identification (ID), a PLMN ID, a closed subscriber group ID, or a service area ID.
However, in related art, Casati teaches wherein the UE specific slice aware list includes at least one of: a tracking area code, a global cell identification (ID), a PLMN ID (Paragraph [0086]…… As shown in block 611, the UE 102 is configured by the HPLMN 502 with the Preferred PLMN List 503 and the Network Slice Aware PLMN Exception List 501 each comprising one or more respective PLMN IDs as identified by a respective S-NSSAI), a closed subscriber group ID, or a service area ID. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Casati’s teaching about wherein the UE specific slice aware list includes at least one of: a tracking area code, a global cell identification (ID), a PLMN ID, a closed subscriber group ID, or a service area ID with 3rd Generation Partnership Project’s invention in order to establish a wireless network connection with the selected PLMN.
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by 3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on enhancement of network slicing; Phase 3 (Release 18)”, 3GPP STANDARD; 3GPP TR23.700-41, 3GPP, MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX, herein after 3rd Generation Partnership Project in view of Casati et al. (US 2023/0143638), and further in view of Koshta et al. (US 2022/0053316).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, the combination of 3rd Generation Partnership Project and Casati fail to teach the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: sending a registration request to the first PLMN among the plurality of PLMNs; and maintaining, in the database of the UE, an updated enhanced slice aware SoR information list having an updated network slice support information list together with granularity information for each PLMN based on a reception of a response of the registration request from the first PLMN.
However, in related art, Koshta teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: sending a registration request to the first PLMN among the plurality of PLMNs (Paragraphs 0048, 0052, 0057, especially paragraph 0057); and
maintaining, in the database of the UE, an updated enhanced slice aware SoR information list having an updated network slice support information list together with granularity information for each PLMN based on a reception of a response of the registration request from the first PLMN (Paragraph [0015]…. a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) may need to update parameters for a UE. Current 3GPP standards provide a method for performing a UE parameter update (UPU) to update parameters such as, for example, the updated default configured network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), the updated routing ID data, and/or the steering of roaming (SoR) list by the HPLMN. Paragraph [0056]…. FIG. 6 is a signaling diagram 600 illustrating a steering of roaming (SoR) list update procedure according to various exemplary embodiments. At 605, the UDM 133 determines that a SoR list update is necessary. In some embodiments, the SoR list update updates the list of operator controlled PLMNs with access technology stored on the UE 110. At 610, the UDM 133 transmits the SoR data to the AUSF 132 along with the SUPI and an indication of whether or not an acknowledgement (ACK) is requested from the UE 110. Paragraph [0057]At 620, the UDM 133 starts a timer to track reception of the SoR ACK. If the timer expires before the UDM 133 receives the ACK, then the UDM 133 reattempts the SoR update procedure. In some embodiments, if the UDM 133 detects a change of AMF (e.g., the UE 110 initiates a registration request on a new AMF) while the SoR update procedure is ongoing, then the UDM 133 can initiate the SoR update procedure as part of a registration request procedure, after the AMF 131 fetches the UE subscription information from the UDM 133, after the completion of the registration request procedure or after the AMF 131 notifies the UDM 133 of the updated location (granularity information per tracking area identity) of the UE 110). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Koshta’s teaching about sending a registration request to the first PLMN among the plurality of PLMNs; and maintaining, in the database of the UE, an updated enhanced slice aware SoR information list having an updated network slice support information list together with granularity information for each PLMN based on a reception of a response of the registration request from the first PLMN with 3rd Generation Partnership Project and Casati’s invention in order to perform a UE parameter update (UPU) procedure or a steering of roaming (SoR) procedure based on information received from a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) (See Koshta, abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6-8, 11-12, and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fails to teach the method as claimed in claim 2, further comprising: selecting, based on the first PLMN not supporting the at least one required service, a second PLMN with a lower priority PLMN than the first PLMN among the plurality of PLMNs for providing the at least one required service based on the updated enhanced SoR information list, the granularity information, and the reception of the response including a rejection of the registration request.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record fails to teach the UE as claimed in claim 10, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to execute the stored instructions to: select, based on the first PLMN not supporting the at least one required service, a second PLMN with a lower priority PLMN than the first PLMN among the plurality of PLMNs for providing the at least one required service based on the updated enhanced SoR information list, the granularity information, and the reception of the response including a rejection of the registration request.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132