DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 6, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7-15 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s arguments are drawn to newly added claim limitations.
Election/Restrictions
Amendment to the withdrawn/non-elected claims 7-15 filed on 9/28/2025, obviates the necessity for the election requirement mailed on 4/16/2025. Claims 7-15 are rejoined.
Status of Claims
Amendment to the Claims was filed on 9/28/2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 11/3/2025 is acknowledged by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lev US PG PUB 20210148101 (“Lev”).
Regarding Claim 1, Lev discloses a wand hose (52) for a wand (20) that can be pulled away from a body (14) of a faucet (10), the wand hose comprising: an outer hose (52, see ann. fig. 12B) having an inlet (end 54, see fig. 13), an outlet (end 56, see fig. 13) , and an inner surface (ann. fig. 12B); and an inner hose (50) extending through the outer hose (52) and having an inlet (end 54, see fig. 13), an outlet (end 56, see fig. 13), an inner surface (ann. fig. 12B), and an outer surface (ann. fig. 12B); wherein downstream ends (56) of the outer hose (52) and inner hose (50) are configured to operatively couple with an upstream portion (coupler 60) of the wand (20); wherein the inner hose (50) is operable to receive a first fluid supply (para 0052, “an adapter 59 is provided at the second ends 56 of the hoses 50, 52 so that the fluid flowing within the concentric hoses 50, 52 are routed to the two outlets 61, 63 provided in the end fitting 60. Such an adapter may also be provided at the first end 54 of the hoses 50, 52 so that the two fluid supplies are routed into the two concentric hoses 50, 52”); wherein the wand hose (52) is operable to receive a second fluid supply (para 0052); wherein the wand hose (52) is configured to extend through a spout (12) of the faucet (10) and wherein the inner hose (50) is continuously pressurized (para 0052) up to the wand (20).
LEV – ANNOTATED FIGURE 12B
Regarding Claim 4, Lev discloses a hose coupler (60) disposed at a downstream end of the outer hose (56) and configured to operatively couple the outer hose (52) with the wand (20).
Regarding Claim 5, Lev discloses the wand hose is operable to receive the second fluid supply (para 0052, “an adapter 59 is provided at the second ends 56 of the hoses 50, 52 so that the fluid flowing within the concentric hoses 50, 52 are routed to the two outlets 61, 63 provided in the end fitting 60. Such an adapter may also be provided at the first end 54 of the hoses 50, 52 so that the two fluid supplies are routed into the two concentric hoses 50, 52”) via a flow path extending between the outer surface of the inner hose (ann. fig. 12B) and the inner surface of the outer hose (ann. fig. 12B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lev US PG PUB 20210148101 (“Lev”) in view of Ye US PG PUB 20170101325 (“Ye”).
Regarding Claim 16, Lev discloses a wand hose (52) for a wand (20) of a faucet (10), the wand hose (52) comprising: an outer hose (52) having an inlet (54), an outlet (56), and an inner surface (ann. fig. 12B); and an inner hose (50) extending through the outer hose (52) and having an inlet (54), an outlet (56), an inner surface (ann. fig. 12B), and an outer surface (ann. fig. 12B); wherein downstream ends (56) of the outer hose (52) and inner hose (50) are coupled (coupler 60) with the wand (60); wherein the inner hose (50) is operable to receive a water supply through the inner hose (50); wherein the wand hose (52) is operable to receive a water supply; wherein the wand hose (52) is configured to extend through a spout (14) of the faucet (10); and wherein the inner hose (50) is continuously pressurized up to the wand (20).
Lev discloses the claimed invention, except inner hose is a treated water supply and the outer hose is a mixed water supply.
Ye teaches an inner hose (202) to receive treated water supply (filtered water 210) and outer hose (204) to receive a mixed water supply (220)(see para 0032-0033).
YE – FIGURE 3
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date to have modified the type of water from the two water supplies, as disclosed by Lev, by using a filtered water and an unfiltered mixed water, as taught by Ye, for the purpose of using a single spray head for both filtered and unfiltered water. A user can select the type of water from the input in a spray head.
Regarding Claim 17, Ye teaches the treated water supply comprises filtered water (para 0031-0033).
Regarding Claim 18, Ye teaches wherein an upstream end of the inner hose (202) is operatively connectable to a filter system (184).
Regarding Claim 20, Lev discloses the wand hose (20) is operable to receive the water supply between the outer surface of the inner hose (ann. fig. 12B) and the inner surface of the outer hose (ann. fig. 12B).
Lev discloses the claimed invention, except the water supply is a mixed water supply.
Ye teaches a mixed water supply.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date to have modified the type of water from the two water supplies, as disclosed by Lev, by using a filtered water and an unfiltered mixed water, as taught by Ye, for the purpose of using a single spray head for both filtered and unfiltered water. A user can select the type of water from the input in a spray head.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753