DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2024 and 11/04/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. [US 12,322,766].
With respect to claim 1, Lee discloses a power storage device comprising a battery stack and a deformation detection sensor that detects an amount of deformation of the battery stack [Fig. 1], wherein an average expansion rate of the battery stack [Fig. 7] at a charging rate in a range of 80 to 100% is 2.8 times or more of an average expansion rate of the battery stack at a charging rate in a range of 0 to 80% [Fig. 3; further note the statement that an average expansion rate is a certain value relates in a functional manner, i.e. apparatus claims cover what a device is and not what it does, in this case Lee discloses the structure required to determine an average expansion rate and compare between two ranges as disclosed in Figs 1 and 7].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. [US 12,322,766] in view of Tooyama [US 2026/0058134].
With respect to claim 2, Lee does not detail the layers of the measure battery. However, the instant claim recites a well-known battery structure in the art. Specifically, Tooyama relates to a battery pack and teaches the battery stack includes a positive electrode current collector layer, a positive electrode active material layer, a separator layer or a solid electrolyte layer, a negative electrode active material layer, and a negative electrode current collector layer arranged in this order; and the negative electrode active material layer includes at least artificial graphite [Fig. 4; par. 0043 discloses negative artificial graphite].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before filing date of the instant invention to utilize the claimed battery as taught by Tooyama for the benefit of utilizing a battery structure/material that improves the battery performance and durability as explicitly stated by Tooyama.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. [US 12,322,766] in view of Ringuette et al. [US 2020/0203783].
With respect to claim 3, while Lee discloses adjusting the charging/discharging based on the amount of deformation, he fails to explicitly state wherein charging of the power storage device is stopped. Ringuette relates to battery swelling detection and teaches stopping charging when the amount of deformation detected by the deformation detection sensor during the charging exceeds a predetermined value [par. 0032, Fig. 3].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before filing date of the instant invention to stop charging when the swelling gets greater than a threshold for the benefit of preventing permanent damage to the batteries.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL R PELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859