DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities.
As to claims 1 and 11, the claims recite the limitation “the LAPs of interest”, in line 10. However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-11 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Subbarayan et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190114417 A1).
As to claim 1, Subbarayan teaches a computer-implemented method for detecting anomalies in sequences of actions using lookahead pairs (LAPs), the method performed by one or more processors of an anomaly detection system and comprising:
receiving, over a communications network, a sequence of actions performed by a user during an active session (paragraph [0046], “…For example, the context analyzer 252 can extract a sequence of API calls (e.g., API Sequence S1={login, view account balance, view payee, initiate money transfer, validate transaction, store transaction number and logout}) associated with a particular API…” i.e. receiving a sequence of API calls);
generating one or more LAPs of interest based on the received sequence of actions (paragraph [0046], i.e. the extracted API sequence teaches one or more LAPs), each LAP of interest indicating a target action most recently performed by the user (paragraph [0046], i.e. “logout” in the extracted sequence), an origin action performed by the user before the target action (paragraph [0046], i.e. “login” in the extracted sequence), and a number of gap actions performed by the user after the performance of the origin action and up to the performance of the target action (paragraph [0046], i.e. the actions between login and logout);
and selectively flagging the LAPs of interest as anomalies based on whether they appear in a LAP database including a plurality of historical LAPs each indicating a previously observed pair of actions and a number of actions observed between the previously observed pair of actions (paragraph [0049], “…In other words, the ML model 253 can be trained on API transactions associated with largely normal user access patterns to applications that can be stored in a dictionary of API transactions (e.g., a dictionary of known associations between symbols). A potentially malicious pattern of activity can generate either a new sequence of symbols or a combination of new sequences of symbols of API transactions that can be identified as an outlier and be flagged as being indicative of malicious activity…” and paragraph [0053]), the selective flagging including: refraining from flagging the LAP of interest as an anomaly if the LAP database indicates that the LAP of interest is associated with a number of observances greater than or equal to a minimum threshold (paragraph [0064], “For example, if the consistency scores associated with one or more API calls in an analyzed sequence (received from a client device) are found to be below a predetermined threshold, the threshold being determined based on baseline data collected during training, the outlier detector can report or return an outlier indicating anomalous activity”, in other words if above or equal the threshold no anomalous activity will be reported); and
flagging the LAP of interest as an anomaly if the LAP database indicates that the LAP of interest is associated with a number of observances less than the minimum threshold or if the LAP of interest does not appear in the LAP database (paragraph [0064], “For example, if the consistency scores associated with one or more API calls in an analyzed sequence (received from a client device) are found to be below a predetermined threshold, the threshold being determined based on baseline data collected during training, the outlier detector can report or return an outlier indicating anomalous activity”, in other words if above or equal the threshold no anomalous activity will be reported, and paragraphs [0070]-[0071]).
As to claim 3, Subbarayan teaches wherein a duration between two consecutive actions in the active session does not exceed a maximum real-time idle duration (paragraph [0046], “Sequencing of API transactions has a known start and end session, either using time-based logic or user-initiated authentication (e.g., user login/logout)”, i.e. does not exceed standard session timeout duration).
As to claim 4, Subbarayan teaches for each LAP of interest, the number of gap actions is less than or equal to a maximum lookahead value (paragraph [0046], i.e. the length of sequence S1).
As to claim 5, Subbarayan teaches wherein the LAP database is generated based on actions performed by users during a plurality of sessions associated with a plurality of services hosted on a plurality of domains (paragraph [0049], “API transactions associated with largely normal user access patterns to applications that can be stored in a dictionary of API transactions (e.g., a dictionary of known associations between symbols)” and paragraph [0068]).
As to claim 6, Subbarayan teaches wherein the LAP database indicates a time at which each action was performed, and wherein a duration between two consecutive actions in any given session does not exceed a maximum training idle duration (paragraph [0046], “Sequencing of API transactions has a known start and end session, either using time-based logic or user-initiated authentication (e.g., user login/logout)”, i.e. does not exceed standard session timeout duration and paragraph [0067]).
As to claim 7, Subbarayan teaches wherein sessions including less than two performed actions are excluded from the LAP database (paragraph [0042], “In some implementations, the router 250 can selectively discard or reject transmission of communications/messages/traffic events that have been determined to be representative of a potentially malicious action/indicator of compromise, and only to allow transmission of communications/messages/traffic events that are found to be consistent with (or within established traffic parameter baselines”).
As to claim 8, Subbarayan teaches wherein the LAP database indicates, for each historical LAP, at least one of a total number of sessions during which the historical LAP was observed, a total number of observances of the historical LAP over the total number of sessions, an initially seen date indicating an earliest time that the historical LAP was observed, or a last seen date indicating a most recent time that the historical LAP was observed (paragraph [0067], “…a number of API calls received from the client device within a predefined time period…”).
As to claim 9, Subbarayan teaches wherein at least one of the total number of sessions, the total number of observances, the initial date, or the last date are used to augment the LAP database, wherein augmenting the LAP database includes at least one of discarding LAPs associated with a total number of sessions below a threshold or discarding LAPs associated with a last seen date exceeding a threshold (paragraph [0067], “…the measures of strength of associations can be combined with other metrics… ”, “…a number of API calls received from the client device within a predefined time period…”).
As to claim 10, Subbarayan teaches wherein the LAP database is generated in an unsupervised manner from unlabeled training data including historical sequences of actions performed by historical users during historical sessions, wherein the historical sequences of actions are not labeled based on known anomalies (paragraph [0053], “In some instances the baseline data can be data collected and accumulated during training of the ML model 253, that can be an unsupervised model, forming a dictionary of symbols (e.g., a dictionary of API transactions described above)”).
As to claim 11, Subbarayan further teaches a system for detecting anomalies in sequences of actions using lookahead pairs (LAPs), the system comprising: one or more processors; and at least one memory coupled to the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations (fig. 2). Therefore, the limitations of claim 11 are substantially similar to claim 1. Please refer to claim 1 above.
As to claims 13-20, the claims are substantially similar to claims 3-10, respectively. Please refer to each respective claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbarayan et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190114417 A1) in view of Lewis et al. (Patent No.: US 9342384 B1).
As to claim 2, Subbarayan teaches wherein the received sequence of actions includes a predefined number of most recent actions performed by the user, and wherein the predefined number of most recent actions are stored in a data structure in reverse chronological order (paragraph [0046], “S1={login, view account balance, view payee, initiate money transfer, validate transaction, store transaction number and logout}”).
Subbarayan does not explicitly teach utilizing a deque data structure.
However, in an analogues art (computer systems) Lewis teaches predefined number of most recent actions are stored in a deque data structure (col. 2, lines 49-50, “A double-ended queue (or Deque) is a queue that is configured such that data elements maybe added to, or removed from, either the head or tail ends of the queue…”).
Based on Subbarayan in view of Lewis, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate utilizing deque data structure (taught by Lewis) with storing action in a data structure (taught by Subbarayan) in order to allow for more efficient size adjustments if required.
As to claim 12, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar to claim 2. Please refer to claim 2 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references teaches detecting anomalies based on previously observed sequence of actions.
Mankins (Patent No.: US 7900194 B1), fig. 3.
Al Sharnouby (Pub. No.: US 20190220334 A1), paragraph [0021].
/Abdulkader M Alriyashi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 12/27/2025