DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 07/02/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending with claims 1-10 and 12-20 being amended.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant's arguments, in light of the amendments, filed 07/02/2026 with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejections set forth in the prior action have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, in light of the amendments, filed 07/02/2026 with respect to the 35 USC 103(a) rejections set forth in the prior action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The rejections of claim 1-20 under 35 USC 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jackson et al. (US 2023/0059103, hereinafter "Jackson 2023") in view of Sullivan et al. (US 2018/0327196, hereinafter "Sullivan") and further in view of Jackson et al. (US 2022/0219846, hereinafter "Jackson 2022") are maintained below.
During the interview dated June 30, 2026 with applicant’s representative Michael Tomszak, examiner was not aware of the teachings in Jackson 2023 and Jackson 2022 that disclose the newly recited features of claim 1, “wherein the operations performed by the edge computing device further comprise: detecting a label on the pallet, and identifying the pallet based at least in part on processing the label.”
While Jackson 2023 teaches identifying SKUs on items on a pallet, Jackson 2023 and Jackson 2022 each teach identifying the pallet itself. With Jackson 2023 teaching, “the images are also sent to another machine learning model 31c . . . information regarding the pallet 50 itself is also determined by the machine learning model 31c”, see paragraph [0034]. Further, Jackson 2022 discloses “Referring to FIGS. 1 and 3, workers at the distribution center read the pallet id (e.g. via rfid, barcode, etc) on the pallet(s) 22 on a pallet jack 24a, such as with a mobile device or a reader on the pallet jack 24a.” see [0063], and “The DC computer 26 records the pallet ids of the pallet(s) 22 that have been loaded with particular SKUs for each pick sheet 64. The pick sheet 64 may associate each pallet id with each SKU.” See [0064]. At the very least, those teachings from Jackson 2023 and Jackson 2022 disclose the newly recited features of claim 1. Because the previously set forth combination of references further teach the newly recited features of claim 1, the rejections set forth in the prior Office action are maintained and repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson et al. (US 2023/0059103) in view of Sullivan et al. (US 2018/0327196) and further in view of Jackson et al. (US 2022/0219846).
In the mapping, base reference Jackson et al. (US 2023/0059103) will be referred to as Jackson 2023. Modifying reference Jackson et al. (US 2022/0219846) will be referred to as Jackson 2022.
Claim 1, Jackson 2023 discloses: A system for automatically and optically determining structural integrity and catch weight information for a pallet in a facility (see at least Abstract, [0024]), the system comprising:
a turntable configured to receive the pallet from the conveyor belt and to rotate the pallet; [See at least Fig. 1, Ref. Numeral 14 (turntable), 50 (loaded pallet); Par. 0024, 0030]
at least one imaging device positioned proximate the turntable and configured to capture optical data of the pallet as the turntable rotates the pallet; [See at least Fig. 1, Ref. Numeral 16 (camera); Par. 0030, 0047]
an edge computing device in network communication with the at least one imaging device, wherein the edge computing device comprises one or more processors and memory storing instructions that when executed cause the edge computing device to perform operations comprising:
receiving the optical data from the at least one imaging device; [See at least Par. 0047] ▪ processing the optical data to determine structural integrity information for the pallet; [See at least Par. 0048]
processing the optical data to determine catch weight information for each of the plurality of cases on the pallet; [See at least Par. 0074, 0139, 0153, 0154, 0159 of US 2022/0129836, incorporated in its entirety into US 2023/0059103 in Par. 0031]
detecting a label on the pallet, [detection of a label is implied because if the computer 26 identifies SKUs of the items on the pallet 50 [0031-0032] from the camera 16 generated images [0030], the same machine learning would be applied to detect labels on the pallet]
identifying the pallet based at least in part on processing the identified label, [the machine learning model is used to “analyze the images of the loaded pallet 50” [0032], and “information regarding the pallet 50 itself is also determined by the machine learning model 31c”, [0034]; Jackson 2023 does not explicitly disclose whether the information regarding the pallet 50 includes a “label”, however as set forth below, Jackson 2022 discloses pallet ids which are read by the system; there must be a label if a computer is able to determine a pallet id based on an image of that pallet].
For examination purposes, “catch weight” has been construed as an inferred weight (expected weight disclosed by Jackson ) calculated from the optical data based on the dimensions, type of item and/or type of packaging, both with or without a measured weight verification step; rather than the more commonly used definition for variable-weight items.
While Jackson 2023 discloses a turntable, camera and processing optical data, Jackson 2023 does not disclose a conveyor belt and routing of the pallet. With respect to these limitations, Sullivan, directed to the same technology — palletizing and validation — teaches:
a conveyor belt configured to route a pallet having a plurality of cases in a facility once the pallet is ingested into the facility; [See at least Par. 0029]
determining, based on the structural integrity information and the catch weight information, routing or storage information for the pallet. [See at least Abstract, Par. 0029, 0049, 0104]
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jackson 2023 to incorporate the teachings of Sullivan and combine the conveyor belt and routing of the pallet with the turntable, camera and processing optical data of Jackson 2023. The conveyor belt and routing of the pallet of Sullivan allows direct integration with a partial enclosure configured to enclose the turntable, the at least one imaging device, and at least a portion of the conveyor belt; and [See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numeral 32 (validation station) with partial enclosure
an automated storage and retrieval system (ASRS), enabling increased speed and efficiency.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the capability to combine the conveyor belt and routing of the pallet of Sullivan with the turntable, camera and processing optical data of Jackson 2023 and would have recognized that the combination would yield predictable results. Even in the combined context, the features of the turntable, camera and processing optical data of Jackson 2023 and the features of the conveyor belt and routing of the pallet of Sullivan would be expected to function as intended, with each element in the combined context performing the same function as it did separately.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Sullivan because they are a known work in the same field of endeavor directed to the same technology (palletizing and validation), which would prompt its use based on design improvements that are predictable and recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
While Jackson 2023 and Sullivan disclose turntable, camera, processing optical data, and conveyor belt, they do not explicitly disclose a partial enclosure for those elements. Further, while Jackson 2023 discloses the machine learning model is used to “analyze the images of the loaded pallet 50” [0032], and “information regarding the pallet 50 itself is also determined by the machine learning model 31c”, [0034]; Jackson 2023 does not explicitly disclose whether the information regarding the pallet 50 includes a “label”.
With respect to these limitations, Jackson 2022, directed to the same technology — palletizing and validation — teaches:
entryway 76 (ramp as a partial enclosure) and
detecting and reading a label (“The pallet id of the pallet 22 is also read.” [0065])
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jackson 2023 and Sullivan to incorporate the teachings of Jackson 2022 and combine the partial enclosure with the disclose turntable, camera, processing optical data, and conveyor belt of Jackson 2023 and Sullivan. The partial enclosure of Jackson 2022 allows demarcation of moving working areas, improving safety and enabling increased speed and effectiveness.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the capability to combine the partial enclosure of Jackson 2022 with the turntable, camera, processing optical data, and conveyor belt of Jackson 2023 and Sullivan and would have recognized that the combination would yield predictable results. Even in the combined context, the features of the turntable, camera, processing optical data, and conveyor belt of Jackson 2023 and Sullivan and the features of the partial enclosure of Jackson 2022 would be expected to function as intended, with each element in the combined context performing the same function as it did separately.
Further, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jackson 2023 and Sullivan to incorporate the teachings of Jackson 2022 to detect and read labels on pallets [0063]-[0065] with the disclose turntable, camera, processing optical data, and conveyor belt of Jackson 2023 and Sullivan. The pallet id detection and reading allows for matching of product SKUs with designated pallets for tracking and monitoring purposes.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Jackson 2022 because they are a known work in the same field of endeavor directed to the same technology (palletizing and validation), which would prompt its use based on design improvements that are predictable and recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 2-20 are rejected based on the same teachings and rationale set forth in the Office action mailed 6/9/2026. In as much as claims 2-20 remain substantially the same but for the amendments to overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejections and no arguments or challenges were presented regarding the prior art rejections under 35 USC 103(a), the previous rejections are maintained based on the same teachings and rationale previously presented. If upon applicant’s review of those rejections applicant finds reasons to rebut the findings of obviousness, the Office welcomes an interview or further correspondence presenting the reasons for rebuttal.
The examiner is not aware of any teachings presented by applicant that distinguish over the prior art of record. Examiner welcomes the opportunity to conduct an interview to discuss further clarifying amendments to promote compact prosecution and potential findings of allowability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230114085 A1, PALLET INSPECTION SYSTEM AND ASSOCIATED METHODS;
US 20220180100 A1, UTILIZING COMPUTER VISION AND MACHINE LEARNING MODELS FOR DETERMINING UTILIZATION METRICS FOR A SPACE;
CN 113269801 A, Method And Computing System For Processing Candidate Edges;
WO 2011087454 A1, APPARATUS AND METHODS FOR MANIPULATING AND ACQUIRING IMAGES OF A PALLET LOAD; and
CN 114096331 A, Method And Computing System For Performing Or Facilitating Physical Edge Detection.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655