Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 11, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ko et al (US 20140080469) in view of Yuan (US 2019/0303088) and Kawakami (WO 2015/092970).
As per claim 1 Ko et al discloses: An electronic device comprising: a short-range wireless communication circuit 111 & 211 configured to perform short-range wireless communication; one or more processors 150 & 240; and a memory 140 & 230 storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors 150 & 240 individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: when a trigger event for sharing an input device of the electronic device occurs { figure 4: S420, S430, S450 & [0086]-[0092] }, establish a wireless data communication path with an external electronic device 300 for an input sharing function through the short-range wireless communication occurs { figure 4: S460, S470 & [0093]-[0094] }, wherein the external electronic device 300 is selected for the input sharing function based at least on the external electronic device 300 being registered to a same user account as the electronic device { [0082] According to the current exemplary embodiment, if the at least one external device 300 is not registered in the second terminal 200, the second terminal 200 may receive registration information of the at least one external device 300 from the first terminal 100 and register the external device in the second terminal 200. In the registration information of the external device 300, identification information of the at least one external device 300, authentication information of the at least one external device 300, and application information of the at least one external device 300 (e.g., identification information of an application related to the at least one external device 300 or link information of an application) may be included. },
and external electronic device 300 and the electronic device { figure 4: S460, S470 & [0093]-[0094] }, receive input information, corresponding to a user input {[0070] Also, the first terminal 100 may transmit connection information regarding the second terminal 200 to some of the external devices 300 upon receiving a user input.}, from the input device, and transmit, through the wireless data communication path between the external electronic device 300 and the electronic device, the received input information to the external electronic device 300 {figure 4: S480 & [0094]-[0095]}.
Regarding claim 1 Ko et al is silent as to: the same user account is associated with at least one of contact information, user account information, or a user name. With respect to claim 1 Yuan discloses: [0005] A user may have the same application on different devices and may synchronize the information of different apps by logging into the same user account at the instance of the application at each corresponding device. However, conventionally, such an approach can only synchronize some historical records, photographs, contacts, and other such information of the user but cannot synchronize the user's current operation of one instance of the application.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the electronic device of Ko et al with the same user account is associated with at least one of contact information, user account information, or a user name as taught by Yuan. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an electronic device with the same user account is associated with at least one of contact information, user account information, or a user name so as to synchronize data and user information thereby making the devices more user friendly.
Regarding claim 1 Ko et al as modified by Yuan is silent as to: wherein the input device is connected to the electronic device through a first wireless communication based on a first communication protocol, and wherein the wireless data communication path is performed through a second wireless communication based on a second communication protocol different from the first communication protocol while the input device is connected to the electronic device through the first wireless communication based on the first communication protocol. With respect to claim 1 Kawakami depicts in figure 18 and discloses: [0254] First, when one of the wireless communication device 300 and the wireless communication device 400 comes close to the other, the wireless communication device 300 provides the wireless communication device 400 with connection information for Bluetooth communication (for example, a Bluetooth device address, and the like) through NFC (S601). [0257] Then, the wireless communication device 300 and the wireless communication device 400 establish a secure link for the wireless LAN communication (S607). In other words, the wireless communication device 300 and the wireless communication device 400 are securely connected to each other. Note that the secure link is a link encrypted using the PSK (for example a WPA2-PSK). & [0258] Then, provision and use of a service through the wireless LAN communication between the wireless communication device 300 and the wireless communication device 400 are started (S609). & [0259] According to the example of the second embodiment as above, even when an amount of data exchanged between the devices is large (for example, 2 to 4 kB or greater), for example, a time for which the wireless communication device 300 and the other wireless communication device (for example, the wireless communication device 400) are brought close to each other can be further shortened. In addition, provision or use of a service through the wireless communication, for example, can be started more quickly..
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the electronic device of Ko et al as modified by Yuan with the input device is connected to the electronic device through a first wireless communication based on a first communication protocol, and wherein the wireless data communication path is established through a second wireless communication based on a second communication protocol different from the first communication protocol as taught by Kawakami. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an electronic device with the input device is connected to the electronic device through a first wireless communication based on a first communication protocol, and wherein the wireless data communication path is established through a second wireless communication based on a second communication protocol different from the first communication protocol because “provision or use of a service through wireless communication can be started more quickly.” See [0294] of Kawakami.
As per claim 2 Ko et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the trigger event includes a user input received by a user interface displayed on a display of the electronic device. {[0045] & [0048]}
As per claim 3 Ko et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the user interface includes a selectable object for the input sharing function. {figure 11: S1110 & [0136]}
As per claim 4 Ko et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the input device is a peripheral device connected to the electronic device through a wireless communication {figure 11 & [0139] In operation S1140, the external device 300-1 may activate a Wi-Fi module. In operation S1150, the external device 300-1 and the first terminal 100 may be connected via short-range wireless communication as the external device 300-1 accesses an AP based on information such as a MAC address, an SSID, a channel number or a security key.}.
As per claim 5 Ko et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors 150 & 240, cause the electronic device to: determine whether the input sharing function is allowed at the external electronic device 300, and in case that the input sharing function is allowed at the external electronic device 300 {figure 11: S1110 & [0136]}, establish the wireless data communication path between the electronic device and the external electronic device 300 {figure 11 & [0139] In operation S1140, the external device 300-1 may activate a Wi-Fi module. In operation S1150, the external device 300-1 and the first terminal 100 may be connected via short-range wireless communication as the external device 300-1 accesses an AP based on information such as a MAC address, an SSID, a channel number or a security key.}.
As per claim 6 Ko et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors 150 & 240, cause the electronic device to: form a cluster with at least one external device, display a device list including the at least one external device {[0045] & [0048]}, receive a user input for selecting the at least one external electronic device 300 in the device list {figure 11: S1110 & [0136]}, and establish the wireless data communication path between the electronic device and the external electronic device 300 based on the user input for selecting the at least one external electronic device 300 {figure 11 & [0139] In operation S1140, the external device 300-1 may activate a Wi-Fi module. In operation S1150, the external device 300-1 and the first terminal 100 may be connected via short-range wireless communication as the external device 300-1 accesses an AP based on information such as a MAC address, an SSID, a channel number or a security key.}.
As per claim 7 Ko et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors 150 & 240, cause the electronic device to: receive information about an operation state of the external electronic device 300 from the external electronic device 300 {figure 11: S1130, S11450, SS1160, S1170 & [0138]-[0142]}, and determine whether to transmit the input information based on the information about the operation state {figure 11 & [0139] In operation S1140, the external device 300-1 may activate a Wi-Fi module. In operation S1150, the external device 300-1 and the first terminal 100 may be connected via short-range wireless communication as the external device 300-1 accesses an AP based on information such as a MAC address, an SSID, a channel number or a security key.}.
As per claim 8 Ko et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 7, wherein the information about the operation state includes information about whether the external electronic device 300 is executing an application providing a service associated with the input device {figure 4: S420, S480 & [0086] & [0094]}.
As per claim 10 Ko et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors 150 & 240, cause the electronic device to: receive a user input for enabling the input sharing function, and form a cluster in response to the user input for enabling the input sharing function {figure 4: S460, S470 & [0093]-[0094]}.
As per claim 11 Ko et al discloses: An electronic device comprising: a short-range wireless communication circuit 111 & 211 configured to perform short-range wireless communication; one or more processors 150 & 240; and a memory 140 & 230 storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors 150 & 240 individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: when a trigger event for sharing an input device of the electronic device occurs, in case that there is an external electronic device 300 whose user account is same to a user account of the electronic device { figure 4: S420, S430, S450 & [0086]-[0092] }, establish a wireless data communication path with the external electronic device 300 whose user account is same to the user account of the electronic device for an input sharing function through the short-range wireless communication, { figure 4: S460, S470 & [0093]-[0094] } and between the external electronic device 300 and the electronic device { figure 4: S460, S470 & [0093]-[0094] }, receive input information, corresponding to a user input {[0070] Also, the first terminal 100 may transmit connection information regarding the second terminal 200 to some of the external devices 300 upon receiving a user input.}, from the input device, and transmit, through the wireless data communication path between the external electronic device 300 and the electronic device, the received input information to the external electronic device 300 {figure 4: S480 & [0094]-[0095]}.
Regarding claim 11 Ko et al is silent as to: the same user account is associated with at least one of contact information, user account information, or a user name. With respect to claim 11 Yuan discloses: [0005] A user may have the same application on different devices and may synchronize the information of different apps by logging into the same user account at the instance of the application at each corresponding device. However, conventionally, such an approach can only synchronize some historical records, photographs, contacts, and other such information of the user but cannot synchronize the user's current operation of one instance of the application.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the electronic device of Ko et al with the same user account is associated with at least one of contact information, user account information, or a user name as taught by Yuan. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an electronic device with the same user account is associated with at least one of contact information, user account information, or a user name so as to synchronize data and user information thereby making the devices more user friendly.
Regarding claim 11 Ko et al as modified by Yuan is silent as to: wherein the input device is connected to the electronic device through a first wireless communication based on a first communication protocol, and wherein the wireless data communication path is performed through a second wireless communication based on a second communication protocol different from the first communication protocol while the input device is connected to the electronic device through the first wireless communication based on the first communication protocol. With respect to claim 11 Kawakami depicts in figure 18 and discloses: [0254] First, when one of the wireless communication device 300 and the wireless communication device 400 comes close to the other, the wireless communication device 300 provides the wireless communication device 400 with connection information for Bluetooth communication (for example, a Bluetooth device address, and the like) through NFC (S601). [0257] Then, the wireless communication device 300 and the wireless communication device 400 establish a secure link for the wireless LAN communication (S607). In other words, the wireless communication device 300 and the wireless communication device 400 are securely connected to each other. Note that the secure link is a link encrypted using the PSK (for example a WPA2-PSK). & [0258] Then, provision and use of a service through the wireless LAN communication between the wireless communication device 300 and the wireless communication device 400 are started (S609). & [0259] According to the example of the second embodiment as above, even when an amount of data exchanged between the devices is large (for example, 2 to 4 kB or greater), for example, a time for which the wireless communication device 300 and the other wireless communication device (for example, the wireless communication device 400) are brought close to each other can be further shortened. In addition, provision or use of a service through the wireless communication, for example, can be started more quickly.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the electronic device of Ko et al as modified by Yuan with the input device is connected to the electronic device through a first wireless communication based on a first communication protocol, and wherein the wireless data communication path is established through a second wireless communication based on a second communication protocol different from the first communication protocol as taught by Kawakami. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an electronic device with the input device is connected to the electronic device through a first wireless communication based on a first communication protocol, and wherein the wireless data communication path is established through a second wireless communication based on a second communication protocol different from the first communication protocol because “provision or use of a service through wireless communication can be started more quickly.” See [0294] of Kawakami.
As per claim 12 Ko et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors 150 & 240, cause the electronic device to: determine whether the input sharing function is allowed at the external electronic device 300, and in case that the input sharing function is allowed at the external electronic device 300, establish the wireless data communication path between the electronic device and the external electronic device 300 { [0082] According to the current exemplary embodiment, if the at least one external device 300 is not registered in the second terminal 200, the second terminal 200 may receive registration information of the at least one external device 300 from the first terminal 100 and register the external device in the second terminal 200. In the registration information of the external device 300, identification information of the at least one external device 300, authentication information of the at least one external device 300, and application information of the at least one external device 300 (e.g., identification information of an application related to the at least one external device 300 or link information of an application) may be included. }.
As per claim 13 Ko et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors 150 & 240, cause the electronic device to: form a cluster with at least one external device, display a device list including the at least one external device {[0045] & [0048]}, receive a user input for selecting the at least one external electronic device 300 in the device list {figure 11: S1110 & [0136]}, and establish the wireless data communication path between the electronic device and the external electronic device 300 based on the user input for selecting the at least one external electronic device 300. {figure 11 & [0139] In operation S1140, the external device 300-1 may activate a Wi-Fi module. In operation S1150, the external device 300-1 and the first terminal 100 may be connected via short-range wireless communication as the external device 300-1 accesses an AP based on information such as a MAC address, an SSID, a channel number or a security key.}
As per claim 14 Ko et al discloses: The electronic device of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors 150 & 240, cause the electronic device to: receive information about an operation state of the external electronic device 300 from the external electronic device 300 {figure 11: S1130, S11450, SS1160, S1170 & [0138]-[0142]}, and determine whether to transmit the input information based on the information about the operation state. {figure 11 & [0139] In operation S1140, the external device 300-1 may activate a Wi-Fi module. In operation S1150, the external device 300-1 and the first terminal 100 may be connected via short-range wireless communication as the external device 300-1 accesses an AP based on information such as a MAC address, an SSID, a channel number or a security key.}.
As per claim 15 Ko et al discloses: A method of an electronic device, comprising: when a trigger event for sharing an input device of the electronic device occurs { figure 4: S420, S430, S450 & [0086]-[0092] }, establishing a wireless data communication path with an external electronic device 300 for an input sharing function through short-range wireless communication { figure 4: S460, S470 & [0093]-[0094] }, wherein the external electronic device 300 is selected for the input sharing function based at least on the external electronic device 300 being registered to a same user account as the electronic device { [0082] According to the current exemplary embodiment, if the at least one external device 300 is not registered in the second terminal 200, the second terminal 200 may receive registration information of the at least one external device 300 from the first terminal 100 and register the external device in the second terminal 200. In the registration information of the external device 300, identification information of the at least one external device 300, authentication information of the at least one external device 300, and application information of the at least one external device 300 (e.g., identification information of an application related to the at least one external device 300 or link information of an application) may be included. }; and external electronic device 300 and the electronic device { figure 4: S460, S470 & [0093]-[0094] }, receive input information, corresponding to a user input {[0070] Also, the first terminal 100 may transmit connection information regarding the second terminal 200 to some of the external devices 300 upon receiving a user input.}, from the input device, and transmit, through the wireless data communication path between the external electronic device 300 and the electronic device, the received input information to the external electronic device 300 {figure 4: S480 & [0094]-[0095]}.
Regarding claim 15 Ko et al is silent as to: the same user account is associated with at least one of contact information, user account information, or a user name. With respect to claim 15 Yuan discloses: [0005] A user may have the same application on different devices and may synchronize the information of different apps by logging into the same user account at the instance of the application at each corresponding device. However, conventionally, such an approach can only synchronize some historical records, photographs, contacts, and other such information of the user but cannot synchronize the user's current operation of one instance of the application.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the electronic device of Ko et al with the same user account is associated with at least one of contact information, user account information, or a user name as taught by Yuan. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an electronic device with the same user account is associated with at least one of contact information, user account information, or a user name so as to synchronize data and user information thereby making the devices more user friendly.
Regarding claim 15 Ko et al as modified by Yuan is silent as to: wherein the input device is connected to the electronic device through a first wireless communication based on a first communication protocol, and wherein the wireless data communication path is performed through a second wireless communication based on a second communication protocol different from the first communication protocol while the input device is connected to the electronic device through the first wireless communication based on the first communication protocol. With respect to claim 15 Kawakami depicts in figure 18 and discloses: [0254] First, when one of the wireless communication device 300 and the wireless communication device 400 comes close to the other, the wireless communication device 300 provides the wireless communication device 400 with connection information for Bluetooth communication (for example, a Bluetooth device address, and the like) through NFC (S601). [0257] Then, the wireless communication device 300 and the wireless communication device 400 establish a secure link for the wireless LAN communication (S607). In other words, the wireless communication device 300 and the wireless communication device 400 are securely connected to each other. Note that the secure link is a link encrypted using the PSK (for example a WPA2-PSK). & [0258] Then, provision and use of a service through the wireless LAN communication between the wireless communication device 300 and the wireless communication device 400 are started (S609). & [0259] According to the example of the second embodiment as above, even when an amount of data exchanged between the devices is large (for example, 2 to 4 kB or greater), for example, a time for which the wireless communication device 300 and the other wireless communication device (for example, the wireless communication device 400) are brought close to each other can be further shortened. In addition, provision or use of a service through the wireless communication, for example, can be started more quickly..
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the electronic device of Ko et al as modified by Yuan with the input device is connected to the electronic device through a first wireless communication based on a first communication protocol, and wherein the wireless data communication path is established through a second wireless communication based on a second communication protocol different from the first communication protocol as taught by Kawakami. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an electronic device with the input device is connected to the electronic device through a first wireless communication based on a first communication protocol, and wherein the wireless data communication path is established through a second wireless communication based on a second communication protocol different from the first communication protocol because “provision or use of a service through wireless communication can be started more quickly.” See [0294] of Kawakami.
As per claim 16 Ko et al discloses: The method of claim 15, wherein establishing the wireless communication path comprises: determining whether the input sharing function is allowed at the external electronic device 300 {figure 11: S1110 & [0136]}; and in case that the input sharing function is allowed at the external electronic device 300, establishing the wireless data communication path between the electronic device and the external electronic device 300 {figure 11 & [0139] In operation S1140, the external device 300-1 may activate a Wi-Fi module. In operation S1150, the external device 300-1 and the first terminal 100 may be connected via short-range wireless communication as the external device 300-1 accesses an AP based on information such as a MAC address, an SSID, a channel number or a security key.}.
As per claim 17 Ko et al discloses: The method of claim 15, further comprising: forming a cluster with at least one external device; displaying a device list including the at least one external device {[0045] & [0048]}; and
receiving a user input for selecting the at least one external electronic device 300 in the device list {figure 11: S1110 & [0136]}, wherein establishing the wireless communication path comprises establishing the wireless data communication path between the electronic device and the external electronic device 300 based on the user input for selecting the at least one external electronic device 300 {figure 11 & [0139] In operation S1140, the external device 300-1 may activate a Wi-Fi module. In operation S1150, the external device 300-1 and the first terminal 100 may be connected via short-range wireless communication as the external device 300-1 accesses an AP based on information such as a MAC address, an SSID, a channel number or a security key.}.
As per claim 18 Ko et al discloses: The method of claim 15, further comprising: receiving information about an operation state of the external electronic device 300 from the external electronic device 300; and determining whether to transmit the input information based on the information about the operation state {figure 11: S1130, S11450, SS1160, S1170 & [0138]-[0142]}.
As per claim 20 Ko et al discloses: The method of claim 15, further comprising: receiving a user input for enabling the input sharing function; and forming a cluster in response to the user input for enabling the input sharing function. {figure 4: S460, S470 & [0093]-[0094]}
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al (US 2014/0080469) in view of Yuan (US 2019/0303088) and Kawakami (WO 2015/092970) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Jung et al (US 2014/0325402).
Regarding claim 9 Ko et al as modified by Yuan and Kawakami is silent as to: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the input information includes movement information obtained by sensing a physical movement of the input device, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors 150 & 240, cause the electronic device to: determine gesture information matched with the movement information, and when the determined gesture information is predetermined gesture information, transmit the input information to the external electronic device 300 through the wireless data communication path.
Regarding claim 19 Ko et al as modified by Yuan and Kawakami is silent as to: The method of claim 15, wherein the input information includes movement information obtained by sensing a physical movement of the input device, wherein the method further comprises: determining gesture information matched with the movement information, and wherein transmitting the received input information comprises transmitting the input information to the external electronic device 300 through the wireless data communication path when the determined gesture information is predetermined gesture information.
With respect to claims 9 and 19 Jung et al discloses: [0135] FIG. 15 is a view provided to explain another controlling method for changing a layout of an application screen. According to FIG. 15, when a music content play program is executed, the controller 130 displays the execution screen 1510, 1520. If the program is executed while the pen 200 is mounted (A) or if the pen 200 is mounted after the program is executed, the controller 130 displays the first execution screen 1510 according to the first layout. The first execution screen 1510 may display information on a reproduced content 1511, a control menu 1512 in the size which is touchable by a finger, and a menu 1513 for checking a list of music contents which can be reproduced. [0136] Moreover, if the program is executed while the pen is detached (B) or if the pen is detached after the program is executed, the controller 130 displays the second execution screen 1520 according to the second layout. The second execution screen 1520 may display not only information on reproduced contents and a menu for checking a list of music contents which can be reproduced 1550, but also a circular object 1540. [0137] The circular object 1540 may include various buttons 1541, 1542 which can be selectable by touch, a volume menu 1543, a reproduction state adjustment menu 1544 which are adjustable through touch-and-drag by the pen 200, a reproduction state display area 1545, etc. A user may touch and drag the area where the volume menu 1543 is displayed in a clockwise direction using the pen 200 to increase the volume, or may touch and drag the area in a counterclockwise direction to decrease the volume. In addition, a user may touch and drag the area where the reproduction state adjustment menu 1544 is displayed in a clockwise direction using the pen 200 to put forward a reproduction point and may touch and drag the area in counterclockwise direction to put backward a reproduction point. [0138] As illustrated in FIG. 15, if a circular object is provided, a user may perform various interaction operations with a gesture of drawing a circle on the border of the circular object using the pen 200. [0139] The circular object of FIG. 15 may be displayed in the form of disk. In other words, a user may act like a deejay by grapping and scratching the disk using the pen 200. [0140] In FIG. 15, a circular object is illustrated, but various types of user interfaces (UIs) which can be manipulated easily by the pen 200 may be provided when the pen 200 is detached. Further, according to another exemplary embodiment, a user may touch an indicator area using the pen 200, and control the operation of the user terminal device 100. An interaction operation of touching and controlling an indicator area will be described in detail.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the electronic device of Ko et al as modified by Yuan with the input information includes movement information obtained by sensing a physical movement of the input device, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to: determine gesture information matched with the movement information, and when the determined gesture information is predetermined gesture information, transmit the input information to the external electronic device through the wireless data communication path as taught by Jung et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide an electronic device with the input information includes movement information obtained by sensing a physical movement of the input device, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to: determine gesture information matched with the movement information, and when the determined gesture information is predetermined gesture information, transmit the input information to the external electronic device through the wireless data communication path in order to change a layout of a screen in response to the pen being detached and manipulated by the user. See abstract of Jung et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts the following in the second paragraph on page 2:
With regards to Kawakami, the Examiner alleged that Kawakami teaches the use of multiple wireless communication interfaces, such as transmitting connection information via a first interface (e.g., NFC) and subsequently communicating via a second interface (e.g., Wi-Fi). However, Kawakami merely discloses a sequential connection procedure in which one communication protocol is used to facilitate setup of another, not concurrent communication over distinct protocols. The first interface in Kawakami is merely used to exchange connection information or an internet protocol (IP) address before the second interface becomes active, and there is no disclosure of maintaining both connections simultaneously or transmitting user input information through one device while another protocol remains active. In contrast, amended independent Claim 1 states that the input device remains connected to the electronic device through a first wireless communication based on a first communication protocol while the electronic device concurrently establishes and uses a second wireless communication path with an external electronic device based on a second, different communication protocol.
First, the claimed invention does not preclude “a sequential connection procedure” as purported by applicant. Second, the applied prior art does maintain “both connections simultaneously or transmitting user input information through one device while another protocol remains active”, contrary to applicant’s assertion. Therefore, the applied prior teaches the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD