DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 2 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 23, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on February 23, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not serious burden for examining the species together. This is not found persuasive because the claims to the different species recite the mutually exclusive characteristics of such species including the configuration and location of the position sensors, magnets, coils, etc. in the device, and are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record. At least the species would require a differing field of search based on the configuration of the elements.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2013/0163085 A1) in view of Seo et al. (US 2021/0173223 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Lim et al. discloses a camera module comprising (see e.g. Figures 1-8):
a lens module 110 (denoted “lens barrel”, see e.g. paragraph [0056] and Figure 8);
a carrier 120 (“denoted autofocusing unit”, see e.g. paragraph [0056] and Figure 8) accommodating the lens module 110 (see e.g. Figure 8);
a housing 130 (see e.g. paragraph [0061] and Figure 8) accommodating the carrier 120 (see e.g. Figure 8 and paragraph [0061]); and
a shaking correction driver (see e.g. paragraph [0043] for optical image stabilizer (OIS)) comprising a plurality of magnets 11 (see e.g. paragraph [0043]) disposed on the lens module 110 (i.e. at least via carrier 120, see e.g. Figure 8), a plurality of coils 12 disposed on the housing 130 (i.e. via FPC 131, see e.g. paragraph [0062] and Figure 8), and three or more position sensors 20 (denoted “Hall sensors”, see e.g. paragraphs [0043]-[0044]), wherein the shaking correction driver is configured to form driving force to move the lens module on a plane perpendicular to an optical axis (see e.g. paragraphs [0012]], [0044]-[0046]),
wherein at least one of the plurality of magnets 11 faces two or more position sensors 20 (see e.g. Figure 8).
Lim et al. fails to disclose
wherein a position sensor facing one of the plurality of magnets is disposed closer to the optical axis than a position sensor facing an other of the plurality of magnets.
However, Seo et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 2):
wherein a position sensor 1360 (see e.g. paragraph [0080]) facing one of the plurality of magnets 1320 (see e.g. paragraph [0020]) is disposed closer to the optical axis than a position sensor 1460 (see e.g. paragraph [0110]) facing an other of the plurality of magnets 1420 (see e.g. paragraph [0110]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein a position sensor facing one of the plurality of magnets is disposed closer to the optical axis than a position sensor facing an other of the plurality of magnets, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
Given the teachings of Lim et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim et al. with wherein a position sensor facing one of the plurality of magnets is disposed closer to the optical axis than a position sensor facing an other of the plurality of magnets.
Providing magnets and positioning systems at various locations around the perimeter of the lens allows for preventing unwanted misalignment of the system.
In regard to claim 3, Lim et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
wherein the plurality of magnets 11 include one or more polarity regions N or S on one surface facing the coil 12 (see e.g. paragraph [0054] for N or S poles), and wherein the plurality of coils 12 are disposed to face the polarity regions N or S of the plurality of magnets, respectively 11 (see e.g. Figure 1).
In regard to claim 4, Lim et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 3 above, and
wherein the plurality of position sensors 20 are disposed inside at least some of the plurality of coils 12 (see e.g. Figures 4-5).
In regard to claim 5, Lim et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 4 above, and
wherein the plurality of magnets comprises: a first optical image stabilization (OIS) magnet 11 including at least one of a first polarity region N or S and a second polarity region N or S on one surface facing the coil 12; and
a second OIS magnet 11 including a third polarity region N or S and a fourth polarity region N or S on one surface facing the coil 12 (see e.g. Figure 1).
Lim et al., in view of Seo et al., fails to disclose
wherein the first polarity region and the second polarity region have different areas.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein the first polarity region and the second polarity region have different areas, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim et al., in view of Seo et al., with wherein the first polarity region and the second polarity region have different areas.
Providing various sized magnets and positioning systems at various locations around the perimeter of the lens allows for preventing unwanted misalignment of the system.
In regard to claim 6, Lim et al., in view of Seo et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 5 above, but fails to disclose
wherein among the plurality of position sensors, a position sensor facing the first OIS magnet is disposed to face a polarity region having a larger area among the first polarity region and the second polarity region.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein among the plurality of position sensors, a position sensor facing the first OIS magnet is disposed to face a polarity region having a larger area among the first polarity region and the second polarity region, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim et al., in view of Seo et al., with wherein among the plurality of position sensors, a position sensor facing the first OIS magnet is disposed to face a polarity region having a larger area among the first polarity region and the second polarity region.
Optimized placement of the sensors, coils, and magnets would allow for preventing and mitigating unwanted misalignment of the system.
In regard to claim 7, Lim et al., in view of Seo et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 5 above, but fails to disclose
wherein a polarity region having a larger area among the first polarity region and the second polarity region is disposed closer to the optical axis than other polarity regions.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein a polarity region having a larger area among the first polarity region and the second polarity region is disposed closer to the optical axis than other polarity regions, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device with wherein a polarity region having a larger area among the first polarity region and the second polarity region is disposed closer to the optical axis than other polarity regions, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim et al., in view of Seo et al., with wherein a polarity region having a larger area among the first polarity region and the second polarity region is disposed closer to the optical axis than other polarity regions.
Optimized placement of the sensors, coils, and magnets would allow for preventing and mitigating unwanted misalignment of the system.
In regard to claim 8, Lim et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 5 above, and
wherein the first OIS magnet 11 faces one position sensor 20, and the second OIS magnet 11 faces two position sensors 20 (see e.g. Figure 1 and note that all magnets may be considered to face all sensors in some direction).
In regard to claim 9, Lim et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 5 above, and
wherein the plurality of coils 12 comprise: a first OIS coil 12 facing the first OIS magnet 11 (see e.g. Figure 1); and a second OIS coil 12 facing the second OIS magnet 11 (see e.g. Figure 1), wherein the first OIS coil 12 comprises one coil 12 or two or more coils of different sizes (see e.g. Figure 1 and note first OIS coli comprises at least one coil).
In regard to claim 10, Lim et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, but fails to disclose
a plurality of ball members disposed between the lens module and the carrier, wherein the plurality of ball members are in one-point contact with the lens module and the carrier, respectively.
However, Seo et al. discloses
a plurality of ball members 1370 (denoted “rolling member” see e.g. paragraph [0075] for ball shape and Figure 2) disposed between the lens module 1500 and the carrier 1100,
wherein the plurality of ball members 1370 are in one-point contact with the lens module 1500 and the carrier 1100, respectively.
Given the teachings of Seo et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin et al. with a plurality of ball members disposed between the lens module and the carrier, wherein the plurality of ball members are in one-point contact with the lens module and the carrier, respectively.
Providing ball members reduces friction between elements the elements in the device (see e.g. paragraph [0075] of Seo et al.).
In regard to claim 11, Lim et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above, and
a focus adjustment unit (see e.g. paragraph [0056] for auto-focusing unit) including a magnet 11 disposed on the carrier 120 (see e.g. Figures 1 and 8), and a coil 12 and a position sensor 20 disposed in the housing 130 to face the magnet 11 (see e.g. Figure 8).
In regard to claim 12, Lim et al. discloses a camera module comprising (see e.g. Figures 1-8):
a lens module 110 (denoted “lens barrel”, see e.g. paragraph [0056] and Figure 8);
a shake correction driver (see e.g. paragraph [0043] for optical image stabilizer (OIS)) configured to move the lens module 110 on a plane perpendicular to the optical axis (see e.g. paragraphs [0012]], [0044]-[0046]), wherein the shaking correction driver comprises:
a first sub-driver comprising a first optical image stabilization (OIS) magnet 11 (see e.g. paragraph [0043]) and a first OIS coil 12 (see e.g. paragraph [0062] and Figure 8) configured to form first axis direction driving force perpendicular to the optical axis (see e.g. paragraphs [0012]], [0044]-[0046]), and a position sensor 20 (denoted “Hall sensors”, see e.g. paragraphs [0043]-[0044]) facing the first OIS magnet 11 (see e.g. Figures 1-8); and
a second sub-driver comprising a second OIS magnet 11 (see e.g. paragraph [0043]) and a second OIS coil 12 (see e.g. paragraph [0062] and Figure 8) configured to form second axis direction driving force perpendicular to the optical axis and the first axis (see e.g. paragraphs [0012]], [0044]-[0046]).
Lim et al. fails to disclose
two position sensors facing the second OIS magnet,
wherein the first OIS magnet comprises at least one of a first polarity region and a second polarity region having different areas on one surface facing the first OIS coil.
However, Seo et al. discloses
two position sensors 1460 (see e.g. paragraph [0110]) facing the second OIS magnet 1420 (see e.g. paragraph [0093]).
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein the first OIS magnet comprises at least one of a first polarity region and a second polarity region having different areas on one surface facing the first OIS coil, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
Given the teachings of Seo et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim et al. with two position sensors facing the second OIS magnet, wherein the first OIS magnet comprises at least one of a first polarity region and a second polarity region having different areas on one surface facing the first OIS coil.
Providing various sized magnets and positioning systems at various locations around the perimeter of the lens allows for preventing unwanted misalignment of the system.
In regard to claim 13, Lim et al., in view of Seo et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 12 above, but fails to disclose
wherein a position sensor facing the first OIS magnet faces a polarity region having a larger area among the first polarity region and the second polarity region.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein a position sensor facing the first OIS magnet faces a polarity region having a larger area among the first polarity region and the second polarity region, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim et al., in view of Seo et al., with wherein a position sensor facing the first OIS magnet faces a polarity region having a larger area among the first polarity region and the second polarity region.
Providing various sized magnets and positioning systems at various locations around the perimeter of the lens allows for preventing unwanted misalignment of the system.
In regard to claim 14, Lim et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 12 above, but fails to disclose
wherein a position sensor facing the first OIS magnet is disposed closer to the optical axis than a position sensor facing the second OIS magnet.
However, Seo et al. discloses
wherein a position sensor 1360 facing the first OIS magnet 1320 is disposed closer to the optical axis than a position sensor 1460 facing the second OIS magnet 1420 (see e.g. Figure 2).
Given the teachings of Seo et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim et al. with wherein a position sensor facing the first OIS magnet is disposed closer to the optical axis than a position sensor facing the second OIS magnet.
Providing magnets and positioning systems at various locations around the perimeter of the lens allows for preventing unwanted misalignment of the system.
In regard to claim 15, Lim et al., in view of Seo et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 12 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the first OIS coil and the second OIS coil are provided in a number corresponding to each polarity region included in the first OIS magnet and the second OIS magnet.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein the first OIS coil and the second OIS coil are provided in a number corresponding to each polarity region included in the first OIS magnet and the second OIS magnet, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05). Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use a configuration wherein the first OIS coil and the second OIS coil are provided in a number corresponding to each polarity region included in the first OIS magnet and the second OIS magnet, since such a modification would have involved a mere duplication of parts. A duplication of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.04).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim et al., in view of Seo et al. with wherein the first OIS coil and the second OIS coil are provided in a number corresponding to each polarity region included in the first OIS magnet and the second OIS magnet.
Providing a corresponding number of coils and magnets would result in finer control of the system.
In regard to claim 16, Lim et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 12 above, and
a carrier 120 (“denoted autofocusing unit”, see e.g. paragraph [0056] and Figure 8) for accommodating the lens module 110 (see e.g. Figure 8).
Lim et al. fails to disclose
a plurality of ball members disposed between the lens module and the carrier, wherein the plurality of ball members are in one-point contact with the lens module and the carrier, respectively.
However, Seo et al. discloses
a plurality of ball members 1370 (denoted “rolling member” see e.g. paragraph [0075] for ball shape and Figure 2) disposed between the lens module 1500 and the carrier 1100,
wherein the plurality of ball members 1370 are in one-point contact with the lens module 1500 and the carrier 1100, respectively.
Given the teachings of Seo et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lin et al. with a plurality of ball members disposed between the lens module and the carrier, wherein the plurality of ball members are in one-point contact with the lens module and the carrier, respectively.
Providing ball members reduces friction between elements the elements in the device (see e.g. paragraph [0075] of Seo et al.).
In regard to claim 17, Lim et al. discloses a camera module comprising (see e.g. Figures 1-8):
a lens barrel 110 (see e.g. paragraph [0057] and Figure 8) comprising one or more lenses 111 (denoted lens group, see e.g. paragraph [0056] and Figure 8) disposed on an optical axis;
a carrier 120 (“denoted autofocusing unit”, see e.g. paragraph [0056] and Figure 8) accommodating the lens barrel 110, and configured to move in the optical axis direction; (see e.g. paragraphs [0012]], [0044]-[0046])
a shake correction driver (see e.g. paragraph [0043] for optical image stabilizer (OIS)) configured to move the module 110 in the plane (see e.g. paragraphs [0012]], [0044]-[0046]), relative to the carrier 120, and comprising:
a first optical image stabilization (OIS) magnet 11 (see e.g. paragraph [0043]) disposed on the lens barrel 110;
a first OIS coil 12 (see e.g. paragraph [0062] and Figure 8) disposed to face the first OIS magnet 11 in a first direction in the plane;
a second OIS magnet 12 disposed on the lens barrel 110;
a second OIS coil 11 disposed to face the second OIS magnet 12 in a second direction in the plane perpendicular to the first direction (see e.g. Figure 8),
wherein the first OIS magnet 11 comprises a first polarity region N or S extending in the second direction and facing the first OIS coil 12 (see e.g. Figures 1, 8),
wherein the second OIS magnet 11 comprises a second polarity region N or S extending in the first direction and facing the second OIS coil 12 (see e.g. Figures 1, 8).
Lim et al. fails to disclose
a lens holder accommodating the lens barrel, and configured to move in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis;
wherein an area of the first polarity region is greater than an area of the second polarity region.
However Seo et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 2):
a lens holder 1700 (see e.g. paragraph [0088]) accommodating the lens barrel 1500, and configured to move in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis (see e.g. paragraph [0089]).
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein an area of the first polarity region is greater than an area of the second polarity region, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
Given the teachings of Seo et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim et al. with a lens holder accommodating the lens barrel, and configured to move in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis; wherein an area of the first polarity region is greater than an area of the second polarity region.
Providing a lens holder would allow for additional stability of the lens holder. Further, providing various sized magnets and positioning systems at various locations around the perimeter of the lens allows for preventing unwanted misalignment of the system.
In regard to claim 18, Lim et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 17, and
wherein the first OIS magnet 11 comprises a third polarity region N or S extending in the second direction and facing the first OIS coil 12 (see e.g. Figures 1 and 8).
Lim et al., in view of Seo et al., fails to disclose
an area of the third polarity region is less than an area of the first polarity region.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using an area of the third polarity region is less than an area of the first polarity region, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim et al., in view of Seo et al., with an area of the third polarity region is less than an area of the first polarity region.
Providing various sized magnets and positioning systems at various locations around the perimeter of the lens allows for preventing unwanted misalignment of the system.
In regard to claim 19, Lim et al. discloses the limitations as applied to claim 17 above, and
a first OIS position sensor 20 disposed in the first OIS coil 12 configured to detect a position of the first OIS magnet 11 (see e.g. Figure 1).
Lim et al. fails to disclose
two or more second OIS position sensors disposed in the second OIS coil configured to detect a position of the second OIS magnet, wherein the first OIS position sensor is disposed closer to the optical axis than the second OIS position sensor.
However, Seo et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 2):
two or more second OIS position sensors 1460 or 1760 disposed in the second OIS coil 1430 or 1730 configured to detect a position of the second OIS magnet 1420 or 1720 (see e.g. Figure 2 and paragraph [0110]).
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using wherein the first OIS position sensor is disposed closer to the optical axis than the second OIS position sensor, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
Given the teachings of Seo et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim et al. with two or more second OIS position sensors disposed in the second OIS coil configured to detect a position of the second OIS magnet, wherein the first OIS position sensor is disposed closer to the optical axis than the second OIS position sensor.
Providing various sized magnets and positioning systems at various locations around the perimeter of the lens allows for preventing unwanted misalignment of the system.
Conclusion
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871