DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remark
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 04/17/26.
a. No claims have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dvortsov et al. (US 2017/0003931, “Dvortsov”).
Regarding claim 1, Dvortsov discloses an electronic apparatus (See 205 Fig.2 ) comprising:
- a plurality of communication circuits (See Fig.5, ¶.70, and ¶.73, one or more integrated circuits), wherein each of the communication circuits is configured to provide support for at least one wireless communication protocol (See Fig.2 and ¶.73, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and NFC, etc.); and
- a control circuit coupled to the communication circuits and configured to (See ¶.66, control circuit; See ¶.73, RF interface and digital signal processing circuits; See 502 Fig.5 and ¶.70, processing subsystem can be implemented as one or more integrated circuits):
- obtain first service data (See 805 Fig.8, receive initial input; See ¶.39, input includes a plurality of service signal/data); and
- distribute the first service data to at least one of the communication circuits based on the support (See 830 & 840 Fig.8, send play information to new player device and send play-action information to player device; See Fig.2 and ¶.73, the intermediate devices 205a-e support wireless protocols such as Bluetooth and Wi-Fi; See Figs.4-5 and ¶.73, internal circuits within a single device comprising a plurality of protocols).
Regarding claim 2, Dvortsov discloses “the communication circuits support different wireless communication protocols (See Fig.2 and ¶.73, a plurality of wireless protocols).”
Regarding claim 4, Dvortsov discloses “an application processor (See 532 & 534 Fig.5, OS for app(s)), wherein the control circuit is integrated with the application processor, wherein the application processor further comprises an application circuit configured to generate the first service data, and wherein the control circuit is further configured to obtain the first service data from the application circuit (See 536 Fig.5 and ¶.72, execute play-transfer be part of OS for applications).”
Regarding claim 5, Dvortsov discloses “at least one communication chip, wherein each of the at least one communication chip comprises at least one of the communication circuits (See ¶.70, integrated circuits (ICs) or microprocessors, i.e. chips).”
Regarding claim 6, Dvortsov discloses “the electronic apparatus is a communication chip, and wherein the control circuit and the communication circuits are integrated with the communication chip (See ¶.70, integrated circuits (ICs) or microprocessors, i.e. chips).”
Regarding claim 7, Dvortsov discloses “the at least one wireless communication protocol comprises a BLUETOOTH protocol, a WI-FI protocol, an ultra-wide band (UWB) protocol, a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) protocol, a ZIGBEE protocol, a near-field communication (NFC) protocol, a home internet of things (IoT) communication protocol technology (Thread) protocol, or an infrared protocol (See Fig.2 and ¶.73, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and NFC, etc.).”
Regarding claim 12, Dvortsov discloses “the control circuit is further configured to: screen the communication circuits; determine that a first communication circuit is configured to transmit the first service data to a second electronic apparatus; and instruct the first communication circuit to transmit the first service data to the second electronic apparatus (See Fig.1-2, Fig.6, data transfer between a first device and a second device; See ¶.18, detect nearby devices via Bluetooth or BTLE protocol; See further Figs.7-9 for the transfer procedures).”
Regarding claim 13, Dvortsov discloses “the control circuit is further configured to: obtain second service data; determine that a second communication circuit is configured to transmit the first service data and the second service data when the first service data and the second service data meet a combination transmission condition; and instruct the second communication circuit to transmit the first service data and the second service data (See 635 Fig.6, 730 Fig.7, 825 Fig.8 for decision conditions for transfer service signals/data).”
Regarding claim 14, Dvortsov discloses “the first communication circuit is configured to: establish, based on a first communication protocol supported by the first communication circuit, a first communication connection to transmit the first service data after the control circuit instructs the first communication circuit to transmit the first service data; and release the first communication connection when the control circuit instructs the second communication circuit to transmit the first service data and the second service data (See Fig.1, Fig.2, Figs.6-9 for the procedures including “end’ step).”
Regarding claim 15, Dvortsov discloses “the control circuit is further configured to: obtain the first service data from a second communication circuit; determine, from the communication circuits, that a first communication circuit is configured to transmit the first service data to a second electronic apparatus; and instruct the first communication circuit to transmit the first service data to the second electronic apparatus (See Fig.6-9 for the data/command transfer procedures).”
Regarding claim 16, it is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Regarding claims 17-19, they are claims corresponding to claims 12-14, respectively and are therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claims.
Regarding claim 20, Dvortsov discloses a method implemented by a first electronic apparatus, wherein the method comprises:
- receiving a transmission request requesting to transmit service data to a second electronic apparatus (See ¶.28, receiving a request of song from another device; See ¶.39, input includes a plurality of service signal/data);
- screening at least two communication systems supported by the first electronic apparatus, wherein the at least two communication systems correspond to different communication protocols (See Fig.2 and ¶.73, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and NFC, etc.);
- determining that a first communication system of the at least two communication systems is configured to transmit the service data (See Fig.5, a plurality of system to receiving, processing, and transferring the requested data; See ¶.39, input includes a plurality of service signal/data; See Figs.6-9 for the procedures; See Figs.4-5 and ¶.73, internal circuits within a single device comprising a plurality of protocols); and
- sending the transmission request to the first communication system (See Figs.1-2 and Figs.6-8 for sending the requested service signal/data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dvortsov in view of Chilla et al. (US 2021/0409999, “Chilla”).
Regarding claim 3, Dvortsov discloses “an application processor coupled to the control circuit and configured to generate the first service data, wherein the control circuit is a bus, and wherein the communication circuits are separately coupled to the bus (See 532 & 534 Fig.5 and ¶.71, OS for applications), but does not explicitly disclose what Chilla discloses the limitation “bus” (Chilla, See 226 Fig.2 and ¶.68, interconnection bus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply “the interconnection bus” as taught by Chilla into the system of Dvortsov, so that it provides a way of interconnecting units/circuits to be physically connected (Chilla, See ¶.60).
Regarding claim 11, Dvortsov and Chilla disclose “the application processor comprises a first circuit configured to implement a logical function of at least one of the following: an application system, a high-layer transmission protocol system, and a host system corresponding to the at least one wireless communication protocol; a first host system corresponding to a BLUETOOTH protocol and comprising a BLUETOOTH host (BTH); a second host system corresponding to a WI-FI protocol and comprising a WI-FI media access control (MAC) (WMAC); a third host system corresponding to each of a ultra-wide band (UWB) protocol, a ZIGBEE protocol, a near-field communication (NFC) protocol, a home internet of things (IoT) communication protocol technology (Thread) protocol, and an infrared protocol and comprising a host MAC (HMAC); or a fourth host system corresponding to a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) protocol and comprising a location based service (LBS) (Dvortsov, See ¶.37, host device/system; See ¶.81, a virtual serial port for Bluetooth standards; Chilla, See ¶.88, the software architecture may include a network layer (e.g., IP layer). In some embodiments, the software architecture may include an application layer in which a logical connection terminates at another device (e.g., end user device, server, etc.)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the method of “the application processor comprises a first circuit configured to implement a logical function of at least one of the following: a plurality of systems such as an application system, a high-layer transmission protocol system, and a host system” as taught by Chilla into the system of Dvortsov, so that it provides a way for the host system/layer to provide data transfer services to various applications in the wireless wearable device (Dvortsov, See ¶.37; Chilla, See ¶.87).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dvortsov in view of Guo et al. (US 2019/0124055, “Guo”).
Regarding claim 8, Dvortsov does not explicitly disclose what Guo discloses “each of the communication circuits comprises a first media access control (MAC) system corresponding to the at least one supported wireless communication protocol or a first MAC layer processing system corresponding to the at least one supported wireless communication protocol (Guo, See 10 Fig.1 and ¶.16, MAC system includes short range radio such as Bluetooth, NFC, and Wi-Fi).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply “each of the communication circuits comprises a first media access control (MAC) system corresponding to the at least one supported wireless communication protocol or a first MAC layer processing system corresponding to the at least one supported wireless communication protocol” as taught by Guo into the system of Dvortsov, so that it provides a way of providing various of wireless interfaces (Guo, See ¶.16).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dvortsov in view of Guo and further in view of Thanayankizil et al. (US 2022/0150966, “Thanayankizil”).
Regarding claim 9, Guo discloses a MAC system comprising a plurality of wireless communication protocols as shown in claim 8, but Dvortsov and Guo do not explicitly disclose what Thanayankizil discloses “a second MAC system corresponding to the BLUETOOTH protocol comprises a BLUETOOTH host (BTH) and a BLUETOOTH control (BTC), wherein a third MAC system corresponding to the WI-FI protocol is a WI-FI MAC (WMAC), wherein a fourth MAC system corresponding to each of the UWB protocol, the ZIGBEE protocol, the NFC protocol, the Thread protocol, and the infrared protocol is a universal operation and automation controller MAC (UMAC), and wherein a fifth MAC system corresponding to the GNSS protocol is a position velocity temperature (PVT) (Thanayankizil, See ¶.36, Wi-Fi MAC, Bluetooth MAC, etc.).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply “a plurality of MAC systems for each of the protocols” as taught by Thanayankizil into the system of Dvortsov and Chilla, so that it provides a way of having a plurality of MAC system/sub-layer for each of the plurality of protocols (Thanayankizil, See Fig.1 and ¶.36; Examiner’s Note: it is obvious to have two or more MAC systems for a plurality of other communication protocols).
Regarding claim 10, Guo discloses a MAC system comprising a plurality of wireless communication protocols as shown in claim 8, but Dvortsov and Guo do not explicitly disclose what Thanayankizil discloses “a second MAC layer processing system corresponding to the BLUETOOTH protocol comprises a BLUETOOTH control (BTC), wherein a third MAC layer processing system corresponding to each of the WI-FI protocol, the UWB protocol, the ZIGBEE protocol, the NFC protocol, the Thread protocol, and the infrared protocol is a device MAC (DMAC), and wherein a fourth MAC layer processing system corresponding to the GNSS protocol is a position velocity temperature (PVT) (Thanayankizil, See Fig.1 and ¶.36; Examiner’s Note: it is obvious to have two or more MAC systems for a plurality of communication protocols).” Therefore, this claim is rejected with the similar reasons and motivation set forth in the rejection of claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At pages 9-13, with respect to claim 1, applicant argues that “as shown, claim 1 requires a control circuit coupled to the communication circuits and configured to obtain first service data and distribute the first service data to at least one of the communication circuits. Independent claims 16 and 20 include similar limitations. It should be understood that the claimed invention discloses an electronic apparatus with internal distribution where a control circuit distributes service data to communication circuits within a single apparatus, then the communication circuit that is selected transmits the data externally to another apparatus. As explicitly claimed, the control circuit is configured to obtain first service data and selectively distribute the first service data to at least one of the at least two communication circuits. The Specification explains in support that "the control circuit is configured to determine, from a communication module at a communication layer, a communication module suitable for transmitting the service data" (paragraph [0120]). Examples of the technical advantages of the claimed intra-device approach are also disclosed, e.g. paragraphs [0326]-[0336]. FIGS. 3E-3F illustrate the CABA control module distributing data internally to MAC layer modules (BTC, DMAC, PVT) within a single device.” [applicant’s emphasis added].
In reply, the limitations “distribute the first service data to at least one of the communication circuits based on the support” explicitly read on:
¶.[0006] of Dvortsov discloses “Some embodiments relate to an electronic device that can include an input component configured to receive inputs from a user, an output component configured to transmit audio data, and one or more processors coupled to the input component and to the output component. The electronic device can also include a computer-readable storage medium containing instructions, that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a set of actions. The actions can include identifying an audio collection that includes one or more songs and determining that the electronic device is a player device. The actions can also include transmitting audio data from the audio collection to a speaker, accessing a rule that indicates whether another device is to take over as the player device, and determining that a second device is to take over as the player device based on a property of the second device and the accessed rule. The actions can further include transmitting, to the second device, a characteristic of the transmission of the audio data from the audio collection to the speaker and causing transmission of the audio data from the audio collection from the electronic device to the speaker to cease.”
¶.[0066] of Dvortsov discloses “blocks can be configured to perform various operations, e.g., by programming a processor or providing appropriate control circuitry, and various blocks might or might not be reconfigurable depending on how the initial configuration is obtained. Embodiments of the present invention can be realized in a variety of apparatus including electronic devices implemented using any combination of circuitry and software.” [emphasis added].
[Fig.5] of Dvortsov shows
¶.[0067] of Dvortsov discloses “FIG. 5 is a simplified block diagram of a mobile device 500 (e.g., implementing mobile device 302 of FIG. 3) according to an embodiment of the present invention. Mobile device 500 can include processing subsystem 502, storage subsystem 504, user interface 506, RF interface 508, power subsystem 512, and environmental sensors 514. Mobile device 500 can also include other components (not explicitly shown). Many of the components of mobile device 500 can be similar or identical to those of wearable device 400 of FIG. 4.”
¶.[0069] of Dvortsov discloses “User interface 506 can include any combination of input and output devices. A user can operate input devices of user interface 506 to invoke the functionality of mobile device 500 and can view, hear, and/or otherwise experience output from mobile device 500 via output devices of user interface 506. Examples of output devices include display 520, speakers 522, and haptic output generator 524. Examples of input devices include microphone 526, touch sensor 528, and camera 529. These input and output devices can be similar to output devices described above with reference to FIG. 4.”
¶.[0070] of Dvortsov discloses “processing subsystem 502 can be implemented as one or more integrated circuits, e.g., one or more single-core or multi-core microprocessors or microcontrollers, examples of which are known in the art. In operation, processing system 502 can control the operation of mobile device 500. In various embodiments, processing subsystem 502 can execute a variety of programs in response to program code and can maintain multiple concurrently executing programs or processes. At any given time, some or all of the program code to be executed can be resident in processing subsystem 502 and/or in storage media such as storage subsystem 504.” [emphasis added].
¶.[0071] of Dvortsov discloses “through suitable programming, processing subsystem 502 can provide various functionality for mobile device 500. For example, in some embodiments, processing subsystem 502 can execute an operating system (OS) 532 and various applications 534 such as a phone-interface application, a text-message-interface application, a media interface application, a fitness application, and/or other applications. In some embodiments, some or all of these application programs can interact with a wearable device, e.g., by generating messages to be sent to the wearable device and/or by receiving and interpreting messages from the wearable device. In some embodiments, some or all of the application programs can operate locally to mobile device 500.”
¶.[0072] of Dvortsov discloses “processing subsystem 502 can also execute play-transfer coordination code 536 (which can be part of OS 532 or separate as desired). In some embodiments, execution of play-transfer coordination code 536 can cause mobile device 500 to receive a broadcast scouting communication from a master device (e.g., wearable device 300 of FIG. 3), determine current properties of mobile device 500 (e.g., power source, battery charge (if applicable), WiFi network connection strength, whether a particular song or audio collection can be accessed, whether the particular song or audio collection is available in local storage, device type, and/or strength of a connection to a speaker), and respond to the broadcast communication with some or all of the determined properties. Execution of play-transfer coordination code 536 can further cause mobile device 500 to receive a transfer-preparation communication (e.g., that includes an identification of what to play and when to begin playing) from a master device (e.g., wearable device 300 of FIG. 3), to access the appropriate music and to begin playing the music at the appropriate time. In some instances, execution of play-transfer coordination code 536 can further cause mobile device 500 to then monitor its play, and/or to begin scouting for other devices to potentially take over play.”
¶.[0073] of Dvortsov discloses “RF (radio frequency) interface 508 can allow mobile device 500 to communicate wirelessly with various other devices and networks. RF interface 508 can include RF transceiver components such as an antenna and supporting circuitry to enable data communication over a wireless medium, e.g., using cellular voice and/or data networks, Wi-Fi (IEEE 802.11 family standards), Bluetooth® (a family of standards promulgated by Bluetooth SIG, Inc.), or other protocols for wireless data communication. In some embodiments, RF interface can implement a Bluetooth LE (Low energy) proximity sensor 509 that supports proximity detection through an estimation of signal strength and/or other protocols for determining proximity to another electronic device. In some embodiments, RF interface 508 can provide near-field communication (“NFC”) capability. e.g., implementing the ISO/IEC 18092 standards or the like; NFC can support wireless data exchange between devices over a very short range (e.g., 20 centimeters or less). RF interface can be implemented using a combination of hardware (e.g., driver circuits, antennas, modulators/demodulators, encoders/decoders, and other analog and/or digital signal processing circuits) and software components. Multiple different wireless communication protocols and associated hardware can be incorporated into RF interface 508.” [emphasis added].
¶.[0074] of Dvortsov discloses “Environmental sensors 514 can include various electronic, mechanical, electromechanical, optical, or other devices that provide information related to external conditions around mobile device 500. Sensors 514 in some embodiments can provide digital signals to processing subsystem 502, e.g., on a streaming basis or in response to polling by processing subsystem 502 as desired. Any type and combination of environmental sensors can be used; shown by way of example are accelerometer 542, a magnetometer 544, a gyroscope 546, and a GPS receiver 548. These sensors can operate similarly to corresponding sensors in wearable device 400 described above. Other sensors can also be included in addition to or instead of these examples, such as temperature sensors, proximity sensors, ambient light sensors, ambient sound (or noise) sensors, or the like.”
¶.[0075] of Dvortsov discloses “Power subsystem 512 can provide power and power management capabilities for mobile device 500. For example, power subsystem 512 can include a battery 540 (e.g., a rechargeable battery) and associated circuitry to distribute power from battery 540 to other components of mobile device 500 that require electrical power. In some embodiments, power subsystem 512 can also include circuitry operable to charge battery 540. e.g., when an electrical connector (not shown) is connected to a power source. In some embodiments, power subsystem 512 can include a “wireless” charger, such as an inductive charger, to charge battery 540 without relying on a physical connector. In some embodiments, power subsystem 512 can also include other power sources, such as a solar cell, in addition to or instead of battery 540.” [emphasis added]
¶.[0077] of Dvortsov discloses “control functions of power subsystem 512 can be implemented using programmable or controllable circuits operating in response to control signals generated by processing subsystem 502 in response to program code executing thereon, or as a separate microprocessor or microcontroller.” [emphasis added].
¶.[0079] of Dvortsov discloses “the blocks need not correspond to physically distinct components. Blocks can be configured to perform various operations. e.g., by programming a processor or providing appropriate control circuitry, and various blocks might or might not be reconfigurable depending on how the initial configuration is obtained. Embodiments of the present invention can be realized in a variety of apparatus including electronic devices implemented using any combination of circuitry and software. It is also not required that every block in FIG. 5 be implemented in a given embodiment of a mobile device.” [emphasis added].
¶.[0084] of Dvortsov discloses “process 600 can begin after a set of devices has been paired together and a user has requested (via an interface of a device) that music be played. For example, the user may have opened an app, selected a song, selected a playlist, or selected a play option. This request can be received at a first device. At block 600, the first device identifies an audio collection. The audio collection can include, for example, a playlist, a song, a portion of the song, an online radio station or a podcast. The collection can be identified based on a selection from a user (e.g., a selected playlist), a selection from a remote system (e.g., operating an online radio station) and/or a previous play station (e.g., such that play is resumed where play previously stopped). The identification can be performed by searching a local or remote data store and/or by receiving a communication from a remote system.”
¶.[0085] of Dvortsov disclose “At block 610, the first device begins playing the audio collection. The audio collection can be played through a speaker on the first device, through an audio jack receiving an audio cable connected to a speaker or via wireless transmission to a speaker. The first device can select a speaker based on, e.g., a stored hierarchy or default, available speakers, and/or user preference. Playing the audio collection can include retrieving and/or receiving (e.g., once, periodically or continuously) music in the collection (e.g., from a local data store, a remote data store or a communication from a third-party system). [emphasis added].
¶.[0146] of Dvortsov discloses “the various processes described herein can be implemented on the same processor or different processors in any combination. Where components are described as being configured to perform certain operations, such configuration can be accomplished, e.g., by designing electronic circuits to perform the operation, by programming programmable electronic circuits (such as microprocessors) to perform the operation, or any combination thereof. Further, while the embodiments described above may make reference to specific hardware and software components, those skilled in the art will appreciate that different combinations of hardware and/or software components may also be used and that particular operations described as being implemented in hardware might also be implemented in software or vice versa.”
[Fig.6] of Dvortsov discloses the flow chart of dealing with audio data, i.e. service data within the first device;
In other words, as shown Fig.5 and ¶.79, the unit/module/blocks can be configured to perform various operations by providing appropriate control circuitry to an electronic device that can include an input component configured to receive input from a user, an output component configured to transmit audio data. The audio data needs to be saved in storage subsystem and be transferred to a speaker 522 Fig.5. As described in ¶.85, playing the audio collection can include retrieving and/or receiving music in the collection (e.g., from a local data store) by using multiple different wireless communication protocols and associated hardware can be incorporated into RF interface within a single device.
Therefore, the audio data, i.e. the obtained service data, needs to be distributed/transmitted to other blocks/units in order to properly processing such as receiving audio data; saving the audio data; and outputting the audio data by using at least one of the communication protocols within a single device before sending out the audio data to another device as described in para.[0073]. Therefore, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JUNG H PARK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411