DEATAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 04/20/26.
Claims 1-14 & 16-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9-14 & 17-20 are amended.
Claim 15 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's amendment filed on 04/20/26, regarding a claim objection (1-10, 14 & 20) has been considered and is persuasive . Therefore, the claim objection is withdrawn.
7. Applicant's arguments and amendment filed on 04/20/26, regarding to a 102 & 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are moot with the new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 5-14, 17 & 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP et al. (hereinafter referred as 3GPP) NPL Document, “Resource Allocation Enhancement for Mode 2” May 10th - 27th, 2021 (as disclosed in the IDS), in view of Hwang et al. (hereinafter referred as Hwang) US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0403728 A1.
Regarding claims 1 & 17: 3GPP discloses a first user equipment (UE) (See FIG. 1 & Section 2.1.1; UE-A)/method comprising:
a processor; and
a memory storing one or more instructions executable by the processor, wherein the one or more instructions are executed by the processor to perform:
transmitting the first signaling message including first information indicating a request for transmitting inter-UE coordination information (See FIG. 1 & Section 2.1.1; the UE-A sends inter-UE coordination information to the UE-B) and second information indicating whether the inter-UE coordination information is related to a preferred resource or anon-preferred resource (See Section 1; the UE-A sends to UE-B a coordination information including a set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE-B transmission);
receiving a second signaling message including the inter-UE coordination information on a time resource indicated by the time offset (See FIG. 1 & Section 2.1.1; UE-B transmits intended transmission to UE-A for SL communication between the UE-A and the UE-B); and
performing sidelink communication of based on the inter-UE coordination information included in the second signaling message (See FIG. 1 & Section 2.1.1; UE-B transmits intended transmission to UE-A by using a set of preferred resources).
3GPP does not explicitly disclose a first user equipment (UE)/method comprising:
a processor; and
a memory storing one or more instructions executable by the processor, wherein the one or more instructions are executed by the processor to perform:
receiving first-stage sidelink control information including information related to a time offset.
However, Hwang from the same field of endeavor discloses a first user equipment (UE)/method comprising:
a processor (See FIG. 16 & Para. 0216; a first wireless device includes processor); and
a memory (See FIG. 16 & Para. 0216; a first wireless device includes a memory) storing one or more instructions executable by the processor, wherein the one or more instructions are executed by the processor to perform:
receiving first-stage sidelink control information including information related to a time offset (See Abstract, 0071 & 0156; receiving a sidelink control information (SCI). receives a SCI and slot offset values or time offset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a first user equipment (UE)/method comprising: a processor; and a memory storing one or more instructions executable by the processor, wherein the one or more instructions are executed by the processor to perform: receiving first-stage sidelink control information including information related to a time offset as taught by Hwang in the system of 3GPP to select SL resource(s) based on the assistance information (See Para. 0008; lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 5: The combination of 3GPP and Hwang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP disclose a method, wherein the first signaling message is transmitted to each of a second UE and a third UE, and the first signaling message transmitted to the second UE and the first signaling message transmitted to the third UE include same information elements or different information elements (See Section 2.1; transmitting and receiving UE over sidelink are selected by higher layers. To place this in context of inter-UE coordination, the transmitting UE, UE-B. and the receiving UE, which could be UE-A or any other UE).
Regarding claim 6: The combination of 3GPP and Hwang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP disclose a method, wherein the first signaling message further includes information indicating a transmission scheme of the second signaling message including the inter-UE coordination information (See Inter-UE coordination scheme 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 7 & 19: The combination of 3GPP and Hwang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP disclose a method, wherein the first signaling message further includes a second information element indicating a transmission scheme of the second signaling message including the inter-UE coordination information (See Inter-UE coordination scheme 1 and 2), the transmission scheme is classified into a first transmission scheme (Inter-UE coordination Scheme 1) and a second transmission scheme (Inter-UE coordination Scheme 1), the second signaling message is transmitted if the inter-UE coordination information exists in response that the first transmission scheme is used, and the second signaling message is transmitted if a preconfigured condition is satisfied in response that the second transmission scheme is used (See Section 1 & Proposal 15; the condition for UE-A to use inter-UE coordination scheme 2 are the same as that of scheme 1 based on a pre-configured event).
Regarding claim 8: The combination of 3GPP and Hwang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP disclose a method, wherein the preconfigured condition is a condition in which a distance between the first UE and a second UE receiving the first signaling message is less than a first threshold, or a condition in which a received strength of the first signaling message received at the second UE is greater than or equal to a second threshold (See Section 2.4.3; the following are the set of conditions that UE-B needs to take into account: Distance between UE-A and UE-B or SL RSRP threshold).
Regarding claim 9: The combination of 3GPP and Hwang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP disclose a method, wherein the first signaling message further includes information indicating a transmission resource of the second signaling message, and the transmission resource is a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource (See FIG. 6 & Section 3.4.1; transmitting to the UE-A resource with PSFCH enabled).
Regarding claims 10 & 20: The combination of 3GPP and Hwang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP disclose a method, wherein in response that the second signaling message is transmitted using the PSFCH resource, the second signaling message includes acknowledgment (ACK) information or negative ACK (NACK) information (See Section 2.2.1; In order to determine these resources, UEA would be required to monitor the PSFCH for an early ACK), and each of the ACK information and the NACK information indicates preferred resources, non-preferred resources, an expected resource conflict, or detected resource conflict indicated by the first signaling message (See Section 1; the coordination information is the set of resources preferred, non-preferred. the coordination information is the presence of expected/potential conflict and the detected resource conflict).
Regarding claim 11: 3GPP discloses a method of a second user equipment (UE) (See FIG. 1 & Section 2.1.1; UE-B), the method comprising:
receiving, from a first UE, a first signaling message including first information indicating a transmission request for inter-UE coordination information See FIG. 1 & Section 2.1.1; the UE-A sends inter-UE coordination information to the UE-B) and second information indicating a transmission scheme of the inter-UE coordination information (See Section 1; the UE-A sends to UE-B a coordination information including a set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred for UE-B transmission);
in response to satisfying a condition according to the transmission scheme, generating the inter-UE coordination information according to the transmission request (See Section 2.4.3; the UE-A generates a coordination information message between the UE-A and UE-B. SL-RSRP threshold is used for generating the coordination information message); and
transmitting, to the first UE, a second signaling message including the inter-UE coordination information on a time resource indicated by the time offset (See Section 2.1; UE (i.e., UE-B) transmits coordination information message (intra-coordination) to the other UEs (I.e., UE-A)).
3GPP does not explicitly disclose transmitting first-stage sidelink control information including information related to a time offset.
However, Hwang from the same field of endeavor discloses transmitting first-stage sidelink control information including information related to a time offset (See Abstract, 0071 & 0156; receiving a sidelink control information (SCI). receives a SCI and slot offset values or time offset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting first-stage sidelink control information including information related to a time offset as taught by Hwang in the system of 3GPP to select SL resource(s) based on the assistance information (See Para. 0008; lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 12: The combination of 3GPP and Hwang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a method, wherein the condition is a first condition in which a distance between the first UE and the second UE is less than a first threshold (See Section 2.4.3; the following are the set of conditions that UE-B needs to take into account: Distance between UE-A and UE-B or SL RSRP threshold).
Regarding claim 13: The combination of 3GPP and Hwang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a method, wherein the first signaling message further includes information indicating a transmission resource of the second signaling message, and the transmission resource is a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource (See FIG. 6 & Section 3.4.1; transmitting to the UE-A resource with PSFCH enabled).
Regarding claim 14: The combination of 3GPP and Hwang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP discloses a method, wherein in response that the second signaling message is transmitted using the PSFCH resource, the second signaling message includes acknowledgment (ACK) information or negative ACK (NACK) information (See Section 2.2.1; In order to determine these resources, UE-A would be required to monitor the PSFCH for an early ACK), and each of the ACK information and the NACK information indicates preferred resources, non-preferred resources, an expected resource conflict (See Section 1; the coordination information is the set of resources preferred, non-preferred. the coordination information is the presence of expected/potential conflict and the detected resource conflict).
10. Claims 2 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP, in view of Hwang, further in view of LG Electronics et al. (hereinafter referred as LG) NPL Document, “Discussion on Inter-UE coordination for Mode 2 enhancements” May 19th – 27th , 2021 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claim 2: 3GPP discloses wherein the first signaling message is transmitted in a unicast scheme, a groupcast scheme, or a broadcast scheme (Section 2.1.1; unicast, groupcast or broadcast request) but fails to disclose the first signaling message is generated based on a UE-specific identifier (ID) in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the unicast scheme, the first signaling message is generated based on a group-specific ID in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the groupcast scheme, and the first signaling message is generated based on an ID for broadcast transmission in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the broadcast scheme.
However, LG from the same field of endeavor discloses the first signaling message is generated based on a UE-specific identifier (ID) in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the unicast scheme, the first signaling message is generated based on a group-specific ID in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the groupcast scheme, and the first signaling message is generated based on an ID for broadcast transmission in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the broadcast scheme (See Page 10; when UE-B’s transmission targeting UE-B on the resource occasions indicated by UE-B’s SCI. for instance, when UE-B’s transmission is a groupcast, UE-A can check whether the resource indicated by the UE-B’s SCI are overlapping with another groupcast PSSCH with the same destination ID or Unicast PSSCH of which destination ID is the same as the source ID of the UE-B’s transmission if available).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first signaling message is generated based on a UE-specific identifier (ID) in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the unicast scheme, the first signaling message is generated based on a group-specific ID in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the groupcast scheme, and the first signaling message is generated based on an ID for broadcast transmission in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the broadcast scheme as taught by LG in the combined system of Hwang and 3GPP, would have yield predictable results of interoperability and compatibility between the telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers and resulted in the improve system (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 16: The combination of 3GPP, Hwang and LG discloses a method.
Furthermore, LG discloses a method, wherein the first signaling message is transmitted in a unicast scheme, a groupcast scheme, or a broadcast scheme (See 3GPP; Section 2.1.1; unicast, groupcast or broadcast request), the first signaling message is received based on a UE-specific identifier (ID) in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the unicast scheme, the first signaling message is received based on a group-specific ID in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the groupcast scheme, and the first signaling message is received based on an ID for broadcast transmission in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the broadcast scheme (See Page 10; when UE-B’s transmission targeting UE-B on the resource occasions indicated by UE-B’s SCI. for instance, when UE-B’s transmission is a groupcast, UE-A can check whether the resource indicated by the UE-B’s SCI are overlapping with another groupcast PSSCH with the same destination ID or Unicast PSSCH of which destination ID is the same as the source ID of the UE-B’s transmission if available).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first signaling message is transmitted in a unicast scheme, a groupcast scheme, or a broadcast scheme the first signaling message is received based on a UE-specific identifier (ID) in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the unicast scheme, the first signaling message is received based on a group-specific ID in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the groupcast scheme, and the first signaling message is received based on an ID for broadcast transmission in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the broadcast scheme as taught by LG in the system of 3GPP, would have yield predictable results of interoperability and compatibility between the telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers and resulted in the improve system (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 3-4 & 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
13. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Hui et al. 2023/0026229 A1 (Title: Coordination information transmission for sidelink… ) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Nguyen et al. 2022/0232427 A1 (Title: RACH type switching) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Nguyen et al. 2022/0232427 A1 (Title: Collision indicator for set forwarding) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469