DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 01/30/24.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
4. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 01/30/24 & 07/10/25 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Priority
5. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawing
6. The drawings filed on 01/30/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Claims Objections
7. Claims 1-10, 14 & 20 are objected to because of minor informalities:
8. Claim 1, in part, recites, “…generating, by a processor…and performing, by the processor…in lines 1-4. It’s suggested to change it to: “generating…and performing” to avoid hybrid claims.
9. Claims 2-10 are also objected since they are depend upon objected independent claims set forth above.
10. Claim 10, in part, recites, “…expected/potential…in line 5. It is suggested to clarify the use of words instead of “/”.
11. Claims 14 & 20 are also objected for the same reason as claim 10 above.
12. Claim 3, in part, recites, “…the first time period…in line 2. Since it is recited for the first time in the claim, for clarity it is suggested to change “a the first time period”.
13. Claim 4 is also objected for the same reason as claim 3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
15. Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by 3GPP et al. (hereinafter referred as 3GPP) NPL Document, “Resource Allocation Enhancement for Mode 2” May 10th - 27th, 2021 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claim 11: 3GPP discloses a method of a second user equipment (UE) (See FIG. 1 & Section 2.1.1; UE-B), the method comprising:
receiving, from a first UE, a first signaling message including a first information element indicating a transmission request for inter-UE coordination information (See FIG. 1 & Section 1; Inter-UE coordination Scheme 1: the UE-B receives the coordination information (i.e., a set of resources preferred and/or non-preferred) message from UE-A) and a second information element indicating a transmission scheme of the inter-UE coordination information (See FIG. 1 & Section 1; Inter-UE coordination Scheme 2: the UE-B receives the coordination information (i.e., the presence of expected/potential and/or detected resource conflict) message from UE-A);
in response to satisfying a condition (corresponding to SL-RSRP Threshold) according to the transmission scheme,
generating the inter-UE coordination information according to the transmission request (See Section 2.4.3; the UE-A generates a coordination information message between the UE-A and UE-B. SL-RSRP threshold is used for generating the coordination information message); and
transmitting, to the first UE, a second signaling message including the inter-UE coordination information (See Section 2.1; UE (i.e., UE-B) transmits coordination information message (intra-coordination) to the other UEs (I.e., UE-A)).
Regarding claim 12: 3GPP discloses a method of a second user equipment (UE), wherein the condition is a condition in which a distance between the first UE and the second UE is less than a first threshold, or a condition in which a received strength of the first signaling message is greater than or equal to a second threshold (See Section 2.4.3; the following are the set of conditions that UE-B needs to take into account: Distance between UE-A and UE-B or SL RSRP threshold).
Regarding claim 13: 3GPP discloses a method of a second user equipment (UE), wherein the first signaling message further includes a third information element indicating a transmission resource of the second signaling message, and the transmission resource is a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource (See FIG. 6 & Section 3.4.1; transmitting to the UE-A resource with PSFCH enabled).
Regarding claim 14: 3GPP discloses a method of a second user equipment (UE), wherein in response that the second signaling message is transmitted using the PSFCH resource, the second signaling message includes acknowledgment (ACK) information or negative ACK (NACK) information (See Section 2.2.1; In order to determine these resources, UE-A would be required to monitor the PSFCH for an early ACK), and each of the ACK information and the NACK information indicates preferred resources, non-preferred resources, expected/potential resource conflict (See Section 1; the coordination information is the set of resources preferred, non-preferred. the coordination information is the presence of expected/potential conflict and the detected resource conflict).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claims 1, 3-10, 15 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP, in view of Wang et al. (hereinafter referred as Wang) US Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0262737 A1.
Regarding claims 1 & 17: 3GPP discloses a first user equipment (UE)/method (See FIG. 1 & Section 2.1.1; UE-A), comprising:
generating, by a processor, a first signaling message (corresponding to coordination information message) including a first information element indicating a transmission request for inter-UE coordination information (See Section 2.4.3; the UE-A generates a coordination information message between the UE-A and UE-B);
transmitting the first signaling message (See FIG. 1 & Section 2.1.1; the UE-A sends the coordination information message for the intended transmission by the UE-B);
performing a reception operation of a second signaling message including the inter-UE coordination information during a first time period from a time of transmitting the first signaling message (See FIG. 1 & Section 2.1.1; the UE-A receives intended transmission to UE-B. the coordination message itself can be received at the UE-B any time before the UE determines the candidate resource set for the transmission); and
in response to receiving the second signaling message, performing sidelink communication in consideration of the inter-UE coordination information included in the second signaling message (See FIG. 1 & Section 2.1.1; UE-B transmits intended transmission to UE-A for SL communication between the UE-A and the UE-B),
wherein in response that the second signaling message is not received during the first time period, the sidelink communication is performed without considering the inter-UE coordination information (See Section 2.4.3; in the case where UE-B does not receive coordination information, the UE-B can take into account these set of resource based on the SL-RSRP threshold associated with them to perform SL communication).
3GPP does not explicitly disclose a first user equipment comprising a processor and a memory.
However, Wang from the same field of endeavor discloses a first user equipment (See FIG. 9 & Para. 0224; an electronic device (i.e., UE)) comprising a processor (See FIG. 9 & Para. 0224; an electronic device (i.e., UE) includes a processor) and a memory (See FIG. 9 & Para. 0224; an electronic device (i.e., UE) includes a memory).
performing a reception operation of a second signaling message including the inter-UE coordination information during a first time period from a time of transmitting the first signaling message (See FIG. 6, Para. 0042 & 0132; receiving at time m1+T.sub.delay the sidelink resource coordination information transmitted by the coordinating UE. The coordinated UE randomly selects the resource required for transmitting the coordination request information within the resource selection window as shown in FIG. 6 according to the sensing result. It should be noted that, the “box” in the resource selection window of FIG. 6 is the resource selected for transmitting the coordination request information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a first user equipment comprising a processor and a memory as taught by Wang in the system of 3GPP in order to perform a resource selection for the sidelink, according to the sidelink resource coordination information (See abstract; lines 3-4).
Regarding claims 3 & 18: The combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose a first user equipment (UE)/method.
Furthermore, Wang disclose a first user equipment (UE)/method, wherein information on a time offset indicating the first time period is included in the first signaling message (See Para. 0078-0082; the coordination request information may include an indication of the latest absolute time to receive the coordination information signaling. The time delay information may also be relative time, such as: the first offset time is used for indicating an offset between a time of transmitting the sidelink resource coordination request information and a time when the packet to be transmitted arrives a physical layer of the coordinated UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein information on a time offset indicating the first time period is included in the first signaling message as taught by Wang in the system of 3GPP in order to perform a resource selection for the sidelink, according to the sidelink resource coordination information (See abstract; lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 4: The combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose a method.
Furthermore, Wang disclose a method, receiving information on a time offset indicating the first time period from a base station to which the first UE is connected (See Para. 0076; first offset time, configured to indicate a offset between a time of transmitting the sidelink resource coordination request information and a time when the packet to be transmitted arrives a physical layer of the coordinated UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving information on a time offset indicating the first time period from a base station to which the first UE is connected as taught by Wang in the system of 3GPP in order to perform a resource selection for the sidelink, according to the sidelink resource coordination information (See abstract; lines 3-4).
Regarding claim 5: The combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP disclose a method, wherein the first signaling message is transmitted to each of a second UE and a third UE, and the first signaling message transmitted to the second UE and the first signaling message transmitted to the third UE include same information elements or different information elements (See Section 2.1; transmitting and receiving UE over sidelink are selected by higher layers. To place this in context of inter-UE coordination, the transmitting UE, UE-B. and the receiving UE, which could be UE-A or any other UE).
Regarding claim 6: The combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP disclose a method, wherein the first signaling message further includes a second information element indicating a transmission scheme of the second signaling message including the inter-UE coordination information (See Inter-UE coordination scheme 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 7 & 19: The combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP disclose a method, wherein the first signaling message further includes a second information element indicating a transmission scheme of the second signaling message including the inter-UE coordination information (See Inter-UE coordination scheme 1 and 2), the transmission scheme is classified into a first transmission scheme (Inter-UE coordination Scheme 1) and a second transmission scheme (Inter-UE coordination Scheme 1), the second signaling message is transmitted if the inter-UE coordination information exists in response that the first transmission scheme is used, and the second signaling message is transmitted if a preconfigured condition is satisfied in response that the second transmission scheme is used (See Section 1 & Proposal 15; the condition for UE-A to use inter-UE coordination scheme 2 are the same as that of scheme 1 based on a pre-configured event).
Regarding claim 8: The combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP disclose a method, wherein the preconfigured condition is a condition in which a distance between the first UE and a second UE receiving the first signaling message is less than a first threshold, or a condition in which a received strength of the first signaling message received at the second UE is greater than or equal to a second threshold (See Section 2.4.3; the following are the set of conditions that UE-B needs to take into account: Distance between UE-A and UE-B or SL RSRP threshold).
Regarding claim 9: The combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP disclose a method, wherein the first signaling message further includes a third information element indicating a transmission resource of the second signaling message, and the transmission resource is a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) resource (See FIG. 6 & Section 3.4.1; transmitting to the UE-A resource with PSFCH enabled).
Regarding claims 10 & 20: The combination of 3GPP and Wang disclose a method.
Furthermore, 3GPP disclose a method, wherein in response that the second signaling message is transmitted using the PSFCH resource, the second signaling message includes acknowledgment (ACK) information or negative ACK (NACK) information (See Section 2.2.1; In order to determine these resources, UEA would be required to monitor the PSFCH for an early ACK), and each of the ACK information and the NACK information indicates preferred resources, non-preferred resources, expected/potential resource conflict, or detected resource conflict indicated by the first signaling message (See Section 1; the coordination information is the set of resources preferred, non-preferred. the coordination information is the presence of expected/potential conflict and the detected resource conflict).
Regarding claim 15: 3GPP discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the first signaling message further includes information on a time offset, and the second signaling message is transmitted within a time period corresponding to the time offset from a time of receiving the first signaling message.
However, Wang from the same field of endeavor discloses a method, wherein the first signaling message further includes information on a time offset, and the second signaling message is transmitted within a time period corresponding to the time offset from a time of receiving the first signaling message (See Para. 0078-0082; the coordination request information may include an indication of the latest absolute time to receive the coordination information signaling. The time delay information may also be relative time, such as: the first offset time is used for indicating an offset between a time of transmitting the sidelink resource coordination request information and a time when the packet to be transmitted arrives a physical layer of the coordinated UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the first signaling message further includes information on a time offset, and the second signaling message is transmitted within a time period corresponding to the time offset from a time of receiving the first signaling message as taught by Wang in the system of 3GPP in order to perform a resource selection for the sidelink, according to the sidelink resource coordination information (See abstract; lines 3-4).
18. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP, in view of Wang, further in view of LG Electronics et al. (hereinafter referred as LG) NPL Document, “Discussion on Inter-UE coordination for Mode 2 enhancements” May 19th – 27th , 2021 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claim 2: 3GPP discloses wherein the first signaling message is transmitted in a unicast scheme, a groupcast scheme, or a broadcast scheme (Section 2.1.1; unicast, groupcast or broadcast request) but fails to disclose the first signaling message is generated based on a UE-specific identifier (ID) in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the unicast scheme, the first signaling message is generated based on a group-specific ID in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the groupcast scheme, and the first signaling message is generated based on an ID for broadcast transmission in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the broadcast scheme.
However, LG from the same field of endeavor discloses the first signaling message is generated based on a UE-specific identifier (ID) in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the unicast scheme, the first signaling message is generated based on a group-specific ID in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the groupcast scheme, and the first signaling message is generated based on an ID for broadcast transmission in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the broadcast scheme (See Page 10; when UE-B’s transmission targeting UE-B on the resource occasions indicated by UE-B’s SCI. for instance, when UE-B’s transmission is a groupcast, UE-A can check whether the resource indicated by the UE-B’s SCI are overlapping with another groupcast PSSCH with the same destination ID or Unicast PSSCH of which destination ID is the same as the source ID of the UE-B’s transmission if available).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first signaling message is generated based on a UE-specific identifier (ID) in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the unicast scheme, the first signaling message is generated based on a group-specific ID in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the groupcast scheme, and the first signaling message is generated based on an ID for broadcast transmission in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the broadcast scheme as taught by LG in the combined system of Wang and 3GPP, would have yield predictable results of interoperability and compatibility between the telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers and resulted in the improve system (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
19. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP, in view of LG.
Regarding claim 16: 3GPP discloses wherein the first signaling message is transmitted in a unicast scheme, a groupcast scheme, or a broadcast scheme (Section 2.1.1; unicast, groupcast or broadcast request) but fails to disclose the first signaling message is received based on a UE-specific identifier (ID) in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the unicast scheme, the first signaling message is received based on a group-specific ID in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the groupcast scheme, and the first signaling message is received based on an ID for broadcast transmission in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the broadcast scheme.
However, LG from the same field of endeavor discloses the first signaling message is received based on a UE-specific identifier (ID) in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the unicast scheme, the first signaling message is received based on a group-specific ID in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the groupcast scheme, and the first signaling message is received based on an ID for broadcast transmission in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the broadcast scheme (See Page 10; when UE-B’s transmission targeting UE-B on the resource occasions indicated by UE-B’s SCI. for instance, when UE-B’s transmission is a groupcast, UE-A can check whether the resource indicated by the UE-B’s SCI are overlapping with another groupcast PSSCH with the same destination ID or Unicast PSSCH of which destination ID is the same as the source ID of the UE-B’s transmission if available).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first signaling message is received
based on a UE-specific identifier (ID) in response that the first signaling message is transmitted in the unicast scheme, the first signaling message is received based on a group-specific ID in response
that the first signaling message is transmitted in the groupcast scheme, and the first signaling message is received based on an ID for broadcast transmission in response that the first signaling
message is transmitted in the broadcast scheme as taught by LG in the system of 3GPP, would have yield predictable results of interoperability and compatibility between the telecommunication
equipment vendors and service providers and resulted in the improve system (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Conclusion
20. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. GUO et al. 2024/0348371 A1 (Title: Recovering procedure for inter user equipment coordination message request) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. FOUAD et al. 2024/0205945 A1 (Title: System and method for sidelink unlicensed channel access and feedback) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Panzner et al. 2024/0129981 A1 (Title: Triangulate inter-UE coordination for new radio) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469