DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 8-9, 11-16 and 18-20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 102
CLAIMS 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by ETCHEGOYEN (US 2011/0093701).
Per claim 1, ETCHEGOYEN teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
building, with a network security platform, a trusted database having software including software updates and files including file information from trusted third party software providers (paras 0026, 0053-55—administrative database having software applications and versions, including both unauthorized and authorized versions; software signatures for new versions may be added by developers; new signatures indicating unauthorized versions may be discovered by client-side security components and reported to the database);
receiving a first software update or file from a third party software provider (paras 0013, 0026-27, 0043, 0049, 0052—version tracking, receiving software update and version data from a provider/publisher/developer managed at an administrative node);
determining an identifier for the first software update or file and determining whether the identifier is stored in the trusted database (paras 0031-34, 0049-53—determining software signature data, application version identifier and metadata are included in the database managed at an administrative node);
validating the first software update or file based on whether the identifier is stored in the trusted database to determine validity of the first software update or file including determining valid first software update or file being safe or determining invalid first software update or file being suspicious or malicious (paras 0052-53—comparing the software signature to determine if it is authorized and stored in the administrative database, when it not authorized or found registered in the database it is determined to be suspicious and or discarded); and
determining whether to update the trusted database with the identifier for the first software update or file based on determining valid first software update or file being safe or determining invalid first software update or file being suspicious or malicious (Abstract, paras 0026, 0055—determining to update the databased with the version identifiers indicating authorized versions, while assigning labels to unauthorized application version to prevent use of unauthorized software).
Per claim 8, ETCHEGOYEN teaches the system comprising:
one or more processing resource (paras 0021-22—processor); and
a non-transitory computer readable medium coupled to the one or more processing resources and having stored therein instructions being executable by the one or more processing resources cause the one or more (paras 0021-23) processing resource to:
build, with a network security platform, a trusted database having software including software updates and files including file information from trusted third-party software providers (paras 0026, 0053-55—administrative database having software applications and versions, including both unauthorized and authorized versions; software signatures for new versions may be added by developers; new signatures indicating unauthorized versions may be discovered by client-side security components and reported to the database);
determine a hash identifier for the first software update or file and determining whether the identifier is stored in the trusted database (paras 0026, 0030, 0038-39, 0042—hash signatures are associated with each application and version and kept in the database as specified by the developer);
validating the first software update or file based on whether the identifier is stored in the trusted database to determine validity of the first software update or file including determining valid first software update or file being safe or determining invalid first software update or file being suspicious or malicious (paras 0052-53—comparing the software signature to determine if it is authorized and stored in the administrative database, when it not authorized or found registered in the database it is determined to be suspicious and or discarded); and
determining whether to update the trusted database with the identifier for the first software update or file based on determining valid first software update or file being safe or determining invalid first software update or file being suspicious or malicious (Abstract, paras 0026, 0055—determining to update the databased with the version identifiers indicating authorized versions, while assigning labels to unauthorized application version to prevent use of unauthorized software).
Claim 15 contains limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 8 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 2, ETCHEGOYEN teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprises: updating the trusted database with at least one of the identifier and the first software update or file (paras 0012, 0026, 0034—authorizing updates to the database with updated software version data when an outdated or unauthorized version is detected).
Per claim 4, ETCHEGOYEN teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprises: receiving or detecting a second software update or file; and determining an identifier for the second software update or file (paras 0012-13, 0026, 0033-34—new file signatures, new software signatures for new version appear at client machines prior to version release, a software update is recommended or required, authorize updates to software versions when an outdated or unauthorized version is detected at the client, updates may be performed automatically is permitted by the applicable license agreement).
Per claim 5, ETCHEGOYEN teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising: determining whether the identifier for the second software update or file is stored in the trusted database (paras 0031-34, 0049-53—determining software signature data, application version identifier and metadata are included in the database managed at an administrative node).
Per claim 6, ETCHEGOYEN teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 5, further comprising: taking an action when the identifier for the second software update or file is stored in the trusted database (paras 0046-47, 0052-54—comparing the software signature to determine if it is authorized and stored in the administrative database, when it not authorized or found registered in the database it is determined to be suspicious and or discarded, the administrative node may refrain from any specific enabling or disabling action).
Per claim 7, ETCHEGOYEN teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 5, further comprises: analyzing the second software update or file based on a scan policy when the identifier for the second software update or file is not stored in the trusted database (paras 0023, 0027—enforcing security policies set by the developer when software signature tracking indicates one or more clients is in violation of license terms; and tracking distribution and use of software versions by the various client devices using the software application).
Per claim 9, ETCHEGOYEN teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the one or more instructions being executable by the one or more processing resource cause the processing resource to: update the trusted database with the hash identifier from the first software update or file (paras 0026, 0030, 0038-39, 0042—hash signatures associated with each application and version and stored in the database as specified by the developer).
Per claim 10, ETCHEGOYEN teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the file information includes a file size, a publish date, a risk score, a software provider, a brief software description, and different hashes (paras 0026, 0042—hash identifier, signature date, developer information and metadata; paras 0006, 0008, 0013, 0027-28, 0055—software provider, developer).
Claims 3 and 17 contain limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claim 10 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Per claim 11, ETCHEGOYEN teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the instructions being executable by the one or more processing resources cause the one or more processing resources to: receive or detect a second software update or file; and determine a hash identifier for the second software update or file (paras 0012-13, 0026, 0033-34—new file signatures, new software signatures for new version appear at client machines prior to version release, a software update is recommended or required, authorize updates to software versions when an outdated or unauthorized version is detected at the client, updates may be performed automatically is permitted by the applicable license agreement; paras 0026, 0030, 0038-39, 0042—hash signatures associated with each application and version and stored in the database as specified by the developer).
Per claim 12, ETCHEGOYEN teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the instructions being executable by the one or more processing resources cause the one or more processing resources to: determine whether the hash identifier for the second software update or file is stored in the trusted database (paras 0026, 0030, 0038-39, 0042—hash signatures associated with each application and version and stored in the database as specified by the developer).
Per claim 13, ETCHEGOYEN teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the instructions being executable by the one or more processing resource cause the processing resources to: take an action to consider the second software update or file safe when the hash identifier for the second software update or file is stored in the trusted database (paras 0026, 0030, 0038-39, 0042—hash signatures associated with each application and version and stored in the database as specified by the developer; paras 0046-47, 0052-54—comparing the software signature to determine if it is authorized and stored in the administrative database, when it not authorized or found registered in the database it is determined to be suspicious and or discarded, the administrative node may refrain from any specific enabling or disabling action).
Per claim 14, ETCHEGOYEN teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the instructions being executable by the one or more processing resource cause the one or more processing resources to: analyze the second software update or file based on a scan policy when the hash identifier for the second software update or file is not stored in the trusted database (paras 0023, 0026-27, 0034—enforcing security policies set by the developer when software signature tracking indicates one or more clients is in violation of license terms, license enforcement and tracking distribution and use of software versions by the various client devices using the software application).
Claims 16-20 contain limitations that are substantially equivalent to the limitations of claims 9 and 11-14 and are therefore rejected under the same basis.
Conclusion
III. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: USPN 7051211, US 2022/0294854; USPN 6697948.
IV. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
V. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KRISTIE D SHINGLES whose telephone number is (571)272-3888. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 10am-7pm.
/KRISTIE D SHINGLES/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453