DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-8, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bridgeman (US 2019/0304188) in view of Popescu (US 9,203,681), Young (US 2023/0233259) and Delamont (US 2020/0368616).
Regarding claim 1, Bridgeman teaches collaborative work system comprising: a head mounted device, sized and configured to be worn by a local worker ([0029] VR module 110), including, a worker display and a camera configured to capture a video feed from the perspective of the local worker ([0035]); an input device configured to accept inputs from a remote helper, including, a helper display; and a shared virtual workspace displayed on the worker display and the helper display, comprising the video feed(Fig. 2 display 120[0036]) and annotations corresponding to the received inputs ([0050] pop-up window 450 are notes provided by trainer) wherein the virtual workspace further comprises a fixed coordinate space within a world-stabilized two-dimensional plane (Figs. 2 and 6-9 show different workspaces for collaboration.). Although Bridgeman teaches the limitations as discussed above, he fails to teach a virtual workspace that maintains a one-to-one spatial correspondence between physical world coordinates and virtual coordinates independent of camera movement
However in the same field of creating a collaborative work system Popescu teaches a system for remote collaboration where a virtual workspace that maintains a one-to-one spatial correspondence between physical world coordinates and virtual annotation coordinates independent of camera movement(Figs. 2-3 and respective description teach how the a camera captures video of the work environment and sends the stream to a remote user for collaboration Col. 5 lines 19-30, the remote user receives the stream of the work environment which can be annotated for collaboration Col. 5 lines 31-60, where the annotation is anchored to the stream for use in the work environment Col. 5 lines 61-67 through Col. 6 lines 1-19, and the anchored annotations remain although the camera position of the work environment may change Col. 6 lines 20-45) .
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system as taught by Bridgeman with the annotations method as taught by Popescu. This combination improves efficiency in a collaborative work between users as taught by Popescu (Col. 1 lines 50-67 through Col. 2 lines 1-5). Although the combination teaches the limitations as discussed above, they fail to teach a virtual workspace with annotations having established at a fixed spatial position in the physical environment that maintains a persistent one-to-one spatial correspondence independent of camera movement.
However in the field of presenting virtual workspaces to a user Young teaches a method where a virtual workspace with annotations having established at a fixed spatial position in the physical environment that maintains a persistent one-to-one spatial correspondence independent of camera movement ([0129] teaches a menu can be presented to the surgeon in a fixed location in the field of view even as the medical provider moves around the field of view of the actual scene, in the environment coordinate system as shown in Fig. 9A-9B.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system as taught by Bridgeman with the annotations method as taught by Popescu and the method of presenting virtual workspaces as taught by Young. This combination improves efficiency in a collaborative work between users as taught by Popescu (Col. 1 lines 50-67 through Col. 2 lines 1-5). Although the combination teaches the limitations as discussed above, they fail to teach a spatial position being determined by a raycast from the head mounted device onto a detected spatial surface in the physical environment.
However in the field of presented a mixed reality environment to a user Delamont uses tow cameras 7R/7L to capture real-world view of objects and surfaces in the field of view of the user [0065][0079-0081], to generate surface data through spatial mapping [0084]. The method of Delmont goes on to teach spatial position being determined by a raycast from the head mounted device onto a detected spatial surface in the physical environment ([0093][0135]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system as taught by Bridgeman with the annotations method as taught by Popescu, the method of presenting virtual workspaces as taught by Young and the method of determining spatial positioning as taught by Delamont. This combination improves efficiency in a collaborative work between users as taught by Popescu (Col. 1 lines 50-67 through Col. 2 lines 1-5)
Regarding claim 4, Bridgeman teaches wherein the input device includes a touchpad configured to accept touch inputs from the remote helper ([0036][0064]).
Regarding claim 6, Bridgeman teaches a communication device configured to send and receive instructions between the local worker and the remote helper ([0036][0064] list different input/output methods for communication during collaborations.).
Regarding claims 7 and 12, Bridgeman teaches wherein the communication device is a two-way audio-based communication device ([0022] teaches the system could use real-time voice and/or video communication).
Regarding claim 8, Bridgeman teaches A method for collaborative work, the method comprising: capturing a video feed from the perspective of a local worker ([0029] VR module 110); projecting a virtual workspace over the video feed; displaying said video feed to a remote helper (Fig. 2 [0035-0036]) recording inputs from the remote helper in the form of annotations; combining video feed and annotations to create an annotated video; and displaying annotated video feed to local worker([0050] pop-up window 450 are notes provided by trainer). Although Bridgeman teaches the limitations as discussed above, he fails to teach the virtual workspace comprises establishing a fixed coordinate space within a world-stabilized two-dimensional plane that maintains spatial correspondence between annotation positions and physical world locations independent of camera movement.
However in the same field of creating a collaborative work system Popescu teaches a system for remote collaboration where the virtual workspace comprises establishing a fixed coordinate space within a world-stabilized two-dimensional plane that maintains spatial correspondence between annotation positions and physical world locations independent of camera movement(Figs. 2-3 and respective description teach how the a camera captures video of the work environment and sends the stream to a remote user for collaboration Col. 5 lines 19-30, the remote user receives the stream of the work environment which can be annotated for collaboration Col. 5 lines 31-60, where the annotation is anchored to the stream for use in the work environment Col. 5 lines 61-67 through Col. 6 lines 1-19, and the anchored annotations remain although the camera position of the work environment may change Col. 6 lines 20-45) .
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system as taught by Bridgeman with the annotations method as taught by Popescu. This combination improves efficiency in a collaborative work between users as taught by Popescu (Col. 1 lines 50-67 through Col. 2 lines 1-5). Although the combination teaches the limitations as discussed above, they fail to teach a virtual workspace with annotations having established at a fixed spatial position in the physical environment that maintains a persistent one-to-one spatial correspondence independent of camera movement.
However in the field of presenting virtual workspaces to a user Young teaches a method where a virtual workspace with annotations having established at a fixed spatial position in the physical environment that maintains a persistent one-to-one spatial correspondence independent of camera movement ([0129] teaches a menu can be presented to the surgeon in a fixed location in the field of view even as the medical provider moves around the field of view of the actual scene, in the environment coordinate system as shown in Fig. 9A-9B.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system as taught by Bridgeman with the annotations method as taught by Popescu and the method of presenting virtual workspaces as taught by Young. This combination improves efficiency in a collaborative work between users as taught by Popescu (Col. 1 lines 50-67 through Col. 2 lines 1-5).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Bridgeman in view of Popescu teaches wherein the virtual workspace includes a cursor configured to move according to the inputs from the remote helper ([0046] virtual cursor 170) and Young teaches wherein the cursor maintains its position relative to physical world objects within the fixed coordinate space established at the fixed spatial position in the physical environment during camera movement ([0133]teaches an indicator may appear at the tip of the pointer 906 and the indicator 908 may be fixed to their location in the view of the medical provider even when the medical provider changes their field of view) .
Regarding claim 13, Bridgeman teaches wherein the annotated video displayed to the local worker using an augmented reality headset ([0029] VR module 110).
Regarding claim 14, Bridgeman teaches wherein the input device includes a touchpad configured to accept touch inputs from the remote helper ([0036][0064]).
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bridgeman (US 2019/0304188) in view of Popescu (US 9,203,681), Young (US 2023/0233259) and Delamont (US 2020/0368616) and Carney (US 2019/0385479).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Bridgman in view of Popescu, Young and Delamont teach the limitations as discussed above, but they do not teach wherein the input device includes an erase function configured to erase select annotations.
However in the field of creating a collaboration tool for multiple users, Carney teaches wherein the input device includes an erase function configured to erase select annotations([0037][0092]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system as taught by Bridgeman with the annotations method as taught by Popescu, the method of presenting virtual workspaces as taught by Young and the method of determining spatial positioning as taught by Delamont, and the method of input as taught by Carney. This combination would provide an improved system of guiding a trainee through a process.
Regarding claim 10, Bridgman in view of Popescu, Young and Delamont teach the limitations as discussed above, and Popescu teaches providing annotations stabilized within the fixed coordinate space (see claim 8 above), but does not teach wherein the input device includes an erase function configured to erase select annotations.
However in the field of creating a collaboration tool for multiple users, Carney teaches wherein the input device includes an erase function configured to erase select annotations([0037][0092]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system as taught by Bridgeman with the annotations method as taught by Popescu, the method of presenting virtual workspaces as taught by Young and the method of determining spatial positioning as taught by Delamont, and the method of input as taught by Carney. This combination would provide an improved system of guiding a trainee through a process.
Conclusion
/ANDRE L MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621