DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a cooking apparatus” in line 6. it is unclear if this corresponds to the either of the “cooking apparatus” mentioned in the same claim. Additionally, nothing in the specs clearly define what the claim means by cooking apparatus but given the context of the claim should be amended to the heating cooking apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bruin-Slot (US 20180188947 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Bruin-Slot teaches
A heating cooking apparatus (Fig. 1, double oven 10) comprising:
a first cooking apparatus (Fig. 1, lower oven cavity 16);
a second cooking apparatus (Fig. 1, upper oven cavity 14) disposed above the first cooking apparatus (Fig. 1, lower oven cavity 16; double oven 10, lower oven cavity 16, upper oven cavity 14, “includes a cabinet 12 that defining two separate oven cavities shown as upper oven cavity 14 and lower oven cavity 16.” [0019]) and
a single display device (Fig. 1, user-interface 21 ” the user-interface 21 includes a touch-sensitive display 24 configured to display a plurality of interactive user-interface screens.”) disposed above the second cooking apparatus (Fig. 1, upper oven cavity 14) and capable of receiving both a first operation for the first cooking apparatus and a second operation for the second cooking apparatus (Fig 1. “the user-interface 21 includes a touch-sensitive display 24 configured to display a plurality of interactive user-interface screens…. The user-input is provided to the controller 22, and in response, the controller 22 controls the operation of the double oven 10 based on the user-input. For example, the controller 22 may operate the heating element(s) 19 of the upper and/or lower cavity 14, 16 to implement one or more user-selected operations therein” [0020]). Regarding Claim 2, Bruin-Slot teaches
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the single display device (Fig. 1, user-interface 21) is configured to display a selection screen (Fig. 3, the home screen 32) configured to enable selection of one of the first cooking apparatus and the second cooking apparatus, (Fig. 3, the home screen 32, virtual buttons 33 and 34 “the home screen 32 enables the user to select between the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16. The home screen 32 includes a virtual button 33 associated with the upper oven cavity 14, and a virtual button 34 associated with the lower cavity 16.” [0023]) and
an operation screen (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36) configured to display an action menu (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42) of a cooking apparatus, (Fig 1,3,4 home screen 32, mode selection screen 36, virtual buttons 33 and 34 “configured to display a welcome screen 26 that includes a home menu icon 28” [0021] “With reference to FIG. 3, the home screen 32 enables the user to select between the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16. The home screen 32 includes a virtual button 33 associated with the upper oven cavity 14, and a virtual button 34 associated with the lower cavity 16. Additionally, it is contemplated that the home screen 32 may show other information, selectable options, and the like. In the depicted embodiment, virtual buttons 33 and 34 each include descriptive indicia exemplarily appearing as text and/or a graphical icon visually relating virtual buttons 33 and 34 to the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16, respectively.” [0022])
and
the operation screen (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36) is configured to display
a first operation screen (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36) configured to display an action menu of the first cooking apparatus(Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42 of the lower one of the cooking apparatus 44) , and
a second operation screen (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36) configured to display an action menu (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42) of the second cooking apparatus (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42 of the upper one of the cooking apparatus 44; Fig. 3,4 home screen 32, virtual button 34, virtual button 33 mode selection screen 36, Virtual buttons 38-42 “the home screen 32 enables the user to select between the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16. The home screen 32 includes a virtual button 33 associated with the upper oven cavity 14, and a virtual button 34 associated with the lower cavity 16” [0022] “ the mode selection screen 36 enables a user to select between a plurality of modes of operation (e.g., cooking modes) available to whichever oven cavity 14, 16 was selected from the home screen 32. In the depicted embodiment, the mode selection screen 36 includes virtual button 38 associated with a bake mode, virtual button 40 associated with a broil mode, and virtual button 42 associated with a proof mode. Virtual buttons 38-42 may each include descriptive indicia exemplarily appearing as text and/or a graphical icon visually relating the virtual buttons 38-42 to the corresponding mode of operation. Additionally, the mode selection screen 36 includes an oven cavity icon 44 indicating the selected cavity (e.g., upper oven cavity 14). To select between the modes of operation, a user touches the corresponding virtual button 38-42. It is to be understood that the same modes of operation are generally available to both the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16. Alternatively, the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16 may each include different modes of operation in addition to ones not specifically mentioned herein.” [0023])
Regarding Claim 3, Bruin-Slot teaches
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein the single display device (Fig. 1, user-interface 21) is configured to display, on the selection screen (Fig. 3, the home screen 32),
a first selection icon (Fig.3 virtual button 34) enabling selection of the first cooking apparatus and being configured to light up or blink when the first cooking apparatus is selected (Fig. 3, the home screen 32, virtual button 34 for selecting lower oven 16 and indicating which oven was selected), and
a second selection icon (Fig.3 virtual button 33) enabling selection of the second cooking apparatus and being configured to light up or blink when the second cooking apparatus is selected, and (Fig. 3,4 home screen 32, virtual button 34, virtual button 33, mode selection screen 36, oven cavity icon 44 “the home screen 32 enables the user to select between the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16. The home screen 32 includes a virtual button 33 associated with the upper oven cavity 14, and a virtual button 34 associated with the lower cavity 16” [0022] “the mode selection screen 36 includes an oven cavity icon 44 indicating the selected cavity (e.g., upper oven cavity 14)” [0023])
the second selection icon is displayed above the first selection icon (Fig.3 see virtual button 33 and virtual button 34)
Regarding Claim 4, Bruin-Slot teaches
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein the single display device (Fig. 1, user-interface 21) is configured to
cause the first selection icon (Fig. 3, virtual button 34) to light up or blink when the first selection icon (Fig. 3, virtual button 34) is selected on the selection screen, (Fig. 3, home screen 32) and
display only the first operation screen (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36) and display the action menu (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42) of an uppermost layer on the operation screen. (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36) (Fig. 4 oven cavity icon 44, “the mode selection screen 36 includes an oven cavity icon 44 indicating the selected cavity (e.g., upper oven cavity 14)” [0023])
Regarding Claim 5, Bruin-Slot teaches
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein, on the basis of an action in the action menu (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42) of the uppermost layer being selected on the operation screen, (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36) the single display device (Fig. 1, user-interface 21) is configured to
display a selection menu (mode settings screen 46) of a lower layer set for the action selected in the action menu (Fig. 3, Virtual buttons 38-42) and cause the first selection icon (Fig. 3, virtual button 34) to continuously light up or blink on the selection screen (Fig. 3, the home screen 32). (Fig. 5-9 mode settings screen 46, Virtual buttons 48-56 “Virtual buttons 48-56 may each include descriptive indicia exemplarily appearing as text and/or a graphical icon visually relating the virtual buttons 48-56 to the corresponding setting or menu option. The mode settings screen 46 also includes oven cavity icon 44 indicating the selected cavity (e.g., the upper oven cavity 14), and a mode descriptor 58 embodied as text indicating the selected mode of operation. [0024]” “Virtual button 48 may be highlighted, flashed, or otherwise exhibit a perceptible change in constitution to notify a user of its selection” [0025])
Regarding Claim 6, Bruin-Slot teaches
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein the single display device (Fig. 1, user-interface 21) is configured to
cause the second selection icon (Fig.3 virtual button 33) to light up or blink when the second selection icon (Fig.3 virtual button 33) is selected on the selection screen (Fig. 3, the home screen 32),, and
display only the second operation screen (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36) and display the action menu (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42) of an uppermost layer on the operation screen (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36). (Fig. 3,4 mode selection screen 36, virtual button 34, oven cavity icon 44 “the mode selection screen 36 enables a user to select between a plurality of modes of operation (e.g., cooking modes) available to whichever oven cavity 14, 16 was selected from the home screen 32” [0024])
Regarding Claim 7, Bruin-Slot teaches
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein, on the basis of an action in the action menu (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42) of the uppermost layer being selected on the operation screen, (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36) the single display device (Fig. 1, user-interface 21) is configured to
display a selection menu of a lower layer set (mode settings screen 46) for the action selected in the action menu (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42) and cause the second selection icon (Fig.3 virtual button 33) to continuously light up or blink on the selection screen (Fig. 3, the home screen 32; Fig. 5-9 mode settings screen 46, Virtual buttons 48-56 “Virtual buttons 48-56 may each include descriptive indicia exemplarily appearing as text and/or a graphical icon visually relating the virtual buttons 48-56 to the corresponding setting or menu option. The mode settings screen 46 also includes oven cavity icon 44 indicating the selected cavity (e.g., the upper oven cavity 14), and a mode descriptor 58 embodied as text indicating the selected mode of operation. [0024] “Virtual button 48 may be highlighted, flashed, or otherwise exhibit a perceptible change in constitution to notify a user of its selection” [0025])
Regarding Claim 8, Bruin-Slot teaches
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the single display device (Fig. 1, user-interface 21) further includes an indicator, (Fig. 4, oven cavity icon 44)
the indicator includes
a first indicator (Fig. 4, oven cavity icon 44) configured to light up or blink when the first cooking apparatus (Fig. 1, lower oven cavity 16) is selected on the selection screen (Fig. 3, the home screen 32),, and
a second indicator (Fig. 4, oven cavity icon 44) configured to light up or blink when the second cooking apparatus (Fig. 1, upper oven cavity 14) is selected on the selection screen (Fig. 3, the home screen 32),, and
the second indicator is displayed above the first indicator. (Fig 4-7 oven cavity icon 44, “an oven cavity icon 44 indicating the selected cavity (e.g., upper oven cavity 14)” [0023]))
Regarding Claim 9, Bruin-Slot teaches
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 8,
wherein, when the first selection icon (Fig. 3, virtual button 34) is selected on the selection screen (Fig. 3, the home screen 32), the single display device (Fig. 1, user-interface 21) is configured to
display only the first operation screen (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36) on the operation screen (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36), and
cause the first indicator to continuously light up or blink while the action menu (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42) of the uppermost layer is displayed. Fig 3-7, Virtual button 48, oven cavity icon 44 “FIG. 5. Virtual button 48 may be highlighted, flashed, or otherwise exhibit a perceptible change in constitution to notify a user of its selection. As exemplarily depicted in FIG. 5, a portion 61 of virtual button 48 is highlighted when selected by the user. It will be understood that the selection of other virtual buttons may produce similar visual responses” [0025] “Referring now to FIG. 4, the mode selection screen 36 enables a user to select between a plurality of modes of operation (e.g., cooking modes) available to whichever oven cavity 14, 16 was selected from the home screen 32. In the depicted embodiment, the mode selection screen 36 includes virtual button 38 associated with a bake mode, virtual button 40 associated with a broil mode, and virtual button 42 associated with a proof mode. Virtual buttons 38-42 may each include descriptive indicia exemplarily appearing as text and/or a graphical icon visually relating the virtual buttons 38-42 to the corresponding mode of operation. Additionally, the mode selection screen 36 includes an oven cavity icon 44 indicating the selected cavity (e.g., upper oven cavity 14). To select between the modes of operation, a user touches the corresponding virtual button 38-42. It is to be understood that the same modes of operation are generally available to both the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16. Alternatively, the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16 may each include different modes of operation in addition to ones not specifically mentioned herein.” [0023])”
Regarding Claim 10, Bruin-Slot teaches
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 9,
wherein, on the basis of an action in the action menu (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42) of the uppermost layer being selected on the operation screen (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36), the single display device (Fig. 1, user-interface 21) is configured to
display a selection menu (mode settings screen 46) of a lower layer set for the action selected in the action menu, (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42) cause the first selection icon (Fig. 3, virtual button 34) to continuously light up or blink on the selection screen (Fig. 3, the home screen 32),, and further cause the first indicator to continuously light up or blink. (Fig 3-7, Virtual button 48, oven cavity icon 44, mode settings screen 46 “FIG. 5. Virtual button 48 may be highlighted, flashed, or otherwise exhibit a perceptible change in constitution to notify a user of its selection. As exemplarily depicted in FIG. 5, a portion 61 of virtual button 48 is highlighted when selected by the user. It will be understood that the selection of other virtual buttons may produce similar visual responses” [0025] “Once the user selects a mode of operation from the mode selection screen 36, the touch-sensitive display 24 displays a mode settings screen 46 depicted in FIGS. 5-9. The mode settings screen 46 enables the user to customize one or more settings related to the mode of operation selected from the mode selection screen 36.” [0024] “Referring now to FIG. 4, the mode selection screen 36 enables a user to select between a plurality of modes of operation (e.g., cooking modes) available to whichever oven cavity 14, 16 was selected from the home screen 32. In the depicted embodiment, the mode selection screen 36 includes virtual button 38 associated with a bake mode, virtual button 40 associated with a broil mode, and virtual button 42 associated with a proof mode. Virtual buttons 38-42 may each include descriptive indicia exemplarily appearing as text and/or a graphical icon visually relating the virtual buttons 38-42 to the corresponding mode of operation. Additionally, the mode selection screen 36 includes an oven cavity icon 44 indicating the selected cavity (e.g., upper oven cavity 14). To select between the modes of operation, a user touches the corresponding virtual button 38-42. It is to be understood that the same modes of operation are generally available to both the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16. Alternatively, the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16 may each include different modes of operation in addition to ones not specifically mentioned herein.” [0023])
Regarding Claim 11, Bruin-Slot teaches
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 6,
wherein the single display device (Fig. 1, user-interface 21) further includes an indicator, (Fig. 4, oven cavity icon 44)
the indicator includes
a first indicator (Fig. 4, oven cavity icon 44) configured to light up or blink when the first cooking apparatus is selected on the selection screen (Fig. 3, the home screen 32),, and
a second indicator (Fig. 4, oven cavity icon 44) configured to light up or blink when the second cooking apparatus (Fig. 1, upper oven cavity 14) is selected on the selection screen (Fig. 3, the home screen 32),, and
the second indicator is displayed above the first indicator. (Fig 4-7 oven cavity icon 44, “an oven cavity icon 44 indicating the selected cavity (e.g., upper oven cavity 14)” [0023])
Regarding Claim 12, Bruin-Slot teaches
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 11,
wherein, when the second selection icon (Fig.3 virtual button 33) is selected on the selection screen (Fig. 3, the home screen 32),, the single display device (Fig. 1, user-interface 21) is configured to
display only the second operation screen (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36) on the operation screen, (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36) and
cause the second indicator to continuously light up or blink while the action menu (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42) of the uppermost layer is displayed. (Fig 3-7, Virtual button 48, oven cavity icon 44 “FIG. 5. Virtual button 48 may be highlighted, flashed, or otherwise exhibit a perceptible change in constitution to notify a user of its selection. As exemplarily depicted in FIG. 5, a portion 61 of virtual button 48 is highlighted when selected by the user. It will be understood that the selection of other virtual buttons may produce similar visual responses” [0025] “Referring now to FIG. 4, the mode selection screen 36 enables a user to select between a plurality of modes of operation (e.g., cooking modes) available to whichever oven cavity 14, 16 was selected from the home screen 32. In the depicted embodiment, the mode selection screen 36 includes virtual button 38 associated with a bake mode, virtual button 40 associated with a broil mode, and virtual button 42 associated with a proof mode. Virtual buttons 38-42 may each include descriptive indicia exemplarily appearing as text and/or a graphical icon visually relating the virtual buttons 38-42 to the corresponding mode of operation. Additionally, the mode selection screen 36 includes an oven cavity icon 44 indicating the selected cavity (e.g., upper oven cavity 14). To select between the modes of operation, a user touches the corresponding virtual button 38-42. It is to be understood that the same modes of operation are generally available to both the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16. Alternatively, the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16 may each include different modes of operation in addition to ones not specifically mentioned herein.” [0023])
Regarding Claim 13, Bruin-Slot teaches
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 12,
wherein, on the basis of an action in the action menu (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42) of the uppermost layer being selected on the operation screen, (Fig. 3, mode selection screen 36) the single display device (Fig. 1, user-interface 21) is configured to
display a selection menu (mode settings screen 46) of a lower layer set for the action selected in the action menu, (Fig. 4, Virtual buttons 38-42) cause the second selection icon (Fig.3 virtual button 33) to continuously light up or blink on the selection screen (Fig. 3, the home screen 32), and further cause the second indicator to continuously light up or blink. (Fig 3-7, Virtual button 48, oven cavity icon 44, mode settings screen 46 “FIG. 5. Virtual button 48 may be highlighted, flashed, or otherwise exhibit a perceptible change in constitution to notify a user of its selection. As exemplarily depicted in FIG. 5, a portion 61 of virtual button 48 is highlighted when selected by the user. It will be understood that the selection of other virtual buttons may produce similar visual responses” [0025] “Once the user selects a mode of operation from the mode selection screen 36, the touch-sensitive display 24 displays a mode settings screen 46 depicted in FIGS. 5-9. The mode settings screen 46 enables the user to customize one or more settings related to the mode of operation selected from the mode selection screen 36.” [0024] “Referring now to FIG. 4, the mode selection screen 36 enables a user to select between a plurality of modes of operation (e.g., cooking modes) available to whichever oven cavity 14, 16 was selected from the home screen 32. In the depicted embodiment, the mode selection screen 36 includes virtual button 38 associated with a bake mode, virtual button 40 associated with a broil mode, and virtual button 42 associated with a proof mode. Virtual buttons 38-42 may each include descriptive indicia exemplarily appearing as text and/or a graphical icon visually relating the virtual buttons 38-42 to the corresponding mode of operation. Additionally, the mode selection screen 36 includes an oven cavity icon 44 indicating the selected cavity (e.g., upper oven cavity 14). To select between the modes of operation, a user touches the corresponding virtual button 38-42. It is to be understood that the same modes of operation are generally available to both the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16. Alternatively, the upper and lower oven cavities 14, 16 may each include different modes of operation in addition to ones not specifically mentioned herein.” [0023])
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LAUNDROCHE, (US 20090153494 A1) was considered for its touch screen display and cooking apparatus.
Becker, (US 20040200828 A1) was considered for its double cooking apparatus and control panel.
Conclusion
//DSExaminer, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761