DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Please see response below:
In response to applicant argument, however, the early measurement of Wang does not disclose "perform[ing] one or more first measurements while the UE is in an idle or inactive state" and "perform[ing] one or more second measurements associated with the one or more target frequencies wherein the one or more second measurements are performed in addition to the one or more first measurements while the UE is in the idle or inactive state," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Indeed, while Wang describes the early first measurement to quickly establish a secondary cell, Wang does not disclose any additional measurements, let alone "perform[ing] one or more second measurements in accordance with the enhanced measurement configuration" and "while the UE is in the idle or inactive state," as recited in amended independent claim 1. That is, Wang only describes the early measurement during an idle or inactive state, and Wang does not disclose one or more second measurements "performed in addition to the one or more first measurements while the UE is in the idle or inactive state," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Thus, Wang does not disclose at least the aforementioned features of amended independent claim 1 (Examiner respectfully disagree with the applicant, see Wang’s rejections below; see para. 0055, report the results of more than one beam; para. 0076, first SMTC and second SMTC; para. 0077, second frequency point).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-12, 16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang, Shukun (EP 4156850 A, IDS disclosed by applicant).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Wang discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories storing computer-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (see Figure 6, para. 0106, terminal or UE) and operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
Perform one or more first measurements while the UE is in an idle or inactive state (see para. 0039, the measurements are communicated through RRC or SIB; para. 0060-0062, first measurement configuration in idle state);receive an indication of an enhanced measurement configuration that includes information associated with one or more target frequencies in a first frequency range (see para.0063, 0065, 0067, first frequency point);
perform one or more second measurements associated with the one or more target frequencies in the first frequency range in accordance with the enhanced measurement configuration, wherein the one or more second measurements are performed in addition to the one or more first measurements while the UE is in an idle or inactive state (see paragraph 0077, 0092, 0094,second measurement at second frequency point); see paragraph 56: the terminal device should adopt the measurement configuration of the NR frequency point list.. "; para. 0057, two measurement configurations; para. 0068-0069, plurality of first frequency points; para. 0048, continue the early measurements); and transmit an indication of a measurement report associated with one or more second measurements associated with the one or more target frequencies in the first frequency range based at least in part on transitioning from the idle or inactive state to a connected state (see para.0055, reporting results of multiple beams; 0077, second frequency point; para. 0038, 0060, report results in connected state; see para. 0048, the validityAreaList for the execution of the measurement can be configured in the RRC dedicated signaling or in the system broadcast messages such as SIB. It should be noted that a validityAreaList for the execution of the measurement is composed of a frequency point and an optional physical cell identity (PCI) list The network side can configure a validityAreaList for the terminal device "; para. 0045-0046, add indication information; para. 0051, measured target frequency point; para. 0057, two measurement timing configurations).
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 20, Wang discloses wherein, to receive the indication of the enhanced measurement configuration, the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, while the UE is in the connected state, a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message that indicates respective cell identifiers for each of the one or more target frequencies in the first frequency range, respective synchronization signal block (SSB) resource locations for each of the one or more target frequencies, or both (see para. 0038-0043).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses wherein, to perform the one or more second measurements associated with the one or more second target frequencies, the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: perform one or more of a cell detection procedure, a cell search procedure, or a cell selection procedure based at least in part on the information provided in the enhanced measurement configuration (see para. 0037-0039, 0070, 0074 and 0077, measurement at second frequency point; para. 0057, two measurement timing configurations).
Regarding claims 4, and 12, wherein, to receive the indication of the enhanced measurement configuration, the one or more processors are further operable to
execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, while the UE is in the idle or inactive state, a system information block (SIB) that indicates respective cell identifiers for each of the one or more target frequencies in the first frequency range, respective synchronization signal block (SSB) resource locations for each of the one or more target frequencies, or both (see para. 0038-0040).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: communicate with a network entity via a primary cell and at least one secondary cell associated with the first frequency range in accordance with a carrier aggregation (CA) or dual connectivity (DC) mode based at least in part on transmitting the measurement report (see para. 0038, communication in accordance with Carrier Aggregation and Dual-Connectivity mode).
Regarding claims 9, and 18, Wang discloses wherein: the one or more target frequencies comprise candidate frequencies for carrier aggregation (CA) or dual connectivity (DC) in Frequency Range 2 (FR2) (see para. 0038).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses a network entity for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories storing computer-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: obtain an indication of one or more first measurements from a user equipment (UE); output an indication of an enhanced measurement configuration that includes information associated with one or more target frequencies in a first frequency range (see para.0063, 0065, 0067, first frequency point)see para. 0038; RRC connection reconfiguration with NR frequency point); and obtain an indication of a measurement report from a UE in accordance with the enhanced measurement configuration based at least in part on performing a random access procedure with the UE (see para. 0038, report measurement result to network side after the terminal device enters connected state), wherein the measurement report is associated with one or more second measurements associated with the one or more target frequencies in the first frequency range; and wherein the measurement report is obtained in addition to the indication of the one or more first measurements (see para.0055, reporting results of multiple beams; 0077, second frequency point; para. 0038, 0060, report results in connected state; see para. 0038, the measurement configuration is configured in the first RRC reconfiguration message, and then the terminal performs measurement based on the measurement configuration and reports the measurement result to network side, the measurement frequency points supporting configuration can include NR frequency point list: see para. 0048, the validityAreaList for the execution of the measurement can be configured in the RRC dedicated signaling or in the system broadcast messages such as SIB. It should be noted that a validityAreaList for the execution of the measurement is composed of a frequency point and an optional physical cell identity (PCI) list The network side can configure a validityAreaList for the terminal device "; para. 0057, two measurement timing configurations).
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: communicate with the UE via a primary cell and at least one secondary cell associated with the first frequency range in accordance with a carrier aggregation (CA) or dual connectivity (DC) mode based at least in part on obtaining the measurement report (see para. 0038).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #116bis-e, R2-2200731, Electronic 17th-25th January, 2022, Agenda Item: 8.11.3 (PRC INACTIVE positioning), Samsung, Discussion on the measurement reporting RRC_IACTIVE, Discussion and Decision, hereinafter “D1”).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive an indication of a mobile-originated (MO) data volume threshold, wherein performing the one or more second measurements associated with the one or more target frequencies in the first frequency range is based at least in part on the UE satisfying the MO data volume threshold. However, D1 from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive an indication of a mobile-originated (MO) data volume threshold, one or more second measurements associated with the one or more target frequencies in the first frequency range is based at least in part on the UE satisfying the MO data volume threshold (see pages 1-2, section 2.1, the measurement report can be enhances considering data volume threshold).Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include D1 data threshold scheme into Wang measurement scheme. The method can be implemented in a measurement configuration. The motivation of doing this is to enhance the measurement report.
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein the MO data volume threshold depends on whether the UE supports per-frequency range measurement gaps. However, D1 from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the MO data volume threshold depends on whether the UE supports per-frequency range measurement gaps (see pages 1-2, section 2.1, align with period and volume). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include D1 data threshold scheme into Wang measurement scheme. The method can be implemented in a measurement configuration. The motivation of doing this is to enhance the measurement report.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: determine whether to initiate the one or more second measurements associated with the one or more target frequencies in the first frequency range based at least in part on a mobile-originated (MO) data volume of the UE. However, D1 from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: determine whether to initiate the one or more second measurements associated with the one or more target frequencies in the first frequency range based at least in part on a mobile-originated (MO) data volume of the UE (see pages 1-2, section 2.1, the measurement report can be enhances considering data volume threshold).Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include D1 data threshold scheme into Wang measurement scheme. The method can be implemented in a measurement configuration. The motivation of doing this is to enhance the measurement report.
Claim(s) 13-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Sabouri-Sichani et al. (WO 2022/263314 A1, hereinafter D2).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention explicitly wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: output an indication of a mobile-terminated (MT) enhanced measurement trigger, wherein obtaining the measurement report is based at least in part on the MT enhanced measurement trigger. However, D2 from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: output an indication of a mobile-terminated (MT) enhanced measurement trigger, wherein obtaining the measurement report is based at least in part on the MT enhanced measurement trigger (see para. 0034-36, 0065, event triggered measurement). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include D2 triggered measurement scheme into Wang measurement scheme. The method can be implemented in a measurement configuration. The motivation of doing this is to save resources and measure based on the triggered events.
Regarding clam 14, Wang discloses wherein the MT enhanced measurement trigger is indicated via a paging message (see para. 0037, paging area is configured by CN).
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein, to output the indication of the MT enhanced measurement trigger, the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to execute the code to cause the network entity to: output the indication of MT enhanced measurement trigger based at least in part on a volume of data to be communicated between the UE and a network entity. However, D2 from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein, to output the indication of the MT enhanced measurement trigger, the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to execute the code to cause the network entity to: output the indication of MT enhanced measurement trigger based at least in part on a volume of data to be communicated between the UE and a network entity (see para. 0036, trigger based measurement). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include D2 triggered measurement scheme into Wang measurement scheme. The method can be implemented in a measurement configuration. The motivation of doing this is to save resources and measure based on the triggered events.
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses all the subject matter but fails to mention wherein: the first frequency range includes frequencies between 24.25 gigahertz (GHz) and 71.0 GHz. However, D2 from a similar field of endeavor discloses wherein: the first frequency range includes frequencies between 24.25 gigahertz (GHz) and 71.0 GHz (see para. 0050). Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include D2 triggered measurement scheme into Wang measurement scheme. The method can be implemented in a measurement configuration. The motivation of doing this is to save resources and measure based on the triggered events.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MOHAMMAD S. ANWAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/MOHAMMAD S ANWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463