DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 01/30/2024, in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed before the mailing date of the Office Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Di Girolamo (WO 2021119474 A1, IDS submitted on 01/30/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Di Girolamo discloses a method of a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising (Di Girolamo; Fig. 17, Para. [0188]. A communication system/method between UEs is used.):
receiving, from a second UE, a signaling message #1 including second Uu discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information for a second Uu link between the second UE and a second base station (Di Girolamo; Fig. 17, Para. [0193-198]. A first message for a second Uu DRX configuration between a second UE and a second base station is received by a first UE from a second UE, also see Fig. 22B, 23.);
reconfiguring SL DRX configuration for a sidelink (SL) DRX operation for an SL between the first UE and the second UE in consideration of the second Uu DRX configuration information, so that the SL DRX operation is aligned with the second Uu DRX operation for the second Uu link (Di Girolamo; Fig. 17, Para. [0193-198]. SL DRX configuration between a first UE and a second UE is determined/reconfigured for aligning a SL DRX operation with a second Uu DRX operation.); and
transmitting, to the second UE, a signaling message #2 including the reconfigured SL DRX configuration information (Di Girolamo; Fig. 17, Para. [0193-198]. A second message including a reconfigured SL DRX configuration is sent to a second UE.).
Regarding claim 8, Di Girolamo discloses a method of a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A communication system/method is used between UE’s.):
transmitting, to a third UE, a signaling message #1-A including first sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information for a first SL between the first UE and a second UE (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A message of a first SL DRX configuration between a first UE and a second UE is sent to a third UE.);
receiving, from the third UE, a signaling message #2-A including second SL DRX configuration information reconfigured in consideration of the first SL DRX configuration information so that DRX operations are aligned (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A message of a second SL DRX configuration is received from a third UE, determined in accordance with a first SL DRX configuration.); and
transmitting, to the second UE, a signaling message #1-B including the reconfigured second SL DRX configuration information (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A message including a reconfigured second SL DRX is sent to a second UE.),
wherein the reconfigured second SL DRX configuration information is applied to a second SL between the first UE and the third UE (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A reconfigured second SL DRX is used for a SL between a first UE and a third UE.).
Regarding claim 9, Di Girolamo discloses among the first SL and the second SL, an SL on which the signaling message #1-A is preferentially transmitted is determined according to resource allocation (RA) modes applied to the first SL and the second SL (Di Girolamo; Para. [0074-76]. For different SL operations, a message of an SL is determined and sent in accordance with a mode/RA mode for different SL operations, including a first SL operation and a second SL operation.).
Regarding claim 10, Di Girolamo discloses in response that a resource allocation (RA) mode 1 is applied to the first SL, an RA mode 2 is applied to the second SL, and a priority of the RA mode 2 is higher than a priority of the RA mode 1, or in response that the RA mode 2 is applied to the second SL, the RA mode 1 is applied to the second SL, and a priority of the RA mode 1 is higher than the priority of the RA mode 2, the signaling message #1-A is preferentially transmitted to the third UE through the second link (Di Girolamo; Para. [0074-76]. For a first mode used for a first SL and a second mode used for a second SL, a power saving resource/priority is assigned to a second mode higher than a first mode, also see Para. [0270].).
Regarding claim 11, Di Girolamo discloses receiving, from the second UE, a signaling message #2-B including the first SL DRX configuration information reconfigured in consideration of the reconfigured second SL DRX configuration information so that the DRX operations are aligned (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. .A message of a first SL DRX configuration aligned with a reconfigured second SL DRX configuration is received from a second UE.).
Regarding claim 12, Di Girolamo discloses the signaling message #1-A is used to trigger an alignment procedure of the DRX operations (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A message of a first SL DRX and a second SL DRX is used for aligning DRX operations.).
Regarding claim 13, Di Girolamo discloses the first UE is a receiving UE that receives SL data from each of the second UE and the third UE, and each of the second UE and the third UE is a transmitting UE that transmits the SL data to the first UE (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A first UE is a receiving UE for receiving SL data form a first UE and a second UE which are transmitting UE’s.).
Regarding claim 14, Di Girolamo discloses a method of a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising (Di Girolamo; Fig. 17, Para. [0193-198]. A communication system/method is used for different UE’s.):
transmitting, to a third UE, a signaling message #1-A including first sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration information for a first SL between the first UE and a second UE (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A message of a first SL DRX configuration between a first UE and a second UE is sent to a third UE.);
receiving, from the third UE, a signaling message #2-A including second SL DRX configuration information reconfigured in consideration of the first SL DRX configuration information so that DRX operations are aligned (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A message of a second SL DRX configuration, reconfigured in line with a first SL DRX configuration is received from a third UE.);
reconfiguring the first SL DRX configuration information in consideration of the reconfigured second SL DRX configuration information, so that the DRX operations are aligned (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A first SL DRX configuration is determined/reconfigured to be aligned with a second SL DRX configuration reconfigured.); and
transmitting, to the second UE, a signaling message #2-B including the reconfigured first SL DRX configuration information (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A message of a reconfigured first SL DRX configuration is sent to a second UE.),
wherein the reconfigured second SL DRX configuration information is applied to a second SL between the first UE and the third UE (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A reconfigured second SL DRX configuration is used for a second SL between a first UE and a third UE.).
Regarding claim 15, Di Girolamo discloses the first UE operates as a transmitting UE that transmits SL data to the second UE, the first UE operates as a receiving UE that receives the SL data from the third UE, the second UE is a receiving UE that receives the SL data from the first UE, and the third UE is a transmitting UE that transmits the SL data to the first UE (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A first UE is used to transmit SL Data to a second UE, receive SL data from a third UE, a second UE is used to receive SL data from a first UE, a third UE is used to transmit SL data to a first UE.).
Regarding claim 16, Di Girolamo discloses the second SL DRX configuration information is reconfigured in further consideration of Uu DRX configuration information for a Uu link between the third UE and a base station together with the first SL DRX configuration information (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A second SL DRX configuration is determined/reconfigured to be aligned with Uu DRX configuration between a third UE and a base station for a first SL DRX configuration.).
Regarding claim 17, Di Girolamo discloses each of the first SL DRX configuration information, the reconfigured first SL DRX configuration information, and the reconfigured second SL DRX configuration information includes at least one of a DRX cycle, on-duration, or DRX-related timer (Di Girolamo; Para. [0087]. SLD DRX configurations of a first SL DRX, a reconfigured second SL DRX include at least one of on-duration (active), DRX cycle, or DRX-related timer.).
Regarding claim 18, Di Girolamo discloses the reconfiguring of the first SL DRX configuration information is performed in response that a first SL DRX operation on the first link and a second SL DRX operation on the second link conflict (Di Girolamo; Para. [0193]. SL DRX configuration is determined/reconfigured via rejection/modification to address issues/conflicts between DRX operations, including SL DRX and Uu DRX).
Regarding claim 19, Di Girolamo discloses the signaling message #1-A is used to trigger an alignment procedure of the DRX operations (Di Girolamo; Fig. 22A,B, Para. [0255-263]. A message of SL DRX operation is used to initiate DRX operation alignment.).
Regarding claim 20, Di Girolamo discloses each of the signaling message #1-A, the signaling message #2-A, and the signaling message #2-B is transmitted and received based on at least one of higher layer signaling, medium access control (MAC) signaling, or physical (PHY) signaling (Di Girolamo; Para. [0326]. Messages of SL DRX are transmitted and received using at least one of MAC or PHY.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (WO 2021119474 A1, IDS submitted on 01/30/2024) in view of Convida (“SL DRX Configuration: TX Centric or RX Centric”, 05/19/2021, IDS submitted on 01/30/2024).
Regarding claim 2, Di Girolamo discloses the SL DRX configuration information is reconfigured (Di Girolamo; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose the SL DRX configuration information is reconfigured in further consideration of first Uu DRX configuration information for a first Uu link between the first UE and a first base station together with the second Uu DRX configuration information, and the first Uu DRX configuration information is received from the first base station.
However, Convida teaches the SL DRX configuration information is reconfigured in further consideration of first Uu DRX configuration information for a first Uu link between the first UE and a first base station together with the second Uu DRX configuration information, and the first Uu DRX configuration information is received from the first base station (Convida; Pg. 5. SL DRX configuration is determined/reconfigured in line with Uu DRX configuration for RAN nodes involved, e.g. Uu DRX configuration for a transmitter, a first UE, and Uu DRX configuration for a receiver, a second UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RAN system of Di Girolamo to adapt a SL DRX configuration approach, by incorporating Convida’s teaching wherein Uu DRX configurations for UE’s are used for SL DRX configurations, for the motivation to allow communication for UE’s with benefit from mechanisms for power savings (Convida; 1 Introduction.).
Regarding claim 3, modified Di Girolamo teaches the signaling message #2 further includes first Uu DRX configuration information for a first Uu link between the first UE and a first base station (Convida; Pg. 5. A message is sent for SL DRX communication, including a Uu DRX configuration involved in SL DRX communication between UE’s, e.g a first Uu DRX configuraiton.).
Regarding claim 4, modified Di Girolamo teaches the reconfiguring of the SL DRX configuration information is performed in response that the SL DRX operation and the second Uu DRX operation conflict (Di Girolamo; Para. [0193]. SL DRX configuration is determined/reconfigured via rejection/modification to address issues/conflicts between DRX operations, including SL DRX and Uu DRX).
Regarding claim 5, modified Di Girolamo teaches the SL DRX configuration information includes at least one of a DRX cycle, on-duration, or DRX-related timer (Di Girolamo; Para. [0087]. SLD DRX configuration includes at least one of on-duration (active), DRX cycle, or DRX-related timer.).
Regarding claim 6, modified Di Girolamo teaches each of the signaling message #1 and the signaling message #2 is transmitted and received based on at least one of higher layer signaling, medium access control (MAC) signaling, or physical (PHY) signaling (Di Girolamo; Para. [0326]. Messages of SL DRX are transmitted and received using at least one of MAC or PHY.).
Regarding claim 7, modified Di Girolamo teaches the first UE is a transmitting UE that transmits SL data to the second UE, the second UE is a receiving UE that receives the SL data from the first UE, and communication on the SL between the first UE and the second UE is performed based on resources allocated by a first base station to which the first UE is connected (Di Girolamo; Para. [0193-198]. A first UE is transmitting SL data to a second UE, a second UE is receiving SL data from a first UE via a communication between a first UE and a second UE is provided through a first serving cell/base station, also see Fig. 22B.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (US Pub. 20260006680 A1) teaches techniques for radio access and sidelink discontinuous reception alignment.
Selvanesan (US Pub. 20250393099 A1) teaches NR sidelink discontinuous reception.
/ALBERT KIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485