Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Improperly underlined numeral 10 in figs 1,2,5
Improperly underlined numeral 3 in fig 9
Improperly underlined numeral 1 in figs 10
Specification
The lengthy specification (26 pages) has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (Korean Publication No. KR20210012564A), hereinafter Cho, in view of Reed et al. (US Patent No. 5308949), hereinafter Reed.
Regarding claim 1, Cho teaches (Figure 1) a plasma torch, comprising: a cathode (cathode 110); a pilot electrode (first anode 120) disposed on a first outer circumference of the cathode and separated from an exterior surface of the cathode; an anode (second anode 130) disposed on a second outer circumference of a process space and disposed below the pilot electrode; and a discharge gas flow path (discharge gas injection unit 140) coupled to a separation gap formed between the exterior surface of the cathode and an inner surface of the pilot electrode (cathode accommodating portion 121), the discharge gas flow path being configured to supply a discharge gas. Cho does not teach an electrode protection member disposed below the pilot electrode comprising a first insulator.
Reed teaches (Figure 8a) an insulator (20) disposed below a nozzle base (60) of a plasma torch through which a plasma jet passes (Col. 3 Ln. 64-66). Further, Reed teaches (Col. 1 Ln. 20-30) that it is known to use a ceramic electrical insulator for the purpose of combating double arcing, a phenomenon in which the plasma arc deflects to an undesired conductive surface in proximity of electrodes during high powered operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the device of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Reed by adding a ceramic electrical insulator disposed below the pilot electrode. Doing so would prevent the plasma arc from deflecting to undesired conductive surfaces during high powered operations.
Regarding claim 2, Cho teaches (Figure 1) an upper blocking member (angled structure overhanging 130) disposed on an upper area of the anode. The modified device of Cho does not explicitly teach the upper blocking member being an insulator.
Reed teaches (Col. 1 Ln. 20-30) that it is known to use a ceramic electrical insulator for the purpose of combating double arcing, a phenomenon in which the plasma arc deflects to an undesired conductive surface in proximity of electrodes during high powered operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Reed by having the upper blocking member be made of a ceramic electrically insulator material. Doing so would prevent the plasma arc from deflecting to the surface of the upper blocking member during high powered operations.
Regarding claim 3, Cho teaches (Figure 1) wherein a first region and a second region disposed between the upper blocking member and the anode are separated from each other, and wherein the first region and the second region form an upper protection gas implant gap (second injection port 162). Therefore, the modified device of Cho teaches the invention of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Cho teaches (Figure 1) an upper protection gas flow path (auxiliary inlet 162h) coupled to the upper protection gas implant gap (second injection port 162) capable of supplying a protection gas forming a protection layer of the anode (Par. 66). Therefore, the modified device of Cho teaches the invention of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Cho teaches (Figure 1) a flow path formation member (guide partition wall 191) provided as a piping structure, disposed on a third outer circumference of the pilot electrode, and having a lower portion coupled to the upper blocking member. Therefore, the modified device of Cho teaches the invention of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Cho teaches (Figure 1) a flow path formation member (guide partition wall 191). The modified device of Cho does not explicitly teach the flow path formation member being an insulator.
Reed teaches (Col. 1 Ln. 20-30) that it is known to use a ceramic electrical insulator for the purpose of combating double arcing, a phenomenon in which the plasma arc deflects to an undesired conductive surface in proximity of electrodes during high powered operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Reed by having the flow path formation member be made of a ceramic electrically insulator material. Doing so would prevent the plasma arc from deflecting to the surface of the flow path formation member during high powered operations.
Regarding claim 7, Cho teaches (Figure 1) wherein the flow path formation member (guide partition wall 191) extends upward from the upper blocking member (angled structure overhanging 130).
Further, Reed teaches (Col. 1 Ln. 20-30) that it is known to use a ceramic electrically insulator material for the purpose of combating double arcing, a phenomenon in which the plasma arc deflects to an undesired conductive surface in proximity of electrodes during high powered operations.
Therefore, the modified device of Cho, as applied in claim 6, teaches the invention of claim 7.
Claims 8-11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Cho, as applied in claim 1, in view of Kim et al. (US Publication No. 20220151053A1), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Cho teach all of the aspects of the current invention as stated above except a lower blocking member disposed on a lower area of the anode and comprising a fourth insulator.
Kim teaches: (Figure 8) a reaction chamber (310) comprising a bottleneck (311A) made of ceramic heat insulation material (Par. 128) disposed below a second positive electrode (130) of a plasma processing apparatus for the purpose of reducing gas velocity and inducing mixing, thus promoting further thermal decomposition of a waste gas prior to exit (Par 134); a first region and a second region disposed between the lower blocking member and the anode are separated from each other, and wherein the first region and the second region form a lower protection gas implant gap (first protection gas injection port 321h); a lower protection gas flow path (communication hole 323h; Figure 10a) coupled to the lower protection gas implant gap and configured to supply a protection gas (Par. 138) capable of forming a protection layer of the anode. ); and a lower reaction gas flow path (gas injection part 330) configured to supply a reaction gas (Par. 147) to an area positioned below the anode wherein the reaction gas has a reactivity with by-products generated after a waste gas is thermally decomposed by plasma (oxygen; Par. 147) for the purpose of discharging foreign matters accumulated from the reaction (Par. 146).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have further modified the device of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Kim by adding a reaction chamber comprising a bottleneck made of a ceramic heat insulation material disposed below a second positive electrode of a plasma processing apparatus. Doing so would reduce gas velocity and induce mixing, resulting in further thermal decomposition of the waste gas prior to exiting the device.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches (Figures 8 and 10a) a reaction chamber (310) comprising a bottleneck (311A) made of ceramic heat insulation material (Par. 128) disposed below a second positive electrode (130) of a plasma processing apparatus for the purpose of reducing gas velocity and inducing mixing, thus promoting further thermal decomposition of a waste gas prior to exit (Par 134), wherein a first region and a second region disposed between the reaction chamber (310) and the second positive electrode (130) are separated from each other forming a first protection gas injection port 321h. Therefore, the modified device of Cho, as applied in claim 8, teaches the invention of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches (Figures 8 and 10a) a reaction chamber (310) comprising a bottleneck (311A) made of ceramic heat insulation material (Par. 128) disposed below a second positive electrode (130) of a plasma processing apparatus for the purpose of reducing gas velocity and inducing mixing, thus promoting further thermal decomposition of a waste gas prior to exit (Par 134), wherein a communication hole (323h) is coupled to a first protection gas injection port 321h and configured to supply a protection gas (Par. 138) capable of forming a protection layer of the anode. Therefore, the modified device of Cho, as applied in claim 8, teaches the invention of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Cho teaches (Figure 1) an upper reaction gas flow path (rotation induction gas injection pipe 181) capable of supplying a reaction gas (Par. 95) to an area adjacent to a discharge port (122h), wherein the discharge port is formed inside a lower end portion of the pilot electrode, and wherein the reaction gas has a reactivity with by-products generated after a waste gas is thermally decomposed by plasma (oxygen; Par. 95). Therefore, the modified device of Cho teaches the invention of claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, the modified device of Cho teaches all of the aspects of the claimed invention as stated above except a lower reaction gas flow path configured to supply a reaction gas to an area positioned below the anode, and wherein the reaction gas has a reactivity with by-products generated after a waste gas is thermally decomposed by plasma.
Kim teaches (Figures 8 and 10a) a reaction chamber (310) comprising a bottleneck (311A) made of ceramic heat insulation material (Par. 128) disposed below a second positive electrode (130) of a plasma processing apparatus for the purpose of reducing gas velocity and inducing mixing, thus promoting further thermal decomposition of a waste gas prior to exit (Par 134), wherein gas injection part (330) is configured to supply a reaction gas to an area positioned below a second positive electrode (130) wherein the reaction gas has a reactivity with byproducts generated after a waste gas is thermally decomposed by plasma (oxygen; Par. 147) for the purpose of discharging foreign matters accumulated from the reaction (Par. 146).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the device of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Kim by adding a lower reaction gas flow path positioned below the anode for the purpose of discharging foreign matters accumulated from the reaction.
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches (Figures 8 and 10a) a reaction chamber (310) comprising a bottleneck (311A) made of ceramic heat insulation material (Par. 128) disposed below a second positive electrode (130) of a plasma processing apparatus for the purpose of reducing gas velocity and inducing mixing, thus promoting further thermal decomposition of a waste gas prior to exit (Par 134), wherein gas injection part (330) is configured to supply a reaction gas to an area positioned below a second positive electrode (130) wherein the reaction gas has a reactivity with byproducts generated after a waste gas is thermally decomposed by plasma (oxygen; Par. 147) for the purpose of discharging foreign matters accumulated from the reaction (Par. 146). Therefore, the modified device of Cho, as applied in claim 13, teaches the invention of claim 14.
Claim 15, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of Reed and Kim.
Regarding claim 15, Cho teaches (Figure 1) a plasma torch, comprising: a cathode (110); a pilot electrode (first anode 120) disposed on a first outer circumference of the cathode and separated from an exterior surface of the cathode; an anode (second anode 130) disposed on a second outer circumference of a process space and disposed below the pilot electrode; a discharge gas flow path (discharge gas injection unit 140) coupled to a separation gap formed between the exterior surface of the cathode and an inner surface of the pilot electrode (cathode accommodating portion 121), the discharge gas flow path being configured to supply a discharge gas; and an upper blocking member (angled structure overhanging 130) disposed on an upper area of the anode, and at least partially surrounding the process space.
Cho does not teach an electrode protection member disposed below the pilot electrode comprises a first insulator; the upper blocking member comprising a second insulator; or a lower blocking member comprising a third insulator disposed on a lower area of the anode partially surrounding the process space.
Reed teaches (Figure 8a) an insulator (20) disposed below a nozzle base (60) of a plasma torch through which a plasma jet passes (Col. 3 Ln. 64-66). Further, Reed teaches (Col. 1 Ln. 20-30) that it is known to use a ceramic electrical insulator for the purpose of combating double arcing, a phenomenon in which the plasma arc deflects to an undesired conductive surface in proximity of electrodes during high powered operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the device of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Reed by adding a ceramic electrical insulator disposed below the pilot electrode as well as having the upper blocking member be made of a ceramic electrical insulator. Doing so would prevent the plasma arc from deflecting to undesired conductive surface.
Kim teaches (Figure 8) a reaction chamber (310) comprising a bottleneck (311A) made of ceramic heat insulation material (Par. 128) disposed below a second positive electrode (130) of a plasma processing apparatus for the purpose of reducing gas velocity and inducing mixing, thus promoting further thermal decomposition of a waste gas prior to exit (Par. 134).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have further modified the device of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Kim by adding a reaction chamber comprising a bottleneck made of a ceramic heat insulation material disposed below a second positive electrode of a plasma processing apparatus. Doing so would reduce gas velocity and induce mixing, resulting in further thermal decomposition of the waste gas prior to exiting the device.
Regarding claim 16, Cho teaches (Figure 1) a pilot magnet (first magnet part M1) disposed on a third outer circumference of the pilot electrode. Therefore, the modified device of Cho teaches the invention of claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, Cho teaches (Figure 1) an anode magnet (second magnet part M2) disposed on a third outer circumference of the anode. Therefore, the modified device of Cho teaches the invention of claim 18.
Regarding claim 20, Cho teaches (Figure 1) a plasma torch, comprising: a cathode (cathode 110); a pilot electrode (first anode 120) disposed on a first outer circumference of the cathode and separated from an exterior surface of the cathode; an anode (second anode 130) disposed on a second outer circumference of a process space and disposed below the pilot electrode; a discharge gas flow path (discharge gas injection unit 140) coupled to a separation gap formed between the exterior surface of the cathode and an inner surface of the pilot electrode (cathode accommodating portion 121), the discharge gas flow path being configured to supply a discharge gas; an upper reaction gas flow path (rotation induction gas injection pipe 181) capable of supplying a reaction gas (Par. 95) to an area adjacent to a discharge port (122h); wherein the discharge port is formed inside a lower end portion of the pilot electrode (first arc generating portion 122), and wherein the reaction gas has a reactivity with by-products generated after a waste gas is thermally decomposed by plasma (oxygen; Par. 95).
Cho does not teach an electrode protection member disposed below the pilot electrode and comprising a first insulator or a lower reaction gas flow path configured to supply the reaction gas to an area positioned below the anode.
Reed teaches (Figure 8a) an insulator (20) disposed below a nozzle base (60) of a plasma torch through which a plasma jet passes (Col. 3 Ln. 64-66). Further, Reed teaches (Col. 1 Ln. 20-30) that it is known to use a ceramic electrical insulator for the purpose of combating double arcing, a phenomenon in which the plasma arc deflects to an undesired conductive surface in proximity of electrodes during high powered operations.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the device of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Reed by adding a ceramic electrical insulator disposed below the pilot electrode. Doing so would prevent the plasma arc from deflecting to undesired conductive surfaces during high powered operations.
Kim teaches (Figures 8 and 10a) a reaction chamber (310) comprising a bottleneck (311A) made of ceramic heat insulation material (Par. 128) disposed below a second positive electrode (130) of a plasma processing apparatus for the purpose of reducing gas velocity and inducing mixing, thus promoting further thermal decomposition of a waste gas prior to exit (Par 134), wherein a gas injection part (330) is configured to supply a reaction gas to an area positioned below a second positive electrode (130) wherein the reaction gas has a reactivity with byproducts generated after a waste gas is thermally decomposed by plasma (oxygen; Par. 147) for the purpose of discharging foreign matters accumulated from the reaction (Par. 146).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the device of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Kim by adding a lower reaction gas flow path positioned below the anode for the purpose of discharging foreign matters accumulated from the reaction.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Cho, as applied in claim 8, in view of Smith et al. (US Publication No. 20070235339A1), hereinafter Smith.
Regarding claim 12, Cho teaches (Figure 1) an electrode supporting member (first positive electrode housing 120A) disposed on a third outer circumference of the pilot electrode. The modified device of Cho does not teach wherein the upper reaction gas flow path is formed via the electrode supporting member.
Smith teaches (Figure 7): an insulting block (56) of a plasma torch (80) in which a start electrode (54) is housed; a second inlet (28) formed through the insulating block for supplying water to a plasma region (62); and wherein the water and an effluent stream of waste gas are decomposed in tandem within the plasma region, resulting in the remaining components of the water (oxygen and hydroxide ions) immediately reacting with the dissociated components of the waste gas upon exposure to the plasma (Par. 51-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have further modified the device of Cho to incorporate the teachings of Smith by adding a gas flow path formed through the electrode supporting member. Doing so would facilitate the treatment of the waste gas by allowing it to react immediately upon being thermally decomposed by plasma.
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified device of Cho, as applied in claims 16 and 18, in view of Park (Korean Publication No. KR101060237B1), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 17, Cho teaches (Figure 1) a pilot magnet (first magnet part M1) on an outer circumference of a pilot electrode and anode magnet (second magnet part M2) on an outer circumference of an anode for improving the performance of the thermal plasma (Par. 81) wherein the magnets are cylindrical permanent magnets (Par. 79). The modified device Cho does not teach wherein the magnets are electromagnets.
Park teaches (Figure 6) a coil (150) disposed on an outer surface of a first electrode (112) and second electrode (114) within a plasma torch (100) wherein a magnetic field is induced when a current is applied to the coil for the purpose of improving the flow of plasma (Pg. 3, Ln. 24-32).
Because both Cho and Park teach the use of magnets disposed around a first and second electrode within a plasma torch, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one method for the other to achieve the predictable result of improved plasma flow.
Regarding claim 19, Cho teaches (Figure 1) a pilot magnet (first magnet part M1) on an outer circumference of a pilot electrode and anode magnet (second magnet part M2) on an outer circumference of an anode for improving the performance of the thermal plasma (Par. 81) wherein the magnets are cylindrical permanent magnets (Par. 79). The modified device Cho does not teach wherein the magnets are electromagnets.
Park teaches (Figure 6) a coil (150) disposed on an outer surface of a first electrode (112) and second electrode (114) within a plasma torch (100) wherein a magnetic field is induced when a current is applied to the coil for the purpose of improving the flow of plasma (Pg. 3, Ln. 24-32).
Because both Cho and Park teach the use of magnets disposed around a first and second electrode within a plasma torch, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute one method for the other to achieve the predictable result of improved plasma flow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoon (US Patent No. 12641705) discloses a device which utilizes plasma for the purpose of treating harmful exhaust gases.
/NICHOLAS FREDRICK GAUTHIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761