DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 01/30/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 12-14, and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, lines 2-3, the term may be amended as “a surface of the substrate”.
In claim 12, line 3, the phrase may be amended as “on [[the]]a same line”.
In claim 13, the terms may be amended as “[[the]]a number of the plurality of nozzles” in line 4 and “[[the]]a number of the plurality of nozzles” in line 5.
In claim 14, line 4, the term may be amended as “the plurality of nozzles”.
In claim 18, line 2, the term may be amended as “the plurality of nozzles”.
In claim 19, the terms may be amended as “[[a]]at least one of the plurality of nozzles” in line 2 and “[[a]]at least one of the plurality of nozzles” in line 4.
In claim 20, line 5, the phrase needs to be amended as “the polishing pad support plate,[[ ,]] a polishing pad driver configured to …”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the phrase “the jig member guides the rotation member to move …” renders claim vague and indefinite because it is not claimed how the jig member guides the rotation member. Specification of the instant application states the jig member 300 may be a member that assists movement of the rotation member 200 when the rotation member 200 is moved by a moving member such as a motor (¶ 0049). Specification states the rotation member 200 may be moved by the motor, but does not explain how the jig member assists the movement of the rotation member. Fig. 1A shows the jig member 300 is an independent structure connected to the rotation member 200. Therefore, specification and figures do not present how the jig member guides the rotation member to move. For examination purpose the examiner has interpreted the jig member is a holder of the rotation member. The movement of the rotation member is achieved by moving the jig member by another undisclosed mechanism that allows translation of the jig member.
Claims 3-5 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency.
In claim 3, the phrase “a first jig member that … moves the rotation member” renders claim vague and indefinite for the same reason discussed in the 112(b) rejection of claim 2 above.
Claims 4 and 5 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency.
In claim 4, the phrase “the rotation member is connected to the first jig member to be movable along the first jig member” renders claim vague and indefinite for the same reason discussed in the 112(b) rejection of claim 2.
Claim 5 inherits the above deficiency by nature of their dependency.
In claim 18, the term “a polishing driver within the rotation member” is not defined. Specification does not present the term “polishing driver”. A closest term is “a polishing pad driver” configured to rotate the polishing pad and the polishing pad support plate (¶ 0009). Thus, it is not clear what the polishing driver is. For examination purpose the examiner has interpreted it is a component disposed within the rotation member.
Claim 19 inherits the above deficiency by nature of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. (KR 20110018715A, hereinafter Kwon).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) apparatus (fig. 2, substrate polishing unit 1001) comprising:
a substrate support plate (spin head 110) configured to support a substrate (see annotated Kwon fig. 3 below for the substrate support plate);
a rotation member positioned on the substrate support plate (see fig. 2, a pressing unit 310 [corresponds to the recited rotation member] would be positioned on the spin head 110 [corresponds to the recited substrate support plate] of a substrate support unit 100);
a polishing pad connected to the rotation member and disposed between the rotation member and the substrate support plate (figs. 2 and 6, a polishing pad 311 is connected to the pressing unit 310 [corresponds to the recited rotation member] and is disposed between the pressing unit 310 and the spin head 110 [corresponds to the recited substrate support plate]); and
a jig member positioned above the substrate support plate and movably connected to the rotation member (annotated Kwon fig. 3 below, a jig member is connected to the pressing unit 310 [corresponds to the recited rotation member], is positioned above the spin head 110 [corresponds to the recited substrate support plate], and is movable as shown in figs. 5 and 9).
Annotated Kwon Fig. 3
Regarding claim 2, Kwon discloses the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the jig member guides the rotation member to move in a direction parallel to a surface of the substrate support plate (see fig. 9 and annotated Kwon fig. 3 above, the jig member guides the pressing unit 310 [corresponds to the recited rotation member] in a horizontal direction which is parallel to a surface of the spin head 110 [corresponds to the recited substrate support plate]).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon discloses the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein a diameter of the polishing pad is smaller than a diameter of the substrate (see fig. 6 and annotated Kwon fig. 3 above, a diameter of the polishing pad 311 is smaller than a diameter of the substrate 70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Won et al. (KR 20160076702A, hereinafter Won).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon discloses the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 2, but does not disclose the jig member includes a first jig member that supports and moves the rotation member and a second jig member that supports the first jig member.
Won teaches, in an analogous jig apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the jig member includes a first jig member that supports and moves the rotation member and a second jig member that supports the first jig member (see annotated Won fig. 3 below, as discussed in the 112(b) rejection above, the first jig member of the jig member is a holder of the rotation member. The first jig member supports an object and the second jig member supports the first jig member. The jig member of Kwon does not comprise the first and second jig members to hold the pressing unit 310 [corresponds to the recited rotation member]. The first and second jig members of Won can replace the jig member of Kwon to hold the pressing unit 310 of Kwon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon to provide the first and second jig members as taught by Won in order to fasten the rotation member reliably and securely (Won English translation, p. 3:10-13).
Annotated Won Fig. 3
Regarding claim 4, Kwon as modified by Won teaches the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein the rotation member is connected to the first jig member to be movable along the first jig member, and the first jig member includes a first movement jig extending in a first direction and a second movement jig extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (see annotated Won fig. 3 above for the first and second movement jigs. The first jig member holds an object. By replacing the jig member of Kwon with the jig member of Won, the rotation member of Kwon is connected to the first jig member of Won and is movable. See 112(b) rejection regarding the rotation member being movable along the first jig member).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon as modified by Won to provide the first and second movement jigs as taught by Won in order to fasten the rotation member reliably and securely (Won English translation, p. 3:10-13).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon as modified by Won teaches the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 4, wherein the second jig member includes a first support jig extending in the first direction and supporting the second movement jig and a second support jig extending in the second direction and supporting the first movement jig (see annotated Won fig. 3 above for the first and second support jigs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon to provide the first and second support jigs as taught by Won in order to fasten the rotation member reliably and securely (Won English translation, p. 3:10-13).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ko (KR 20040072223A).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon discloses the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the substrate support plate moves in a direction that is perpendicular to a surface of substrate.
Ko teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the substrate support plate moves in a direction that is perpendicular to a surface of substrate (Ko English translation, p. 2:30-31 and fig. 2, a platen 20 [corresponds to the recited substrate support plate] moves up and down in a direction perpendicular to a surface of a polishing head 60 or a polishing pad 10. The Ko’s apparatus is different from the apparatus of the instant application because the polishing pad is coupled to the platen instead of the polishing head 60. But Ko teaches the substrate support plate can be built to move in the direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon to provide the moving substrate support plate as taught by Ko. The platen of Ko is fixed with a plurality of stoppers 52 so that when the platen is moved up during polishing of a substrate, the substrate is pressed evenly for improving the polishing uniformity (Ko English translation, p. 5:4-8).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Shin et al. (US 2020/0152469).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon discloses the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose a conditioner spaced apart from the substrate support plate and configured to include a polisher for polishing the polishing pad.
Shin teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, a conditioner spaced apart from the substrate support plate and configured to include a polisher for polishing the polishing pad (figs. 1 and 2 and ¶ 0033, a polishing pad conditioner 100 can be positioned away from a polishing pad 30 on a polishing table 20 [corresponds to the recited substrate support plate]; fig. 5 and ¶ 0039, a conditioner disk 120 of the polishing pad conditioner 100 comprises a lower disk 126 [corresponds to the recited polisher] wherein diamond particles are fixed to the lower disk 126. The diamond particles would render the conditioner 100 to polish the polishing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon to provide the conditioner as taught by Shin in order to regenerate a rough surface of the polishing pad to maintain acceptable and consistent removal rates (Shin ¶ 0033).
Kwon as modified by Shin does not disclose a diameter of the polisher is larger than the diameter of the polishing pad. By combining teachings of Shin with Kwon, the polisher 126 of Shin would condition the polishing pad 311 of Kwon. While Kwon discloses the polishing pad has a diameter and Shin also discloses the polisher 126 has a diameter, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the diameter of polisher to be larger than the diameter of the polishing pad in order to condition an entire area of the polishing pad uniformly at the same time. Such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Lee (KR 20220066608A).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon discloses the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the rotation member includes a slurry supplier that directly supplies slurry to the substrate.
Lee teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the rotation member includes a slurry supplier that directly supplies slurry to the substrate (fig. 3 and Lee English translation, p. 2:26-3:9, a polishing head 10 [corresponds to the recited rotation member] is coupled with a polishing pad 13. The polishing head 10 includes a slurry supply block 14 [corresponds to the recited slurry supplier] so that slurry is applied to a substrate through a slurry supply port).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon to provide the slurry supplier as taught by Lee. The supply of slurry to the substrate surface enables the chemical mechanical polishing process to be performed uniformly (Lee English translation, p. 6:4-8).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon as modified by Lee teaches the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 9, wherein the slurry supplier is included in the rotation member, and is positioned to extend through the polishing pad (Lee English translation, p. 3:35-4:10 and fig. 4, the slurry supply block 14 [corresponds to the recited slurry supplier] is included in a rotating polishing head 10 [corresponds to the recited rotation member] and the slurry is applied to a substrate W through a slurry supply port 140x. Fig. 4 shows a polishing pad 13 has an aperture in a center and the slurry supply port 14x is positioned to supply the slurry through the polishing pad 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CMP apparatus of Kwon as modified by Lee to provide the slurry supplier extending through the polishing pad as taught by Lee so that the slurry is directly applied to the polishing pad and the substrate for improving polishing operation.
Regarding claim 11, Kwon as modified by Lee teaches the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 9, wherein the slurry supplier includes a nozzle positioned to extend through a central portion of the polishing pad (Lee English translation, p. 3:35-4:10 and figs. 4-5, as discussed in the rejection of claim 10, the slurry is applied to the substrate W through the slurry supply port 140x [corresponds to the recited nozzle] extending through a central portion of the polishing pad 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CMP apparatus of Kwon as modified by Lee to provide the nozzle extending through the central portion of the polishing pad as taught by Lee so that the slurry is evenly applied to the polishing pad and the substrate for improving polishing operation.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Lee, as applied to claim 9 above, and in further view of Shim et al. (KR 20210037085A, hereinafter Shim).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon as modified by Lee teaches the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 9, but does not disclose the slurry supplier includes a plurality of nozzles extending through the polishing pad, and the nozzles are positioned on the same line.
Shim teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the slurry supplier includes a plurality of nozzles extending through the polishing pad, and the nozzles are positioned on the same line (Shim English translation, p. 4:37-5:9 and fig. 5, an upper platen 200 [corresponds to the recited rotation member] is coupled with a polishing pad 211. The platen 200 and the polishing pad 211 include a plurality of slurry holes 210 [correspond to the recited nozzles] disposed on the same horizontal position. Lee discloses the slurry supply block 14 [corresponds to the recited slurry supplier] extending through a single aperture/nozzle on the polishing pad. The slurry supply block of Lee can be combined with Shim so that the slurry is applied to the polishing pad and a substrate of Shim through a plurality of nozzles/holes on the polishing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon as modified by Lee to provide the plurality of nozzles as taught by Shim in order to supply slurry to all surface areas of the polishing pad so that the polishing is conducted uniformly.
Regarding claim 13, Kwon as modified by Lee teaches the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 9, but does not disclose the slurry supplier includes a plurality of nozzles extending through the polishing pad.
Shim teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the slurry supplier includes a plurality of nozzles extending through the polishing pad (Shim English translation, p. 4:37-5:9 and fig. 5, the plurality of slurry holes 210 [correspond to the recited nozzles] in the upper platen 200 extend through the polishing pad 211. Lee discloses the slurry supply block 14 [corresponds to the recited slurry supplier] extending through a single aperture/nozzle on the polishing pad. The slurry supply block of Lee can be combined with Shim so that the slurry is applied to the polishing pad and a substrate of Shim through the plurality of nozzles/holes on the polishing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon as modified by Lee to provide the plurality of nozzles as taught by Shim in order to supply slurry to all surface areas of the polishing pad so that the polishing is conducted uniformly.
Kwon as modified by Lee and Shim does not disclose explicitly the number of nozzles included in a central portion of the polishing pad is less than the number of nozzles included in an edge portion of the polishing pad.
Shim shows, in fig. 2, that the plurality of slurry holes 210 are distributed on the polishing pad/platen. Thus, the holes can be arranged such that a number of nozzles included in a central portion of the polishing pad is less than a number of nozzles included in an edge portion of the polishing pad because an edge of a substrate may not be supplied with enough slurry for good polishing. A great number of nozzles near the edge portion can supply good amount of slurry for better edge polishing. It has been held that shifting position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Lee, as applied to claim 9 above, and in further view of Shim and Wu (CN 111230727A).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon as modified by Lee teaches the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 9, but does not disclose the slurry supplier includes a plurality of nozzles extending through the polishing pad.
Shim teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the slurry supplier includes a plurality of nozzles extending through the polishing pad (Shim English translation, p. 4:37-5:9 and fig. 5, as discussed in claim 13 above, the plurality of slurry holes 210 [correspond to the recited nozzles] in the upper platen 200 extend through the polishing pad 211. Lee discloses the slurry supply block 14 [corresponds to the recited slurry supplier] extending through a single aperture/nozzle on the polishing pad. The slurry supply block of Lee can be combined with Shim so that the slurry is applied to the polishing pad and a substrate of Shim through the plurality of nozzles/holes on the polishing pad).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon as modified by Lee to provide the plurality of nozzles as taught by Shim in order to supply slurry to all surface areas of the polishing pad so that the polishing is conducted uniformly.
Kwon as modified by Lee and Shim does not disclose the nozzles are arranged to be spaced apart at predetermined intervals along a plurality of concentric circles.
Wu teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the nozzles are arranged to be spaced apart at predetermined intervals along a plurality of concentric circles (Wu English translation, p. 10:26-11:8 and fig. 2, polishing slurry is supplied through outlet nozzles 93 to a polishing pad 4. The outlet nozzles 93 are arranged to be spaced apart at predetermined intervals along a plurality of concentric circles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon as modified by Lee and Shim to provide the nozzles arranged along the plurality of concentric circles as taught by Wu so that the slurry is supplied evenly in order to achieve uniform polishing.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Goto (KR 20230061244A).
Regarding claim 15, Kwon discloses the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the substrate support plate includes a pressure provider configured to fix the substrate to the substrate support plate.
Goto teaches, in an analogous grinding apparatus field of endeavor, the substrate support plate includes a pressure provider configured to fix the substrate to the substrate support plate (Goto English translation, p. 4:9-13, a chuck table 2 [corresponds to the recited substrate support plate] holds a wafer 10 on a surface 210 of the chuck table by suction. The apparatus holds the wafer with a negative pressure/suction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon to provide the pressure provider as taught by Goto so that a substrate is securely held in place during polishing operation so that the substate can be polished uniformly without disruption to adjust a position of the substrate.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (KR 20110018715A, hereinafter Kwon), in view of Lee (KR 20220066608A) and Yin et al. (US 2021/0084809, hereinafter Yin).
Regarding claim 16, Kwon discloses a CMP apparatus (fig. 2, substrate polishing unit 1001) comprising:
a substrate support plate (spin head 110) configured to support a substrate (see annotated Kwon fig. 3 above for the substrate support plate);
a rotation member positioned on the substrate support plate (see fig. 2, a pressing unit 310 [corresponds to the recited rotation member] would be positioned on the spin head 110 [corresponds to the recited substrate support plate] of a substrate support unit 100);
a polishing pad connected to the rotation member and disposed between the rotation member and the substrate support plate (figs. 2 and 6, a polishing pad 311 is connected to the pressing unit 310 [corresponds to the recited rotation member] and is disposed between the pressing unit 310 and the spin head 110 [corresponds to the recited substrate support plate]); and
a jig member positioned above the substrate support plate and movably connected to the rotation member (annotated Kwon fig. 3 above, a jig member is connected to the pressing unit 310 [corresponds to the recited rotation member], is positioned above the spin head 110 [corresponds to the recited substrate support plate], and is movable as shown in figs. 5 and 9), but does not disclose the rotation member includes a slurry supplier positioned on the polishing pad.
Lee teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, the rotation member includes a slurry supplier positioned on the polishing pad (figs. 3-4 and Lee English translation, p. 2:26-3:9, a polishing head 10 [corresponds to the recited rotation member] is coupled with a polishing pad 13. The polishing head 10 includes a slurry supply block 14 [corresponds to the recited slurry supplier] which is positioned on the polishing pad 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon to provide the slurry supplier as taught by Lee. The supply of slurry enables the chemical mechanical polishing process to be performed uniformly (Lee English translation, p. 6:4-8).
But Kwon as modified by Lee does not disclose the rotation member is configured to include a slurry supply valve positioned to surround the polishing pad, and the slurry supply valve includes at least one nozzle for directly supplying slurry onto the substrate.
Yin teaches, in a fluid distributing apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the rotation member is configured to include a slurry supply valve positioned to surround the polishing pad, and the slurry supply valve includes at least one nozzle for directly supplying slurry onto the substrate (fig. 1 and ¶ 0042, a water distributor 7 and water valves 2-2 of a fluid distributing platform are considered as the recited slurry supply valve which is positioned circumferentially around a body of the platform. The water valve 2-2 includes a nozzle 2 for supplying fluid. The device of Yin is not for supplying slurry, but it discloses the apparatus which comprises a plurality of nozzles for supplying fluid. While Lee teaches the CMP apparatus comprises the slurry supplies, Yin can be combined with Lee to teach the valve and the nozzle. The valves 2-2 are disposed around the distributor 7, thus the valves of Yin can be disposed around the rotation member of Kwon. Additionally, by combining the valves and nozzles of Yin with Kwon as modified by Lee, the valves would be positioned to surround the polishing pad of Kwon and the slurry would be supplied onto the substrate of Kwon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon as modified by Lee to provide the slurry supply valve and the nozzle as taught by Yin in order to control supplying liquid so that it meets the requirements of an operation (Yin ¶ 0042).
Regarding claim 17, Kwon as modified by Lee and Yin teaches the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the slurry supply valve includes a plurality of nozzles arranged around the rotation member (Yin, fig. 1 and ¶ 0042, the water distributor 7 and the water valves 2-2 [correspond to the recited slurry supply valve] includes a plurality of nozzles 2 arranged around the body of the platform. The Yin’s apparatus can be combined with the CMP of Kwon as modified by Lee to supply the slurry).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon as modified by Lee and Yin to provide the plurality of nozzle as taught by Yin in order to supply liquid in a plurality of directions so that an entire surface receives the liquid.
Regarding claim 18, Kwon as modified by Lee and Yin teaches the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein the nozzles are symmetrically positioned with respect to a central portion of a polishing driver within the rotation member (Yin, fig. 1, the nozzles 2 are symmetrically positioned with respect to the body of the platform. By combining Yin with Kwon as modified by Lee, the nozzles of Yin would be positioned with respect to a central portion of a component in the rotation member. See 112(b) rejection regarding the polishing driver).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP of Kwon as modified by Lee and Yin to provide the symmetrically positioned nozzles as taught by Yin in order to supply the liquid evenly to an operating surface.
Regarding claim 19, Kwon as modified by Lee and Yin teaches the CMP apparatus as in the rejection of claim 18, but does not disclose explicitly the slurry supply valve is configured to open a nozzle positioned in a moving direction of the polishing pad, and the slurry supply valve is configured to close a nozzle positioned in a direction opposite to the moving direction of the polishing pad.
However, Yin teaches a control system includes a controller wherein the controller can individually control the opening and closing of each water valve 2-2 so as to control the discharge flow of each nozzle 2. Therefore, Yin as combined with Kwon and Lee teaches the controller/valve can be configured to open a nozzle in a moving direction of the polishing pad and to close a nozzle in a direction opposite to the moving direction of the polishing pad.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP of Kwon as modified by Lee and Yin to provide the slurry valve configured to open and close the nozzle as recited as taught by Yin in order to supply liquid as needed without wasting it.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (KR 20110018715A, hereinafter Kwon), in view of Won et al. (KR 20160076702A, hereinafter Won), Lee (KR 20220066608A), and Goto (KR 20230061244A).
Regarding claim 20, Kwon discloses a CMP apparatus (fig. 2, substrate polishing unit 1001) comprising:
a rotation member including a polishing pad support plate, a polishing pad attached to the polishing pad support plate, a polishing pad driver configured to rotate the polishing pad and the polishing pad support plate (see fig. 2, a pressing unit 310 [corresponds to the recited rotation member] includes a pad holder 315 [corresponds to the recited polishing pad support plate] wherein the polishing pad 311 is attached to the pad holder 315; Kwon English translation, p. 11:16-33, a pulley 333 driven by a motor 342 rotates the polishing pad 311 and the pad holder 315); and
a jig member connected to the rotation member (annotated Kwon fig. 3 above, a jig member is connected to the pressing unit 310 [corresponds to the recited rotation member]), but does not disclose the jig member includes a first jig member connected to the rotation member, and a second jig member in contact with the first jig member.
Won teaches, in an analogous jig apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the jig member includes a first jig member connected to the rotation member, and a second jig member in contact with the first jig member (see annotated Won fig. 3 above, the first jig member is connected to an object and the second jig member supports the first jig member. The jig member of Kwon does not comprise the first and second jig members to hold the pressing unit 310 [corresponds to the recited rotation member]. The first and second jig members of Won can replace the jig member of Kwon to hold the pressing unit 310 of Kwon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon to provide the first and second jig members as taught by Won in order to fasten the rotation member reliably and securely (Won English translation, p. 3:10-13).
Kwon as modified by Won does not disclose a slurry supplier positioned to extend through the polishing pad.
Lee teaches, in an analogous CMP field of endeavor, a slurry supplier positioned to extend through the polishing pad (Lee English translation, p. 3:35-4:10 and fig. 4, the slurry supply block 14 [corresponds to the recited slurry supplier] is included in a rotating polishing head 10 [corresponds to the recited rotation member] and the slurry is applied to a substrate W through a slurry supply port 140x. Fig. 4 shows a polishing pad 13 has an aperture in a center and the slurry supply port 14x is positioned to supply the slurry through the polishing pad 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified CMP apparatus of Kwon as modified by Won to provide the slurry supplier extending through the polishing pad as taught by Lee so that the slurry is directly applied to the polishing pad and the substrate for improving polishing operation.
Kwon as modified by Won and Lee does not disclose a substrate support plate configured to fix a substrate by providing pressure to the substrate.
Goto teaches, in an analogous grinding apparatus field of endeavor, a substrate support plate configured to fix a substrate by providing pressure to the substrate (Goto English translation, p. 4:9-13, a chuck table 2 [corresponds to the recited substrate support plate] holds a wafer 10 on a surface 210 of the chuck table by suction. The apparatus holds the wafer with a negative pressure/suction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CMP apparatus of Kwon as modified by Won and Lee to provide the pressure provider as taught by Goto so that the substrate is securely held in place during the polishing operation so that the substate can be polished uniformly without disruption.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Talieh (US 6951507) discloses a jig member that moves a rotating polishing apparatus.
Jiang et al. (CN 115464471A) discloses a polishing apparatus wherein a slurry supplier is included in a rotation member.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723