DETAILED ACTION
This is a first Office action on the merits responsive to applicant’s original disclosure filed on 1/30/2024. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an applications filed in China on 1/30/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 202310074652.9 or CN202320142516.4 applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following minor informalities:
Figures 1-16, the poor line quality in Figures 1-16 renders part or all of the drawing illegible when reproduced. 37 CFR 1.84(l) (m) and (p)(1). 37 CFR 1.84(l) recites, “[a]ll drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.” Applicant is requested to submit replacement sheets of drawings that have black lines on a white background, with the black lines being darker with a higher contrast to eliminate fuzziness.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
“the C-shaped steel is securely fixed to the keel, and the keel is securely fixed to the installation surface” (claim 9); and
“the mounting baseplates are securely fixed to the keel, and the keel is securely fixed to the installation surface” (claim 10).
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, the claim has a semi-colon at the end of the claim, instead of a period, and thus appears to contain a typo. This objection can be overcome by deleting the semi-colon and replacing it with a period.
Claims 2-10, “The system” is objected to because the limitation does not properly refer to the previously recited “ceramic tile hanging system” and thus lacks antecedent basis. This objection can be overcome by reciting, “The ceramic tile hanging system”.
Claim 4, the claim has a period directly adjacent to a semi-colon in line 5. This objection can be overcome by deleting the period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, “the top surface of the mounting components” is indefinite because the limitation lacks antecedent basis. Note that a top surface is not previously defined in the claim. This rejection can be overcome by reciting, “a top surface of the mounting components” or equivalent.
Claim 1, “the sides of the ceramic tiles” is indefinite because the limitation lacks antecedent basis. Note that sides of the ceramic tiles are not previously defined in the claim. This rejection can be overcome by previously in the claim defining the ceramic tiles as having a plurality of sides, or equivalent.
Claim 1, “the ceramic tile decorative surface” is indefinite because the limitation lacks antecedent basis. Note that a ceramic tile decorative surface is not previously defined in the claim. This rejection can be overcome by previously in the claim defining the ceramic tile as comprising a decorative surface.
Claim 2, “the horizontal plan” is indefinite because the limitation lacks antecedent basis. Note that a horizontal plan is not previously defined in the claim. This rejection can be overcome by previously in the claim defining a horizontal plan.
Claim 4, “the inner side”, “the other end” and “the horizontal plane” are indefinite because the terms lack antecedent basis. Note that the claims do not previously define an inner side, an other end or a horizontal plane. Does applicant intend for the horizontal plane to refer to the horizontal plane in claim 2 or a different/additional horizontal plane? See also claims 5-6.
Claim 7, “downward/upward” is indefinite because it is unclear what the claim requires. The limitation recites two opposite directions. Does applicant intend for the limitation to require one of the directions or both of the directions? See also claim 8.
Claim 9, “several fitting members” is indefinite because the limitation previously recites a plurality of fitting members. Does applicant intend for the limitation to refer to the previously recited plurality of fitting members or different/additional fitting members? The limitation was treated as referring to the previously recited fitting members. This rejection can be overcome by reciting, “several of the plurality of fitting members” or equivalent. See also claim 10.
Claim 9, “the keel” is indefinite because the limitation lacks antecedent basis. Note that a keel is not previously recited. This rejection can be overcome by reciting, “a keel” or equivalent. See also claim 10.
The remainder of the claims are dependent upon directly or indirectly a rejected base claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/427,465 (‘reference application’).
Re claims 1-10, the claims of the reference application and the claims of the instant application are drawn to substantially the same invention, with minor differences in wording/phraseology. For example, the claims of the reference application recite a connecting flap and a flap mounting portion, whereas the claims of the instant application recite a second connecting portion and a second mounting portion. The terms are drawn to the same structure, with the claims of the instant application being broader than the claims of the reference application, and thus the claims of the reference application encompass the scope of the claims of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bogataj (US 5029425).
Claim 1, Bogataj teaches a ceramic tile hanging system, firmly attached to an installation surface 12, comprising mounting components 11 and ceramic tiles (10; note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the sand and cementitious material that gives a stonelike appearance constitutes a ceramic tile, as exceedingly broadly claimed); characterized in that (note that as recited throughout the claims, “characterized in that” was treated as a transitional phrase equivalent to “wherein”)
the mounting components are securely fixed on the installation surface (Fig. 2); the mounting components include a plurality of fitting members 27 extending upward from the top surface of the mounting components (note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the top surface of the mounting components was treated as the right surface, as viewed in Fig. 2), and the fitting members are integrally formed with the mounting components (it is understood that elements 27 are integrally formed with element 11; Fig. 2);
the ceramic tiles are hung on and attached to the mounting components (Fig. 2), with the sides of the ceramic tiles being abutted against each other (left and right ends of the ceramic tiles abut each other col. 3, lines 12-15; and/or the top and bottom ends of the ceramic tiles abut each other; Figs. 1-2); each of the ceramic tiles has an inclined groove 18, and the inclined groove is hooked onto and attached to the fitting members (Figs.1-2);
the inclined groove includes a first mounting portion (lower portion of 18, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Fig. 2) arranged on the side away from the ceramic tile decorative surface (Fig. 2), and a second mounting portion extending from the first mounting portion into the interior of the ceramic tile (upper portion of 18, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Fig. 2);
each of the fitting members comprises a first connecting portion extending upward from the mounting components (lower portion of 27, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Fig. 2); the first connecting portion is abutted against the first mounting portion (Fig. 2), and a second connecting portion (upper portion of 27, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Fig. 2) extending from the first connecting portion into the second mounting portion (Fig. 2).
Claim 2, Bogataj further provides in that the first mounting portion is inclined (Fig. 2 the second mounting portion is in communication with and level with the horizontal plan (Fig. 2); the first connecting portion is fitted into the first mounting portion (Fig. 2), and the second connecting portion is fitted into the second mounting portion (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lehmann et al. (US 20220195736) (‘Lehmann’).
Claim 1, Lehmann provides a ceramic tile hanging system, firmly attached to an installation surface 20, comprising mounting components 100 and ceramic tiles ([0035]; 50); characterized in that (note that as recited throughout the claims, “characterized in that” was treated as a transitional phrase equivalent to “wherein”)
the mounting components are securely fixed on the installation surface (Fig. 1); the mounting components include a plurality of fitting members 150 extending upward from the top surface of the mounting components (the top surface of the mounting surface was treated as the right side, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Fig. 1), and the fitting members are integrally formed with the mounting components (Fig. 1);
the ceramic tiles are hung on and attached to the mounting components (Fig. 1), with the sides of the ceramic tiles being abutted against each other (it is understood that sides of the ceramic tiles are abutted against each other; Fig. 1); each of the ceramic tiles has an inclined groove (annotated Fig. 9 of Lehmann shown below in Examiner’s Notes), and the inclined groove is hooked onto and attached to the fitting members (Fig. 9);
the inclined groove includes a first mounting portion arranged on the side away from the ceramic tile decorative surface (lower portion of inclined groove; annotated Fig. 9), and a second mounting portion (upper portion of inclined groove; annotated Fig. 9) extending from the first mounting portion into the interior of the ceramic tile (annotated Fig. 9);
each of the fitting members comprises a first connecting portion extending upward from the mounting components (first portion of 150, as exceedingly broadly claimed; annotated Fig. 9); the first connecting portion is abutted against the first mounting portion (annotated Fig. 9), and a second connecting portion extending from the first connecting portion into the second mounting portion (annotated Fig. 9).
Claim 2, Lehmann further provides in that the first mounting portion is inclined (the bottom surface of the first mounting portion is inclined; annotated Fig. 9); the second mounting portion is in communication with and level with the horizontal plan (Fig. 9); the first connecting portion is fitted into the first mounting portion (annotated Fig. 9), and the second connecting portion is fitted into the second mounting portion (annotated Fig. 9).
Claim 3, Lehmann further provides in that each of the fitting members further includes a third connecting portion extending from the second connecting portion into the second mounting portion (upper portion of second connecting portion, as exceedingly broadly claimed; annotated Fig. 9).
Claim 7, Lehmann further provides in that the first mounting portion is inclined (annotated Fig. 9), the second mounting portion tilts downward/upward from the first mounting portion (upward; annotated Fig. 9); the first connecting portion is fitted into the first mounting portion (annotated Fig. 9); the second connecting portion is connected to and level with the horizontal plane (annotated Fig. 9); the third connecting portion is connected to upper portion or lower portion of the second connecting portion (upper portion; annotated Fig. 9).
Claim 10, Lehmann further provides in that the mounting component is a mounting baseplate (Fig. 2), and several fitting members are arranged on the mounting baseplate (Fig. 1); the mounting baseplates are securely fixed to the installation surface (Fig. 1), or alternatively, the mounting baseplates are securely fixed to the keel, and the keel is securely fixed to the installation surface (not required by the claim due to recitation of “or alternatively”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann et al. (US 20220195736) (‘Lehmann’) in view of Bunting (US 20220034086).
Claim 4, Lehmann further teaches in that one end of the inner side of the first mounting portion is linear (annotated Fig. 9), and the other end is slanted (annotated Fig. 9); the second mounting portion is in communication with and level with the horizontal plane (annotated Fig. 9); the first connecting portion is perpendicular to and abuts against the linear inner side of the first mounting portion (the connecting portion is a three-dimensional object that extends at least in a thickness direction away from the linear portion of the first mounting portion, as exceedingly broadly claimed; annotated Fig. 9); the second connecting portion is perpendicular to the first connecting portion (annotated Fig. 9). Lehmann does not teach the third connecting portion is slanted upward from the second connecting portion, or alternatively, the third connecting portion is slanted downward from the second connecting portion. However, Bunting teaches a system, comprising a first connecting portion (see annotated Fig. 1 of Bunting shown below in Examiner’s Notes), a second connecting portion (annotated Fig. 1), and a third connecting portion being slanted downward from the second connecting portion (as indicated by dotted outline of third portion; annotated Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the shape of the mounting component such that the third connecting portion is slanted downward from the second connecting portion, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known shape of a mounting component to secure the tile to the installation surface (Bunting [0024]), and since it has been held that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Claim 5, Lehmann further teaches in that one end of the inner side of the first mounting portion is linear (annotated Fig. 9), and the other end is slanted (annotated Fig. 9); the second mounting portion is in communication with and level with the horizontal plane (annotated Fig. 9); the first connecting portion is perpendicular to and abuts against the linear inner side of the first mounting portion (the connecting portion is a three-dimensional object that extends at least in a thickness direction away from the linear portion of the first mounting portion, as exceedingly broadly claimed; annotated Fig. 9); the third connecting portion is slanted upward from the first connecting portion (annotated Fig. 9). Lehman does not teach the second connecting portion being slanted downward from the first connecting portion. However, Bunting teaches a system (see annotated Fig. 1 of Bunting shown below in Examiner’s Notes) comprising a first connecting portion (annotated Fig. 1). Bunting further teaches a connecting portion that is slanted downward from the first connecting portion (labeled “third connecting portion” in annotated Fig. 1) and another connecting portion that is slanted upward from the first connecting portion (labeled “second connecting portion” in annotated Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try changing the shape of the mounting components such that the second connecting portion is slanted downward from the first connecting portion, and the third connecting portion is slanted upward from the first connecting portion, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known shape of a mounting component to secure the tile to the installation surface (Bunting [0024]), and since it has been held that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Claim 6, Lehmann further teaches in that one end of the inner side of the first mounting portion is linear (annotated Fig. 9), and the other end is slanted (annotated Fig. 9); the second mounting portion is in communication with and level with the horizontal plane (annotated Fig. 9); the first connecting portion is perpendicular to and abuts against the linear inner side of the first mounting portion (the connecting portion is a three-dimensional object that extends at least in a thickness direction away from the linear portion of the first mounting portion, as exceedingly broadly claimed; annotated Fig. 9). Lehmann does not teach the second connecting portion is slanted downward from the first connecting portion; the third connecting portion is slanted downward from the first connecting portion. However, Bunting teaches a system (see annotated Fig. 1 of Bunting shown below in Examiner’s Notes) comprising a first connecting portion (annotated Fig. 1). Bunting further teaches another connecting portion that is slanted downward from the first connecting portion (labeled as “third connecting portion” in annotated Fig. 1), the “third connecting portion” comprises a first downwardly extending portion and a second downwardly slanted portion that nonetheless extends in a slanted downward direction from the first connecting portion (note that applicant’s claim 3 from which claim 6 depends requires the third connecting portion to extend from the second connecting portion, and Bunting’s third portion, likewise shows the second downwardly slanted portion extending from the first downwardly extending portion). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the shape of the mounting components such that the second connecting portion is slanted downward from the first connecting portion, and the third connecting portion is slanted downward from the first connecting portion, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known shape of a mounting component to secure the tile to the installation surface (Bunting [0024]), and since it has been held that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Claim 8, Lehmann further teaches in that the first mounting portion is inclined (annotated Fig. 9), the second mounting portion is slanted downward/upward from the first mounting portion (upward; annotated Fig. 9); the first connecting portion is fitted into the first mounting portion (annotated Fig. 9); the third connecting portion is connected to upper portion or lower portion the second connecting portion (upper portion; annotated Fig. 9). Lehmann does not teach the second connecting portion is slanted downward from the first connecting portion. However, Bunting teaches a system (see annotated Fig. 1 of Bunting shown below in Examiner’s Notes) comprising a first connecting portion (annotated Fig. 1). Bunting further teaches another connecting portion being slanted downward from the first connecting portion (labeled as “third connecting portion” in annotated Fig. 1 of Bunting). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the shape of the mounting components such that the second connecting portion is slanted downward from the first connecting portion, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known shape of a mounting component to secure the tile to the installation surface (Bunting [0024]), and since it has been held that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann et al. (US 20220195736) (‘Lehmann’) in view of Luk (US 20170002571).
Claim 9, Lehmann further teaches 9 in that the mounting component is C-shaped steel (Fig. 2), and several fitting members are evenly spaced on the C-shaped steel (Fig. 1). Lehmann does not teach the C-shaped steel being securely fixed to the keel, and the keel is securely fixed to the installation surface. However, Luk teaches a system comprising a mounting component being securely fixed to a keel 1, and the keel being securely fixed to an installation surface ([0039]; Figs. 2-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try securely fixing the C-shaped steel to the keel, and the keel being securely fixed to the installation surface, with the reasonable expectation of success of attaching the mounting component to the installation surface using a known attachment means that provides suitable strength and support and provides a flat surface for mounting the tiles (Lehmann [0019]).
Examiner’s Notes
Annotated Fig. 9 of Lehmann et al. (US 20220195736) (‘Lehmann’)
Annotated Fig. 1 of Bunting (US 20220034086)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
JAMES M. FERENCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/JAMES M FERENCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635