DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/24/2025 has been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-12, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US 2013/0070074 hereinafter Won) in view of Krus et al. (US 2014/0237401 hereinafter Krus), and Adelson et al. (US 2021/0215474 hereinafter Adelson).
Referring 1, Won discloses a system for geometric surface characterization ([0192]; geometrical deformation measurement indicating the relative displacement between points on an object.), comprising:
a. a deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) coupled to a mounting structure (Fig. 1; tactile sensor 100 includes mounting structure is presented but not shown) and to an interface membrane (Fig. 1; 110.1), wherein the interface membrane (Fig. 1; 110.1) is interfaced against at least one aspect of an interfaced object (Fig. 1; 150) having a surface to be characterized ([0126-0127]; second layer 110.2 is a deformable transmissive layer coupled to interface membrane 110.1, wherein the interface membrane 110.1 is interfaced against at least one aspect interface object 150…. and “surface to be characterized” The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170.);
b. a first illumination source (Fig. 1; 120) operatively coupled to the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) and configured to emit first illumination light (Fig. 1; 192/194.1/194.2/196) into the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) at a known first illumination orientation relative to the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2), such that at least a portion of the first illumination light interacts with the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) (see figure 1 and sections [0126-0127, 0134]; the light source 120 operatively coupled to the deformable transmissive layer 110.2 and configured to emit light 192 into the deformable transmissive layer 110.2 at sideway critical angle orientation next to the layer 110.2, such that at least a portion of the illumination light 192/194.1/194.2/196 from light source 120 interacts with the deformable transmissive layer 110.2);
c. a detector (Fig. 1; 130) configured to detect light from within at least a portion of the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) ([0126]; The scattered light 196 strikes the light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170.);
d. a computing system (Fig. 1; 160) configured to operate the detector (Fig. 1; 130) to detect at least a portion of light directed from the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2) ([0126]; The scattered light 196 strikes the light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170.), to determine surface orientations pertaining to positions along the interface membrane (Fig. 1; 110.1) based at least in part upon interaction of the first illumination light with the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 1; 110.2), and to utilize the determined surface orientations to characterize a geometric profile of the surface of the object (Fig. 1; 150) as interfaced against the interface membrane (Fig. 1; 110.1) ([0126]; The scattered light 196 strikes the light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170…. and [0192]; geometrical deformation measurement indicating the relative displacement between points on an object.);
wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises an elastomeric material ([0131]; The waveguide 110 shape and size may vary according to the application. For example, in embodiments, a large 20 cm by 20 cm waveguide may be used for breast cancer screening. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 3 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the waveguide is larger than the object. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 50 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the optical waveguide is composed of PDMS having a chemical formula of CH3[Si(CH3) 2O]nSi(CH3)3, which is a high performance silicone elastomer.).
However, Won does not specifically disclose e. a sensor operatively coupled to the computing system and configured to provide inputs which may be utilized by the computing system to further geometrically characterize the surface of the interfaced object;
wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises a composite having a pigment material distributed within an elastomeric matrix, the pigment material configured to provide an illumination reflectance which is greater than that of the elastomer matrix .
In an analogous art, Krus discloses a sensor operatively coupled to the computing system ([0057]; The touch arrangement 2, the touch surface 14 and touch control unit 15 may also detect touch inputs including movement of the touch inputs using any of a plurality of known touch sensing technologies capable of detecting simultaneous contacts with the touch surface 14, i.e. touches on the touch surface 14. Such technologies include capacitive, resistive, infrared, and surface acoustic wave technologies.) and configured to provide inputs which may be utilized by the computing system to further geometrically characterize the surface of the interfaced object ([0063]; The user object 5 may e.g. be a finger of the user or another object that can be laid down on the touch surface 14. The touch input 4 from the user object 5 on the touch surface 14 is thereafter determined (A2), wherein the touch input 4 has a first area a1 and a geometric centre at a first position 6.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Krus to the system of Won in order to provide a method that enables detection of a special gesture made by a user.
However, Won in view of Krus does not specifically disclose wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises a composite having a pigment material distributed within an elastomeric matrix, the pigment material configured to provide an illumination reflectance which is greater than that of the elastomer matrix.
In an analogous art, Adelson discloses wherein the deformable transmissive layer comprises a composite having a pigment material distributed within an elastomeric matrix, the pigment material configured to provide an illumination reflectance which is greater than that of the elastomer matrix (Adelson- [0050]; As shown in step 804, the method 800 may include forming a deformable layer on the substrate, such as a 2.33 micron layer of deformable material including a red iron oxide pigment, or any of the other deformable layer materials described herein, such as a deformable material that non-directionally reflects light passing through the substrate and incident on a surface of the substrate adjacent to the deformable layer. The deformable layer may be formed, e.g., by spin coating the deformable material onto the substrate or otherwise disposing a layer of the deformable material onto the substrate, or by molding the substrate onto a pre-formed layer of the deformable material. The deformable layer may also or instead be coated with a 1 micron layer of antiabrasion thermoplastic elastomer (on the side opposing the substrate), which usefully provides a tacky surface for adhering microspheres or other particles.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Adelson to the system of Won in view of Krus in order to increase accuracy and provide additional information about occluded surface, which improve the quantitative accuracy of reconstructed three-dimensional images.
Referring to claim 6, Won discloses wherein the first illumination source comprises a light emitting diode (Won- [0134]; The light source 120 may be a light-emitting diode (LED).).
Referring to claim 7, Won discloses wherein the detector is a photodetector (Won- [0135] The light sensor 130 may be a charged-coupled device (CCD), photodetectors, or a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) imager such as is commonly used in digital camera.).
Referring to claim 8, Won discloses wherein the detector is an image capture device (Won- [0135]; The light sensor 130 may be a charged-coupled device (CCD), photodetectors, or a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) imager such as is commonly used in digital camera. The light sensor 130 generates signals, for example, electrical signals, to indicate an intensity of scattered light 196 that strikes pixels of the light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 may comprise a two dimensional pattern of pixels where each pixel has an intensity that indicates the intensity of light 196 that is striking the light sensor 130 at that pixel. For example, the light sensor 130 may comprise 1392. times.1042 pixels, each pixel having a value indicating the intensity of light 196 striking the pixel. In embodiments, the light sensor 130 may generate about 80 frames per second of the intensity of light 196 striking each of the pixels of the light sensor 130.).
Referring to claim 9, Won discloses wherein the image capture device is a CCD or CMOS device (Won- [0135]; The light sensor 130 may be a charged-coupled device (CCD), photodetectors, or a complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) imager such as is commonly used in digital camera.).
Referring to claim 10, Won discloses further comprising a lens (Won- Fig. 1; 135) operatively coupled between the detector (Won- Fig. 1; 130) and the deformable transmissive layer (Won- Fig. 1; 110.2) (Won- Fig. 1; a lens 135 operatively coupled between detector 130 and the deformable transmissive layer 110.2).
Referring to claim 11, Won discloses wherein the computing system (Fig. 1; 160) is operatively coupled to the detector (Won- Fig. 1; 130) and configured to receive information from the detector (Fig. 1; 130) pertaining to light detected by the detector (Won- Fig. 1; 135) from within the deformable transmissive layer (Won- Fig. 1; 110.2) (Won- [0126]; The scattered light 196 strikes the light sensor 130. The light sensor 130 generates signals that are communicated to the controller 160. The controller 160 is configured to take the signals and generate an image 180 of the object 150, which the controller 160 displays on the display 170).
Referring to claim 12, Won discloses wherein the computing system (Fig. 1; 160) is operatively coupled to the first illumination source (Won- Fig. 1; 120) and is configured to control emissions from the first illumination source (Won- [0134] The light source 120 may be a light-emitting diode (LED). The light source 120 emits light into the optical waveguide 110. The light source 120 may be coupled to the optical waveguide 110 by direct coupling, prism coupling, grating coupling, or tapered coupling. In embodiments there are multiple light sources 120 that may be coupled to the waveguide 110 in different places of the waveguide 110. The light source 120 may have a spatial radiation pattern with all angle that defines the angle in which the light source 120 emits light 192.).
Referring to claim 14, Won discloses wherein the elastomeric material is selected from the group consisting of: silicone, urethane, polyurethane, thermoplastic elastomer (TPE), and thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) ([0131]; The waveguide 110 shape and size may vary according to the application. For example, in embodiments, a large 20 cm by 20 cm waveguide may be used for breast cancer screening. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 3 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the waveguide is larger than the object. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 50 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the optical waveguide is composed of PDMS having a chemical formula of CH3[Si(CH3) 2O]nSi(CH3)3, which is a high performance silicone elastomer.).
Referring to claim 17, Won discloses wherein the interface membrane comprises an elastomeric material (Won- [0131]; The waveguide 110 shape and size may vary according to the application. For example, in embodiments, a large 20 cm by 20 cm waveguide may be used for breast cancer screening. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 3 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the waveguide is larger than the object. In embodiments, the waveguide 110 is from 2 millimeters to 50 centimeters wide by a similar sized length. In embodiments, the optical waveguide is composed of PDMS having a chemical formula of CH3[Si(CH3) 2O]nSi(CH3)3, which is a high performance silicone elastomer.).
Referring to claim 18, Won discloses wherein the surface of the interfaced object is located and oriented within a global coordinate system, and wherein the computing system is configured to characterize a geometric profile of the surface of the object as interfaced against the interface membrane with a position and an orientation relative to the global coordinate system (Won- [0194], Fig. 6; The method of FIG. 6 continues at 620 with calculating a point correspondence between the first image of the object and the second image of the object. FIG. 7 illustrates a point correspondence calculated by the controller between point p(x, y, z) 661 of the first image and point q(x, y, z) 662 of the second image. Thus, point coordinates (x,y,z) are global coordinate system).
Referring to claim 19, Won discloses wherein the computer system (Fig. 1; 160) is configured to gather two or more geometric profiles of two or more portions of the surface of the object as interfaced against the interface membrane (Won- [0193], Fig. 6; The method of FIG. 6 begins at 610 with receiving a 3-D reconstructed first image of an object having a first force applied, and a 3-D reconstructed second image of the object having a second force applied.) and determine a position and an orientation pertaining to the two or more geometric profiles relative to each other in the global coordinate system (Won- [0194], Fig. 6; The method of FIG. 6 continues at 620 with calculating a point correspondence between the first image of the object and the second image of the object. FIG. 7 illustrates a point correspondence calculated by the controller between point p(x, y, z) 661 of the first image and point q(x, y, z) 662 of the second image.).
Referring to claim 20, Won discloses wherein the computing system (Fig. 1; 160) is configured to provide a three-dimensional mapping pertaining to the two or more geometric profiles relative to each other in the global coordinate system (Won- [0193], Fig. 6; The method of FIG. 6 begins at 610 with receiving a 3-D reconstructed first image of an object having a first force applied, and a 3-D reconstructed second image of the object having a second force applied.).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US 2013/0070074 hereinafter Won) in view of Krus et al. (US 2014/0237401 hereinafter Krus), Adelson et al. (US 2021/0215474 hereinafter Adelson), and JUNG (US 2021/0019009 hereinafter Jung).
Referring to claim 2, Won in view of Krus, and Adelson as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the secondary sensor is coupled to the deformable transmissive layer.
In an analogous art, Jung discloses wherein the secondary sensor (i.e., a capacitance formed in the touch electrode 216 is varied) is coupled to the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 2; shows deformable layers 216/218/230/238.. and [0084], Fig. 1-2; When an external finger comes into contact with or in proximity to the touch electrode 216 with the contact portion disposed therebetween, a capacitance formed in the touch electrode 216 is varied, and whether the external finger is in contact with or proximity to the touch electrode 216 and a location on an XY plane at which the external finger is in contact with or proximity to the touch electrode 216 may be determined by detecting a change in the electric signal that follows the varied capacitance.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Jung to the system of Won in view of Krus, and Adelson in order to prevent erroneous operation from being performed by force applied from the outside by detecting whether a touched finger is an actual human finger.
Referring to claim 3, Won in view of Krus, and Adelson as applied above does not specifically disclose further comprising a secondary sensor mounting structure coupled to the deformable transmissive layer, wherein the secondary sensor is coupled to the secondary sensor mounting structure.
In an analogous art, Jung discloses further comprising a secondary sensor mounting structure (i.e. touch electrode 216) coupled to the deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 2; shows deformable layers 216/218/230/238), wherein the secondary sensor (i.e., capacitance) is coupled to the secondary sensor mounting structure (Fig. 2; shows deformable layers 216/218/230/238.. and [0084], Fig. 1-2; When an external finger comes into contact with or in proximity to the touch electrode 216 with the contact portion disposed therebetween, a capacitance formed in the touch electrode 216 is varied, and whether the external finger is in contact with or proximity to the touch electrode 216 and a location on an XY plane at which the external finger is in contact with or proximity to the touch electrode 216 may be determined by detecting a change in the electric signal that follows the varied capacitance.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Jung to the system of Won in view of Krus, and Adelson in order to prevent erroneous operation from being performed by force applied from the outside by detecting whether a touched finger is an actual human finger.
Referring to claim 4, Won in view of Krus, and Adelson as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the secondary sensor and deformable transmissive layer reside within an operational environment comprising one or more wall structures, and wherein the secondary sensor is coupled to one of the one or more wall structures.
In an analogous art, Jung discloses wherein the secondary sensor (i.e., capacitance) and deformable transmissive layer (Fig. 2; shows deformable layers 216/218/230/238) reside within an operational environment comprising one or more wall structures, and wherein the secondary sensor (i.e., capacitance) is coupled to one of the one or more wall structures (i.e. touch electrode 216) (Fig. 2; shows deformable layers 216/218/230/238.. and [0084], Fig. 1-2; When an external finger comes into contact with or in proximity to the touch electrode 216 with the contact portion disposed therebetween, a capacitance formed in the touch electrode 216 is varied, and whether the external finger is in contact with or proximity to the touch electrode 216 and a location on an XY plane at which the external finger is in contact with or proximity to the touch electrode 216 may be determined by detecting a change in the electric signal that follows the varied capacitance.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Jung to the system of Won in view of Krus, and Adelson in order to prevent erroneous operation from being performed by force applied from the outside by detecting whether a touched finger is an actual human finger.
Referring to claim 5, Won in view of Krus, and Adelson as applied above does not specifically disclose wherein the secondary sensor is selected from the group consisting of: an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a capacitive touch sensor, a resistive touch sensor, a LIDAR device, a strain sensor, a load sensor, a temperature sensor, and an image capture device.
In an analogous art, Jung discloses wherein the secondary sensor (i.e., capacitance) is selected from the group consisting of: an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a capacitive touch sensor, a resistive touch sensor, a LIDAR device, a strain sensor, a load sensor, a temperature sensor, and an image capture device ([0084], Fig. 1-2; When an external finger comes into contact with or in proximity to the touch electrode 216 with the contact portion disposed therebetween, a capacitance formed in the touch electrode 216 is varied, and whether the external finger is in contact with or proximity to the touch electrode 216 and a location on an XY plane at which the external finger is in contact with or proximity to the touch electrode 216 may be determined by detecting a change in the electric signal that follows the varied capacitance.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of Jung to the system of Won in view of Krus, and Adelson in order to prevent erroneous operation from being performed by force applied from the outside by detecting whether a touched finger is an actual human finger.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claim 21, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitation “wherein the computing system is configured to stitch geometrically adjacent geometric profiles together using interpolation of the geometric profiles and relative positions and orientations thereof”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 147-163 are allowed.
Referring to claim 147, the prior art of record does not teach, disclose or suggest the claimed limitations of (in combination with all other limitations in the claim), “A system for geometric surface characterization, comprising:
a. a deformable transmissive layer coupled to a mounting structure and to an interface membrane, wherein the interface membrane 1s interfaced against at least one aspect of an interfaced object having a surface to be characterized;
b. a first illumination source operatively coupled to the deformable transmissive layer and configured to emit first illumination light into the deformable transmissive layer at a known first illumination orientation relative to the deformable transmissive layer, such that at least a portion of the first illumination light interacts with the deformable transmissive layer;
c. a detector configured to detect light from within at least a portion of the deformable transmissive layer;
d. a computing system configured to operate the detector to detect at least a portion of light directed from the deformable transmissive layer, to determine surface orientations pertaining to positions along the interface membrane based at least in part upon interaction of the first illumination light with the deformable transmissive layer, and to utilize the determined surface orientations to characterize a geometric profile of the surface of the object as interfaced against the interface membrane; and
e. a sensor operatively coupled to the computing system and configured to provide inputs which may be utilized by the computing system to further geometrically characterize the surface of the interfaced object;
wherein the surface of the interfaced object is located and oriented within a global coordinate system, and wherein the computing system is configured to characterize a geometric profile of the surface of the object as interfaced against the interface membrane with a position and an orientation relative to the global coordinate system;
wherein the computer system is configured to gather two or more geometric profiles of two or more portions of the surface of the object as interfaced against the interface membrane and determine a position and an orientation pertaining to the two or more geometric profiles relative to each other in the global coordinate system;
wherein the computing system is configured to provide a three-dimensional mapping pertaining to the two or more geometric profiles relative to each other in the global coordinate system; and
wherein the computing system is configured to stitch geometrically adjacent geometric profiles together using interpolation of the geometric profiles and relative positions and orientations thereof.”.
Referring to claims 148-163 are allowable based upon dependent on independent claim 147.
Conclusion
/SCOTT D AU/Examiner, Art Unit 2624